Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no universal winner. Google Meet is usually the better default when your organization already pays for Google Workspace and wants meetings inside Gmail, Calendar, Drive and Docs. Zoom is usually stronger when meetings are the main product, you need longer sessions or larger standard business capacities, or you want meetings alongside chat, phone, scheduling, whiteboards and AI assistance. Both can support 100-person meetings at entry level, but their free limits, recording rights, participant ceilings and administration models differ substantially.

Google Meet and Zoom at a glance

The choice becomes clearer when you separate the video call itself from the surrounding work system. Meet is a Workspace capability embedded in Google’s productivity stack. Zoom Workplace is a meeting-first communications suite that also includes collaboration and telephony components. The table uses representative 2026 list information; prices and entitlements can change by country, billing term, tax, promotion, account type and rollout.

Decision area Google Meet Zoom
Best default Organizations already using Google Workspace and browser-first meetings Teams that prioritize meeting controls, long sessions, larger business capacities or a broader communications suite
Entry participant limit Up to 100 on basic Meet, with edition and administrator settings affecting availability 100 on Basic and Pro
Entry duration Depends on whether the account is consumer or Workspace and on the edition Basic meetings are limited to 40 minutes; Pro meetings can last up to 30 hours
Business participant tiers 100 on Business Starter, 150 on Standard and 500 on Plus 300 on Business and 500 on Enterprise; optional add-ons can reach 1,000
Core integration Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs and Workspace administration Meetings with chat, phone, scheduler, whiteboard, clips and AI assistance
Recording and notes Edition-dependent; Standard lists recording, while transcript and note-taking activation controls storage Plan-dependent recording, transcripts and AI meeting features
Large-event caveat Enterprise lists 1,000-person in-domain live streaming, which is not the same as a 1,000-person interactive meeting 1,000 participants requires an optional add-on path; the standard Enterprise limit is 500

2026 list prices and what each tier buys

Google Workspace and Zoom Workplace are not identical bundles, so a lower list price does not automatically mean a lower total cost. Google’s figures below are per user per month in U.S. dollars. Zoom’s annual figures are monthly equivalents when billed annually, not the cost of a single month on a monthly contract.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Service and plan Representative list price Participants Duration or notable entitlement
Google Workspace Business Starter $7 per user/month 100 Business Starter meetings have a 24-hour maximum listed by Google
Google Workspace Business Standard $14 per user/month 150 Meet recording is included; 24-hour maximum listed
Google Workspace Business Plus $22 per user/month 500 Attendance tracking is included; 24-hour maximum listed
Google Workspace Enterprise Not stated in the supplied pricing facts 1,000-person in-domain live streaming capability Confirm the exact Enterprise contract and interactive-meeting limit with Google
Zoom Workplace Basic Free 100 40-minute meeting limit
Zoom Workplace Pro $16.99 per user/month monthly, or $14.16 monthly equivalent when billed annually 100 Meetings up to 30 hours
Zoom Workplace Business $21.99 per user/month monthly, or $18.33 monthly equivalent when billed annually 300 Long meetings with the Business participant tier
Zoom Workplace Enterprise Not stated in the supplied pricing facts 500 Optional add-ons can increase capacity to 1,000

For a small team comparing only the headline monthly price, Google Workspace Standard is listed at $14 per user/month, while Zoom Pro is $16.99 monthly or $14.16 per month on annual billing. That is not an apples-to-apples comparison: Standard includes Google productivity applications and Meet recording, whereas Zoom Pro is centered on the communications service. Count the people who need a paid license, decide whether annual billing is acceptable, and include any required event, phone, storage or AI add-ons before choosing.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Free tiers: the 100-person similarity hides a duration difference

Zoom Basic

Zoom Basic supports 100 participants but imposes a documented 40-minute meeting limit. That limit is the critical constraint for recurring classes, workshops and client sessions. A host can schedule multiple sessions, but a single uninterrupted meeting cannot exceed the Basic allowance.

Google Meet without a paid Workspace edition

Google’s basic Meet information lists a maximum of 100 participants. Feature and duration behavior depends on whether participants use consumer accounts or a Workspace edition, and administrator settings can affect availability. Do not assume that a consumer account has the same recording, attendance or duration rights as Business Starter, Standard or Plus.

If a free meeting must run longer than 40 minutes, verify the exact Google account type and current consumer limits before advertising a duration. If the meeting is business-critical, a paid edition gives you a defined administrative owner and clearer entitlement boundaries.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How far each service scales

Capacity is not one number. A platform may distinguish interactive participants, in-domain viewers, external viewers and optional event capacity. Use the license that matches the way people will participate.

