Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Smeg FAB38RPGAU is worth buying only as a carefully checked clearance or second-hand appliance for shoppers who specifically want its Italian-designed 1950s styling and very large bottom-freezer layout. It is a discontinued model, and its published energy performance—569 kWh per year and two stars—is markedly worse than the newer FAB38 5AU generation. Its approximately 504–510 L declared capacity, 42 dBA noise rating and useful frost-free features are attractive, but they do not offset an uncertain warranty, limited stock and higher electricity use for most buyers. Confirm the exact model, condition, refrigerant compliance, warranty and delivered price before paying.

What is the Smeg FAB38RPGAU, and is it still available?

The FAB38RPGAU is a large, bottom-mount refrigerator/freezer from Smeg’s FAB line, finished in a pastel green associated with the brand’s 1950s-inspired styling. Smeg Australia’s 2020 technical material describes the appliance as a 510 L gross-capacity model with Total Frost Free cooling, electronic controls and a manual ice maker.

Availability is the first complication. Signature Appliances and CHOICE both list the exact FAB38RPGAU as discontinued. CHOICE’s historical product record gives a price of $3,990 in its 2021 review record; that is not a current recommended retail price or evidence that a remaining unit is new. Any listing you find now should be treated as clearance, old stock, an ex-display appliance or a used sale until the seller proves otherwise.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not assume that a listing for FAB38RPG5AU or another FAB38 model is the same refrigerator. The newer 5AU generation has different capacity, energy and noise specifications, covered below.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How much can the FAB38RPGAU hold?

Expect roughly 504–510 L of declared total space, divided between a refrigerator section of about 355 L and a freezer section of approximately 151–155 L. The two total-capacity figures use different measurement conventions rather than indicating two different physical versions.

Capacity figure What it represents Source and date
510 L gross Manufacturer’s gross internal capacity Smeg Australia technical sheet, 2020
504 L total volume Declared product volume in an independent product record CHOICE, 2021
355 L refrigerator Retailer-listed refrigerator compartment Retailer material; date not stated
Approximately 151–155 L freezer Retailer-listed freezer compartment range Retailer material; date not stated

Gross volume is not the same as usable storage after shelves, drawers, lighting and air channels are installed. For meal planning, compare the 355 L refrigerator and roughly 151–155 L freezer figures with the usable capacities of current alternatives, and ask the seller for the exact capacity label if the appliance has been modified or repaired.

Who benefits from this layout?

  • Large households: The refrigerator compartment is substantially larger than that of a typical top-mount appliance, with room for wide trays and tall bottles.
  • Frequent cooks: A bottom freezer keeps everyday chilled food at eye level, reducing bending for items you access often.
  • Bulk shoppers: About 151–155 L of freezer space is useful, but it is not equivalent to a separate chest freezer.
  • Style-led kitchens: The pastel-green finish is the main reason to pursue this discontinued model rather than simply selecting a newer, more efficient refrigerator.

What are the FAB38RPGAU’s energy and running costs?

The exact FAB38RPGAU is listed at 569 kWh per year and two energy stars in Smeg Australia’s 2020 material and CHOICE’s 2021 record. That is the figure to use when estimating electricity consumption for this model; do not substitute the newer 5AU rating.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

To estimate your own annual cost, multiply 569 by your electricity retailer’s usage rate in dollars per kilowatt-hour. For example, a tariff of 30 cents per kWh would make the energy component 569 × $0.30; your actual bill depends on tariff, location, temperature, door-opening habits and the appliance’s condition. The number is an annual rated consumption, not a guarantee of the same meter reading in every kitchen.

The newer FAB38 5AU generation is listed at 328 kWh per year and 4.5 stars. That is 241 kWh per year less on the published rating, but the newer figure belongs to the successor generation and cannot be used to advertise the old RPGAU as efficient.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Model Published annual energy Energy rating Published noise Capacity information
FAB38RPGAU (older model) 569 kWh/year (Smeg Australia, 2020; CHOICE, 2021) 2 stars 42 dBA 510 L gross; CHOICE records 504 L total
FAB38RPG5AU / FAB38 5AU generation 328 kWh/year (successor technical sheet) 4.5 stars 41 dBA 481 L storage

Electricity prices and energy-label rules change by market, so retain the rating label or technical sheet supplied with the exact serialised appliance. A seller who quotes 328 kWh/year for an RPGAU unit is probably describing the newer 5AU model or has copied the wrong listing.

