Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The Smeg FAB38RRDAU is a large, red, 1950s-style bottom-freezer refrigerator made for the Australian market. Its appeal is clear: distinctive styling, substantial storage, and a frost-free design. The trade-offs matter just as much: the older model’s declared energy use is high, and Australian retailer and testing listings indicate it is no longer readily available. If you are considering one, especially second-hand or as clearance stock, check its exact model, condition, access requirements, energy label and warranty before committing.
What is the Smeg FAB38RRDAU?
The FAB38RRDAU is a freestanding Smeg refrigerator with a red 1950s-inspired exterior, a refrigerator compartment above a bottom freezer, and electronic controls. Smeg’s Australian-market datasheet lists a frost-free system, inverter compressor, LED lighting, a Life Plus 0°C drawer, a fast-freezing compartment, a manual ice maker, and an acoustic and visual door-open alarm. Those are the documented features; the available material does not establish app connectivity or other smart functions.
Capacity figures depend on which measurement is being reported. The Smeg datasheet lists 510 litres gross in total, made up of 355 litres gross for the refrigerator and 155 litres gross for the freezer. It separately gives a total storage volume of 461 litres: 309 litres of fresh-food storage, 24 litres in the 0°C compartment, and 128 litres of frozen-food storage. CHOICE’s public listing gives a 504-litre total volume. These figures should not be treated as interchangeable: gross capacity, storage volume and a publication’s stated total may use different measurement conventions. For practical planning, the datasheet’s storage-volume breakdown is the more useful figure for estimating the space available for food.
The model’s main proposition is therefore not simply “a big fridge.” It is a large-capacity appliance for someone who specifically wants the retro look and bottom-freezer layout, and who is prepared to accept its energy and availability limitations. Smeg’s FAB38RRDAU datasheet is the reference for its feature and capacity specifications.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Is the FAB38RRDAU worth buying?
It can make sense if the design is a priority, you need a large bottom-freezer refrigerator, and you find a unit in suitable condition at a price that reflects its age and running costs. It is a harder recommendation for anyone whose first priorities are low electricity use, publicly verifiable temperature performance, or straightforward access to a new replacement.
Reasons it may suit you
- You want a red retro-style appliance to be a visible part of the kitchen rather than a neutral cabinet.
- You can use the documented 461 litres of storage, including 309 litres of fresh-food space and 128 litres of freezer space.
- You prefer a freezer drawer or compartment below the refrigerator, so frequently reached fresh food is higher up.
- You value frost-free operation and the listed fast-freezing compartment, door alarm and manual ice maker.
Reasons to look elsewhere
- You are comparing appliances primarily by electricity consumption. The original model’s declared use is 569 kWh per year, and the Australian rating shown in the model information is two stars.
- You need public, model-specific independent results for temperature stability or reliability before purchasing. CHOICE’s public page does not show its detailed lab results or member-only scores.
- You need a standard, readily orderable new unit. Retailer and CHOICE listings describe the exact model as unavailable or discontinued, so current stock cannot be assumed.
- Your kitchen or delivery route has tight clearances. The fridge is more than two metres tall, and its door-open footprint is substantially larger than its closed cabinet footprint.
For an appliance that is likely to remain in a kitchen for years, appearance should be weighed against costs and serviceability rather than considered in isolation. CHOICE’s broader commentary on retro refrigerators makes that general point, but it is not a test verdict for this model: its article discusses results for other Smeg retro models. Do not use those other models’ scores to infer how the FAB38RRDAU performed. See CHOICE’s discussion of Smeg retro appliances for that brand-category context.
How much electricity does the FAB38RRDAU use?
The original FAB38RRDAU specification reports 569 kWh per year and a two-star Australian energy rating. The 569 kWh figure is from Smeg Australia’s 2020/2021 datasheet; CHOICE’s public model listing repeats the same annual-use figure and rating. It is a declared specification, not a promise that every household will see exactly that consumption. Actual use and electricity cost depend on factors such as the electricity tariff, room conditions, installation and how the refrigerator is used.
To estimate the energy charge using your own tariff, multiply 569 kWh by the price you pay per kilowatt-hour. For example, at a tariff of R dollars per kWh, the simple annual energy-charge estimate is 569 × R. This calculation is only an estimate based on the declared annual consumption; it does not include fixed electricity charges or predict the result in a particular home. Use your current bill’s usage rate rather than a generic national price.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
That annual figure is the clearest ownership drawback established for the older model. It is also important not to substitute a successor’s rating when evaluating this fridge. Smeg Australia’s current red FAB38RRD5AU page lists 328 kWh per year, but that is a different model and its consumption is not evidence of the FAB38RRDAU’s use. The current model’s figures are included in the comparison below so the distinction is explicit.
