iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The SleepMaker Miracoil Armadale is a firm, 33 cm-thick queen spring mattress that CHOICE lists as discontinued. Its public record establishes useful specifications and historical prices, but does not disclose the independent performance results needed to judge how well it supports different sleepers or holds up over time. If you are considering one, first establish whether it is new old stock or second-hand, then verify its condition, warranty coverage and feel in person. If you want a current mattress, SleepMaker still lists other Miracoil models in several firmnesses.
What is the SleepMaker Miracoil Armadale?
The Armadale was a firm, queen-size spring mattress in SleepMaker’s Miracoil range. CHOICE records a light-spring core, 12 layers and a height of 33 cm. The model is marked discontinued, so a listing for one today may refer to remaining retailer stock, a used mattress or an old product page rather than a model that is still being made.
CHOICE lists a price of $2,099 and a price paid of $850 after a sale or bargaining. Those are historical reference points, not a current quote or a guaranteed resale value; the source does not establish when or where those prices applied. The gap is a reminder to compare the actual delivered price and terms rather than treating the listed price as a reliable measure of what the mattress is worth now.
Armadale specifications on record
| Specification | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Size | Queen |
| Feel | Firm |
| Support type | Light-spring core |
| Spring density | 174 springs per square metre |
| Number of layers | 12 |
| Height | 33 cm |
| Weight | 34 kg |
| Availability | CHOICE marks the model discontinued |
| CHOICE listed price | $2,099; date and market are not stated |
| CHOICE price paid | $850 after sale or bargaining; date and market are not stated |
The published specification does not identify the materials in all 12 layers, the exact dimensions beyond the queen size, or whether the model included a particular top treatment. Do not assume that two mattresses with the same height or spring count have the same construction or feel.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Is the Armadale firm, and what does that mean in practice?
Yes. CHOICE categorises the Armadale as firm. That label is a useful starting point, not a standardised measurement: firmness can feel different depending on a sleeper’s body shape, weight, sleeping position and the mattress’s condition.
For that reason, an old Armadale in a showroom or someone else’s home may not feel like a new one did. A used mattress may have softened or developed uneven areas, and even a remaining new unit has been stored for an unknown length of time unless the seller can document it. If possible, lie on the exact mattress you are buying in your usual sleep positions, rather than relying on a salesperson’s description or the model name.
Firmness also does not by itself establish whether a mattress will suit a person with back discomfort. A sleeper who wants a firm surface should still check whether the mattress lets their shoulders and hips settle comfortably without leaving uncomfortable pressure points.
Recommended Free Tools
How does the Miracoil support system work?
SleepMaker describes Miracoil as a continuous, Z-shaped coil system. The manufacturer says the continuous coil covers more surface area than regular spring systems and is intended to provide more even body support. That is the manufacturer’s explanation of the design, not an independent test result for the Armadale.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
SleepMaker’s current Miracoil page lists Super Firm, Firm, Medium and Plush comfort options, with sizes from Single through Super King. The brand also lists a 10-year warranty for the current range. Those current-range details should not be transferred automatically to a discontinued Armadale: confirm the exact model’s warranty, size availability and terms with the seller before purchase.
SleepMaker says its Miracoil mattresses are designed to support two adults weighing 120 kg each, and that Miracoil Advanced mattresses can support two sleepers weighing up to 150 kg each. These are manufacturer statements about the ranges named, not independent capacity tests for the Armadale. The available data does not establish that the Armadale is a Miracoil Advanced model or provide a model-specific weight limit.
Does the Armadale provide good back support?
The available evidence is not enough to conclude that the Armadale improves back health or treats back pain. SleepMaker says Miracoil is endorsed by Sports Chiropractic Australia and supported by back-care professionals for spine alignment and back health; that is a manufacturer claim, not independent clinical proof that the Armadale will relieve pain.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →CHOICE’s public page does not show its Expert Rating or laboratory results for this mattress. It also restricts access to assessments of support when new, performance for petite or larger sleepers, stability, sagging resistance, breathability, wear resistance and temperature. No public score or test finding is available here to fill those gaps, so it would be misleading to assign the Armadale a support rating or claim proven durability.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
In practical terms, judge fit and comfort on the mattress itself, and treat back-care endorsements as context rather than a personal medical recommendation. Persistent or severe back pain is a reason to seek advice from a qualified health professional, not to rely on a mattress claim alone.
