Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Smeg FAB32RPGNA1 is worth considering when a distinctive 1950s-style finish and a roomy refrigerator compartment matter more than the latest convenience features. It gives you a bottom freezer, simple mechanical controls and a five-year parts-and-labour warranty in Australian listings, but it lacks water and ice dispensing, cannot be converted to a left-hand hinge, and its availability is uncertain. The premium is therefore easiest to justify for buyers choosing the look and layout first. If you need flexible installation, connected features, or a clearly supported current model, check stock and the exact model suffix before paying.

What is the Smeg FAB32RPGNA1?

The FAB32RPGNA1 belongs to Smeg’s FAB32 50’s Style family: a freestanding, pastel-green refrigerator with a glossy rounded cabinet, fixed external handle and bottom freezer. Its design is the main differentiator. Smeg’s official Philippine copy for a newer FAB32RPG5 variant describes the range as combining iconic 1950s design with modern functionality; that wording applies to the family’s design language, not as a specification sheet for the NA1.

The NA1 is a conventional, non-connected appliance. There is no touchscreen, app control, plumbed water inlet, water dispenser or ice dispenser. Temperature adjustment is manual, with separate thermostats for the refrigerator and freezer. That simpler approach can suit people who want fewer electronic features to manage, but it means you should not expect the convenience or flexibility of a current premium multi-door refrigerator.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who is it aimed at?

  • Design-conscious households that want a statement appliance rather than an integrated or hidden refrigerator.
  • Users who open the refrigerator far more often than the freezer and prefer the freezer below waist level.
  • Kitchens with a fixed right-hand door swing and enough depth for the cabinet plus ventilation clearance.
  • Buyers comfortable verifying retailer stock because the model is listed as discontinued or unavailable by at least one retailer.

How much storage does the FAB32RPGNA1 provide?

The published total capacity is 326 litres, divided into a 228-litre refrigerator compartment and a 98-litre freezer compartment. The split prioritizes fresh-food storage: roughly seven-tenths of the stated volume is above the freezer. That is useful if you buy fresh produce, dairy and prepared meals more often than frozen food.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Compartment Stated capacity What the layout means
Refrigerator 228 L Large upper compartment for everyday food; glass shelves and door racks organize tall and small items.
Freezer 98 L Bottom compartment with a fast-freeze drawer; more convenient to reach than a low freezer on a top-freezer design.
Total 326 L Published combined volume; usable space can be lower after shelves, bins and air gaps are taken into account.

Capacity figures are manufacturer and retailer specifications, not a measurement of clear, unobstructed shelf area. Before ordering, compare the internal shelf widths and drawer heights with the containers you actually use. A 228-litre refrigerator can feel generous for two people yet tight for a larger household that stores wide trays or many bottles.

How big is the Smeg FAB32RPGNA1, and what clearance does it need?

The cabinet measures 1,926 mm high, 600 mm wide and 720 mm deep. Retailer guidance calls for approximately 1,980 mm of installation height, 700 mm of width and 770 mm of depth. Those larger figures are the practical planning envelope, not the appliance dimensions: they allow room for ventilation, door movement and installation tolerances.

Measurement Appliance Recommended installation space
Height 1,926 mm About 1,980 mm
Width 600 mm About 700 mm
Depth 720 mm About 770 mm

Checks to make before delivery

  1. Measure the full route from the delivery vehicle to the kitchen, including doors, hallways, lifts and turns. The rounded cabinet still needs enough straight-line clearance to pass safely.
  2. Check the final recess against the recommended 1,980 × 700 × 770 mm envelope rather than the 1,926 × 600 × 720 mm cabinet alone.
  3. Confirm that the right side has room for the fixed hinge and that opening the door will not strike a wall, island or adjacent appliance.
  4. Allow space above the cabinet for ventilation and for installers to level the refrigerator; do not force it tightly under a shelf.

The door hinge is on the right and is not reversible. This is a hard installation constraint, not a cosmetic preference. If your kitchen requires a left-hand opening, choose a different model rather than assuming a technician can swap the hinge.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much energy does the FAB32RPGNA1 use?

The Australian listing gives the refrigerator a 3.5-star energy rating and claimed consumption of 323 kWh per year. CHOICE recorded the 323 kWh/year figure in a 2020 test record; it is not a guarantee of every household’s bill. Actual use varies with room temperature, door openings, loading, thermostat setting and ventilation around the cabinet.

