Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

No—you cannot play League of Legends offline. The current MOBA has no offline mode, LAN mode, or local hot-seat play, and it has no single-player campaign. Practice Tool, Co-op vs. AI, custom games with bots, and the tutorial let you play alone or train without human opponents, but each still requires an internet connection to Riot’s servers. If you want a solo story set in the League universe, Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a separate, single-player RPG—not an offline version of League of Legends.

Can you play League of Legends without internet?

No. League of Legends requires an internet connection for every mode, including Practice Tool. The game has no official offline client, and you cannot switch to local play if your connection drops. PCGamingWiki classifies it as always-online and states: “This game requires a constant internet connection for all game modes.” A user verification published there on 17 August 2023 specifically says, “Practice tool cannot be played in offline mode. Requires internet connection.”

This requirement is not just about finding opponents. Riot’s connection guide defines latency as the time it takes data packets to travel from your computer to Riot’s game servers and back. Its troubleshooting guidance is about restoring that live connection; it does not describe an offline fallback. The game also uses Riot Client login and regional servers, while the global client uses Riot Vanguard anti-cheat.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no supported LAN mode or native way to self-host a game. PCGamingWiki notes that a planned LAN mode was cancelled and local play is no longer supported. Tournament direct-IP access is not a general offline or self-hosting option: it uses a pre-generated code rather than a player entering an IP address. Copying the install folder or changing the client does not turn the shipped game into an offline game.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Can you play LoL as a single-player game?

You can play some League modes alone while online, but the MOBA itself does not have a single-player campaign. The useful distinction is between playing alone and playing offline: the first is possible in several modes; the second is not.

Riot’s support page for unlocking modes says that new accounts can first access Co-op vs. AI on Summoner’s Rift and custom matches. It describes them as ways to get a feel for the game. That early access does not mean you are launching a local, disconnected game: both modes still use the live client and Riot’s servers. Teamfight Tactics is also available from level 1, but it is an online auto-battler, not a single-player campaign for the League MOBA.

Normal PvP queues are different from solo play against bots. Queuing alone for a human-versus-human mode means you enter a match with other people; it does not make the match single-player. Riot’s current support unlock guide lists Swiftplay and ARAM at level 3, Draft at level 10, and ranked modes at level 30 with additional requirements.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which League modes can you play alone?

Practice Tool is best for practicing mechanics, Co-op vs. AI is closest to a full match without PvP, and custom games let you configure a private bot match. The tutorial is a solo onboarding option. All four still need internet.

Mode Internet Can one human play? Opponents or targets Sandbox controls Rewards and MMR Unlock Best use
Practice Tool Required Yes; supports up to 10 players Target dummies and optional bots Yes: cheats and practice controls XP and rewards not stated; not a ranked queue Level 9 Combos, builds, and mechanics
Co-op vs. AI Required Yes; queue alone, with teammates filled as available Full 5v5 against AI No Practice Tool cheats First Win of the Day available; normal and ranked MMR unaffected; no Champion Mastery points Level 1 A full bot match
Custom game with bots Required Usually; busy periods may require two real players to start Bots on Summoner’s Rift customs Lobby settings include bot difficulty and role No XP; leaving does not count as a leave Level 1 A private, configurable match
Tutorial Required Yes Onboarding missions No sandbox cheats stated Not stated Level 1 Learning the basics
Swiftplay, ARAM, Draft, or Ranked Required You can queue solo, but other humans participate Human PvP No sandbox cheats PvP; ranked MMR applies in ranked Levels 3, 10, or 30 depending on mode Playing against people

For ranked access, Riot’s 2026 mode-unlock guide lists level 30, at least 20 champions, and 10 Swiftplay or Normal Draft games for Ranked Solo/Duo and Ranked Flex. Mode availability and unlock gates can change, so the live client and Riot’s support page are the places to check if an account’s options differ.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What can you do in Practice Tool?

Practice Tool is an online sandbox on Summoner’s Rift, not a disconnected practice range. Riot’s original description compares its role to a place to “shoot hoops” as League becomes more like a sport. The tool is useful when you want to isolate a champion, combo, or game mechanic without playing a normal match.

It unlocks at summoner level 9. Since patch V25.S1.1, a Practice Tool lobby can hold up to 10 players, so it is not limited to one person. A solo lobby has a separate benefit: since V25.21, all champions are unlocked when there is exactly one human player. Bots and spectators do not prevent that eligibility, and a padlock icon indicates whether the lobby qualifies. Games appear as Practice Tool in the friends list rather than as Normal Summoner’s Rift.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

You can add up to nine bots at Intro, Beginner, or Intermediate difficulty, or practice against target dummies. The available cheats include:

  • Refresh abilities: Auto-Refresh Cooldowns uses Shift+X; Auto-Refresh HP uses Shift+Z.
  • Change your resources: Add Gold 10,000 uses Shift+T, and Level Up uses Shift+Y.
  • Move or reset: Teleport to Cursor uses Shift+S; Reset Game restarts the practice session.
  • Set up targets: Shift+B spawns an enemy dummy and Shift+N spawns an allied dummy.
  • Control the match: You can end it with Win The Game, spawn dragons, Baron, Herald, or voidgrubs, and adjust game speed from 0.25x to 2x.

These tools help with controlled practice, but they do not guarantee that a result will match a live match. The sandbox is for experimentation, not a perfect reproduction of every live-game condition.

