Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

KiCad Breadboard Builder lets you turn a KiCad schematic into a virtual breadboard layout: place supported components, connect them with jumper wires, and check the wiring against the schematic. It runs from KiCad’s PCB Editor, using the schematic netlist, and is useful for planning a physical build—not proof that the real circuit is safe or will work.

What KiCad Breadboard Builder does

KiCad Breadboard Builder is a plugin by kerstensrobin. Instead of drawing a breadboard circuit from scratch, it reads the netlist from a KiCad schematic and creates a workspace where you can arrange supported parts and wire their connections. The project describes it as a way to build and validate schematics on a breadboard.

The plugin is intended to bridge schematic design and physical prototyping. It offers a visual place to think through component placement and jumper routing, with checks that compare the virtual layout to the schematic. It does not replace a physical breadboard or test the actual components and wiring.

How to breadboard a KiCad schematic

  1. Prepare the schematic in Eeschema. Add and connect the components you want to prototype, then generate the schematic netlist. The plugin uses that netlist to populate its workspace.
  2. Open the project in KiCad’s PCB Editor. The documented plugin action is available in PCB Editor, not in the schematic editor.
  3. Install or open the plugin. The project documentation describes installation through KiCad’s built-in Plugin and Content Manager, as well as manual installation. Follow the repository’s instructions for your KiCad version and operating system; its documented plugin paths differ between KiCad 9 and KiCad 10 and across Linux, macOS, and Windows.
  4. Choose a board layout and place parts. Select a virtual breadboard arrangement, then place the components the plugin recognizes. The available board format and the supported component type both affect how closely you can represent a planned physical build.
  5. Connect and inspect the nets. Add jumper wires between breadboard holes, use net highlighting to trace connections, and run the layout validation to look for open nets and shorts against the schematic.
  6. Save or export the layout. The repository documents session save/load and PNG or SVG export, which can help preserve or share a planned arrangement.

Which virtual breadboard layouts are available?

The project documentation lists these arrangements. Hole counts are the project’s stated board dimensions, not measured capacity or a guarantee that a particular circuit will fit.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Layout Documented size or format
Mini 170 holes
Half 400 holes
Full 830 holes
Double Board arrangement listed; hole count not stated in the repository documentation
Triple Board arrangement listed; hole count not stated in the repository documentation
Double Rails Rail-oriented arrangement listed; hole count not stated in the repository documentation
Sunny-11 Board arrangement listed; hole count not stated in the repository documentation

The author’s September 12, 2026 forum update highlighted Sunny-11, a 90-degree view rotation, a ratsnest preview, and broader component detection. These are project-described features, not results of independent testing.

Which components can it handle?

The repository documents support for several common discrete component groups, including:

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Resistors, capacitors, and inductors
  • Diodes, Zener diodes, and LEDs
  • Potentiometers and switches
  • BJT, JFET, and MOSFET transistors

It also says even-pin-count ICs with KiCad’s U-prefix can be supported automatically, naming 555 timers, 74xx logic, CD4xxx parts, counters, and shift registers as examples. This is a project-documented capability, not a promise that every symbol, footprint, package, or pin arrangement will be recognized correctly. Check the current project documentation and verify the resulting placement for your own schematic.

Can it validate wiring or simulate a circuit?

Connectivity checks

The plugin’s validation markers identify open nets and shorts by comparing the virtual breadboard layout with the schematic. That can help catch missing or incorrectly connected wires in the virtual plan. It cannot establish that a physical build will work: real parts can be damaged, placed incorrectly, or wired differently from the virtual layout.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Documented SPICE features

The repository documents DC operating-point analysis and transient viewing through KiScope when the schematic includes one or more VSIN sources. For operating-point analysis, it says users need to assign binding posts to schematic nets and assign GND; supply values may be taken from schematic voltage sources when available. The author’s May 12, 2026 forum post says the simulation window uses libngspice01 shipped with KiCad and can run .op and .tran; the author also describes measurements as based on the schematic, with probes able to identify signals on breadboard nets.

These are descriptions of documented functionality and its dependencies, not independent confirmation of simulation accuracy. Treat simulation as an aid to schematic analysis, not a substitute for checking component ratings, building carefully, or testing on the bench.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How it compares with a physical breadboard or another layout tool

A physical solderless breadboard is where you build and test the actual circuit. KiCad Breadboard Builder instead gives you a virtual layout connected to an existing KiCad schematic, with net highlighting and schematic-based connectivity checks. Its export options can also help you keep a record of the intended arrangement.

Separate visualization tools such as Fritzing may suit a different workflow. The available project descriptions do not establish a complete feature-by-feature comparison, so choose based on whether starting from a KiCad netlist, arranging components virtually, checking connectivity, and exporting a layout fit your needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

If you decide to move from planning to hardware, a real breadboard, jumper wires, and the circuit’s actual components are optional physical prototyping supplies—not requirements for installing or using the plugin.

Limits and project status to keep in mind

  • The plugin depends on supported component types; do not assume every schematic symbol will become a usable breadboard part.
  • Virtual validation checks the modeled layout against the schematic, not the safety or correctness of a physical circuit.
  • SPICE features have documented setup conditions, including net-to-binding-post assignments and GND for operating-point analysis, and a VSIN source for the KiScope transient pane.
  • The project author reported that v1.2.21 had been released on September 11, 2026, in a forum post dated September 12, 2026. Consult the repository for current installation and feature information.

KiCad’s addon policy says the KiCad team makes no guarantees about addon content’s quality, security, or safety, while striving to maintain a general standard. That is a general policy for addons, not a finding about this plugin specifically.

Where to get it

Start with the project repository for current documentation and installation instructions. The author’s KiCad forum thread contains dated updates and release notes. Independent workflow context is available in Hackaday’s April 23, 2026 coverage; later project documentation describes additional component support, including 555 timers.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.