Requirement Google Meet path Zoom path What to verify
About 100 interactive attendees Basic Meet or Workspace Business Starter lists 100 Basic and Pro list 100 Account type, administrator settings and whether recording is required
150 interactive attendees Business Standard lists 150 Business is already a 300-participant tier Whether the lower-capacity Google plan supplies every needed feature
300 interactive attendees A higher Workspace edition or event configuration is required; the supplied Google facts do not state a 300-person interactive tier Business lists 300 Exact license and host requirements
500 interactive attendees Business Plus lists 500 Enterprise lists 500 Contract terms, host licenses and external-participant rules
1,000 viewers or participants Enterprise lists 1,000-person in-domain live streaming capability Optional add-ons can reach 1,000; standard Enterprise is 500 Whether people need two-way participation or one-way streaming

The most common planning error is treating Google’s 1,000-person Enterprise live-streaming figure as a 1,000-person interactive room. It describes in-domain live-streaming capability. Zoom’s 1,000 figure is an optional add-on path rather than the standard Enterprise allowance. Obtain the written entitlement for your account before publishing an event registration limit.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Integration with the work your team already does

Choose Meet for a Google-centered workflow

Meet’s strongest advantage is continuity. A meeting can be created from Google Calendar, invitations can be managed alongside Gmail, and resulting files can live in Drive. Teams that write agendas in Docs or use Workspace administration can keep identity, calendars and meeting policies in one environment. Browser-first access also reduces the need to distribute a separate desktop application for ordinary calls.

This fit matters most when nearly every employee already has a Workspace identity. Adding another meeting service can create duplicate calendars, separate guest-management rules and a second place to search for recordings. Meet is less compelling if your organization does not use the rest of Workspace, because much of its value comes from that integration rather than from a standalone meeting window.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose Zoom for a communications-suite workflow

Zoom’s product description spans meetings, chat, phone, scheduler, whiteboard, clips and AI assistance. That breadth suits organizations that want one meeting-focused vendor to cover scheduled calls, messaging, telephony and asynchronous video. It can also be a better fit when meeting hosts need a larger standard business room without moving to a 500-person tier.

The trade-off is administrative scope. A team adopting several Zoom components should decide which identity system, phone numbers, retention policies and user groups own each component. A company that only needs occasional video calls may not use enough of the broader suite to justify managing another platform.

Recording, transcripts, attendance and AI notes

Neither service should be evaluated on a generic “does it record?” checkbox. Recording, transcripts, attendance and AI functions are tier-dependent, and availability can change with administrator settings and product rollout.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Capability Google Meet Zoom
Meeting recording Google lists recording with Workspace Business Standard; confirm the edition, storage destination and host permissions Available according to the selected Zoom plan and account settings; confirm whether cloud recording is included
Transcripts Edition- and setting-dependent; activation affects whether the transcript is created and stored Plan- and setting-dependent; confirm language, retention and host controls
Attendance Business Plus lists attendance tracking Check the specific plan and admin configuration
AI summaries or notes Availability depends on the Workspace edition, administrator controls and rollout Zoom describes AI meeting summaries, AI queries and note-taking, but entitlement remains plan-dependent

Google’s security documentation states: “Google does not store video or audio records of a meeting unless the recording, transcript, or note-taking feature is activated.” That means the act of enabling one of those features changes what is retained. Tell participants when recording, transcription or automated notes are active, define who can access the resulting files, and set a deletion policy that matches your legal and operational requirements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a buyer, the practical test is a complete workflow: start a meeting, activate the required feature, locate the output, verify the file owner, check external-sharing behavior and confirm how long the data remains available. A feature listed on a marketing page is not enough if your moderators cannot retrieve or govern the result.

Scheduling, collaboration and communication breadth

Internal meetings and project work

Meet is efficient when the meeting is another event in an existing Google calendar and the follow-up is a document or spreadsheet in Drive. Standardizing on one identity and calendar reduces guest confusion and simplifies onboarding.

Zoom is attractive when the meeting itself is the center of a larger communication program. Chat, scheduler, whiteboard, clips and phone functions can keep pre-meeting coordination and post-meeting follow-up in the same product family. Decide whether those additional modules replace tools you already pay for; otherwise they may add cost without reducing complexity.

Classes and training

For a class near 100 people, both entry tiers can fit on participant count. Zoom Basic’s 40-minute ceiling can force a break or a paid upgrade. Workspace Business Starter lists a 24-hour maximum, but consumer Meet accounts and other editions can behave differently, so the instructor should test the exact account that will host the class.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Attendance requirements favor a plan that explicitly includes tracking. Google Business Plus lists attendance tracking. On either platform, verify whether attendance covers guests, exports the needed fields and remains available after the session.

Client calls and sales meetings

Meet is convenient when clients already receive Google Calendar invitations and your team stores proposals or notes in Drive. Zoom Pro’s 30-hour meeting allowance removes the Basic time pressure and may be preferable for long workshops. For external calls, test the guest join path in a private meeting: browser permissions, lobby behavior, recording consent and transcript access can matter more than the nominal participant limit.

Webinars and large events

Start with the interaction model. If most viewers only watch, Google Enterprise’s in-domain live-streaming capability may fit an internal broadcast. If hundreds need to speak, use an interactive participant license rather than a streaming figure. Zoom can reach 1,000 through an optional add-on, but the add-on, host license and event format must be confirmed in writing. Do not publish a capacity based on a vendor’s maximum headline alone.