Is Co-op vs. AI a good way to play a full game alone?

Yes, if you want the structure of a Summoner’s Rift match without playing against human opponents. Co-op vs. AI is a 5v5 mode against computer-controlled champions. You can join the queue alone or with a group; the game fills your side as available, so “solo” means you do not need to bring human teammates, not that you are the only champion on your team.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Riot’s Bots Team described the refreshed AI as a lower-stress place to learn and said the bots should jungle, rotate, and contest objectives, making the mode feel closer to PvP. That update was announced for patch 14.6 in a 29 February 2024 /dev post. Community references use the labels Intro, Beginner, and Intermediate, while Riot’s post named the queues Intro, Beginner, and Advanced. Because those labels do not match, check the live client rather than assuming the third difficulty has one fixed name.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Co-op vs. AI does not affect normal or ranked MMR, and the mode offers First Win of the Day. It does not grant Champion Mastery points. Community-wiki information about XP rewards includes an outdated-page warning and conflicting figures for level 20 and above, so an exact current XP rate should not be treated as established from that table.

How do custom games with bots work?

A custom game is a non-matchmade lobby where you can invite others, spectate, and add bots. On Summoner’s Rift customs, the host can set bot difficulty and role, which makes this a more configurable alternative to queueing for Co-op vs. AI. Custom games are available from level 1, but they still require a connection to Riot.

Custom matches do not award XP, and leaving one does not count as a leave. If every real player quits, the match ends and nobody can reconnect. A community-wiki caveat says a custom game may require two real players to start during high-traffic periods, a load-shedding rule documented as dating to 2010. Riot’s system-requirements guidance separately tells players to start a custom game by themselves when checking minimum configuration settings, which describes the normal solo path, not a guarantee that a one-person lobby will start under every server condition.

Do not assume custom-game bots have the same behavior as the refreshed Co-op vs. AI bots. Riot’s 2024 post said custom-game bots were still on older technology at that time and outlined an intention to update them. That statement is a historical roadmap note, not confirmation of current parity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

What level do you need for each mode?

Riot’s support guide, updated 29 May 2026, gives these unlock gates. Co-op vs. AI and custom matches are available first, so they are the practical starting choices for a new account.

Mode Unlock requirement
Co-op vs. AI on Summoner’s Rift Available at the start
Custom matches Available at the start
Teamfight Tactics Level 1
Swiftplay, normal 5v5 Summoner’s Rift Level 3
ARAM, 5v5 Howling Abyss Level 3
Practice Tool Level 9
Normal Draft, 5v5 Summoner’s Rift Level 10
Ranked Solo/Duo and Ranked Flex Level 30, at least 20 champions, and 10 Swiftplay or Normal Draft games

The older Blind Pick label is not the current answer to what a new account should look for: Blind Pick was replaced by Quickplay and then Swiftplay. Follow the names shown in the current client rather than older guides that list Blind Pick or describe a different Draft gate.

What if you meant “appear offline”?

Appearing offline to friends is a social-presence question, not a way to play without internet. The League client has no official appear-offline option according to a Dot Esports article updated 16 December 2025; hiding your presence would not disconnect you from Riot’s servers or change the game’s online requirement. Third-party presence-spoofing tools are not a supported solution.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is the actual single-player League game?

If you want a solo story rather than a bot match, Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a separate game set in the League universe. Riot Forge’s Steam FAQ describes it as “a single player turn-based RPG” with no multiplayer. The game is developed by Airship Syndicate and takes players to Bilgewater and the Shadow Isles with a configurable party of League champions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ruined King is a completable story RPG, not a way to launch Summoner’s Rift offline. Riot Forge’s publishing model was to work with external studios on completable games in the League universe; the FAQ says the core narrative is canon while some characters or moments are specific to each game’s story. The game launched on 16 November 2021 for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Windows, and Xbox One; PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S versions followed on 2 March 2023. Its official site is ruinedking.com.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What should you do if League disconnects?

A dropped connection does not unlock offline play; it interrupts the server connection that every mode needs. Riot’s support materials frame the problem as reconnecting to the live game, not preserving a local match. If the issue is lag rather than a total outage, Riot recommends a wired Ethernet connection as a troubleshooting step.

For connection or client problems, use Riot’s own troubleshooting guidance and repair path. Riot recommends the Riot / Hextech Repair Tool rather than third-party “offline fixer” utilities. A solo custom game is also the path Riot’s MinConfig instructions use to check minimum graphics settings: the guide says to log into a League account and “Start a Custom Game by yourself.” That test is still online, and it is a way to check performance settings—not a workaround for lost internet access.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does League of Legends run on Linux or Steam Deck?

Riot supports League on Windows and macOS. Riot says it will not provide support for Linux, SteamOS, or Bazzite, so compatibility workarounds are not an officially supported route.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What are League of Legends’ current PC minimum requirements?

Riot’s Windows requirements published in 2026 list 2 GB RAM and 16 GB HDD storage as minimums; the recommended figures are 4 GB RAM and a 16 GB SSD. DirectX 11 feature level 11_0 has been required since patch 25.21, and Windows 10 build 19041 or later or Windows 11 is required.

Can a weak connection be fixed by lowering the graphics settings?

Lowering graphics settings can help with performance, but it does not remove the server connection requirement. Riot defines latency as the round trip for data between your computer and its game servers, so connection troubleshooting and graphics configuration address different problems.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.