Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

You cannot make a trustworthy current “top five” ranking from the specifications and availability information published for this comparison. Two relevant models are substantiated: Canon’s PowerShot SX740 HS and Panasonic’s LUMIX DC-ZS99. The Canon offers a 20.3-megapixel 1/2.3-inch sensor, 40x optical zoom, a 24–960mm-equivalent range, Wi‑Fi, Bluetooth and 4K video, but Canon’s U.S. store marks the new camera discontinued and out of stock. Panasonic confirms Wi‑Fi and Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy for the DC-ZS99, but the available specification does not establish comparable image, zoom, price or availability data.

This guide therefore separates verified facts from buying checks. It explains what each camera is known to provide, how wireless transfer actually depends on the phone app and operating system, and what to verify before treating any listing as one of the best Wi‑Fi point-and-shoot cameras.

Why is a definitive top-five ranking not responsible here?

A ranked list needs the same information for every model: sensor and lens specifications, wireless-transfer workflow, current regional availability, price, battery behavior, screen or viewfinder design and recording formats. The currently documented material supports only two candidates, and it does not provide those comparable details for five cameras. No independent image-quality test, transfer-speed test or market survey establishes an absolute “best” model.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Manufacturer specifications are useful for confirming what a camera is designed to include, but a large zoom number does not prove better image quality. Likewise, a Wi‑Fi logo does not guarantee that a particular phone, app version or operating system will connect easily. A responsible recommendation must state those limits rather than fill missing cells with guesses.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Which Wi‑Fi point-and-shoot cameras are actually verified?

Canon PowerShot SX740 HS

Canon’s U.S. support specification lists a compact camera with a 20.3-megapixel 1/2.3-inch CMOS sensor, 40x optical zoom and a 24–960mm-equivalent focal range. It also lists built-in Wi‑Fi, Bluetooth, 4K video and support for SD, SDHC and SDXC UHS-I cards. These are manufacturer specifications, not independent measurements of sharpness, autofocus or low-light performance. Canon’s specification page is the appropriate reference for the feature set.

Availability is the decisive complication. Canon’s U.S. new-product page currently labels the SX740 HS “no longer available,” “discontinued” and “out of stock.” Check the live Canon listing before assuming a new unit can be purchased. A marketplace listing may be used, open-box or leftover inventory, so confirm condition, included battery and charger, return rights and the seller’s stated warranty.

Canon announced a U.S. launch price of $399.99 in 2018, with availability planned for late August that year. That historical figure is not a current price and should not be used to judge today’s value. Canon’s July 31, 2018 announcement contains the original statement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Panasonic LUMIX DC-ZS99

Panasonic North America’s specification document confirms wireless LAN using IEEE 802.11b/g/n and Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy for the LUMIX DC-ZS99. Read Panasonic’s specifications for those connectivity details.

The cited Panasonic document does not provide enough matching information to rank the ZS99 against the Canon on image quality, optical zoom, current price, battery life or availability. Treat it as a plausible candidate to investigate, not as a proven second-place or first-place pick. Confirm the exact regional model number and the current seller’s condition and return terms.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How do the two documented cameras compare?

The table keeps confirmed specifications separate from information that still needs checking. “Not stated” means the cited material does not establish the value; it is not a claim that the camera lacks the feature.

Criterion Canon PowerShot SX740 HS Panasonic LUMIX DC-ZS99
Sensor 20.3-megapixel, 1/2.3-inch CMOS (Canon specification) Not stated in the cited Panasonic document
Optical zoom 40x Not stated in the cited Panasonic document
Equivalent focal range 24–960mm equivalent Not stated in the cited Panasonic document
Wireless LAN Built-in Wi‑Fi IEEE 802.11b/g/n
Bluetooth Built-in Bluetooth Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy
Video called out in the cited material 4K video Not stated in the cited Panasonic document
Memory-card information SD/SDHC/SDXC UHS-I Confirm the selected regional model’s card requirements
Current U.S. availability Canon marks the new product discontinued and out of stock Not established by the cited document
Documented U.S. price $399.99 launch price in 2018; not current Not stated

What does Wi‑Fi transfer require in practice?

