Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For most people protecting several computers, IDrive is a strong place to start: PCWorld named it its overall pick in a comparison updated October 1, 2026. But it is not a universal winner. Livedrive may suit someone who wants unlimited storage for one PC, while Arq 7 is aimed at consolidating backups across cloud-storage destinations. Choose by device coverage, data volume, retention and restore needs, and encryption preferences—not by storage headline alone.

How to choose an online backup service

Compare the service you are considering on the points below. Prices and features change, so confirm current plan terms with the provider before subscribing.

  • Capacity and cost over time: Check the storage limit, the number of computers covered, first-year price, renewal price, and any extra-storage charges.
  • Coverage: Confirm supported operating systems and whether the plan includes external drives, NAS devices, or mobile devices if you need them.
  • Protection behavior: Find out whether backups run automatically or on a schedule, how versions are retained, and how long deleted or changed files remain recoverable.
  • Recovery options: Determine whether you can restore individual files, recover a whole system from an image, or request a shipped restore. These capabilities are not interchangeable.
  • Privacy: Check the encryption model and whether you can use a personal key. A private key can make recovery your responsibility and may restrict some service features.
  • Usability and performance: Consider the backup client and setup process. Transfer speed varies with your internet connection, location, and network equipment.

Recommended online backup options

PCWorld’s October 1, 2026 comparison assesses these services for different needs. Its findings are one publication’s editorial assessment, not a ranking that applies to every buyer. The figures below are the amounts listed in that comparison, not guaranteed current checkout prices.

Service Best fit What to know Price or allowance listed by PCWorld
IDrive Several computers and a broad range of backup sources PCWorld names it overall pick and describes online and local backup, multiple devices on one account, NAS support, and basic imaging and disaster recovery. The comparison says its imaging and recovery implementation could be better; it also reports QNAP app-install issues. IDrive Personal: 5TB for $69.65 for the first year, then $99.50 per year, in PCWorld’s 2026 listing. Verify current terms.
Livedrive One PC with a need for unlimited storage PCWorld highlights its one-PC Backup plan for unlimited storage. The provider is UK-based, so dollar conversion can fluctuate. $119.88 per year for one PC in PCWorld’s 2026 listing. Verify current price and currency.
OpenDrive People who want online storage alongside separate backup jobs PCWorld describes a virtual-drive/storage service and a separate backup-job client; it says backup jobs retain files rather than overwrite them. Check the current plan details directly. Current price and detailed plan features not stated in PCWorld’s comparison.
pCloud People considering storage, sync, and revision features together PCWorld says the service’s backup function is two-way sync, so check how changes and deletions are handled before relying on it as backup. Revisions last 15 to 180 days depending on plan, per PCWorld’s 2026 comparison. Current price not stated.
Arq 7 Backup People who want to manage backup jobs across third-party storage destinations PCWorld describes it as software for consolidating backup jobs. It lacks disk-image backup, cloning, and boot-media recovery. Current price and storage allowance not stated in PCWorld’s comparison.
Icedrive People interested in starting with a free storage allowance PCWorld lists a free account and paid plans. Its paid-plan prices include first-year discounts that later revert to higher rates; check renewal costs. 10GB free account, per PCWorld’s 2026 comparison. Current paid prices not stated here.

IDrive: a flexible pick for multiple devices

IDrive is the clearest starting point if you need to protect several computers or a mix of devices and sources. PCWorld’s comparison cites its multiple-device support and broad feature set as strengths. Its basic imaging and disaster-recovery options may not meet the needs of someone who prioritizes polished full-system recovery, and the reported QNAP app-install issues matter if you rely on that NAS platform.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
  • Easily store and access 2TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

PCWorld lists IDrive Personal at $69.65 for 5TB in the first year and $99.50 for each subsequent year in its 2026 comparison. Treat those as dated figures, not a quote: check the provider’s current price, renewal terms, and included device coverage before buying.

Livedrive: unlimited storage for one PC

Livedrive’s listed Backup plan is for one PC and is highlighted for unlimited storage. PCWorld gives a price of $119.88 per year in its 2026 comparison, while noting that the UK-based provider’s dollar conversion can fluctuate. Confirm the current price and the currency charged. If you need to cover more than one computer, verify whether the plan fits rather than assuming “unlimited” applies to devices as well as storage.

