The Galaxy S25 series is promised seven generations of Android OS upgrades and seven years of security updates, counted from its global launch. Samsung says timing can vary by model, network provider and market. For the Galaxy Z Fold7 and Z Flip7, Samsung’s reviewed launch material confirms Android 16 and One UI 8 but does not state how many upgrades or years of security updates they will receive.
Update support by Galaxy model
| Phone | OS-upgrade commitment | Security-update commitment | What the official material establishes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy S25 series | Seven generations | Seven years | Both periods are counted from the series’ global launch. Samsung says update timing may vary by model, network provider and market. Samsung Global Newsroom, January 22, 2025. |
| Galaxy Z Fold7 | Not stated in the reviewed launch material | Not stated in the reviewed launch material | Samsung lists Android 16 and One UI 8 as launch software. General availability began July 25, 2025, but the availability date does not establish the support-period start rule. Samsung Global Newsroom, July 9, 2025; Samsung Global Newsroom, July 25, 2025. |
| Galaxy Z Flip7 | Not stated in the reviewed launch material | Not stated in the reviewed launch material | Samsung lists Android 16 and One UI 8 as launch software. The reviewed specifications do not give a total support duration. Samsung Global Newsroom, July 9, 2025. |
What Samsung’s S25 promise means
Samsung’s stated S25 commitment separates two measures: seven generations of major OS upgrades and seven years of security updates. The generation count is not an exact calendar schedule for when each Android version will arrive. Samsung also cautions that timing can differ by device model, network provider and market, so eligible phones need not receive an update simultaneously.
What is known about Fold7 and Flip7 support
The Fold7 and Flip7 launched with Android 16 and One UI 8, but launch software does not establish the number of future Android upgrades or the length of security support. The reviewed Samsung launch sources do not state either foldable’s total support term or the event from which its support period would be counted. The S25 commitment therefore cannot be treated as a confirmed Fold7 or Flip7 policy.
Samsung’s September 15, 2025 One UI 8 rollout announcement includes the Galaxy S25 series in its rollout list. That is dated rollout information, not a statement of the Fold7 or Flip7’s lifetime update commitment.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- MULTIPLE TASKS WITH ONE ASK: Streamline your day with an assistant that gets you. Ask it to Google search for a pet-friendly vegan restaurant nearby and text it to your friend— your Galaxy S25 handles multiple tasks with a single ask.¹
- START THE DAY SMARTER: Stay one step ahead with a phone that gives you the info you need before you even know you need it with Now Brief.²
- REDUCE THE NOISE. REVEAL THE MAGIC: AI Camera with Audio Eraser lets you capture vibrant videos in low light and minimize unwanted noises so you can relive your favorite moments with fewer distractions.³
- BRING OUT THE BEST IN EVERY FACE: Capture every portrait with clarity and confidence on the Galaxy S25. The advanced portrait features adjust skin tones and preserve natural textures, giving every shot a polished, professional look.
- MORE POWER TO YOU: Reimagine what’s possible with the Galaxy S25. featuring our most powerful processor yet. Effortlessly translate your calls, slow down a video, or edit your photos without skipping a beat.
Rank #4
- 6.2" Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X QHD+, 120Hz Adaptive Refresh Rate, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Android 15, up to 7 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- 128GB, 12GB RAM, No SD Card Slot, Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (3nm), Octa-Core, Adreno 830 GPU, 4000mAh Battery
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8, wide + 10MP, f/2.4, telephoto + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, wide
- 2G: 850/900/1800/1900, 3G: UMTS 1(2100)/2(1900)/4(AWS)/5(850)/8(900), 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: N1/2/5/7/25/28/41/66/71/77/78/257/258/260/261 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM + eSIM (max 2 at a time)
- US Model - No Warranty. Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like AT&T, T-Mobile, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Sprint.
Rank #3
- 2G bands GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 3G bands HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100 4G bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 32, 38, 39, 40, 41, 66 5G bands 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 12, 20, 25, 26, 28, 38, 40, 41, 66, 75, 77, 78 SA/NSA/Sub6
- Dimensions 146.9 x 70.5 x 7.2 mm (5.78 x 2.78 x 0.28 in) Weight 162 g (5.71 oz) Build Glass front (Gorilla Glass Victus 2), glass back (Gorilla Glass Victus 2), aluminum frame SIM Nano-SIM + Nano-SIM + eSIM (max 2 at a time)
- Display Type Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X, 120Hz, 480Hz PWM, HDR10+, 2600 nits (peak) Size 6.2 inches, 94.4 cm2 (~91.1% screen-to-body ratio) Resolution 1080 x 2340 pixels, 19.5:9 ratio (~416 ppi density) Protection Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2
- OS Android 15, up to 7 major Android upgrades, One UI 7 Chipset Qualcomm SM8750-AB Snapdragon 8 Elite (3 nm) CPU Octa-core (2x4.47 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix L + 6x3.53 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix M) GPU Adreno 830
- Main Camera Triple 50 MP, f/1.8, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, dual pixel PDAF, OIS 10 MP, f/2.4, 67mm (telephoto), 1/3.94", 1.0µm, PDAF, OIS, 3x optical zoom 12 MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.55" 1.4µm, Super Steady video Features Best Face, LED flash, auto-HDR, panorama Video 8K@24/30fps, 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30/60/120/240fps, 10-bit HDR, HDR10+, stereo sound rec., gyro-EIS
Rank #2
- 6.2" Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X QHD+, 120Hz Adaptive Refresh Rate, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Android 15, up to 7 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- 128GB, 12GB RAM, No SD Card Slot, Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (3nm), Octa-Core, Adreno 830 GPU, 4000mAh Battery
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8, wide + 10MP, f/2.4, telephoto + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, wide
- 2G: 850/900/1800/1900, 3G: UMTS 1(2100)/2(1900)/4(AWS)/5(850)/8(900), 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: N1/2/5/7/25/28/41/66/71/77/78/257/258/260/261 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM + eSIM (max 2 at a time)
- US Model - Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like AT&T, T-Mobile, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.
#1 Best Overall
- MULTIPLE TASKS WITH ONE ASK: Streamline your day with an assistant that gets you. Ask it to Google search for a pet-friendly vegan restaurant nearby and text it to your friend— your Galaxy S25+ handles multiple tasks with a single ask.¹
- START THE DAY SMARTER: Stay one step ahead with a phone that gives you the info you need before you even know you need it with Now Brief.²
- REDUCE THE NOISE. REVEAL THE MAGIC: AI Camera with Audio Eraser lets you capture vibrant videos in low light and minimize unwanted noises so you can relive your favorite moments with fewer distractions.³
- BRING OUT THE BEST IN EVERY FACE: Capture every portrait with clarity and confidence on the Galaxy S25+ Series. The advanced portrait features adjust skin tones and preserve natural textures, giving every shot a polished, professional look.
- MORE POWER TO YOU: Reimagine what’s possible with the Galaxy S25+, featuring our most powerful processor yet. Effortlessly translate your calls, slow down a video, or edit your photos without skipping a beat.
How to use these figures when comparing phones
- For the S25 series, use Samsung’s explicit seven-generation and seven-year terms, while allowing for regional, carrier and model differences in delivery timing.
- For Fold7 and Flip7, treat Android 16 and One UI 8 as confirmed launch software only; do not infer a support duration from those versions, a rollout list or an availability date.
- For a definitive foldable support term, look for a Samsung policy statement specific to the exact model rather than applying the S25 policy by analogy.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

