What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Verdict: The Smeg FAB38LBLAU is a very large, freezer-on-bottom refrigerator with a 1950s-inspired exterior, frost-free cooling and useful electronic controls. It is a sensible choice when you need substantial chilled and frozen storage and have a kitchen that can accept a 2.05 m-tall appliance. The buying decision is less straightforward than the styling: Australian listings disagree on warranty and report slightly different capacity and depth figures, so confirm the exact FAB38LBLAU SKU, current price, hinge arrangement, delivery clearances and written warranty before paying.
What is the Smeg FAB38LBLAU?
The FAB38LBLAU is a premium, large-format Smeg fridge freezer with the refrigerator compartment above a bottom freezer. Its rounded, 1950s-style design is intended to make the appliance a visual focal point rather than an anonymous built-in box. The Australian technical sheet describes two-zone electronic temperature control, an ECO mode, fast freezing, a temperature alarm, Total Frost Free cooling and a Life Plus 0°C drawer.
Those features matter because this is a high-capacity appliance that may be used by a large household or by people who batch-cook and store bulky food. The practical question is not simply whether it looks good: it is whether your room, doorway and electrical setup can accommodate a refrigerator this tall and deep, and whether the Australian version’s ongoing costs and warranty suit you.
Recommended Free Tools
How much storage does the FAB38 provide?
Published figures depend on the source and on whether the number is gross capacity or a claimed compartment volume. Treat the values below as model- and source-specific rather than interchangeable measurements.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Source and market | Total volume | Refrigerator volume | Freezer volume | What the figure represents |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smeg Australia technical sheet (FAB38 Australian variant) | 510 L | 355 L | 155 L | Gross capacities stated on the technical sheet |
| CHOICE listing for FAB38LBLAU (Australia) | 504 L | 315 L claimed | 151 L claimed | CHOICE’s listed claimed compartment volumes; expert test detail is member-only |
| Smeg UK FAB38LBL6 (United Kingdom) | 481 L | Not stated in the supplied listing | Not stated in the supplied listing | Different suffix and market; do not substitute for Australian specifications |
The 510 L gross figure and CHOICE’s 504 L total are close but not identical, while the compartment figures differ more substantially. That can happen when a manufacturer quotes gross internal volume and a listing presents claimed or usable volume, but the documents do not define the measurement method in enough detail to convert one into the other. For planning, use the conservative figure and look at the actual shelf, drawer and door-bin layout in a showroom or the seller’s current dimensional drawing.
Who benefits from this capacity?
- Households that buy fresh food in large quantities and need a full-width refrigerator compartment.
- People who freeze prepared meals, meat or seasonal produce but do not want a side-by-side layout.
- Kitchens where a statement appliance is preferred over a concealed or integrated design.
A 151–155 L freezer is substantial, but the FAB38 is still refrigerator-led: most of its listed volume is above the freezer. If you need a very large frozen-food store, compare freezer volume rather than relying on the impressive total number.
What are the FAB38LBLAU’s dimensions and will it fit?
The Australian technical sheet lists 706 mm width, 2050 mm height and 811 mm depth including the handle. CHOICE’s FAB38LBLAU entry rounds this to 71 cm wide, 205 cm high and 78 cm deep. The difference in depth is significant enough that you should not design cabinetry around one number without checking the exact drawing supplied with your appliance.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →| Measurement | Smeg Australia technical sheet | CHOICE FAB38LBLAU listing | Planning implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Width | 706 mm | 71 cm | Allow extra side clearance for ventilation, opening and installation tolerances. |
| Height | 2050 mm | 205 cm | Measure the lowest point of the route, including door frames and any overhead cabinet. |
| Depth | 811 mm including handle | 78 cm | Confirm whether a retailer’s depth includes the handle and how far the doors need to swing. |
Measure the kitchen opening
- Measure the narrowest width between cabinets, skirting boards and protruding handles. Do this at floor level and at the appliance’s full height.
- Measure height from the finished floor to the lowest obstruction. Check that the appliance can be tilted if the delivery team needs to clear a lintel.
- Measure depth from the wall to the front edge of the opening, then mark the additional projection of the handle and open doors. A nominal 78 cm cabinet depth will not describe the clearance needed to use drawers and bins.
- Check ventilation and rear clearance requirements in the current Australian installation instructions. The supplied dimensions do not establish the minimum air gap.