What are the dimensions, and will it fit?
Plan for at least the full cabinet dimensions and check the door-open measurements, not just the space the fridge occupies when shut. The FAB38RRDAU is 2,050 mm high and 706 mm wide. Its depth is 771 mm without the handle and 811 mm with the handle; with the door opened to 90 degrees, the listed depth becomes 1,340 mm. Maximum width with the doors open is 1,070 mm. Net weight is about 113 kg.
| Measurement | FAB38RRDAU specification |
|---|---|
| Height | 2,050 mm |
| Width, doors closed | 706 mm |
| Depth, without handle | 771 mm |
| Depth, with handle | 811 mm |
| Depth with door open to 90 degrees | 1,340 mm |
| Maximum width with doors open | 1,070 mm |
| Net weight | About 113 kg |
These are appliance dimensions, not a guarantee that a particular alcove, doorway or installation will work. Before arranging delivery or moving a used unit, compare the measurements with the available height and width, the space needed for doors to open, and the route from the entrance to the kitchen. Include the handle in depth planning. A narrow hallway, turn, stairway or overhead obstruction can make a large appliance difficult to bring in even when the final space appears wide enough.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- Measure the fridge space at floor level and at the top, then compare the narrowest available width and height with the closed-unit dimensions.
- Check the door swing against nearby walls, cabinets and walkways. Allow for the documented open-door width and depth when assessing access to drawers and shelves.
- Measure the delivery route, including doorway openings and turns, and discuss the unit’s approximately 113 kg net weight with the delivery provider.
- Ask the seller or installer what clearance and ventilation the specific installation requires. The listed cabinet measurements do not state the necessary installation clearances.
The datasheet gives the 90-degree door-open depth; it does not establish the clearance required for every kitchen layout or whether the doors can open fully in a particular alcove. Confirm those details for the intended installation rather than treating the open-door dimensions as a complete installation guide.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How noisy is it?
The FAB38RRDAU’s listed noise level is 42 dBA. Smeg Australia lists 41 dBA for the newer FAB38RRD5AU. A one-decibel difference in listed specifications is not enough on its own to predict how noticeable either refrigerator will be in a particular home; room layout, placement and background noise affect what a person hears. The older model’s specification is useful for comparison, but it is not a guarantee of perceived loudness.
How does it compare with the FAB38RRD5AU?
The FAB38RRD5AU is the clearest same-family point of comparison in Smeg Australia’s current listings, but it should be treated as a separate model rather than a refreshed specification sheet for the FAB38RRDAU. It has less listed storage, lower declared annual electricity use and a slightly lower noise figure. The dimensions and warranty terms for the successor are not established by the cited product information here, so they should be checked on the specific current listing before purchase.
| Specification or status | FAB38RRDAU | FAB38RRD5AU |
|---|---|---|
| Market and status | Australian-market model; retailer and CHOICE listings indicate discontinued or unavailable status | Current red successor listed by Smeg Australia |
| Storage volume | 461 L on Smeg’s datasheet; CHOICE lists 504 L total volume using its own listing figure | 481.1 L on Smeg Australia’s product page |
| Annual electricity use | 569 kWh/year, stated in Smeg Australia’s 2020/2021 datasheet; two-star Australian rating | 328 kWh/year, as listed on Smeg Australia’s 2026 product page |
| Noise | 42 dBA | 41 dBA |
| Dimensions | 2,050 mm high × 706 mm wide; depth 771 mm without handle or 811 mm with handle | Not stated on the cited Smeg product page |
| Price evidence | CHOICE recorded $3,990; historical listing, not a current quote | $4,990 list price on Smeg Australia’s product page |
| Independent model-specific temperature results | CHOICE’s detailed scores are member-only on its public page | Not stated in the cited product information |
| Warranty terms | Applicable coverage depends on purchase and eligibility; see the warranty section below | Not stated on the cited product page |
On the figures available, the successor trades some storage for lower declared energy use: 481.1 litres versus the older model’s 461 litres of storage, and 328 versus 569 kWh per year. These are manufacturer-listed figures for different models and sources, not a controlled test under identical household conditions. Smeg’s listing shows a $4,990 price for the FAB38RRD5AU; CHOICE’s $3,990 figure for the FAB38RRDAU is historical and should not be read as a current market price. The newer model’s listing is at Smeg Australia’s FAB38RRD5AU product page.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhat do independent reviews establish about performance?
