Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Samsung currently has the clearest long-term Android support promise for its newest flagships. Samsung says the Galaxy S25 and Galaxy S26 series receive seven generations of operating-system upgrades and seven years of security updates from each series’ global launch. Motorola does not publish one support term for every phone; its schedule is model-, region- and channel-specific, so you must check the exact device. For example, Motorola’s EMEA listing for the moto g75 5G shows security updates through October 2030, but that date is not a universal Motorola guarantee.
The fair comparison is not simply “Samsung versus Motorola.” Count major Android upgrades separately from security-patch coverage, then compare the specific model, launch software, country and carrier variant, and the manufacturer’s stated end date.
What is the difference between Android upgrades and security updates?
An Android or operating-system upgrade is a major platform release that can add features, change system behavior and alter the phone’s interface. A security update fixes newly discovered vulnerabilities without necessarily changing the Android version.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Those promises are measured differently. “Seven generations of OS upgrades” describes the number of major platform upgrades a phone is expected to receive. “Seven years of security updates” describes how long the manufacturer plans to publish security fixes from a stated starting point. A phone can stop receiving major Android upgrades while still receiving security patches, or receive a platform upgrade after a security patch has been delayed by testing.
#1 Best Overall
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
- OS-upgrade count: the number of major Android versions promised after the launch software.
- Security-support term: the period during which security fixes are scheduled to be supplied.
- Delivery timing: when an update reaches your handset, which can differ by market, carrier, model version and certification status.
Always record both numbers. Treating an OS-upgrade promise as a security promise, or vice versa, produces a misleading comparison. A phone may look strong on one measure and ordinary on the other, so a single “years of support” figure is incomplete.
Which Samsung phones have the longest published support?
Among the models identified here, Samsung’s Galaxy S25 and Galaxy S26 series have the longest and most explicit commitment: seven OS-upgrade generations and seven years of security updates, both counted from the global launch of the relevant series.
| Model or series | Android version at launch | Promised OS upgrades | Security support | Starting point | Market and timing caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy S26 series | Not stated in the cited announcement | Seven generations | Seven years | Global launch date | Samsung says availability and timing can vary by product, network provider and market. |
| Galaxy S25 series | Not stated in the cited announcement | Seven generations | Seven years | Global launch date | Samsung says availability and timing can vary by product, network provider and market. |
| Selected Galaxy devices covered by Samsung’s 2022 policy | Varies by device | Up to four generations | Up to five years | Policy applies to selected devices | It is not a single promise for every Galaxy model. |
Samsung’s 2025 Sustainability Report describes Galaxy mobile security support as lasting up to seven years. The “up to” qualification matters: the applicable term depends on the product and market. A Galaxy A-series, FE, tablet or older flagship should not automatically be assigned the S25/S26 term.
The seven-generation wording also does not mean that every owner receives an update on the same day. Samsung qualifies availability and timing by product, model, network provider and market. Carrier testing and regional software builds can therefore create a gap between a global announcement and the date an individual phone can install the update.
Why the generation matters
Samsung’s support policy has changed over time. Selected devices in the company’s 2022 announcement were covered for up to four OS-upgrade generations and up to five years of security updates. The later S25 and S26 announcements use the longer seven-generation and seven-year language. Therefore, a Galaxy phone’s family name is not enough: the release generation determines which commitment applies.
When comparing an older Galaxy with a current Motorola, use the older Galaxy’s own announcement or support page. Do not carry the newest flagship policy backward to a phone that launched under an earlier program. “Up to” also means that the maximum applies only to the products Samsung identifies, not automatically to every device sold under the Galaxy name.
How long does Motorola support last?
Motorola support must be checked one model at a time. Motorola’s security guidance tells users to select a product and warns that devices not listed may no longer receive operating-system or security updates. Motorola also says its plans can change, and that region, channel, carrier certification and testing affect release schedules.