Measure the delivery route
Measure the front door, security door, hallway turns, lift and internal doorways, not just the final cavity. Note hinges, wall lights and banisters that reduce the usable width. A 706 mm cabinet can require more route width when it is wrapped, tilted or turned. Ask the retailer to confirm the packaged dimensions and whether unpacking at the entrance is available.
Does the FAB38 need manual defrosting?
No routine manual freezer defrosting should be required. The Australian sheet describes Total Frost Free cooling and explains that circulated cool air prevents ice build-up, so the freezer is designed to avoid the periodic emptying and scraping associated with conventional static freezers.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Frost-free does not mean maintenance-free. Keep air passages clear, close the doors fully and investigate any unexpected ice, water or temperature alarm. A blocked vent, damaged door seal or fault can still produce frost; repeated ice formation is a service issue rather than a reason to chip at the lining.
How do the controls and food-storage features work?
Two-zone electronic temperature control
Separate electronic control for the refrigerator and freezer zones lets you adjust each compartment without relying on a single mechanical dial. The exact set-point range and button sequence should be confirmed in the Australian manual for your suffix; the technical sheet establishes the presence of the control system, not every menu value.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11ECO mode
ECO is intended to reduce energy use during periods when the appliance is opened less often. It is most useful when the refrigerator is lightly loaded or the household is away, but check the manual for how the mode changes temperatures and alarms before using it for highly perishable food.
Fast freezing
Fast-freezing mode is designed for adding fresh food to the freezer. Activate it ahead of a large load according to the manual, then return to the normal setting when the food is frozen; leaving a temporary high-performance mode on indefinitely can consume more electricity.
Temperature alarm
An alarm can warn about a door left open or a temperature rise. Treat it as an early warning, not proof that food is safe: check the display and the condition of the food, and follow Australian food-safety guidance after a prolonged outage.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Life Plus 0°C drawer
The Life Plus drawer is intended for foods that benefit from colder-than-standard refrigerator storage. It can be useful for meat, fish or other short-life items, but it is not a substitute for the freezer. Store food in sealed containers and follow the drawer’s stated temperature and loading instructions.
How much energy does the Australian model use?
Smeg Australia’s technical sheet states 569 kWh per year and 42 dBA noise. Those are the figures to use when assessing the Australian variant, subject to the energy label supplied with the exact appliance. Annual consumption is a test-based estimate, not a guarantee of your bill: room temperature, door openings, loading and electricity tariffs change the result.
CHOICE’s FAB38LBLAU listing also records 569 kWh/year. By contrast, the newer UK FAB38LBL6 page lists 230 kWh/year, D energy class and 37 dB. The UK appliance has a different suffix, market and rating system context, so its lower number must not be used to estimate Australian running costs.
Estimate your running cost
Multiply 569 kWh by your electricity retailer’s tariff per kWh to get a simple annual estimate. For example, at a tariff of A$0.30/kWh, the arithmetic would be 569 × 0.30 = A$170.70 per year; your actual tariff may differ, and the calculation does not include demand charges or changing usage.
How noisy is the FAB38?
The Australian sheet’s 42 dBA rating is the relevant published figure for the Australian variant. CHOICE identifies a 2021 test year but does not expose its expert noise score, temperature-stability results or other subscores without membership, so no independent performance rating should be inferred from the accessible listing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Noise is most noticeable in an open-plan room, during compressor starts and when fans or automatic defrost systems run. The appliance’s installation surface, floor level and wall reflections can affect what you hear. If low noise is critical, listen to a demonstration unit and compare the local energy label rather than importing the UK 37 dB figure.
What warranty applies in Australia?
The documents conflict. Smeg Australia’s technical sheet states a five-year parts-and-labour warranty, while CHOICE’s FAB38LBLAU entry lists a two-year warranty. Because warranty terms can depend on the exact suffix, purchase channel and registration conditions, the seller’s written warranty for the serialised Australian appliance should control your decision.
- Request the warranty document before purchase, not only a salesperson’s verbal summary.
- Check whether the term covers parts and labour, and whether call-out, transport or installation costs are excluded.
- Confirm who performs service in your postcode and what proof of purchase is required.
- Keep the model suffix, serial number, invoice and delivery record together.
Do not assume that a UK or other regional FAB38 warranty transfers to Australia. The same-looking cabinet can have different electronics, energy labels, service networks and legal terms.