Wireless transfer is a system, not just a camera specification. The camera, its companion app, the phone’s Bluetooth and Wi‑Fi radios, operating-system permissions and sometimes firmware all have to work together. Before buying, identify the current app name, supported Android or iOS versions and whether the app handles the file types you plan to send.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Canon SX740 HS and an Android phone

Canon’s Android support article, dated July 23, 2024, instructs owners to install Canon Camera Connect and activate Bluetooth and Wi‑Fi on the phone before connecting. Follow Canon’s current Android instructions for the pairing sequence and on-screen prompts. Because phone operating systems and app requirements change, check the article and the app store immediately before setup rather than relying on an older tutorial.

  1. Install Canon Camera Connect from the phone’s official app store.
  2. Turn on both Bluetooth and Wi‑Fi in the phone’s settings, as Canon’s instructions require.
  3. Power on the SX740 HS and follow the camera’s wireless-connection prompts shown in Canon’s guide.
  4. Allow the permissions the app requests, then select the camera in Camera Connect.
  5. Send a small test image first. Confirm that it appears in the phone’s photo library before transferring a large batch.

The cited Canon article addresses Android. It does not, by itself, establish current iPhone compatibility, transfer speeds or support for every operating-system release. Check the current Camera Connect listing and Canon’s iOS documentation if you use an iPhone.

Panasonic DC-ZS99 workflow checks

Panasonic’s document confirms the radio standards but does not describe the complete app workflow in the cited material. Before purchase, locate the manual and the current Panasonic phone app for your region, then verify supported operating systems, required permissions and whether the app uses Bluetooth for discovery, Wi‑Fi for image transfer or both. A camera can advertise 802.11b/g/n and still be inconvenient if the app no longer supports your phone.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What should you compare before buying any point-and-shoot with Wi‑Fi?

Sensor and lens reach

Check the sensor size and lens range together. The SX740 HS’s 1/2.3-inch sensor and 24–960mm-equivalent range describe its capture hardware, while the 40x figure describes the ratio between the shortest and longest optical focal lengths. Neither number tells you how clean images will look indoors, how quickly autofocus will lock or how much detail remains at the long end. Look for independent samples or tests for those questions; do not infer them from zoom alone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Wireless convenience

Ask four practical questions: Which app is required? Does first-time pairing use Bluetooth, Wi‑Fi or both? Which phone operating systems are supported now? Can the app transfer the original file, a resized copy or both? The answer matters more than the presence of a Wi‑Fi label when your goal is quick sharing.

Availability and condition

Search by the exact model name and regional suffix. For a discontinued camera such as the SX740 HS, compare used, refurbished and remaining-new listings separately. Confirm the battery model, charger, lens-cover operation, card slot, screen condition and return period. A low sticker price is not a bargain if the battery is swollen, the charger is missing or wireless pairing cannot be tested.

Storage and recording formats

The Canon specification explicitly supports SD, SDHC and SDXC UHS-I cards. Match the card family and speed to the selected camera’s manual, especially if recording 4K video. Do not assume that a card suitable for the Canon is automatically approved for the Panasonic; verify the ZS99’s regional requirements first.

Screen, viewfinder and controls

Confirm whether the particular model has the framing method you prefer, such as a rear screen or an electronic viewfinder, and check whether the screen tilts. The cited material does not establish these design details for a fair two-camera comparison. Read the exact manual or manufacturer specification for your region before deciding.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Battery and charging

Wireless use and 4K recording can change how often you need to recharge, but no battery-life test is established here. Check the manufacturer’s rated shots or recording time, charging method, spare-battery availability and whether charging can occur over USB. Treat a seller’s claim of “excellent battery life” as unverified unless it includes a test method.

Is the Canon SX740 HS still worth considering?

It can make sense when you specifically want a very long 24–960mm-equivalent reach in a compact body and find a clean unit at a sensible price. The documented 20.3-megapixel sensor, 40x optical zoom, built-in wireless connectivity and 4K video cover the headline requirements for a travel-oriented point-and-shoot.

