Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
If you have finished—or simply want an alternative to—Game of Thrones: Dragonfire, start with Game of Thrones: Kingsroad for open-world action and Westerosi exploration. Choose Game of Thrones: Legends for short, character-collecting puzzle battles, or A Game of Thrones: The Board Game Second Edition for a long negotiation-heavy session with three to six people. Game of Thrones: Conquest is another free mobile option, while two tabletop miniature starters serve players who want physical battles. War for Westeros is worth watching but is not available yet; its developer now targets early 2027.
The important distinction is not simply which title has the biggest name. These products occupy different formats: mobile territorial strategy, PC action RPG, mobile puzzle combat, long-form diplomacy, miniature skirmishes and a future real-time strategy game. The best follow-up depends on whether you want exploration, collection, negotiation, a one-hour battle or another free download.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Game of Thrones: Kingsroad | Exploring Westeros and action combat | Open-world action RPG; single-player and online co-op | Free-to-play entry; in-app purchases | PC (Steam) | Oct 2026 |
| Game of Thrones: Legends | Short puzzle-RPG sessions and team building | Story mode plus real-time competitive Raids | Mobile download; monetization details not stated in the cited announcement | iOS, Android | Oct 2026 |
| Game of Thrones: Conquest | Another free mobile strategy option | Official site confirms mobile download and in-game purchases | Free download; in-game purchases | iOS, Android | Oct 2026 |
| A Game of Thrones: The Board Game Second Edition | Political negotiation around a real table | 3–6 players; 138 plastic units; four hours or more | Boxed purchase; price varies by seller | Tabletop | Oct 2026 |
| Targaryen Starter Set | Fielding a Targaryen force in miniature battles | Figures and equipment for a Targaryen faction | Boxed purchase; price not stated | Tabletop miniatures | Oct 2026 |
| Battle of the Trident Starter | Two-player tabletop skirmishes | Figures, dice, terrain tiles and cards; about 60 minutes | Boxed purchase; price not stated | Tabletop miniatures | Oct 2026 |
| Game of Thrones: War for Westeros | Future RTS watchlist | Stark, Lannister, Targaryen and Night King armies | Not released | PC details not yet final | Oct 2026 |
The table separates games you can play now from a future release. It also distinguishes digital free-to-play games from products that require a physical tabletop purchase. “Best” here means best fit for a specific preference, not a claim that one publisher’s game is objectively superior to every other entry.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What was the new Game of Thrones release?
The clearest new release is Game of Thrones: Dragonfire, which Warner Bros. Games says launched worldwide on June 2, 2026. It is a free-to-play iOS and Android strategy game set during the House of the Dragon Targaryen civil war, using tile-based territorial battles and seasonal competitive Reigns. The launch announcement is available at Warner Bros. Games’ official news site.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
That description sets the baseline for the alternatives. Dragonfire is mobile, free to enter and built around territory and seasonal competition. A recommendation that sounds similar may actually offer a completely different rhythm: direct character combat, puzzle matches or a physical negotiation game.
Do not confuse that launch with Netmarble’s Kingsroad Global Content Alignment server event, announced for October 13, 2026. That is an update and server alignment, not the initial release of a different game; the announcement is documented by Netmarble. The distinction matters when deciding whether a recommendation is genuinely available after Dragonfire. A server alignment can change progression or content timing without turning an existing game into a new launch.
Which game lets me explore Westeros?
Choose Game of Thrones: Kingsroad for action-RPG exploration
Kingsroad is the clearest contrast to Dragonfire. Its Steam listing describes an open-world action RPG with single-player play and online co-op, rather than a tile-based territorial strategy loop. The listing shows a May 14, 2026 release date for the Steam edition and identifies a free-to-play entry model with in-app purchases: view the current Steam page.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Pick it when your priority is moving through a 3D Westeros, fighting directly and progressing a character instead of placing territory tiles. It is also the most natural choice if you want to play alone but keep online co-op available for selected sessions. Someone asking for an explorable setting and action combat should not be sent to a puzzle RPG simply because both games use familiar characters.
