Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: Ryobi Lithium and Lithium+ packs are the standard, cross-compatible choice for everyday ONE+ tools. Lithium EDGE is a newer, performance-focused design that keeps the same 18V ONE+ fit while adding tabless cells, heat-management hardware, reinforced construction and a fuel gauge. The EDGE RB1840E 4.0Ah pack is specified by Ryobi as compatible with any 18V ONE+ product, including older tools. Choose by tool load, desired runtime, pack weight and price—not by the word “EDGE” alone. Ryobi’s large power and runtime multipliers are manufacturer claims, and actual results vary with the tool, material, operating load and battery capacity.

What is the difference between a Ryobi ONE+ lithium battery and a Lithium EDGE battery?

Both are 18V ONE+ batteries and belong to the same cross-compatible platform. The important difference is design intent: ordinary Lithium/Lithium+ packs are the general-purpose option, while EDGE packs are engineered to deliver higher output consistency and better heat control under demanding loads.

Ryobi Canada describes EDGE as using tabless lithium-cell technology. The RB1840E product description adds COOL-CORE PRO heat management, laser-welded cell straps, upgraded heat sinks, an overmolded case and an LED fuel gauge. Those features change how the pack is built and managed; they do not create a new voltage system or a separate tool interface.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Comparison point Standard ONE+ Lithium/Lithium+ ONE+ Lithium EDGE
Platform voltage 18V ONE+ 18V ONE+
Tool compatibility Designed for the ONE+ system Ryobi states the RB1840E works with any 18V ONE+ product
Cell and pack design Conventional lithium-pack design; the cited material does not specify one cell architecture for every standard pack Tabless-cell technology, according to Ryobi Canada
Thermal and structural features Not stated as a single system-wide specification COOL-CORE PRO heat management, upgraded heat sinks, laser-welded cell straps and an overmolded case on the RB1840E description
Fuel gauge Varies by model LED fuel gauge listed for the RB1840E
Capacities available across the platform Ryobi lists packs from 2Ah to 12Ah EDGE capacity depends on the specific model; RB1840E is 4.0Ah
Output and runtime Appropriate for general DIY and home maintenance Aimed at demanding loads; the exact gain depends on the tool and application
Size, weight, charge time and price Not stated as one value; varies by capacity and model Not stated as one value; compare the exact pack and charger listing
HP communication features Tool-specific; check the tool manual Tool-specific; check the tool manual rather than assuming every feature is available

Will a Ryobi EDGE battery work in an old 18V ONE+ tool?

Yes, provided the tool is an 18V ONE+ model. Ryobi’s product statement for the RB1840E says that, after 30 years of battery compatibility, 18V ONE+ batteries are compatible with any 18V ONE+ product. That makes an EDGE pack a drop-in battery option rather than a replacement for the platform.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Compatibility means the pack can connect and power the tool. It does not mean every older tool will draw the same current, make use of newer monitoring features or deliver the same runtime as a modern high-demand model. Before buying a large pack, identify the exact tool model and read its manual for battery recommendations, clearance and balance.

What to check on an older tool

  • Confirm that the tool is labeled 18V ONE+, not a different Ryobi voltage family.
  • Inspect the battery bay for obstructions or a pack that would make the tool uncomfortable to hold.
  • Look for the manual’s recommended capacity or battery tier, especially for saws, grinders, blowers and other high-load tools.
  • If a tool advertises HP communication features, verify the specific battery and tool pairing in the manual; the feature is model-specific.

How does battery capacity affect runtime?

Amp-hours (Ah) describe the amount of charge a battery can store under rated conditions. Within the same voltage family, a higher Ah rating generally provides longer runtime, but it also normally means a larger and heavier pack. Ryobi lists ONE+ capacities from 2Ah through 12Ah, so “ONE+ battery” is not a single runtime class.

Capacity choice Practical role Trade-off
2Ah Light tools, short jobs and situations where low weight matters most Shortest runtime among the example capacities; more frequent changes on hungry tools
4Ah Balanced everyday capacity for many DIY tasks; the RB1840E EDGE example is 4.0Ah More runtime than a small pack, with more mass than a 2Ah pack
Higher-capacity packs, up to 12Ah on the ONE+ range Long sessions and tools that continuously draw substantial power Greater size, weight and potentially higher purchase cost; balance can suffer on compact tools

Capacity is not a promise of a fixed number of minutes. A drill making small holes, a circular saw cutting thick lumber and a blower running at full speed impose very different loads. Material hardness, blade or bit condition, trigger time and ambient temperature also change consumption. Compare packs at the same voltage and use the tool’s own runtime guidance where available.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What technology does Lithium EDGE add?

Tabless cells

Ryobi Canada says EDGE is the first DIY-brand use of tabless lithium-cell technology in its platform and says the design is intended to deliver more power, longer runtime and longer battery life. In a tabless cell, the current-collection path is designed differently from a conventional tab arrangement. The practical implication for a user is improved current handling and heat behavior as claimed by the manufacturer, not a different voltage or connector.

