Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

To play World of Warcraft: Forever when it launches on 4 November 2026, you need an active WoW subscription or Game Time; you do not need to buy an edition. To play the already-live Midnight expansion, you need both a Midnight license and active subscription time. A free Retail trial is available through level 20, but not for Classic.

The key is to distinguish three things: your Battle.net login, the specific WoW license on your account, and the game version you launch. Paying for one does not automatically grant every other kind of access.

What do you need to play World of Warcraft at launch?

It depends on which launch you mean. Forever is the upcoming reimagining of original Azeroth, while Midnight is the current expansion for modern Retail. They share the WoW subscription, but their expansion requirements are different.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Forever on 4 November: an active subscription or Game Time on the WoW license you intend to use.
  • Midnight content: a Midnight purchase on that WoW license, plus an active subscription or Game Time.
  • Trying modern Retail without paying: the free trial, which lets you play eligible content up to level 20.
  • Classic: subscription or Game Time; there is no Classic free trial, and Midnight is not needed.

Blizzard’s Forever shop says a subscription or Game Time grants access to Forever at launch. Its Midnight shop separately says the expansion requires a subscription or Game Time. Buying Midnight does not replace paid play time, and a subscription does not include Midnight.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Do I need to buy an edition to play WoW Forever?

No. If your goal is simply to enter Forever when it opens globally at 3:00 p.m. PST on 4 November 2026, a subscription or Game Time is enough. The Skyborne packs and Warcraft Forever Collection are optional upgrades, not separate game licenses required for basic access.

Choose a pack only if you want its specific extras. The only pack-gated Forever gameplay unlocks are the Skyborne race and the Zephras Isle starting experience, both available with the Skyborne Heroic Pack or a higher edition. The other pack contents are cosmetics, Game Time in certain editions, the already-ended beta, friend-invite codes, or—only in the Collection—Warcraft III products.

How do the Forever editions differ?

Option What it adds Price information Best fit
Subscription or Game Time Access to Forever at launch; no pack cosmetics or Skyborne unlock See US subscription rates below; standalone Game Time price not stated Playing the game without extras
Skyborne Heroic Pack Skyborne race, Zephras Isle, Early Name Reservation, mount, cosmetics, housing decor and one Invite-A-Friend code; no Game Time or beta Listed from $29.99; $29.99 / €29.99 in a 7 October 2026 shop observation Skyborne access or reserving a name
Skyborne Epic Pack Everything in Heroic, plus 30 days of Game Time credited starting 4 November, additional cosmetics and two more friend codes; beta access has ended $59.99 / €59.99 in a 7 October 2026 shop observation Wanting the Heroic unlocks and bundled time
Warcraft Forever Collection Everything in Epic, plus Warcraft III: Reforged and the Forsaken Kingdom campaign Commonly listed at $79.99 / €79.99; available through 11 January 2027 Wanting the Warcraft III additions in the same bundle
Physical Collector’s Edition Physical edition sold through Blizzard Gear Store while supplies last; key must be added to the account Official news page did not state a dollar price Wanting a physical box

Pack prices are not all equally well established: the Heroic and Epic prices above are from a dated shop observation, and the Collection price was commonly listed by Battle.net shop observers. Check the live regional shop before purchase; prices can vary by region. The Collection’s stated end date is 11 January 2027.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Housing decor in these packs is for modern WoW Housing, which requires Midnight separately. Pack items marked for modern WoW or Forever do not work in WoW Classic. The Epic Pack and Collection include 30 days of Game Time, but that time is credited at Forever’s 4 November launch, not when you buy the pack. Heroic does not include Game Time.

Can I reserve a Forever name without active Game Time?

Yes. Early Name Reservation runs from 27 October through 3 November 2026, and eligible digital packs are Skyborne Heroic, Skyborne Epic and the Warcraft Forever Collection. A physical Collector’s Edition qualifies after its key is attached to the account. Blizzard Customer Support said active game time is not needed for the reservation period, though it is needed to play at launch.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The pack must be associated with the WoW license you plan to use. Blizzard Support clarified on 27 October that a digital Skyborne or Collection license permits the reservation login; a physical Collector’s Edition owner must redeem the key first, which also applies its included Game Time. A reservation is first-come, first-served on the relevant WoW account, so a preferred name is not guaranteed.