The platform difference is significant. Dragonfire and Legends are documented as mobile games, while the cited Kingsroad listing is for PC through Steam. Check the current store requirements and regional availability on the platform you use; the listing’s free-to-play wording does not mean every item or progression path is free.
What changed in the October Kingsroad update?
Netmarble’s October communication covers changes to combat, progression and weapon switching, along with a stronger focus on membership and battle-pass systems. Those are live-service changes, so exact values and availability can change after the October 2026 alignment. Read the publisher’s announcement before committing to a long-term progression plan.
These changes also explain why a date label matters. The May 14 Steam listing date identifies that edition’s release listing; the October announcement describes a later service update. Neither date should be presented as a second launch of Kingsroad.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Kingsroad is therefore “best” for a specific preference—action exploration—not proof that it is universally better made than Dragonfire. The two games ask for different kinds of attention: direct fighting and traversal versus territorial planning and seasonal competition. If your favorite part of Dragonfire is planning a map, Kingsroad may feel less like a replacement than a genre change; if you want to inhabit a character and fight in the world, that change is the point.
Which Game of Thrones game suits short mobile sessions?
Choose Game of Thrones: Legends for puzzle combat and character teams
Game of Thrones: Legends is a mobile puzzle RPG featuring characters from both Game of Thrones and House of the Dragon. Zynga’s July 25, 2024 announcement describes a story mode and real-time competitive Raids for iOS and Android; the original announcement is hosted in this published investor-relations PDF.
Legends fits players who prefer assembling a team of recognizable characters and completing compact match-based encounters. It is a better match than Dragonfire when you want puzzle decisions and collection goals rather than map control. Story mode gives a noncompetitive route, while real-time Raids provide a competitive format when you want to test a team against other players.
The announcement establishes the game’s genre and those modes, but it does not establish a particular live event, current reward schedule or universal session length. Because live events can rotate, treat the cited story and Raid modes as the documented format, not a guarantee of a particular event schedule today. Check the current iOS or Android listing for compatibility and any purchase information shown in your region.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallIs Game of Thrones: Conquest worth choosing?
Conquest is the simplest additional mobile option to try: its official landing page offers iOS and Android downloads, calls the download free and discloses in-game purchases. You can verify the current availability at the official Game of Thrones: Conquest site.
The available product page is too brief to establish a detailed current feature set or support a quality ranking against Dragonfire, Kingsroad or Legends. That limitation is part of the buying advice: do not infer a specific combat system, campaign structure or competitive mode from the title alone. Choose it when free mobile access is your deciding factor, and check the store listing on your device for current compatibility and purchase disclosures.
Conquest is also not a physical product. A free download with in-game purchases means the initial install and access model differ from a boxed board game, but it does not promise that all later content is free. Set a spending limit if you are comparing several live mobile games.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What can I play with friends around a table?
A Game of Thrones: The Board Game Second Edition
For negotiation, alliances and betrayal in person, A Game of Thrones: The Board Game Second Edition is the strongest physical match. Asmodee lists three to six players, 138 plastic units and a session estimate of four hours or more. Its product page is at Asmodee.
This is not a physical edition or accessory for Dragonfire. It is a separate boxed strategy game in which the great houses compete for the Iron Throne. The appeal is social commitment: players must negotiate, read one another and live with the consequences of agreements. That is fundamentally different from playing a mobile season on your own device.
Plan the session before opening the box. Four hours or more makes it unsuitable for a quick evening match, and the three-player minimum rules out a head-to-head purchase for two people. It is ideal for a group that wants diplomacy to matter as much as tactical movement and has a table, uninterrupted time and enough players for the listed range.
What should I search for when buying it?
Use the exact name A Game of Thrones The Board Game Second Edition when checking a retailer. Confirm that the listing is the second edition and that the seller has the complete boxed game; prices and stock are retailer-specific and are not established by the publisher page cited here.
