iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Wings of Bluestar is the closest Xbox alternative to Shockwave Triggers if you value the same creator, two pilots, upgrade systems, dense bullet patterns, a shop and Boss Rush. The important catch is that it scrolls horizontally. Choose Crisis Wing instead if vertical scrolling and local co-op matter most. Project Starship X offers a different defensive maneuver in variable roguelite runs, while Red Death is the focused solo vertical bullet-hell option.
Shockwave Triggers launched on Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S on October 14, 2026. Its defining loop is gathering crystals, spending them to trigger shockwaves that cancel enemy projectiles into gems, then using the resulting resources to improve a run. None of the alternatives documented here reproduces that crystal-to-shockwave-to-gems system exactly; they match particular parts of its structure instead.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wings of Bluestar | Closest same-creator feature mix | Two pilots, upgrades, shop, Boss Rush and dense bullets; horizontal scrolling | Xbox; version not stated in the supplied product details | Oct 2026 |
| Crisis Wing | Vertical shooting with couch co-op | Seven vertical stages, upgradeable weapons, Practice, Score Attack and Boss Rush | Xbox One | Oct 2026 |
| Project Starship X | Active defense and changing runs | Dodge-or-crash maneuver with procedural elements; five levels per run | Xbox One | Oct 2026 |
| Red Death | Solo vertical bullet hell | Overload attack, scripted Story Mode and randomized Arcade Mode | Xbox One; Xbox Series X|S | Oct 2026 |
What makes Shockwave Triggers different?
Shockwave Triggers is a vertical-scrolling, post-apocalyptic bullet-hell shooter built around converting danger into resources. You choose one of two pilots, destroy enemies to collect crystals, and spend those crystals on shockwaves. A triggered shockwave cancels incoming projectiles and turns them into gems, creating a defensive window that also feeds progression.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteThe Xbox product information lists six stages, character-specific weapons, upgrades, selectable difficulty, shop unlocks, Boss Rush, leaderboards and two-player local co-op. It also documents both tate and yoko screen orientations, so the game can be configured for a vertically oriented display or a conventional horizontal setup. “Shockwave” here is the name of an in-game attack; it is not a reference to a controller trigger feature.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The publisher’s US digital list price was $14.99 in the 2026 announcement. That is a stated list price, not a promise about a live sale or a current store promotion. Xbox listing information also confirms Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S support, Smart Delivery and Xbox Play Anywhere.
Is Wings of Bluestar the closest game to Shockwave Triggers?
Yes, if the creator’s style and the broad feature mix matter more to you than scrolling direction. The publisher identifies Shinu Real Arts with both games, and Wings of Bluestar shares two pilots, weapon upgrades, dense bullet patterns, story presentation, a shop and Boss Rush.
Why it matches
- The shared creator makes this the strongest documented stylistic connection in the group.
- Two pilots and upgradeable weapons give it a similar character-and-build structure.
- A shop and Boss Rush provide the same kind of between-run and challenge-mode framework found in Shockwave Triggers.
- Xbox information confirms local co-op for two players.
The decisive difference
Wings of Bluestar is side-scrolling, not vertical. That changes how you read patterns, position your ship and approach the playfield. If the direction of movement is non-negotiable, Crisis Wing is the better match even though it does not share the same creator.
Recommended Free Tools
There is also no documented claim that Wings of Bluestar converts crystals into shockwaves or cancels bullets into gems. Treat it as a match for presentation, modes and upgrade structure rather than a mechanical replica.
Who should choose it?
Pick Wings of Bluestar when you want the nearest overall feature relationship and are willing to trade vertical shooting for horizontal scrolling. It is especially appropriate for players who enjoyed the combination of authored presentation, two-player play, upgrades and score-focused modes more than any single defensive mechanic.
Is Crisis Wing the best vertical co-op alternative?
Yes. Crisis Wing is the clearest choice when vertical scrolling, arcade structure and local multiplayer are your three priorities. Its publisher lists seven vertical stages, upgradeable weapons, cooperative multiplayer, Practice, Score Attack and Boss Rush, and the Xbox listing identifies Xbox One support.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What carries over from Shockwave Triggers
- Both games use a vertical playfield.
- Both document weapon improvement and a Boss Rush mode.
- Both support two-player local play according to their published platform information.