CHOICE identifies the FAB38RRDAU as a large bottom-freezer refrigerator tested in 2021. Its public model page lists a 504-litre total volume, 569 kWh per year, a two-star energy rating, a historical $3,990 price and discontinued availability. However, the page restricts the Expert Rating, temperature-stability results, reliability score and detailed laboratory scores to members. Those unavailable results cannot support a numerical performance verdict here.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
That limitation matters if you are buying used: the listed feature set and capacity do not establish how well a particular unit currently holds temperature, whether its seals and compressor are in good condition, or how it compares in lab testing. Treat the public information as specifications and status evidence, not as proof that a second-hand appliance is functioning properly. CHOICE’s model page is available at CHOICE’s FAB38RRDAU listing.
Is the FAB38RRDAU discontinued, and can you still buy one?
The evidence points to the exact FAB38RRDAU no longer being a standard current purchase: Winning Appliances labels it no longer available, and CHOICE records discontinued availability. Retailer pages and manuals remaining online do not prove that new stock is available. Nor do these listings amount to a dated, formal Smeg discontinuation announcement, so the careful conclusion is that availability appears limited rather than that every possible new or clearance unit has disappeared.
CHOICE’s recorded price of $3,990 is historical, not a live quote. For a used or clearance unit, verify the model label on the appliance itself and ask the seller to confirm whether it is new, used, refurbished or display stock. A search for “Smeg FAB38RRDAU refrigerator” may surface listings, but the existence of a search result is not confirmation of stock, condition, price or warranty.
Recommended Free Tools
What warranty applies?
Smeg Australia says FAB refrigeration collections receive a five-year parts-and-labour warranty. Its policy also describes an additional three years of parts-only cover for sealed-system parts after the initial 24 months, subject to conditions including domestic installation, proper use and authorised-service requirements. The policy wording and eligibility should be checked for the specific purchase; do not assume a used, display or clearance appliance automatically qualifies or that coverage transfers to a later owner.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Before paying, request the purchase documentation, confirm the appliance’s age and ask Smeg or the retailer in writing which warranty applies to that serial number and buyer. Check the current terms at Smeg Australia’s warranty page.
What should you check before buying a used or clearance unit?
Because the exact model appears to have limited availability, the seller’s condition and support information are as important as the specification sheet. Use this checklist before committing:
- Confirm the identity: read the model label on the appliance and verify it says FAB38RRDAU. Do not assume that a similar-looking red model has the same capacity, dimensions or energy use.
- Inspect the condition: check doors, seals, drawers, shelves, controls and visible surfaces. Ask for a demonstration while the unit is powered and for an explanation of any faults or repairs.
- Check the energy label: request a clear image of the label on that unit. The 569 kWh/year figure is the older model’s published specification, not a measurement of the individual appliance’s current condition.
- Establish the sale terms: get the price, delivery arrangements, return rights and any seller-provided guarantee in writing. The old CHOICE price is not a current valuation.
- Confirm service and warranty: ask Smeg or the retailer what parts, authorised service and warranty support remain available for the unit and whether the coverage applies to you.
- Plan delivery: check the route and open-door space using the dimensions above, and arrange appropriate handling for a large, heavy appliance.
A clearance label alone does not answer whether the appliance has been installed, displayed, repaired or previously owned. Ask what “clearance” means in that seller’s terms, and keep the answer with the invoice.
Who should choose it?
The FAB38RRDAU is best suited to an Australian buyer who genuinely wants the red retro styling, has room for a large bottom-freezer cabinet, and is comfortable weighing the higher declared energy use against the design and storage. It is less suitable for someone who wants a current, easily replaceable model, relies on public independent performance scores, or is trying to minimise annual electricity consumption. If comparing within the Smeg family, assess the FAB38RRD5AU on its own current specifications and price rather than assuming the older model’s numbers carry over.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Life Plus drawer in the FAB38RRDAU?
Smeg’s datasheet identifies it as a 0°C compartment with 24 litres of storage. The cited specification does not give a fuller guide to its intended contents or temperature-adjustment range, so consult the model’s user manual for those operating details.
Can the FAB38RRDAU connect to Wi-Fi or a phone app?
The cited feature list specifies electronic controls but does not list Wi-Fi, app control or connected-home functions. If connectivity is essential, confirm it against the exact model manual rather than inferring it from the electronic controls.
Can the refrigerator door be reversed to open from the other side?
The model information cited here does not establish whether the doors are reversible. Check the user manual or ask Smeg service with the complete model number before planning an installation that depends on a hinge change.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