Rank #2
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
  • Easily store and access 5TB of content on the go with the Seagate portable drive, a USB external hard Drive
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

OpenDrive: distinguish storage from backup jobs

OpenDrive combines a virtual-drive/storage role with a separate backup-job client, according to PCWorld. The comparison says the backup job retains files instead of overwriting them. Because the current price and detailed plan terms are not established here, inspect the provider’s plan details and verify how backup jobs handle versions and deletions.

pCloud: check whether sync behavior meets your recovery needs

PCWorld describes pCloud as offering online storage, synchronization, and backup or revision functions, but notes that what it calls backup is two-way sync. Revisions are listed as lasting from 15 to 180 days depending on the plan. Before choosing it for protection against accidental changes or deletion, check the exact plan’s revision period and how sync propagates changes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
  • Easily store and access 1TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop. Reformatting may be required for Mac
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

Arq 7 Backup: a manager for third-party storage destinations

Arq 7 Backup is software for consolidating backup jobs across third-party storage destinations. PCWorld says it does not provide disk-image backup, cloning, or boot-media recovery. It may suit file-backup workflows, but compare those missing whole-system recovery features if you need to restore a computer as a complete working system.

Icedrive: evaluate renewal pricing, not just the first year

PCWorld lists a 10GB free account and paid plans, with paid prices that include first-year discounts before reverting to higher rates. The comparison does not establish current paid prices here. Check both the introductory and renewal amounts, along with the plan’s storage and retention terms.

Rank #4
Sale
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
  • Easily store and access 4TB of content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Backup is not the same as sync

Sync keeps files aligned across locations, so a deletion or corrupted change may be mirrored. Backup aims to preserve saved copies or versions that can be restored, but recovery depends on the service’s retention rules. A product can offer both storage and backup-related features without every feature behaving like an independent backup.

Before relying on any plan, check whether it backs up automatically, which folders and devices it covers, how often it runs, and how long an earlier version or deleted file remains available. This distinction is especially important when a service describes two-way sync as backup.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
UnionSine 500GB Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive HDD-USB 3.0
  • [Upgraded Version] - This external hard drive features a mirrored logo stripe combined with a striped anti-slip design, and the rounded corners of the casing make it easier to grip. The stripes also have a heat dissipation function, ensuring stable and fast data transfer.
  • 【Ultra-thin and quiet】 - The motherboard adopts JMicron 578 noise-free solution, giving you a quiet working environment. Lightweight and portable size designed to fit in your pocket for easy portability.
  • 【Ultra-Fast Data Transfers】 - Pairing this external hard drive with JMicron 578 solution USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 interfaces enables blazing-fast data transfer. It boasts theoretical read speeds of up to 125MB/s and write speeds of up to 103MB/s.
  • 【Plug and Play】 - With no software to install, just plug it in and the drive is ready to use.The hard disk chip is wrapped with an aluminum anti-interference layer to increase heat dissipation and protect data.
  • 【What You Get】 - 1 x Portable Hard Drive, 1 x USB 3.0 Cable, 1 x User Manual, Gift-type shell packaging ,Three-year manufacturer's warranty and free technical support services.

For a comparison of cloud backup with familiar file-sync services, see PCWorld’s guide to online backup services.

Pair cloud backup with a local copy

An offsite cloud copy and a local backup serve different recovery needs. Cloud backup keeps a copy away from the computer, while a local copy can make routine restoration faster. An external hard drive is one practical local option; it complements cloud backup rather than replacing an offsite copy. PCWorld recommends keeping a local backup and notes that restore speeds vary with broadband, location, and network equipment.

Decide whether to use a personal encryption key

Some services may allow you to set a personal encryption key. PCWorld advises checking for that option if privacy is a priority, but a private key shifts recovery responsibility to you: losing it can prevent restoration. Using one may also limit some service features. Review the provider’s exact key-recovery process and feature trade-offs before enabling it.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$119.99
Bestseller No. 2
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$229.99
Bestseller No. 3
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$119.80
SaleBestseller No. 4
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$157.73

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.