What do owners say about SleepMaker Miracoil mattresses?
ProductReview.com.au reports 4.2 out of 5 from 358 reviews of the broader SleepMaker Miracoil range, with 78% positive and 22% negative sentiment. Positive reviewers describe comfort, support and perceived help with neck or back discomfort. Those reports are self-selected owner experiences across the range, not controlled tests and not reviews of the Armadale specifically.
The negative accounts include one owner reporting that a pillow top became too soft and saggy after three months, and another describing progressive sagging over several years and a disputed warranty outcome. These reports illustrate the kinds of durability and claims concerns to ask about, but they do not establish how common those problems are or predict how an Armadale will perform.
Read owner feedback as a set of questions to investigate rather than a guarantee. For an old or discontinued unit, the condition and the seller’s written warranty arrangements matter more than a broad range-wide rating.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Is the Armadale still available to buy?
CHOICE marks the Armadale discontinued, so availability is not assured. A retailer may have old stock, a private seller may offer a used unit, or a search result may remain online after the product is no longer sold. Confirm that the item being offered is actually an Armadale and ask for its manufacture or purchase history.
For remaining new stock, ask how long the mattress has been stored, whether it has been opened or displayed, and who will handle a warranty claim. Get the answers in writing, along with the seller’s return or exchange terms and the total delivered price. For a second-hand mattress, inspect it in person for visible sagging, unevenness, stains, damage and persistent odours; ask how it was used and stored. A low price does not compensate for uncertainty about condition or recourse if a problem appears.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What should you compare before choosing an alternative?
SleepMaker’s current Miracoil range offers more than one firmness and size, but the name alone does not establish that a current model feels or performs like the discontinued Armadale. Compare the mattress you can actually try or buy against your needs, and treat published product claims separately from independent test evidence.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| What to compare | Why it matters | Armadale reference point |
|---|---|---|
| Firmness | Comfort labels differ across brands and may feel different by sleeper. | CHOICE lists it as firm. |
| Support construction | Spring design and other layers affect feel; a range name does not specify every material. | CHOICE records a light-spring core and 174 springs per square metre. |
| Pressure relief and motion transfer | These can matter for side sleepers and people sharing a bed. | Public model-specific results are not stated. |
| Temperature management | Warmth and breathability can affect comfort. | Public model-specific results are not stated. |
| Height and bed fit | Mattress height affects the finished bed height and protector fit. | 33 cm; measure the mattress you are buying. |
| Warranty, trial and exchange terms | Terms determine what remedies are available if the fit or product is unsatisfactory. | Armadale-specific current terms are not stated; confirm with the seller. |
| Availability and total price | Old stock, delivery charges and seller policies can change the real cost. | Discontinued; CHOICE records historical prices of $2,099 and $850 after sale or bargaining. |
A showroom try-out is particularly useful because “firm” is not a universal feel standard. Spend enough time in your usual sleeping positions to notice pressure or discomfort, and compare a current model’s actual features and terms rather than assuming it is an Armadale replacement because it carries the Miracoil name.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How do you care for an Armadale mattress?
Sleep House’s SleepMaker care guidance recommends a quality washable mattress protector and keeping the mattress clean, dry and ventilated. A protector can help shield the surface from spills and everyday soil, but it does not resolve sagging, restore support or substitute for checking an old mattress’s condition.
Because CHOICE records the Armadale at 33 cm thick, look for a queen protector whose stated pocket depth is approximately 33 cm, then check the actual mattress depth and the protector’s elastic fit before ordering. A nominal size alone may not ensure the protector stays in place on a thick mattress.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a higher spring count mean a mattress is better?
Not on its own. A spring count does not reveal coil design, layer materials, pressure relief or performance over time, so compare those details and how the mattress feels rather than ranking models by one number.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchDoes the Armadale fit standard queen fitted sheets?
The published record gives its height but does not provide a full dimensional specification or sheet-pocket requirements. Check the measurements of the specific mattress and the fitted sheet’s pocket depth before buying.
Can I put an Armadale on an adjustable bed base?
The available model details do not establish that the Armadale is compatible with an adjustable base. Ask the base and mattress sellers to confirm compatibility for the exact products in writing before using them together.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