Will the FAB38RPGAU fit my kitchen?

Plan for a 706 mm-wide, 2050 mm-high and 811 mm-deep appliance when the handle is included. CHOICE recommends allowing about 81 cm of width, 210 cm of height and 83 cm of installation depth, giving practical clearance beyond the cabinet’s nominal dimensions.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Planning measurement Published figure How to use it
Width 706 mm appliance; about 81 cm recommended allowance Measure the niche, skirting and the narrowest doorway.
Height 2050 mm appliance; about 210 cm recommended allowance Check ceiling height, overhead cabinets and the route used to tilt the refrigerator.
Depth 811 mm including handle; about 83 cm installation depth Include door swing, handle projection and ventilation space rather than measuring only the cabinet.

Measure the complete delivery path before purchase: property entrance, gates, lift, stair turns and the final doorway. A refrigerator that fits its niche can still be impossible to bring inside without removing doors or trim. Ask the seller or delivery company whether door removal is permitted and whether the quoted delivery service includes re-hanging and levelling.

Door clearance and ventilation checks

  • Open both doors through their full travel and verify that adjacent walls or cabinets do not block drawers.
  • Leave the manufacturer’s required ventilation gaps; do not push the cabinet tightly against a wall to gain a few millimetres.
  • Check that the floor can support a fully loaded appliance and that it is level enough for the doors to seal.
  • Confirm that your route and final position allow technicians to reach the rear and compressor area if service is needed.

Which features does the FAB38RPGAU include?

Smeg’s manufacturer sheet lists Total Frost Free operation, LED interior lighting, a Life Plus 0°C drawer, quick-chill glass shelves, electronic controls, a fast-freezing function and a manual ice maker.

Cooling and storage functions

  • Total Frost Free: Automatic circulation is intended to prevent routine ice build-up in both compartments, reducing manual defrosting.
  • Life Plus 0°C drawer: A colder drawer is designed for foods that benefit from near-zero storage, such as meat, fish and some highly perishable items. It is not a substitute for checking the food’s safe-storage guidance.
  • Quick-chill glass shelves: These provide rigid, wipe-clean storage and support rapid chilling when used with the relevant control setting.
  • Electronic controls: Temperature and special modes are selected electronically rather than with a simple mechanical dial.
  • Fast-freezing: Use the mode when adding a substantial amount of unfrozen food, then return to normal operation according to the appliance instructions.
  • Manual ice maker: Ice production requires filling the maker; the sheet does not describe a plumbed water dispenser or automatic mains-water supply.

Feature names do not prove temperature stability. If you buy a used unit, check that the control panel responds, the fan runs without scraping, the drawer and shelves are present, and the freezer reaches operating temperature before accepting delivery.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How noisy is this refrigerator?

The older FAB38RPGAU is listed at 42 dBA. That is a laboratory-style declared acoustic figure, not a promise that the refrigerator will be inaudible in an open-plan room; compressor cycling, cabinet resonance and an uneven floor can all change what you hear.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The newer 5AU generation is listed at 41 dBA. The one-decibel difference is small, while the energy-rating gap is substantial, so noise alone is not a strong reason to choose the old model. Listen to a display or recently running unit if quiet operation is critical, and ask whether a used appliance has had compressor or fan work.

What does the R600a refrigerant listing mean?

The Queensland register identifies FAB38RPGAU as an R600a refrigerant appliance under certificate 17458, issued on 3 September 2021. R600a is a refrigerant used in domestic appliances, and installation or servicing should follow applicable Australian requirements.

Do not attempt to pierce, recover or recharge the circuit yourself. For a second-hand purchase, request the service history and have any refrigerant, compressor or sealed-system work performed by an appropriately qualified technician. Transport the cabinet upright where possible and allow the settling time specified by the service instructions before powering it.

How does the FAB38RPGAU compare with the newer FAB38RPG5AU?

The newer 5AU generation is the practical benchmark for deciding whether the old pastel-green model is worth pursuing. It stores 481 L—less than the older model’s 504–510 L declared capacity—but uses far less rated energy and carries a much higher star rating.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Decision factor FAB38RPGAU FAB38RPG5AU / 5AU generation
Model status Discontinued listing Newer successor generation; current stock varies
Declared capacity 510 L gross; 504 L in CHOICE’s record 481 L storage
Annual energy 569 kWh/year 328 kWh/year
Energy stars 2 4.5
Noise 42 dBA 41 dBA
Colour and styling Pastel-green FAB finish Confirm the exact colour suffix; model codes are not interchangeable

Choose the RPGAU only when its finish, extra declared capacity or discounted price matters more to you than efficiency and support certainty. Choose the newer generation when lower rated consumption, a current warranty and easier parts or service access are higher priorities. Obtain a written specification for the exact suffix before comparing offers.