What the moto g75 5G listing shows
Motorola’s EMEA support listing for the moto g75 5G says the phone launched on Android 14 and lists security updates through October 2030. That is a useful, concrete end date for that EMEA listing, not a brand-wide Motorola policy and not proof that every regional or carrier version has the same schedule.
Rank #2
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
The cited Motorola material does not establish a universal number of Android OS-upgrade generations for the moto g75 5G. Do not fill that field with an assumption based on the security end date. Check the exact product page for the OS-upgrade information, if Motorola publishes it.
Why a Motorola date cannot be generalized
Motorola sells phones across several families and markets, with different launch dates, software packages and carrier relationships. A phone that appears in Motorola’s support lookup may have a different end date from a similarly named model sold elsewhere. Devices absent from the lookup should be treated as having no currently published update schedule rather than being assigned the schedule of a related phone.
Motorola’s own wording also matters: a listed plan is subject to change. Regard the displayed date as the manufacturer’s current schedule for that exact listing, not as an irrevocable contract that applies to every sales channel. If you import a phone, change carriers or compare an unlocked version with an operator edition, repeat the lookup for that variant.
Does seven generations mean seven years?
No. Samsung states both seven OS generations and seven security years for the Galaxy S25 and S26 series, but those are separate commitments. “Generations” counts platform upgrades; “years” measures elapsed time from launch.
The two figures can diverge on other phones. A manufacturer might promise several Android upgrades but a shorter security period, or a long security period with fewer major-version upgrades. Launch software also affects the calculation: a phone released with Android 14 has a different remaining upgrade path from one released with Android 15, even if both are sold in the same calendar year.
Use the manufacturer’s exact wording. Do not convert “up to seven years” into a guaranteed seven years for every model, and do not convert a calendar end date into a number of Android versions without knowing the phone’s launch version and the company’s upgrade policy.
How to interpret the starting date
A support term is meaningful only when its starting point is clear. Samsung’s S25 and S26 language says the clock starts at the global launch date. A Motorola listing may present a calendar end date for a particular region, such as October 2030 for the EMEA moto g75 5G entry. That date should not be recalculated from a different country’s sale date or from the date you personally bought the phone.
Recommended Free Tools
For a used device, your purchase date does not reset the support clock. The relevant question is how much of the original model-specific term remains. Record the launch or stated start date, then compare it with today’s date and the listed security end date.
Rank #3
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
How can I check the support horizon for my exact phone?
Identify the precise model and variant before comparing support. Retail names are often insufficient because a carrier edition or regional version can have a different schedule.
- Open the phone’s identity screen. On Android, go to Settings > About phone. Record the model name, model number, current Android version and, where shown, the security-update date.
- Separate the variant. Note the country or region and whether the phone was purchased from a carrier, an unlocked retailer or directly from the manufacturer.
- Check Motorola’s product lookup or Samsung’s model-specific support information. Search using the complete model designation, not only a family name such as “Moto G” or “Galaxy S.”
- Write down both commitments. Capture the promised OS-upgrade count and the security duration or calendar end date. If one is not published, mark it “not stated” rather than inferring it.
- Check the date’s scope. Confirm whether the figure starts at global launch, regional launch, first sale or another event, and whether it applies to your market and carrier.
- Recheck before buying. Manufacturer policies and schedules can change, particularly for Motorola devices, whose support pages state that plans are subject to change.
This process also prevents a common mistake: comparing a newly launched Samsung flagship’s global promise with an older Motorola phone’s regional listing, then presenting the result as a brand-wide ranking.
What to capture from a support page
Save the complete model designation, the page’s region, the stated launch software, the OS-upgrade language, the security end date or duration and any notes about carriers or channels. If the page lists only a security date, leave the OS-upgrade field blank. If it lists a maximum term, preserve the word “up to.” Those small qualifiers prevent a later comparison from turning a conditional statement into a guarantee.
Why can two owners receive the same update at different times?
Support duration and release speed are related but distinct. A phone can remain inside its published support window while waiting for an update to complete carrier certification, regional testing or a model-specific quality check.
- Carrier certification: mobile operators may test a build before approving it for their network.
