On Nintendo Switch 2, save files stay in the console’s system memory, while downloaded games, software updates and DLC can be stored on a microSD Express card. Physical releases differ: a regular game card and a game-key card are not the same thing. A game-key card requires a full game download and must remain inserted to play.
Where Switch 2 game data is stored
“Cartridge data” can mean the game supplied on a physical card, an update downloaded later, add-on content, or your save file. Those are separate kinds of data, and they do not all live in the same place.
- Save files: Nintendo says game save data is stored in the console’s system memory. It cannot be copied to microSD Express. For most games, save data is associated with the selected user.
- Downloaded software, updates and DLC: These can be stored in system memory or on a microSD Express card.
- Game-key card data: The card is a key used to download the full game; it does not contain the full game itself.
Nintendo lists Switch 2’s internal storage as 256 GB, with some space reserved for system use. Its current FAQ says no individual games currently require extra storage to play, so expansion is optional; it can still be useful if you want more room for downloaded software, updates or DLC. Nintendo’s Switch 2 Data Management FAQ
Do Switch 2 physical games need downloads?
It depends on the physical format. Nintendo supports both regular game cards and game-key cards, and specific titles use one or the other. Nintendo’s general support information does not establish that every regular game card contains every update or the same amount of game data, so check the individual game’s packaging or official listing rather than assuming all physical releases work alike.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| What to check | Regular game card | Game-key card |
|---|---|---|
| Full game download required before play | Not stated as a universal rule by Nintendo; check the specific game package or listing. | Yes. The full game is not included on the card. |
| Free storage needed for the game download | Not stated as a universal requirement by Nintendo. | Yes. The required space is shown on the package and Nintendo Store or eShop listing. |
| Internet needed for first launch | Not stated as a general requirement by Nintendo. | Yes, after downloading the game. |
| Card needed to launch the game | Insert the game card to play. | Yes. Keep the game-key card inserted to play. |
| Later offline play | Not stated as a universal rule by Nintendo. | Possible after the first launch, with the card inserted. |
Nintendo says a Nintendo Account is not required to download game-key card data. For specifics such as required download space, use the package or the game’s Nintendo Store/eShop page. Nintendo’s Game-Key Card Overview
Are Switch 2 saves stored on the cartridge?
No. Save data is stored in Switch 2 system memory, not on a game card or microSD Express card. That remains true whether you play using a physical card or downloaded software. Nintendo’s FAQ also notes that save data for most games is associated with the selected user. Nintendo’s data-management guidance
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How to check for a game update
Updates are software data, separate from save progress. To check for one through Nintendo’s specified route:
- Connect the console to the internet.
- On the HOME Menu, highlight the game without starting it.
- Press the + or − button to open the software menu.
- Select Software Update, then Via the Internet.
Nintendo’s Switch 2 data FAQ says software updates can be stored on microSD Express. The support material does not specify how updates are internally packaged for every game, so it is not a basis for assuming a uniform update size or storage behavior. Nintendo’s update and save-data troubleshooting steps
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Can I play a game-key card offline?
Yes, after the full game has been downloaded and launched once. Nintendo says internet access is required for that first launch; subsequent launches can be offline, but the game-key card must still be inserted. This is different from a downloaded game’s save file: progress remains in system memory, not on the key card.
What SD card does Switch 2 use?
For Switch 2 storage expansion, Nintendo specifies microSD Express. Do not assume a generic microSD card is the right format for storing Switch 2 software data. Check the product listing for the words “microSD Express” and choose capacity based on the games and other data you expect to keep installed. Nintendo does not name a preferred brand or recommend one universal capacity.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
- Use the console’s system memory for saves; saves cannot be stored on microSD Express.
- Use system memory or microSD Express for downloaded software, updates and DLC.
- Storage expansion is optional according to Nintendo’s current FAQ, though it provides room for more installed content.
Nintendo Switch 2 Data Management FAQ
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Check the game format and console software before buying or troubleshooting
Before buying a physical game, inspect its package or official game listing to determine whether it is a regular game card or game-key card. For a game-key card, check the stated download space and make sure the console has enough free system or microSD Express storage.
Nintendo’s card instructions cover compatible original Switch game cards, Switch 2 Edition cards and Switch 2 software, including game-key cards. Compatibility for some original Switch software can vary because Switch 2 uses different hardware. A Switch 2 Edition adds features to original Switch software; Nintendo says the in-store Switch 2 Edition and a separately purchased upgrade pack contain the same content. Nintendo’s game-card instructions
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Nintendo’s update history says system version 20.1.0 is required for game-key cards and microSD Express. Version 20.1.1 was released on June 4, 2025, with initial system features. Since system software changes over time, check the console’s System Settings → System → System Update screen for the currently installed version and available updates. Nintendo’s Switch 2 system update history
Handle game-key cards carefully: Nintendo warns that prolonged contact with magnets or magnetic objects can affect internal components and cause malfunction. Nintendo’s game-card handling guidance
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