COOL-CORE PRO and heat sinks

The RB1840E description lists COOL-CORE PRO heat management and upgraded heat sinks. Heat rises when a pack supplies high current or operates continuously. Managing that heat can help the battery maintain output and protect its components, but no universal runtime or temperature improvement should be assumed across every ONE+ tool.

Laser-welded cell straps and an overmolded case

Ryobi lists laser-welded cell straps and an overmolded case for the RB1840E. These are construction and protection features intended to keep the internal cell assembly secure and the exterior more resistant to job-site handling. They do not eliminate the need to keep the pack dry, avoid impacts and follow the charger and tool instructions.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

LED fuel gauge

The RB1840E includes an LED fuel gauge, which gives a quick visual indication before you start a task or put the pack away. Treat the gauge as an estimate of remaining charge, not a precise prediction of minutes left; current draw changes constantly with the work.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much more power and runtime does EDGE provide?

Ryobi publishes several different performance statements, and they should not be treated as universal test results. The RB1840E product page claims “2X More Power & 4X Longer Runtime.” A separate Ryobi UK technology page markets EDGE as providing up to 50% more power and runtime with less heat. The same UK page says High Energy can provide up to three times more runtime and 20% more power than previous lithium technologies.

Claim Where Ryobi presents it How to interpret it
“2X More Power & 4X Longer Runtime” RB1840E product page Manufacturer marketing claim; the comparison conditions and tool are not universalized in the statement
Up to 50% more power and runtime, with less heat Ryobi UK technology page “Up to” describes a maximum under specified conditions, not every tool or task
Up to 3× runtime and 20% more power for High Energy Ryobi UK technology page Relates to High Energy versus previous lithium technologies; do not automatically apply it to every EDGE pack

No independent test figure establishes one multiplier for all tools. A fair comparison uses the same tool, material, operating pattern, capacity and ambient conditions, then measures completed work or runtime. Until those conditions are known, use the claims as an indication of Ryobi’s intended performance tier rather than a guaranteed result.

Which battery is best for light, medium and heavy ONE+ work?

Light DIY and home maintenance

A standard 2Ah to 4Ah Lithium/Lithium+ pack is usually the sensible starting point for screwdrivers, small drills, lights and brief maintenance tasks. The lower mass makes overhead work and ladder use easier, and the lower-capacity pack can cost less. EDGE is optional here; its added construction may not repay a price premium if the tool is used for only a few minutes at a time.

General workshop and renovation work

A 4Ah pack is a useful middle ground when you want fewer battery changes without making every compact tool top-heavy. Standard lithium is adequate for intermittent drilling, fastening, light cutting and similar work. A 4Ah EDGE pack becomes more attractive when the same battery will also run demanding tools or when your work involves repeated, high-current bursts.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Continuous or high-load tools

Saws, grinders, blowers, routers and other sustained-load tools benefit most from a high-capacity or performance-oriented pack. The extra mass can improve runtime but can also make a handheld tool tiring or unbalanced. Choose the largest pack that the tool manual supports and that you can control safely, rather than automatically selecting the highest Ah number.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Routers

Ryobi Support Australia recommends a 4Ah-or-higher battery for optimum router runtime and performance. That recommendation is specific to router use; it should not be generalized to every ONE+ tool. For a router, compare the 4Ah EDGE option with a standard 4Ah pack while considering base clearance, balance and the length of each routing session.

Is the extra cost of EDGE worth it?

The answer depends on how often your tools demand sustained current and how much you value the EDGE construction features. A price comparison cannot be reduced to a single platform-wide number because pack capacity, retailer, country and promotions change the total; the cited material does not state a fixed price.

Your situation Likely value choice Reason
Mostly short, light jobs Standard 2Ah or 4Ah Lithium/Lithium+ Lower weight and potentially lower cost are more useful than maximum output
One battery shared across light and demanding tools 4Ah EDGE or another performance-tier pack that fits the tools Provides a compromise between portability and high-load capability
Frequent saw, grinder, blower or router use EDGE or High Energy, sized to the tool Heat management and output consistency matter more during sustained loads
Buying several packs for a household kit Mix capacities and tiers Use small standard packs for handheld tools and reserve larger performance packs for tools that need them

Calculate value by completed work, not by the advertised multiplier. If an EDGE pack lets you finish a job without a battery change, keeps a high-load tool from slowing as quickly or replaces several smaller packs, the premium may be justified. If the tool is used briefly and the pack spends most of its life in storage, a standard battery may be the better purchase.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How should you choose capacity, weight and balance?

Start with the tool, then choose the battery. Hold the tool with the candidate pack installed, check the trigger and handle position, and consider how long you work overhead or at arm’s length. A battery that delivers more runtime but causes fatigue can reduce productivity and control.

