Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Verdict: The Sharp SJGJ584VBK is a very large, quiet-running top-freezer refrigerator with useful features such as an inverter compressor, hybrid cooling, express freezing and AG+ Nano deodorising. However, it is a discontinued model, its 3-star energy rating is dated, and owner reports raise practical concerns about freezer lighting, buzzing, fixed door storage and replacement parts. It can make sense as a well-priced used appliance when you can verify its condition and service support, but it is a risky choice at a premium price.

CHOICE lists 585L gross capacity (407L refrigerator and 178L freezer), 480kWh claimed annual consumption, a 3-star rating and a two-year warranty for the model tested in 2015. Sharp’s specification sheet gives dimensions of 1,750mm high, 800mm wide and 725mm deep including the handle.

What is the Sharp SJGJ584VBK?

The SJGJ584VBK is a black-glass, right-hand-door, top-freezer refrigerator sold in Australia. Its headline capacity is 585L gross, placing it in the extra-large freezer-on-top category. The refrigerator compartment accounts for 407L and the freezer for 178L, a split that suits households needing substantial fresh-food space without moving to a side-by-side design.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The model was launched as a budget-oriented 584L top-mount refrigerator and was sold exclusively through Harvey Norman at launch, according to ChannelNews on 26 February 2014. CHOICE later recorded a $1,599 price and marks the appliance discontinued. Those are historical references, not current prices.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Core specifications

Specification SJGJ584VBK detail Evidence and qualification
Configuration Top freezer, right-hand door, black glass Product listing and owner listing
Gross capacity 585L CHOICE test listing
Refrigerator capacity 407L CHOICE test listing
Freezer capacity 178L CHOICE test listing
Height 1,750mm Sharp specification sheet
Width 800mm Sharp specification sheet
Depth 725mm including handle Sharp specification sheet; depth without the handle is not stated
Energy rating 3 stars CHOICE listing from its 2015 test
Claimed annual energy use 480kWh/year Published figure associated with the CHOICE listing; not a current household measurement
Refrigerant R600a Sharp specification sheet
Warranty Two years CHOICE listing; original terms and transferability for a used unit should be verified

How much usable storage does the 585L design provide?

The 407L refrigerator and 178L freezer figures describe gross compartment volume, not the amount of food that can be packed around shelves, bins, evaporator housings and door liners. Sharp’s layout includes tempered-glass shelves, separate fruit and vegetable cases, door storage and twin ice trays. The split gives the fresh-food section more than twice the stated freezer volume, which is useful for large weekly shops but less suitable for households that freeze large quantities.

Refrigerator compartment

  • Tempered-glass shelves are specified by Sharp and should contain spills more effectively than wire shelving, although shelf height adjustment details are not stated.
  • Separate fruit and vegetable cases provide dedicated produce storage.
  • Owner reports describe the internal layout as easy to use, but also say door-pocket heights are fixed. Tall bottles or cartons may therefore require planning rather than simple shelf repositioning.
  • One owner described the capacity as a major strength, while another noted that the appliance is easy to move on its wheels.

Freezer compartment

The 178L freezer is large for a top-mount refrigerator, but the owner reports identify a missing freezer light as a usability drawback. That is an anecdotal observation from ProductReview, not a specification-sheet statement. Check the exact unit in person because lighting may have been modified or faults may have been repaired.

Which cooling and convenience features does Sharp include?

The official feature set is stronger than the model’s age suggests, but feature names do not guarantee a particular temperature result in every kitchen. Sharp specifies the following systems.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

J-Tech inverter

The J-Tech inverter varies compressor operation instead of relying only on repeated full-power starts and stops. In principle, variable operation can support steadier cooling and lower peak electrical demand, but the available material does not provide an independent efficiency comparison with newer refrigerators.

Hybrid cooling

Hybrid cooling is listed as a Sharp feature intended to manage compartment temperatures using the refrigerator’s cooling architecture. The specification does not explain the control algorithm or provide independent temperature-uniformity measurements, so treat it as a design feature rather than proof of superior performance.

Express freezing

Express freezing is intended for rapidly chilling newly added food. Use it when loading a substantial amount of unfrozen food, then return to normal operation according to the refrigerator’s controls. The available specifications do not state the duration, temperature target or maximum load for this mode.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

AG+ Nano deodoriser

The AG+ Nano deodoriser is designed to reduce odours inside the refrigerator. It does not replace sealed storage, regular cleaning or prompt removal of spoiled food.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Other specified hardware

  • R600a refrigerant.
  • Tempered-glass shelves.
  • Separate fruit and vegetable cases.
  • Twin ice trays.

How much power does the SJGJ584VBK use?