Do not assume that a listing for an expansion, accessory or another edition supplies the 138 plastic units described by Asmodee. The safest comparison is edition name, player count and contents, followed by the seller’s current price and availability. The publisher listing does not establish a publication year, so avoid treating a 2026 page check as a 2026 publication date.
How do the tabletop miniature options differ?
Targaryen Starter Set
The Targaryen Starter Set is for players who want to field a Targaryen force in the A Song of Ice and Fire: Tabletop Miniatures Game. CMON describes a package containing figures and equipment for that faction. It is a faction entry point, not a complete recreation of Dragonfire’s mobile territorial system. See the product description at CMON.
Choose this set when the faction identity and the process of assembling a force matter more than a ready-made, platform-free experience. Miniature games generally require learning the relevant tabletop rules and arranging physical components; the product description supports the figures-and-equipment purpose but does not establish a universal play time or retail price.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Battle of the Trident Starter
The Battle of the Trident Starter is a separate two-player skirmish starter. Its listed contents include figures, dice, terrain tiles and cards, with a play time of about 60 minutes. That makes it the more practical choice when your group wants a defined battle in roughly one session instead of the four-hour-plus commitment of the board game.
The two-player specification is important for couples or a pair of friends. It does not make the set a digital multiplayer product, and the approximately 60-minute estimate is a listed guide rather than a guarantee for a first game. Setup, rules learning and player experience can affect the actual evening.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Do not combine the two starters as if they were expansions for one another. They belong to distinct tabletop products and should be bought according to the ruleset and faction experience you want. Neither starter adds content to Dragonfire, Kingsroad or another digital account.
Is War for Westeros out yet?
No. Game of Thrones: War for Westeros is not a game you can play today. PlaySide’s official development update says, “War for Westeros will now launch in early 2027.” Read the full statement at the developer’s July 17, 2026 update.
The project is described as a real-time strategy game involving Stark, Lannister and Targaryen forces as well as the Night King’s army. That makes it a sensible watchlist item for Dragonfire players who want faction-level strategy, but its unreleased status means there is no current purchase, platform commitment or hands-on verdict to give.
In particular, do not place War for Westeros in a “play now” table beside Dragonfire, Kingsroad or Legends. An early-2027 target is a development window, not proof of a final launch date. Until PlaySide announces release details, treat the game as something to follow rather than budget for or recommend as an immediate substitute.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesHow should I choose among these games?
- Choose your core activity first. Pick Kingsroad for direct action and exploration, Legends for puzzle matches and character teams, or Dragonfire itself for tile-based territory and seasonal competition. Choose the board game for diplomacy, the Targaryen set for a faction-focused miniatures force, and Battle of the Trident for a two-player skirmish.
- Decide whether you want mobile, PC or a table. Legends and Conquest are iOS/Android choices; Dragonfire is documented on iOS/Android; Kingsroad is listed on Steam; the board game and miniature starters require physical components and an in-person group. This single decision eliminates many mismatched recommendations.
- Match the session length to your schedule. Mobile matches are easier to fit into short periods. The Battle of the Trident starter is listed at about 60 minutes, while the second-edition board game is estimated at four hours or more. Do not buy the long-form board game expecting a quick replacement for a phone session.
- Check the spending model. Dragonfire, Kingsroad and Conquest have free entry with disclosed or documented in-app purchases. Legends is a mobile download whose cited announcement does not specify monetization details. The tabletop choices require boxed products, and the cited pages do not establish a universal current price.
- Check what “new” means. Dragonfire’s worldwide launch was June 2, 2026. The October 13 Kingsroad Global Content Alignment is a server event, not a new Kingsroad launch. War for Westeros is targeted for early 2027, so it should remain on a watchlist.
- Verify the exact edition or product. Search the second-edition board game by its full name. Search separately for the CMON Targaryen Starter Set and the Battle of the Trident Starter; similar franchise names do not make them interchangeable.