The 30 days included in Epic or Collection editions do not activate until 4 November. They therefore do not provide paid play time during the reservation week. Regional reservation start times reported by Blizzard Customer Support were 27 October at 18:00 CET for Europe, 27 October at 1:00 p.m. PDT for North America, and 28 October at 07:00 KST for Korea and 07:00 CST for Taiwan.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does buying Midnight replace a subscription?

No. Playing Midnight requires both the expansion entitlement and active subscription time or Game Time. The subscription provides access to older Retail content through the preceding chapter; Midnight is sold separately, and a Midnight purchase does not include future expansions.

If you already own Midnight, you still need paid time to play its content. If you only want older Retail content beyond the free-trial limit, a subscription or Game Time is sufficient; you do not have to buy Midnight just to continue beyond level 20. Blizzard’s current shop describes the paid subscription as including levels 1–80 in WoW, while Midnight advances the modern progression journey toward level 90.

What do Midnight editions include?

Feature Base Heroic Epic
Midnight and The War Within Yes Yes Yes
Enhanced Level 80 Character Boost Yes Yes Yes
Housing / Housing Early Access Yes Yes Yes
Trader’s Tender 500 1,000 2,000
Lightwing Dragonhawk and Lightstrider Raiment No Yes Yes
Additional pets, mounts, raiment and housing decor No No Yes
30 days of Game Time No No Yes

The Epic edition’s beta access and three-day early access were pre-launch benefits, not reasons to buy now that Midnight has launched. The Trader’s Tender award is once per Battle.net account and region per edition, up to 2,000 from Epic. Midnight’s Base edition also included The War Within for accounts that did not already own it; it is not granted again if already owned. Boosts and edition items are bound to the WoW account of purchase and are not for Classic. Upgrading to Heroic or Epic does not grant a duplicate of a boost or items already unlocked.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Blizzard’s 2 March 2026 launch announcement gives Midnight’s worldwide launch as 23:00 GMT. Midnight is already live. Exact current US list prices for Base, Heroic and Epic were not stated in the live comparison information available for this article, so no price ranking is included here.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much does a WoW subscription cost?

The US Battle.net shop listed these recurring subscription rates in October 2026. Longer terms have a lower monthly rate, but they auto-renew and the promotional six- and twelve-month offers may include in-game bonuses.

Term Listed rate Billing detail
1 month $14.99/month Monthly subscription
3 months $13.99/month Three-month subscription
6-month Special Offer $12.99/month Special offer; shop subscription bonuses may apply
12-month Special Offer $12.99/month Special offer; Blizzard labels it “BEST VALUE,” citing monthly rate plus in-game bonuses

Prices checked Oct 2026 in the US Battle.net shop; prices may vary by region. These subscriptions auto-renew when the billing cycle ends. Game Time is the non-recurring alternative. The longer-term bonuses are tied to buying the matching subscription through the shop; adding Game Time by another route does not necessarily grant those bonuses. Some subscription cosmetics tied to Forever are expected to become available on 4 November at 3:00 p.m. PST.

One month of time is included with Midnight Epic Edition, Forever Skyborne Epic Pack and the Warcraft Forever Collection. That benefit only buys time for its included period; after it expires, more Game Time or a subscription is needed. A new account does not receive a free paid month simply for being created: the Retail level-20 trial is the no-payment route.

Can I try Retail without paying?

Yes. The Retail free trial is available to new accounts and lapsed subscribers through level 20, including eligible level-20 dungeons and quests. It does not unlock the full game or the level cap, and Blizzard says the Free Trial is not available for WoW Classic.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

After Exile’s Reach, a player continuing into Dragonflight past level 20 needs subscription time or Game Time. Paid time unlocks content beyond level 20 through level 80, along with higher-level dungeons, raids and social features such as guilds, unrestricted chat and the Auction House. Higher-level characters on lapsed accounts are not deleted; the account returns to trial status. Blizzard’s official FAQ hub is worldofwarcraft.blizzard.com/start.

Which WoW version should you install?

Subscription access is shared across WoW versions, but expansion entitlements and cosmetic items are not. Install the version that matches what you want to play rather than assuming one client grants everything.