CHOICE lists 480kWh per year and a 3-star energy rating for its 2015 test listing. The figure is the most useful published energy reference for this model, but it is not a guarantee of what your appliance will draw: ambient temperature, thermostat settings, door openings, food load, ventilation and condition all affect consumption.

To estimate an annual electricity cost, multiply 480 by your retailer’s tariff in dollars per kilowatt-hour. For example, at a tariff of $0.30/kWh, the arithmetic would be 480 × $0.30; use your bill’s actual rate rather than this illustrative value. Because the model is discontinued, compare this result with the current annual-kWh label on any replacement, not merely with another star rating from a different testing period.

No independent current running-cost calculation or controlled efficiency comparison is established for the SJGJ584VBK beyond the published 480kWh/year figure. A used unit with a failing door seal, blocked ventilation or a compressor that runs continuously can consume more than its historical test result.

Is the Sharp SJGJ584VBK quiet?

ProductReview’s exact black-glass right-door listing has a 5.0/5 noise sub-score from three reviews. Individual owners describe the refrigerator as quiet overall, but one reports a buzzing sound that is audible in a quiet room. These are personal observations rather than a measured decibel result, and room acoustics can make the same sound seem more or less intrusive.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When inspecting a used appliance, listen with the compressor running and again after a door has been opened. A brief change in sound can be normal during cooling cycles; persistent harsh rattling, grinding or loud buzzing deserves a service diagnosis before purchase. No controlled noise measurement is available for this model.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What do owners report about build quality and daily use?

The ProductReview listing gives the SJGJ584VBK 2.9/5 overall from three reviews. Its displayed sub-scores are 4.0/5 for build quality, value, ease of use, cleaning and internal layout, and 5.0/5 for noise. With only three reviews, these scores indicate a small and mixed sample, not a reliability rate.

Reported positive experience Reported caution How to interpret it
Large storage capacity No light in the freezer Check visibility in the actual unit
Stylish black-glass appearance Dim refrigerator LED lighting Inspect lighting with the doors open
Quick cooling Fixed door-pocket heights Bring your tallest bottles when checking fit
Quiet operation Buzzing audible in quiet rooms Listen during a complete cooling cycle
Easy-to-move wheels Spare parts described as expensive or difficult to source Confirm support before committing

These comments are anecdotal owner reports. They are useful for identifying what to inspect, but they should not be presented as controlled tests or proof that every SJGJ584VBK has the same fault.

What are the Sharp SJGJ584VBK’s dimensions and installation requirements?

Sharp specifies 1,750mm height, 800mm width and 725mm depth with the handle. Measure the full route from delivery entrance to final position, including doorways, lift interiors, hall turns and cabinet openings. The published depth excludes no other protrusions in the supplied specification, so ask the seller or service agent for a complete installation drawing if the fit is tight.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Required rear, side and top clearances are not stated in the available specifications. Do not push the cabinet tightly against a wall or overhead cabinet until you have confirmed the manufacturer’s ventilation requirements. Leave enough space for the doors to open, drawers to pull out and the appliance to be levelled. The black-glass finish can also make fingerprints and reflections more noticeable, so check the intended location under its actual lighting.

Is the SJGJ584VBK still available, and what should it cost?

The model is marked discontinued by CHOICE, so there is no dependable current retail price to quote. ChannelNews reported an RRP of $1,399 at launch on 26 February 2014, while CHOICE later recorded $1,599. Both figures are historical and should not be used as a current-market valuation.

Price or availability reference What it means
$1,399 RRP ChannelNews launch report dated 26 February 2014; historical launch pricing
$1,599 Later CHOICE listing; historical price, not a current offer
Discontinued CHOICE status; replacement stock and service support need separate confirmation
Current new price Not established

A low used price does not automatically make the refrigerator good value. Factor in transport, possible door-seal or lighting repairs, electricity use, and the cost of obtaining shelves, bins, trays or electronic components. If a seller cannot demonstrate cooling performance or provide a parts source, price the appliance as a high-risk purchase.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Are spare parts and repairs easy to obtain?

Owner comments describe spare parts as expensive or hard to source. No current, compatibility-confirmed parts catalogue is established for this discontinued model. That does not prove that every component is unavailable, but it does make parts support a decision point rather than an assumption.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before buying, record the complete model and serial numbers and ask an authorised Sharp service channel whether the specific part is still orderable. Confirm availability and price for the door gasket, shelves, crisper drawers, freezer components, light assemblies and control or inverter electronics. Ask whether the quoted part is new, refurbished or substituted, and whether installation requires a qualified technician.

How should you inspect a used SJGJ584VBK?