What did independent testing establish?
CHOICE records a 2021 test year for the FAB38LBLAU and places it in its large 451–525 L category. The accessible entry gives the claimed dimensions, capacities, energy use, country of origin (Italy), price and warranty, but its expert rating and detailed subscores are member-only. It is therefore accurate to say that the model was tested, but not to quote a temperature-stability, evenness, noise or overall score that is not publicly shown.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →How much does the FAB38LBLAU cost?
CHOICE’s Australian listing records A$3,990. The listing is tied to its recorded product information and does not establish a current retail price, promotion or stock position. Large-appliance prices can change, so obtain a dated written quote that includes delivery, installation, old-appliance removal and any extended service charge.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
At this price level, compare the complete ownership package rather than the cabinet alone: usable refrigerator and freezer space, installation clearances, annual energy use, noise, warranty length, hinge configuration and local service availability. A cheaper refrigerator that cannot pass your doorway, or has a shorter supported service life in your area, is not a practical saving.
What are the main advantages and drawbacks?
| Advantages | Limitations and risks |
|---|---|
| Large refrigerator-led storage with a bottom freezer | Very tall and deep; delivery and doorway planning are essential |
| Total Frost Free design avoids routine manual defrosting | Unexpected frost or water still requires troubleshooting or service |
| Electronic two-zone control, ECO, fast freezing and temperature alarm | Exact settings and behavior vary by suffix and should be checked in the local manual |
| Life Plus 0°C drawer for colder fresh-food storage | Published capacity differs between gross and claimed figures |
| Distinctive retro appearance | Australian warranty information is inconsistent across documents |
| Italian origin is recorded by CHOICE | Current price, stock, hinge side and service coverage need confirmation |
What should you verify before ordering?
- Model identity: Ensure the invoice says FAB38LBLAU, not a visually similar FAB38 suffix from another market.
- Current energy label: Check the Australian label supplied with that exact unit; do not substitute the UK FAB38LBL6 data.
- Dimensions: Confirm cabinet, handle and door-swing measurements, plus the manufacturer’s installation clearances.
- Hinge and opening direction: Ask which side is hinged and whether the supplied configuration suits your kitchen. Do not assume a different regional version can be reversed.
- Delivery route: Provide doorway, hallway and lift measurements to the retailer and obtain confirmation in writing.
- Warranty: Resolve the two-year versus five-year discrepancy before payment and retain the written terms.
- Included work: Clarify whether delivery, unpacking, levelling, connection and removal of the old appliance are included.
- Returns: Ask how a damage-on-delivery claim is handled and photograph the carton and cabinet before installation.
Is the Smeg FAB38LBLAU worth buying?
It is worth considering if your priorities are a statement retro design, a refrigerator-led 500 L-class capacity, frost-free operation and electronic convenience features. It is a poor fit for a shallow galley kitchen, a tight doorway or a buyer who cannot accept uncertainty about the exact warranty and current energy label.
The strongest case is practical: measure first, verify the Australian SKU and warranty in writing, and budget for the published 569 kWh/year consumption. If those checks work and you value the design, the FAB38’s size and feature set justify a premium position. If any check fails, choose a model whose local dimensions, energy data and service terms are unambiguous.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why do some listings say 504 L while others say 510 L?
The Australian technical sheet gives gross compartment capacities totaling 510 L, while CHOICE lists 504 L total and different claimed compartment volumes. Those figures use different reporting conventions, so compare the layout and the seller’s stated usable capacity instead of treating them as a contradiction in the cabinet itself.
Can I use the UK FAB38LBL6 energy figure for an Australian purchase?
No. The UK page describes a different suffix and market, with 230 kWh/year, 37 dB and 481 L. Ask for the Australian energy label for FAB38LBLAU and calculate running costs from that document.
What information should I give a delivery company?
Provide the narrowest doorway and hallway widths, ceiling height, turns, lift dimensions and the final opening size. Also tell the retailer about steps, security doors and any need to remove doors; packaged dimensions and handling options should be confirmed before dispatch.
Where can I find the authoritative warranty term?
Use the written warranty supplied for the exact Australian serialised appliance and purchase channel. The technical sheet says five years of parts and labour, whereas CHOICE lists two years, so a generic FAB38 statement is not sufficient.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