To estimate running cost, multiply 323 kWh by your electricity tariff. For example, at a tariff of A$0.30 per kWh, the arithmetic would be 323 × 0.30 = A$96.90 per year, but that is an illustration rather than a quoted cost for your address. Use the energy label and your current tariff when comparing it with another refrigerator.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What the rating does and does not tell you

  • The 3.5-star label is the Australian rating for this model, not a rating for every FAB32 refrigerator.
  • The annual figure is a standardized estimate; it should not be read as a measured household average.
  • Newer FAB32 suffixes may carry different energy labels, capacities or noise figures. Never transfer their numbers to the NA1.

What features are included, and what is missing?

The feature set is deliberately straightforward. The refrigerator has automatic defrost, while the freezer is frost-free. An LED lamp illuminates the interior. Storage includes glass shelves, bottle racks and an egg holder, and the freezer includes a fast-freeze drawer. Manual temperature controls and two thermostats let you adjust the compartments independently. A tropical rating indicates the model is intended for warm ambient conditions, although the cited specifications do not state an operating-temperature range.

Feature FAB32RPGNA1 Practical effect
Refrigerator defrost Automatic Less routine defrosting work in the fresh-food section.
Freezer defrost Frost-free Reduces ice build-up and the need for manual defrost cycles.
Lighting LED Lower-heat interior illumination with good visibility.
Controls Manual; two thermostats Independent refrigerator and freezer adjustment without app control.
Storage fittings Glass shelves, bottle racks, egg storage, fast-freeze drawer Basic organization for bottles, cartons and frozen food.
Water or ice dispensing None No dispenser on the door and no plumbing connection.
Door flexibility Right hinge, not reversible Requires a compatible kitchen layout.

The absence of a dispenser is not a defect if you prefer a cleaner door and fewer plumbing parts. It is a deal-breaker if chilled water or door ice is part of your daily routine. The appliance uses a standard 10A plug and lead, so installation does not require a dedicated water line.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What are the installation and connection requirements?

Plan for a normal electrical outlet suitable for the supplied 10A plug and lead. Because there is no water or ice system, there is no inlet hose, shut-off valve or drain connection to install. The important preparation is physical: level the cabinet, preserve the recommended ventilation space and keep the hinge side clear.

Recommended installation sequence

  1. Verify the route, recess and right-hand swing before delivery day.
  2. Position the refrigerator within the recommended installation envelope, leaving the specified breathing room rather than pushing the cabinet flush against surrounding units.
  3. Connect the 10A plug to an appropriate outlet after the appliance is stable and level.
  4. Set the refrigerator and freezer thermostats to the manufacturer’s starting positions, then allow the compartments to cool before loading them fully.
  5. Check that shelves, drawers and the door seal move freely after leveling; a misaligned cabinet can make the door appear faulty or prevent a proper seal.

Follow the supplied installation manual and local electrical requirements. Retailer delivery services may have their own access and unpacking conditions, so confirm those terms when ordering.

What warranty and service coverage does it have?

Australian retailer listings document a five-year warranty covering parts and labour. The listings do not establish that the same term applies in every country or to every seller, so confirm the written warranty for your purchase, including who performs service, what labour is included and whether transport is charged outside service areas.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Keep the invoice, model number and serial number. If a fault appears, record the temperature, alarms or visible symptoms before moving food. Do not discard the failed part or alter the sealed refrigeration system; unauthorized work can complicate a warranty claim.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What do independent tests and owners say about reliability?

CHOICE lists the NA1 as tested in 2020 and publishes its specifications. The expert score, noise result and food-preservation results are behind CHOICE membership, so there is no public basis for assigning the model a CHOICE rating or quoting those test outcomes. Treat the existence of a test record as evidence that it was evaluated, not as a published recommendation.

ProductReview.com.au lists the model as discontinued and includes one detailed owner account. That reviewer described constant flooding, defrosting, food spoilage, broken plastic pieces and a damaged seal, then reported excellent service from Smeg. One historical account cannot establish a failure rate or predict the experience of every owner, but it does identify symptoms worth checking during the warranty period.

What to monitor after installation

  • Water collecting inside or beneath the refrigerator.
  • Unexpected thawing, repeated defrosting or food that does not remain frozen.
  • A door seal that is loose, torn or visibly folded.
  • Cracked shelves, bins or other plastic components.
  • Temperatures that remain inconsistent after the cabinet has been leveled and given time to stabilize.

Photograph any issue, note the date and contact the seller or authorized service channel promptly. Early documentation is more useful than waiting until spoiled food or secondary damage has accumulated.

How much does it cost, and is the model discontinued?

Two Australian retailer records show different positions. Appliances Online lists an offer of A$4,040, while Winning Appliances shows an A$2,990 comparison price and marks the product as no longer available. The dates of those listings are not stated in the supplied records, so neither figure should be treated as a current national price. Check live stock, seller identity, delivery charges, warranty terms and the exact suffix before payment.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Retailer record Displayed amount Availability note
Appliances Online A$4,040 offer Stock status must be confirmed at checkout; listing date not stated.
Winning Appliances A$2,990 comparison price Marked no longer available; listing date not stated.