What did independent testing establish?

CHOICE exposes the test year and category information for the product record, but the exact FAB38RPGAU Expert Rating and performance scores are behind membership. That means there is no publicly verified score in the supplied material that can support a precise ranking for this model.

Do not transfer the often-quoted “worst we’ve ever seen in decades of testing” statement to the pastel-green RPGAU. CHOICE fridge expert Ashley Iredale made that comment in a 15 February 2021 article about the cream FAB38RCRAU variant, which is a different model. Variant-specific test results cannot be used as evidence for the RPGAU without a matching test record.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What warranty and service terms should you expect?

Warranty information conflicts by source and date. Smeg or retailer material describes a five-year parts-and-labour warranty, while CHOICE’s 2021 record shows two years. Because the RPGAU is discontinued, a remaining unit may have a warranty that started at its original sale date, may be seller-backed only, or may have no transferable coverage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before paying, request the warranty document in writing and check:

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
  • Whether coverage is five years or two years and when the period begins.
  • Whether parts, labour, call-out fees and sealed-system repairs are included.
  • Whether the warranty transfers to a second owner or applies only to the original purchaser.
  • Who performs service in your state and how discontinued parts are handled.
  • Whether cosmetic damage, missing shelves or an ex-display history changes the coverage.

Keep the serial number, invoice and photographs of the appliance at delivery. Those records are especially important when a seller is advertising an old model under a current-looking product page.

What should I check before buying a discontinued FAB38RPGAU?

  1. Verify the badge: Photograph the rating plate and confirm it says FAB38RPGAU, not FAB38RPG5AU, FAB38RCRAU or another suffix.
  2. Confirm the energy label: Look for 569 kWh/year and two stars for the old model. A 328 kWh/year, 4.5-star label belongs to the newer generation.
  3. Inspect completeness: Check the Life Plus drawer, glass shelves, door bins, freezer baskets, LED lighting and manual ice maker.
  4. Test operation: Confirm both compartments cool, the doors seal evenly, the fan is not grinding and the controls accept temperature changes.
  5. Inspect transport damage: Look for dents around hinges, crushed rear tubing, cracked liners and signs of water leakage.
  6. Measure twice: Compare the 706 × 2050 × 811 mm appliance dimensions with your route and the approximately 81 cm × 210 cm × 83 cm planning allowances.
  7. Get terms in writing: Record price, delivery, installation, warranty duration, return rights and responsibility for cosmetic or transit damage.
  8. Calculate lifetime cost: Use 569 kWh/year and your tariff, then compare that running cost with the 328 kWh/year successor before accepting a small purchase-price saving.

Who should buy the Smeg FAB38RPGAU?

Buy it when the pastel-green finish and large storage layout are difficult to replace, the unit is in demonstrably good condition, and the price reflects its discontinued status and higher electricity use. It can make sense for a design-led kitchen where the refrigerator is a visual centrepiece and the owner accepts the risk of older-appliance service.

Skip it when low running costs, a transferable warranty, guaranteed parts availability or predictable delivery matter more than the retro appearance. The newer 5AU generation gives up some capacity but has a 4.5-star rating, 328 kWh/year consumption and a slightly lower 41 dBA declaration.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can the FAB38RPGAU be connected to a household water line?

The manufacturer sheet specifies a manual ice maker, not a plumbed water dispenser. Treat any claim of automatic mains-water ice production as a different configuration until the seller supplies matching documentation.

How can I tell whether a marketplace listing is really the pastel-green RPGAU?

Ask for a clear photograph of the rating plate, model badge and energy label before arranging delivery. The suffix and the label’s 569 kWh/year, two-star figures are more reliable than a listing title or stock photograph.

Should I buy an ex-display FAB38RPGAU?

Only if the seller records the display period, compressor operation, cosmetic defects and warranty start date on the invoice. An ex-display unit can have a warranty that has already been running even if it has never been delivered to a household.

What happens if the refrigerator has been stored on its side?

Ask the delivery provider or a qualified technician how long it must remain upright before power-up, because compressor oil can move during transport. Do not energise a recently tilted appliance simply because the exterior looks undamaged.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.