A hands-on inspection is more valuable than a cosmetic photograph for this discontinued refrigerator. Use this sequence:

  1. Verify identity. Photograph the model and serial labels and confirm that the cabinet is the SJGJ584VBK, not a visually similar Sharp model.
  2. Check the cabinet and glass. Look for cracked glass, swollen panels, corrosion, damaged hinges and a door that sits squarely.
  3. Test the seals. Close a sheet of paper in several points around each door. Resistance should feel broadly consistent; gaps or loose sections warrant a replacement-seal enquiry.
  4. Run the controls. Confirm that normal cooling and express-freezing controls respond and that interior lighting operates as expected.
  5. Listen and observe. Let the compressor run long enough to hear starting, steady operation and shutdown. Note unusual buzzing, clicking or vibration.
  6. Inspect storage hardware. Count shelves, bins, door pockets and ice trays against the seller’s description. Check for cracks and test every drawer.
  7. Ask for service evidence. Request repair invoices, the original receipt, warranty paperwork and any documented compressor or control-board work.

Do not transport the refrigerator immediately after switching it off and then power it up without following the mover’s or technician’s guidance. A professional mover can advise on safe positioning and restart timing for the specific transport orientation.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Who should buy this refrigerator?

The SJGJ584VBK is most defensible for a buyer who needs a very large top-freezer layout, likes the black-glass finish, and can inspect a working used unit locally. Its 407L refrigerator section, 178L freezer and quietness reports are meaningful advantages when the price reflects its age and discontinued status.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose a current replacement instead when you need predictable parts support, a valid new warranty, published modern energy performance, adjustable door storage or guaranteed freezer lighting. A newer model may also provide clearer installation data and a better documented service network.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Choose the SJGJ584VBK when… Look elsewhere when…
You need large fresh-food capacity in a top-freezer format. You require current retail availability and straightforward warranty service.
You can verify cooling, seals, lighting and noise in person. You cannot inspect the appliance or confirm its service history.
The used price leaves room for repairs and transport. The seller is charging close to the price of a newer, supported refrigerator.
You are comfortable checking parts availability before purchase. You depend on rapid, inexpensive replacement parts.

What should you compare with a current replacement?

Do not compare on capacity alone. The SJGJ584VBK’s published capacity is gross, while retailers may quote usable or net volume. Put each candidate on the same checklist:

Comparison point Why it matters What to record
Total and compartment capacity Determines whether the fridge/freezer split suits your shopping pattern. Gross and usable litres, plus refrigerator/freezer split.
External size and clearances A nominally similar refrigerator may not fit the route or kitchen. Height, width, depth with handles, door-swing and ventilation clearances.
Energy performance Running costs accumulate over the appliance’s life. Annual kWh, star rating, test standard and label date.
Storage adjustability Fixed pockets can limit bottle and carton placement. Adjustable shelves, movable bins and door-pocket positions.
Lighting and controls Affects everyday access, especially in a dark freezer. Freezer light, LED placement, temperature display and fast-freeze control.
Noise information Important in open-plan kitchens and quiet rooms. Manufacturer decibel rating and independent measurements, if available.
Warranty and service Reduces risk when electronics or compressors fail. Warranty length, exclusions, local service and parts lead time.
Price and availability Sets whether an older appliance is financially sensible. Current delivered price, installation cost and likely repair reserve.

What is the final assessment of the Sharp SJGJ584VBK?

The SJGJ584VBK remains attractive for its unusually large 585L gross capacity, useful 407L/178L compartment split, inverter drive, express freezing and quietness reports. Its weaknesses are equally practical: the model is discontinued, the energy information comes from an older 2015 listing, freezer lighting and door-pocket flexibility are questioned by owners, and parts support may be costly or uncertain.

Buy it only after confirming the exact unit’s cooling, seals, lighting, noise, completeness and repair options. Treat the historical $1,399 and $1,599 figures as context, not a target price, and compare the total ownership risk with a current refrigerator that has documented parts and warranty support.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the SJGJ584VBK’s 585L capacity the same as usable food space?

No. The 585L figure is gross capacity, and shelves, bins, door liners and cooling hardware reduce the space available for food. Compare net or usable litres when evaluating another refrigerator.

Can the original two-year warranty still protect a used refrigerator?

Not necessarily. The two-year term belongs to the original product listing, while transferability, purchase date and remaining coverage depend on the paperwork and the seller. Confirm those terms with Sharp or the authorised service channel before relying on the warranty.

What information should I give a service agent when asking about parts?

Provide the complete SJGJ584VBK model designation, serial number, the part name and a photograph of the existing component. Ask whether the part is compatible with that exact revision, its price and lead time, and whether installation requires a technician.

Why can a refrigerator’s actual electricity use differ from its published annual figure?

The published 480kWh/year value comes from a defined test condition. Kitchen temperature, ventilation, door openings, thermostat settings, food load, seal condition and compressor wear can all change real-world consumption.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.