A large gap between an offer and a comparison price can reflect timing, clearance stock, regional delivery or a discontinued line. Ask whether the unit is new, ex-display, refurbished or an old warehouse item, and obtain the warranty in writing. Do not substitute specifications from a newer FAB32 model simply because its name looks similar.

How should I compare the FAB32RPGNA1 with alternatives?

Use the NA1’s documented values as a baseline, then request the same fields for each alternative. The design decision is subjective; the dimensions, energy data, door arrangement and service terms are not.

Comparison axis FAB32RPGNA1 baseline Question to ask about another model
Fresh-food/freezer volume 228 L / 98 L; 326 L total Are capacities measured under the same standard, and does the freezer size suit your shopping pattern?
Cabinet size 1,926 × 600 × 720 mm Will it fit the route and recess, including door and hinge clearance?
Installation envelope About 1,980 × 700 × 770 mm Does the alternative require more ventilation or a different swing?
Energy 3.5 stars; 323 kWh/year (CHOICE, 2020) Is the figure from the same national labeling scheme and current model year?
Warranty/service Five years parts and labour in Australian listings Who pays for labour, transport and parts after the initial period?
Dispensing No water or ice dispenser; no plumbing Do you need dispensing, or would it add maintenance you do not want?
Door Right hinge, not reversible Can the hinge side be changed, and is that documented by the manufacturer?
Availability Conflicting retailer status Is the exact model physically in stock with a valid local warranty?

Newer FAB32 models can differ materially in energy labels, capacity and noise. Compare their official specification sheets separately instead of assuming the FAB32 name guarantees continuity.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What are the main advantages and disadvantages?

Advantages

  • Distinctive pastel-green 1950s styling with a glossy rounded finish.
  • Bottom-freezer layout keeps the 228-litre refrigerator section at a convenient height.
  • 326 litres of stated total capacity, with a larger fresh-food section than freezer.
  • Automatic refrigerator defrost and a frost-free freezer reduce routine ice management.
  • LED lighting, glass shelves, bottle racks, egg storage and a fast-freeze drawer cover everyday organization.
  • Five-year parts-and-labour warranty is documented in Australian retailer listings.
  • No plumbing installation is required.

Disadvantages

  • Right-hand hinge is fixed and cannot be reversed.
  • No water dispenser or ice dispenser.
  • Manual controls and no connected or smart features.
  • 3.5-star rating is not class-leading on the evidence supplied, and the 323 kWh/year figure comes from a 2020 record.
  • Availability is uncertain, with one retailer marking it no longer available.
  • The public evidence does not include CHOICE’s expert score, noise result or food-preservation scores.
  • One owner reported serious historical problems; that account is not a statistical reliability measure.

Is the Smeg FAB32RPGNA1 worth the money?

It can be, if the pastel-green 1950s design and bottom-freezer ergonomics are the reasons you are shopping. The storage, frost management and warranty make it a functional refrigerator rather than a purely decorative purchase. However, the premium is harder to defend if you need a reversible door, dispenser, smart controls, the newest energy performance or assured long-term availability.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Make the decision only after confirming the exact unit, retailer warranty, delivery route and current stock. At a high price, a written confirmation that the appliance is new and covered locally matters as much as the cabinet color. If those checks pass and the fixed right-hand swing works in your kitchen, the FAB32RPGNA1 is a coherent design-led choice. If any one of them fails, select a currently supported refrigerator whose dimensions and service terms fit your home.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the FAB32RPGNA1 tropical rating mean?

It indicates that the refrigerator is designed for use in warm ambient conditions, which can be relevant in hot kitchens or climates. The available specifications do not state the permitted temperature range, so ask the seller for the manual or rating-class details if your room regularly becomes very hot.

Can I use the refrigerator during a power outage?

Keep both doors closed to preserve cold air and follow local food-safety guidance for deciding what remains safe to eat. The supplied specifications do not state a backup-power feature or an alarm duration, so do not assume it will continue cooling without mains electricity.

How can I verify that a listing is really the NA1 model?

Ask for a photograph of the rating plate or a written model number showing FAB32RPGNA1, not merely FAB32 or a newer suffix. Confirm that the quoted capacity, energy label and hinge arrangement match the NA1 before accepting delivery.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Should I buy an ex-display FAB32RPGNA1?

Only if the seller identifies it as ex-display in writing, lists every cosmetic or functional mark and provides the full applicable warranty. Inspect the door seal, shelves, handle and cabinet corners before signing, because replacement parts and stock may be harder to source for a discontinued model.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.