  • Modern Retail: current Worldsoul Saga content and Housing; Midnight ownership is needed for Midnight content.
  • Forever: the reimagined original Azeroth progression, advancing to level 60, included with the same subscription or Game Time.
  • Classic family: Classic, Classic Anniversary / Season of Discovery copy, Burning Crusade Classic Anniversary and Mists of Pandaria Classic. The subscription shop lists Classic through level 60 and Mists of Pandaria Classic through level 90.

Blizzard’s subscription shop lists access to levels 1–80 in WoW, 1–60 in WoW Classic and 1–90 in Mists of Pandaria Classic. Midnight-specific items and Forever pack cosmetics are not for Classic. Reinstalling game files will not supply a missing expansion license or paid time.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How do you set up access for Forever or Midnight?

Before installing, decide which WoW license and game version you want. You need a Battle.net account and desktop app, and the relevant license must carry the subscription time and, for Midnight, the expansion entitlement.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Create or sign into a Battle.net account. Verify the email address and consider enabling two-factor authentication.
  2. Check the WoW license. If the account has more than one WoW license, make sure you are adding Game Time or an expansion to the one you will use. Check the selected license rather than only the Battle.net login.
  3. Add paid time if needed. Subscribe or apply Game Time. For Midnight, also confirm that Midnight is owned on that same WoW license.
  4. Install through the Battle.net desktop app. Choose World of Warcraft: Forever for the 4 November launch, or Retail to play Midnight and modern WoW.
  5. Check the device requirements. Blizzard lists Windows 10 64-bit (May 2019 Update or newer), a four-core 3.0 GHz CPU, DirectX 12 GPU with 3 GB, 8 GB RAM, broadband, 1280×720 resolution and an SSD with 128 GB free as minimum Windows requirements. Recommended Windows specs include a six-core 3.5 GHz CPU, an 8 GB GPU and 16 GB RAM. Mac minimums include macOS 10.15 and Apple M1 as an option.

The Forever starter guide lists Windows or Mac, broadband, keyboard and mouse as requirements; controller support is described as beta. The shop lists handheld compatibility as unsupported for Midnight.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What if you are joining friends or only want a short-term option?

For a launch-week invite, qualifying Heroic packs include one Invite-A-Friend code; Epic and Collection include three total. Blizzard’s invite window is 4–11 November 2026, with email delivery beginning 20 October. The code lets an eligible invitee play Forever without subscription or Game Time during that week only; it does not provide beta access, and gift purchases are excluded.

If your goal is simply to test whether WoW suits you, begin with the Retail trial rather than buying an edition. If you want one particular feature—Skyborne, a reserved name, bundled time, the Warcraft III additions, or a physical box—choose the Forever upgrade for that feature, then separately confirm your time requirement and WoW license.

What is not included in the purchase?

A subscription does not include Midnight, and a Midnight purchase does not include future expansions. The official Midnight launch information reviewed for October 2026 did not provide a current player-count, average revenue per user or conversion statistic for either Midnight or Forever, so population or popularity claims cannot establish which version your friends are playing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Midnight Housing is already live, and Housing Early Access began on 3 December 2025 for owners of any Midnight edition. Forever pack Housing decor is not a substitute for the Midnight entitlement needed to use modern Housing. If you are choosing based on access rather than cosmetics, the purchase order is straightforward: paid time for Forever; paid time plus Midnight for Midnight content.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I play WoW Forever on a Mac?

Yes. The official Forever starter lists both Windows and Mac as supported platforms. Blizzard’s listed Mac minimum includes macOS 10.15, with Apple M1 shown as an option.

Can I play World of Warcraft on a handheld PC?

Blizzard’s Midnight shop lists handheld compatibility as unsupported. That is different from a statement about every device or future software update, so check Blizzard’s current requirements for your specific hardware.

Can a Skyborne character join friends on another Forever ruleset?

No. At launch, characters can group, join guilds, and enter dungeons or raids only with players on the same ruleset and faction. Skyborne characters choose Horde or Alliance at creation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can I hide my secondary Forever name?

Forever uses two names, with a secondary name unique within a region. You can hide it under Options > Nameplates > My Secondary Name, but it still appears in chat.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.