- The stage-based structure suits players who want a defined arcade progression rather than an open-ended campaign.
What does not carry over
The available description for Crisis Wing does not say that its weapons cancel bullets or transform projectiles into gems. Its similarity is structural: stages, weapons, co-op, practice and score modes. Do not buy it expecting the crystal-powered shockwave loop.
The publisher lists seven vertical stages for Crisis Wing, compared with six stages for Shockwave Triggers. Those are publisher figures, not independent measurements of campaign length or difficulty.
Who should choose it?
Choose Crisis Wing if you want to sit beside another player and work through vertical stages together. Practice and Score Attack also make it the most explicitly training- and score-oriented option in this list. It is the strongest fit for the search “vertical bullet hell games on Xbox” when local co-op is part of the requirement.
Does Project Starship X offer a similar defensive mechanic?
Project Starship X offers a different kind of active defense, not a substitute for shockwave projectile cancellation. Its Xbox One description centers on dodging or crashing through enemies, while procedural elements change the shape of runs.
How its loop differs
- The dodge-or-crash maneuver asks you to use movement and contact as an active response to threats.
- Procedural elements make successive runs variable rather than presenting the same fixed sequence every time.
- The documented structure is five levels per run, unlike the six-stage presentation of Shockwave Triggers.
That makes it a qualified recommendation for players who want a defensive action they must deploy deliberately and who enjoy run-to-run variation. The source description does not establish that crashing cancels projectiles, creates gems or functions like the shockwave attack.
Who should choose it?
Pick Project Starship X when changing runs and a movement-based defensive hook are more important than local co-op, a fixed six-stage campaign or the crystal economy. It is a poor fit if your main reason for seeking an alternative is the specific act of erasing bullet patterns and converting them into resources.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is Red Death a good solo vertical bullet-hell game?
Yes, for a player who wants a compact, one-player vertical shooter with dense patterns and a powerful attack to time. The publisher lists Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, one-player support, vertical shooting, pickups, a charged Overload attack, a scripted Story Mode and a randomized Arcade Mode.
What makes it useful as an alternative
- Vertical shooting preserves the orientation many players associate with Shockwave Triggers.
- The charged Overload attack gives you a deliberate offensive tool to deploy when pressure peaks.
- Story Mode provides a scripted route, while Arcade Mode introduces randomization for repeat runs.
- It is available for solo play on both listed Xbox console generations.
Its hard limit
Red Death is listed for one player, so it does not meet a couch-co-op requirement. Its Overload attack is also not documented as a bullet-canceling shockwave or as part of a crystal-to-gem economy. Choose it for vertical patterns and solo pacing, not for a one-to-one mechanical match.
What is the difference between these Xbox alternatives?
The following comparison keeps the documented distinctions separate so you can match the game to the feature you actually care about.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches| Game | Scrolling | Players | Run or stage structure | Defensive or special hook | Documented modes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shockwave Triggers | Vertical; tate and yoko orientations documented | 1–2 local | Six stages | Spend crystals on shockwaves that cancel projectiles into gems | Selectable difficulty, shop unlocks, Boss Rush, leaderboards |
| Wings of Bluestar | Horizontal | 2 local according to Xbox information | Stage structure; exact count not stated | No equivalent crystal-to-shockwave mechanic documented | Story presentation, shop, Boss Rush, upgrades |
| Crisis Wing | Vertical | Cooperative multiplayer; exact player count not stated in the cited product details | Seven vertical stages | No projectile-cancellation equivalent documented | Practice, Score Attack, Boss Rush, weapon upgrades |
| Project Starship X | Not specified in the cited details | Not stated | Five levels per run with procedural elements | Dodge or crash through enemies | Roguelite run structure |
| Red Death | Vertical | 1 | Scripted Story Mode and randomized Arcade Mode | Charged Overload attack and pickups | Story Mode, Arcade Mode |
Which Shockwave Triggers alternative should you choose?
Use the decision points below rather than treating the ranking as a claim that one game is universally better.
- Choose Wings of Bluestar for the closest documented creator and feature overlap, provided horizontal scrolling is acceptable.
- Choose Crisis Wing for vertical play, local co-op, practice tools, Score Attack and Boss Rush.
- Choose Project Starship X for procedural variation and a dodge-or-crash defensive action.