- Set expectations about quality claims. These recommendations match documented formats and specifications. They do not claim hands-on testing, a universal winner or a controlled quality ranking. A game can be the best fit for your preferred activity without being the best choice for every player.
Common buying and play pitfalls
- Confusing a service update with a release: The October Kingsroad alignment does not replace its May Steam listing date or make it a new game.
- Assuming every “strategy” game plays alike: Dragonfire uses tile-based territorial battles; Kingsroad is an action RPG; Legends is a puzzle RPG; the board game emphasizes negotiation; War for Westeros is a future RTS.
- Ignoring group size: The board game is listed for three to six players, while Battle of the Trident is explicitly for two.
- Expecting a physical Dragonfire edition: The tabletop products are separate games, not boxed versions, accessories or account upgrades for the mobile title.
- Reading a free download as free-to-play without limits: Dragonfire, Kingsroad and Conquest disclose or document in-app purchases. Review the current store disclosures before spending.
- Treating a target date as availability: War for Westeros remains unreleased despite its early-2027 target.
How were these recommendations selected?
The ranking follows the clearest differences documented by the publishers: platform, core play style, group size, session length, free-to-play availability and whether the game is released. It does not claim independent testing or a universal quality score. Each recommendation is matched to a reader goal so that “best” means best fit rather than an unsupported overall winner.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
That approach also keeps the comparisons honest. A storefront listing can establish that Kingsroad is an open-world action RPG with single-player and online co-op, but it cannot prove that it is more immersive than every other title. A product page can establish the board game’s player count, components and estimated duration, but not guarantee that every group will finish in four hours. Use the specifications to choose a format, then consult the current store or publisher page for changing prices, compatibility, events and service details.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I play Dragonfire on PC?
The documented Dragonfire launch is for iOS and Android. The available announcement does not establish a PC edition, so use the mobile stores rather than assuming a desktop version exists.
Which option is best for exactly two people?
The Battle of the Trident Starter is explicitly described as a two-player skirmish and lists an approximately 60-minute play time. The second-edition board game supports three to six players, so it is not the direct two-player choice here.
Are the tabletop games connected to the mobile games?
They use the same broader fictional universe but are separate products with different rules, components and play formats. Buying a miniature starter or the board game does not add content to a mobile account.
Will War for Westeros replace Dragonfire when it launches?
No release statement says it replaces Dragonfire. It is being positioned as a separate real-time strategy game, and its developer currently gives an early-2027 launch target.
Which game is closest to Dragonfire’s strategy focus?
Dragonfire itself is the documented tile-based territorial strategy option. War for Westeros may appeal to players seeking faction-level RTS play, but it is not released. Conquest is another free mobile strategy option, although its official landing page is too brief to substantiate a detailed comparison.
Which recommendation works without buying a boxed product?
Dragonfire, Kingsroad, Legends and Conquest offer digital downloads or free-to-play entry on their documented mobile or PC platforms. They may still disclose in-app purchases. The board game and miniature starters require physical purchases.
Is the four-hour estimate for the board game a rule?
No. Asmodee lists four hours or more as an estimated session length. Setup, teaching and player experience can change the actual duration, but it is clearly a long-form game rather than a quick two-player match.
Should I buy both miniature starters?
Only if you want the separate products and rulesets they represent. The Targaryen Starter Set is a faction entry point for the A Song of Ice and Fire: Tabletop Miniatures Game, while Battle of the Trident is a distinct two-player skirmish starter. They are not presented as expansions for one another.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Choose Kingsroad for open-world action, Legends for mobile puzzle teams, and Conquest when another free mobile option is enough. Choose the second-edition board game for a three-to-six-player, four-hour-plus negotiation session, or Battle of the Trident for a roughly 60-minute two-player tabletop battle. Keep War for Westeros on your watchlist: PlaySide’s current target is early 2027, so it is not an alternative you can play today.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