  1. Identify the workload. Note whether the motor runs in short bursts or continuously and whether the material is soft, thick, abrasive or otherwise demanding.
  2. Set a runtime target. Decide whether you need to finish a task on one pack or are comfortable swapping batteries during breaks.
  3. Choose a capacity range. Use 2Ah to 4Ah for portability and moderate work; move higher when the tool draws heavily or downtime is costly.
  4. Check physical balance. Confirm that the pack does not interfere with the tool’s base, stand, dust collection or storage position.
  5. Verify the manual. Look for recommended battery tiers, clearance limits and any HP communication requirements.
  6. Compare the exact price. Match capacity and included accessories; a cheaper small pack is not equivalent to a larger EDGE pack.

Does EDGE charge faster or fit every ONE+ charger?

There is no single charge-time figure for all ONE+ batteries. Charge time depends on pack capacity, charger model, battery temperature and the charger’s output. The cited specifications do not provide a universal EDGE-versus-standard charging time or a platform-wide price.

Use a charger identified for the 18V ONE+ lithium battery family and follow its indicator lights and operating instructions. If a charger or battery manual lists restrictions, those instructions take priority over a general assumption based only on the ONE+ connector.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Can ONE+ tools use EDGE or HP communication features automatically?

Physical compatibility and electronic feature support are separate questions. An EDGE pack can power the ONE+ tools covered by Ryobi’s compatibility statement, but whether a particular tool can use an HP communication feature is model-specific. Check the exact tool and battery manuals for supported pairings rather than assuming that a newer pack upgrades every older tool.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is the RB1840E 4.0Ah EDGE battery?

The RB1840E is a concrete EDGE product for the ONE+ system: a 4.0Ah pack with the EDGE features listed by Ryobi, including tabless-cell technology, COOL-CORE PRO heat management, laser-welded cell straps, upgraded heat sinks, an overmolded case and an LED fuel gauge. Ryobi presents it as compatible with any 18V ONE+ product.

Its 4.0Ah capacity places it in the middle of the platform’s capacity range. That makes it a practical comparison point against a standard 4Ah pack: both offer the same nominal voltage and similar capacity class, while the EDGE model adds the newer cell and thermal design. Actual runtime still depends on the tool and load.

What problems can occur, and how do you troubleshoot them?

The battery does not fit

Confirm that both the tool and pack are 18V ONE+ models. Remove debris from the rails, check for visible damage and never force the pack into place. If the tool belongs to another voltage family, an EDGE battery is not the correct replacement.

Runtime is much shorter than expected

Check the Ah rating, tool load and battery age before blaming the pack. A 2Ah battery will not last like a 4Ah battery, and a blower or saw can consume charge far faster than a drill used intermittently. A dull blade, overloaded bit or restricted airflow can also increase demand.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The tool stops under load

Allow the battery and tool to cool, inspect the work for binding and confirm that the pack is fully seated. Repeated cut-outs can indicate excessive load, temperature protection or a battery/tool issue; follow the manual’s diagnostic steps and stop using visibly damaged equipment.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

The fuel gauge and tool indicator disagree

Different indicators estimate charge under different loads. A gauge can drop during a high-current operation and recover slightly when the trigger is released. Use the tool’s behavior and the charger’s completed-charge indication, not a single momentary gauge reading, to plan work.

Which Ryobi battery should you buy?

Buy a standard 2Ah or 4Ah ONE+ Lithium/Lithium+ pack when low weight, broad everyday use and cost control matter most. Choose a 4Ah EDGE pack such as the RB1840E when you want one battery for both routine and demanding tools, value the newer heat-management and construction features, or regularly run high-current equipment. Move to a higher-capacity pack only when the additional runtime outweighs the extra size and weight.

The key point is that EDGE is a performance and design tier inside the 18V ONE+ ecosystem, not a separate battery voltage. Compatibility is broad; performance is application-dependent. Match the pack to the tool’s demand and your handling needs, and treat Ryobi’s power and runtime multipliers as attributed marketing claims rather than guaranteed results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a Lithium EDGE battery change the voltage of my ONE+ tool?

No. EDGE remains an 18V ONE+ battery. The redesign targets cell construction, heat management and pack protection, so it does not require a different voltage platform.

Can I use a 4Ah standard pack and a 4Ah EDGE pack interchangeably?

For 18V ONE+ tools covered by Ryobi’s compatibility statement, either pack can be used. They may differ in output behavior, heat handling, physical mass and fuel-gauge features, so compare the exact models rather than assuming identical performance.

Why can two batteries with the same Ah rating finish different amounts of work?

Ah is only one part of the result. Tool efficiency, trigger time, material resistance, temperature, battery design and the condition of blades or bits all affect how quickly charge is consumed.

Should I buy several small batteries or one large battery?

Several small packs reduce the weight of handheld tools and let you keep working while another pack charges. One large pack simplifies rotation and can suit continuous-load tools, but its extra mass may make compact or overhead work less comfortable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.