- Choose Red Death for a solo vertical bullet hell with Story and randomized Arcade modes.
- Choose Shockwave Triggers itself if the crystal-powered shockwave that cancels projectiles into gems is the non-negotiable feature; none of the four alternatives is documented as reproducing it.
How do local co-op and Xbox features affect the choice?
For couch co-op, you need a second compatible controller in addition to the console and the game. The official Xbox accessories catalog lists the Xbox Wireless Controller, but the game listing does not establish a bundled controller, a special accessory requirement or a controller price. A second pad is unnecessary for the one-player option, Red Death.
Shockwave Triggers is listed for Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S with Smart Delivery and Xbox Play Anywhere. Those are platform entitlements stated by the Xbox listing; they should not be read as evidence that every alternative has identical cross-generation or cross-device rights. Check each game’s current Xbox product page for its own entitlement details before purchasing.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
If you use a rotated display, the documented tate and yoko options in Shockwave Triggers are relevant. The supplied product information does not establish equivalent orientation settings for the other three games, so do not assume that a vertical monitor mode carries across the list.
Are there physical Xbox editions?
The physical editions announced by the publisher are PS5 editions of Shockwave Triggers, not verified Xbox discs. The announcement gave an expected May 2027 shipment, with a soundtrack CD in the deluxe package; that date is an expectation from the September 2026 announcement, not confirmation that shipment occurred.
The announced PS5 prices were US$24.99 for the standard edition and US$34.99 for the deluxe edition. The publisher also announced a US$14.99 digital list price. These figures are dated 2026 announcement prices, not live store prices, and they do not establish an Xbox physical release or current stock. A physical PS5 edition of Wings of Bluestar is also identified by its publisher’s linked listing, but that is a cross-platform collector detail rather than an Xbox disc option.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How we picked these Xbox alternatives
The ranking uses documented feature overlap, not hands-on testing or a performance score. The criteria are scrolling direction, the nature of the defensive mechanic, fixed stages versus variable runs, solo versus local multiplayer, weapon and upgrade systems, and the presence of Practice, Score Attack or Boss Rush modes. The order gives priority to the feature combination most likely to answer the reader’s reason for searching for games like Shockwave Triggers, while stating each important mismatch.
FAQ
Is there a separate PC version of Shockwave Triggers?
The supplied official details establish Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S listings, Smart Delivery and Xbox Play Anywhere. They do not establish a separate PC storefront listing, PC system requirements or a PC release date, so those should not be assumed from the Play Anywhere label alone.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Can I use the same display orientation for all four games?
Only Shockwave Triggers is specifically documented with both tate and yoko orientations in the supplied product information. Orientation settings for Wings of Bluestar, Crisis Wing, Project Starship X and Red Death are not established there.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Do any of the alternatives turn enemy bullets into currency?
None is documented as using the same conversion. The crystal-to-shockwave-to-gems chain is the distinctive mechanic described for Shockwave Triggers; the other games instead use upgrades, a dodge-or-crash action, a charged attack or standard pickups.
Is Crisis Wing’s seven-stage figure a review measurement?
No. Seven vertical stages is the publisher’s product-sheet figure consulted in 2026. It describes the advertised stage count, not an independently measured campaign duration, difficulty or quality rating.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a separate PC version of Shockwave Triggers?
The supplied official details establish Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S listings, Smart Delivery and Xbox Play Anywhere. They do not establish a separate PC storefront listing, PC system requirements or a PC release date, so those should not be assumed from the Play Anywhere label alone.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Can I use the same display orientation for all four games?
Only Shockwave Triggers is specifically documented with both tate and yoko orientations in the supplied product information. Orientation settings for Wings of Bluestar, Crisis Wing, Project Starship X and Red Death are not established there.
Do any of the alternatives turn enemy bullets into currency?
None is documented as using the same conversion. The crystal-to-shockwave-to-gems chain is the distinctive mechanic described for Shockwave Triggers; the other games instead use upgrades, a dodge-or-crash action, a charged attack or standard pickups.
Is Crisis Wing’s seven-stage figure a review measurement?
No. Seven vertical stages is the publisher’s product-sheet figure consulted in 2026. It describes the advertised stage count, not an independently measured campaign duration, difficulty or quality rating.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