The purchase is harder to justify when you need a brand-new camera with straightforward manufacturer support. Canon’s U.S. listing says the new product is discontinued and out of stock, so every available unit should be evaluated as a stock-and-condition decision rather than a normal current-model purchase. The 2018 $399.99 launch price offers historical context only; compare the seller’s present price with the camera’s age and included accessories.

  • Potential fit: travelers and casual users who value extreme telephoto reach and can verify a used or remaining-new unit.
  • Check first: seller condition, battery health, return policy, app compatibility and whether the camera connects to your phone before keeping it.
  • Do not assume: that 40x zoom guarantees better photos or that every current phone will pair without an app update.

Should you consider the Panasonic LUMIX DC-ZS99?

The ZS99 deserves consideration if its current regional listing, lens specifications and companion-app support meet your needs. Panasonic confirms the important connectivity foundation—802.11b/g/n wireless LAN and Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy—but the cited specification does not establish enough photographic or commercial data to call it the best choice.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Find Panasonic’s page and manual for the exact country in which you will use the camera.
  2. Record the stated sensor, focal range, video modes, card type and battery rating.
  3. Install or inspect the current companion app and verify your phone’s operating-system version.
  4. Compare the total price, warranty and return period with other currently available models.
  5. Only then decide whether the ZS99’s wireless workflow and imaging features justify the purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How can you avoid common Wi‑Fi camera buying mistakes?

  • Confusing Wi‑Fi with instant sharing: wireless hardware still needs a supported app and permissions.
  • Using an old setup video: app names, menus and operating-system requirements can change; use the manufacturer’s current support page.
  • Ignoring regional differences: model names can cover different bundles, firmware and availability by country.
  • Buying an untested discontinued unit: request a pairing demonstration or use a returnable seller.
  • Choosing by megapixels alone: sensor size, lens quality, processing and shooting conditions also affect results.
  • Assuming card compatibility: confirm SD family and speed requirements in the camera’s manual.
  • Calling a launch price current: Canon’s $399.99 figure belongs to the 2018 announcement, not today’s market.

What would be needed for a genuine top-five list?

A defensible five-camera ranking would need five models with current, region-specific listings and a common test plan. At minimum, the reviewer should record sensor and lens data, optical zoom, app and operating-system support, transfer steps, card and video formats, battery results, screen or viewfinder design, warranty and current street price.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Testing should use the same phone and operating-system version for every camera, measure the time to pair and transfer the same file set, and label whether each result comes from a manufacturer specification or an independent test. Image-quality conclusions should come from comparable sample images or controlled testing, not from megapixel or zoom figures. Until those inputs exist for five models, “best” is an unsupported ranking label.

What is the practical verdict?

The Canon PowerShot SX740 HS is the only candidate here with a fully documented sensor, zoom range, focal range, card support and 4K specification, but Canon’s U.S. store marks the new model discontinued and out of stock. The Panasonic LUMIX DC-ZS99 is a credible connectivity candidate because Panasonic documents 802.11b/g/n Wi‑Fi and Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy, yet its comparative imaging, price and availability remain to be verified. Use the specifications and checks above to evaluate a real listing; do not treat this limited documentation as proof of a current top-five ranking.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I transfer photos from the SX740 HS without an internet connection?

The camera-to-phone connection is designed around the camera’s wireless link and Canon Camera Connect, so an external internet connection is not the defining requirement. Your phone still needs Wi‑Fi and Bluetooth enabled, and the app must support its current operating system.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does the 40x zoom make the SX740 HS better for wildlife?

It provides a 24–960mm-equivalent optical range, which is useful for framing distant subjects. That specification does not establish autofocus speed, stabilization performance or image quality at 960mm, so wildlife suitability should be judged with independent samples and tests.

Is the $399.99 price a good deal for the Canon camera?

That was Canon’s U.S. launch price in 2018, not a current price. Compare any present listing with its condition, accessories, warranty and return policy rather than anchoring on the old launch figure.

What app does the Panasonic ZS99 use?

The cited Panasonic specification confirms the camera’s wireless standards but does not identify a current app workflow. Check Panasonic’s regional support page and the app store for your phone before purchasing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.