Administration, security and privacy decisions

Workspace administrators can control whether Meet features are available, and Google notes that moderators can remove or mute participants. Those controls are useful for company-wide meetings where the organizer must respond quickly to disruption. They also mean a user may see a feature in documentation but not in the meeting because an administrator disabled it.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Zoom’s meeting-first model emphasizes meeting-specific controls and can extend into chat, phone and other modules. Ask who administers each module, which users may create meetings, how external participants are handled and where recordings or transcripts are retained. Keep the answers in an internal policy rather than relying on each host to remember settings.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
  • Assign a named owner for licenses, domains and billing.
  • Decide whether recording, transcripts and AI notes are allowed by default, on request or never.
  • Define who may invite external guests and who may share resulting files.
  • Set retention and deletion rules for recordings, transcripts, attendance reports and AI-generated notes.
  • Test moderator actions such as muting and removing a participant before a high-stakes event.
  • Document the account and edition that provides the advertised participant limit.

Which platform fits your situation?

Pick Google Meet when most answers are “Google Workspace”

  • Your organization already pays for Gmail, Calendar, Drive and Docs.
  • Most meetings are internal or are scheduled through shared Google calendars.
  • You want browser-first access and one Workspace administrator.
  • Business Standard’s 150-person capacity and recording meet your needs.
  • You need attendance tracking and 500-person meetings, making Business Plus relevant.

Pick Zoom when meeting operations are the priority

  • You need 30-hour Pro meetings instead of a 40-minute free limit.
  • You want 300 participants on the Business tier or 500 on Enterprise.
  • You expect to use chat, phone, scheduler, whiteboard, clips and AI assistance alongside meetings.
  • You need meeting-specific controls or an optional path toward 1,000 participants.
  • Your organization does not use Google Workspace deeply enough to benefit from its bundled workflow.

When neither headline price is decisive

Count paid hosts, not just employees. A 20-person company in which four people host meetings has a different bill from one in which every employee needs host privileges. Then compare monthly and annual billing, the value of bundled Workspace applications, recording storage, attendance, AI entitlements and any event or phone add-ons. The cheapest line item can be the more expensive deployment if it forces a second calendar, storage system or communications service.

A practical selection process

  1. List meeting types. Record internal stand-ups, classes, client calls, recurring workshops and broadcasts separately. Note typical and peak attendance, expected duration and whether participation is interactive.
  2. Identify the existing identity and calendar system. If Gmail and Google Calendar already govern invitations, start with Meet. If a meeting-centric suite or phone service is the strategic standard, start with Zoom.
  3. Mark mandatory outputs. Decide whether you need recording, transcripts, attendance, AI summaries or searchable notes. Do not assume the entry plan supplies them.
  4. Choose the smallest qualifying license. Map every requirement to a named edition: for example, Standard for 150 participants and recording, Plus for 500 and attendance, or Zoom Business for 300.
  5. Validate the largest event separately. Confirm whether the advertised number means interactive participants, in-domain viewers or an optional add-on. Obtain the entitlement for the exact account.
  6. Run a controlled pilot. Invite an internal host, an external guest and an administrator. Test joining, permissions, recording, transcript delivery, attendance export, file access and deletion.
  7. Publish a one-page operating policy. Include who may record, how consent is communicated, where outputs are stored, retention periods and whom to contact when a feature is missing.

Common pitfalls and fixes

Assuming 100 participants means identical service

It does not. Zoom Basic adds a 40-minute ceiling, while Meet limits vary by account type and edition. Fix this by writing both participant count and maximum duration into the requirement.

Confusing live streaming with an interactive meeting

Google’s 1,000-person Enterprise figure is in-domain live streaming. Zoom’s 1,000 figure requires an optional add-on. Fix this by asking how many people must speak, use chat or appear on camera.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Buying a plan for recording but omitting governance

Recording and transcripts create files that need owners, permissions and deletion rules. Fix this by testing the full output workflow and documenting retention before enabling the feature broadly.

Comparing annual and monthly prices as if they were the same

Zoom Pro’s $14.16 figure is a monthly equivalent when billed annually; its monthly list price is $16.99. Fix this by comparing the same billing term and including cancellation constraints.

Assuming AI features are universal

AI summaries, queries and notes are not automatically included for every user. Fix this by checking the exact plan, administrator switch, region and rollout status, then conducting a real meeting test.

Ignoring the account that actually hosts

A participant may have a different account type from the host, and administrator settings can remove features. Fix this by testing with the production host account rather than a personal trial account.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Final decision

Choose Google Meet when Workspace integration, browser access and a unified Google identity matter more than a standalone meeting feature set. Choose Zoom when you need long meetings, a 300- or 500-person standard business tier, or a broader communications suite with meeting-specific controls. For large events, verify whether you need interactive capacity or live streaming and confirm every add-on. The winner in 2026 is the service whose licensed workflow matches your actual hosts, meeting lengths, outputs and governance requirements—not the one with the larger maximum number.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.