- Regional software builds: countries can use different firmware, languages, regulatory settings or bundled services.
- Model variants: storage, modem, processor or radio differences can require separate packages.
- Maintenance releases: an update may be held while the manufacturer addresses a defect or adapts it to another component.
Samsung explicitly qualifies availability and timing by product, network provider and market. Motorola’s support guidance likewise points to carrier certification and testing as possible causes of delay. A late patch does not, by itself, prove that a phone has reached the end of its support term; compare the device’s actual security-patch date with the published schedule.
Does a long term imply monthly patches?
No. A seven-year security term answers how long fixes are planned, not whether every month’s bulletin arrives on the same day. The delivery rhythm can vary by model, region and carrier. Check the security-patch level shown in Settings and the manufacturer’s notices for the exact device. Do not describe a phone as receiving monthly patches unless the applicable device documentation actually says so.
Is Samsung always a better long-term choice than Motorola?
No universal brand ranking is supported by these policies. Samsung’s S25 and S26 commitments are longer and more clearly stated than the Motorola figures identified here, but Motorola models can have substantial, model-specific coverage. The right choice depends on the exact two phones and the market in which they will be used.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWhen Samsung has the clearer advantage
- You are choosing a Galaxy S25 or S26 series phone and want a published seven-generation, seven-year commitment.
- You value a documented OS-upgrade count as much as the security end date.
- You want a support promise stated from a global launch date rather than having to infer coverage from a regional listing.
When a Motorola phone may still fit
- The exact Motorola model has a support end date that covers your intended ownership period.
- You have verified the listing for your country, carrier and channel rather than relying on a family-wide assumption.
- The phone’s price, hardware or software preferences outweigh the benefit of Samsung’s longer flagship promise.
Do not use the comparison to claim that every Samsung phone outlasts every Motorola phone. Compare two identified model names, their launch Android versions, remaining OS upgrades, security end dates and update channel.
Rank #4
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
How should I compare two phones before buying?
Build a side-by-side record using the same fields for both devices. The following checklist keeps the comparison tied to evidence that manufacturers actually publish.
| Field | What to record | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Exact model | Full retail name, model number and carrier or regional variant | Related versions can have different schedules. |
| Launch Android version | The OS installed when that variant launched | It determines how many major releases may remain. |
| OS-upgrade promise | Number of generations, or “not stated” | Prevents a security term from being mistaken for an OS term. |
| Security coverage | Years or a calendar end date | Shows how long vulnerability fixes are scheduled. |
| Starting point | Global launch, regional launch or another stated date | A seven-year term has no meaning without its start. |
| Delivery caveats | Carrier, region, testing and channel qualifications | Explains why availability may lag the announcement. |
For example, the Galaxy S25 and S26 entries can be filled with seven OS generations and seven security years from global launch. The moto g75 5G entry can include Android 14 at launch and security updates through October 2030 for the cited EMEA listing, while the OS-upgrade count remains “not stated” unless Motorola’s exact product page supplies it.
Avoiding apples-to-oranges comparisons
Compare phones that are at a similar point in their life cycle. A newly announced Galaxy should not be judged against a Motorola model that launched several years earlier without accounting for the elapsed support period. Likewise, do not compare Samsung’s maximum policy for one generation with Motorola’s minimum or unknown policy for another and call the result an average.
For a fair worksheet, put the two model numbers in adjacent columns and use the same date basis. If Samsung’s term starts at global launch and Motorola’s page gives a regional end date, label those bases explicitly. A blank or “not stated” entry is more accurate than a guessed number.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What happens when a phone reaches the end of security support?
A phone normally continues to function after its stated support window, but the manufacturer is no longer promising new security fixes for newly discovered vulnerabilities. Apps may continue updating independently, yet the operating system and built-in components can remain exposed to issues that receive no vendor patch.
If you plan to keep a phone beyond its published end date, reduce risk by avoiding sensitive activity on an unsupported device, keeping applications current where possible and moving important accounts to a supported phone. These precautions do not extend the manufacturer’s support commitment; they only limit the consequences of an expired one.
Check the device’s security-patch level before making that decision. A phone can still show a recent patch while it remains within its term, but that screen does not prove that future fixes will continue after the manufacturer’s listed end date. Plan replacement or migration around the published schedule rather than waiting for an update to fail visibly.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What is the practical verdict for Motorola versus Samsung?
For the longest clearly published support, choose a Samsung Galaxy S25 or S26 series model: Samsung states seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates from global launch. For Motorola, make the decision only after checking the exact model and local listing; the moto g75 5G’s October 2030 security date applies to its EMEA listing and cannot be generalized.
Best Value
- Brilliant 6.3" Display: Enjoy a sharp Dynamic AMOLED 2X FHD+ screen with 120Hz adaptive refresh rate, HDR support, Gorilla Glass Victus 2, and smooth everyday viewing for streaming, gaming, and browsing.
- Next-Gen Galaxy Performance: Powered by the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy processor, 12GB RAM, Adreno 840 graphics, and 256GB internal storage for fast multitasking, gaming, AI features, and productivity.
- Pro-Grade Triple Camera: Capture sharp photos and video with a 50MP wide camera with OIS, 10MP telephoto camera with 3x optical zoom, 12MP ultrawide camera, 12MP front camera, and up to 8K video recording.
- Fast 5G + Modern Connectivity: Supports 5G Sub-6 and mmWave, 4G LTE, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0, NFC, GPS, USB-C, wireless charging, reverse wireless charging, and a long-lasting 4300mAh battery.
- Unlocked US Model with Nano-SIM + eSIM (Dual SIM) support. Compatible with major GSM and CDMA carriers including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Metro, Straight Talk, Global GSM and other supported networks. (If carrier not listed, please contact seller to confirm MVNO compatibility. )
Whichever brand you consider, judge support on four facts: the phone’s launch Android version, the remaining OS-upgrade count, the security end date and the market or carrier variant. A brand name alone is not a support schedule.
Frequently Asked Questions
How often will my phone receive security patches during its support period?
The length of a support promise does not specify a universal monthly or quarterly rhythm for every model. Delivery can vary by device, region, carrier certification and testing, so check the phone’s current security-patch level and the manufacturer’s device-specific notices rather than assuming a fixed interval.
Can a carrier version have a different support date from an unlocked version?
Yes. Carrier certification, regional firmware and channel-specific testing can affect both timing and the schedule shown for a device. Record the model number and sales channel, then use the support entry that matches that exact variant.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Is an Android phone with more OS upgrades automatically safer?
No. Major OS upgrades and security fixes address different needs. A phone can receive several platform upgrades but have a shorter security term, so compare the security end date separately before deciding.
What should I do if my device is missing from Motorola’s support lookup?
Motorola’s guidance says devices not listed may no longer receive OS or security updates. Treat the absence as a warning, verify the model number and region, and avoid assuming that a similarly named model has the same coverage.
Is the moto g75 5G supported through October 2030 everywhere?
No. October 2030 is the security-update stop date shown on Motorola’s EMEA listing. Motorola says region and channel can affect schedules, so check the listing for your own country, carrier and model variant.
Do Galaxy S25 and S26 owners receive updates on the same day worldwide?
Not necessarily. Samsung says availability and timing can vary by product, network provider and market. The seven-year term is counted from global launch, but delivery to an individual handset can follow carrier approval and regional testing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Does buying a used phone restart its update clock?
No. Support is tied to the model’s launch and the manufacturer’s stated term, not to the date a second owner buys it. Check how much of the original OS and security coverage remains.
What if a manufacturer lists security support but no OS-upgrade number?
Record the security duration or end date and mark the OS-upgrade count as not stated. Do not infer a number from the security term, the phone’s price or a related model.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Samsung’s Galaxy S25 and S26 have the clearest published long-term promise: seven OS-upgrade generations and seven years of security updates from global launch. Motorola support is model-specific; verify the exact phone, variant, market and carrier before comparing.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →

