As of Apple’s 30 September 2026 launch, Apple Pay in India works with eligible Axis Bank Visa and Mastercard credit cards on supported iPhones, iPads and Apple Watches. Apple says it does not cap the number of transactions, but its India information does not state a rupee limit for an individual payment. Your card’s terms and the merchant or terminal’s acceptance still matter.
Which banks support Apple Pay?
Apple’s current India list names Axis Bank Visa and Mastercard credit cards. That is the listed support at the time of writing; Apple says its list may be updated as banks are added. It does not mean every Axis Bank credit card is eligible, and no other Indian bank or card type is listed in Apple’s current India information.
Apple cautions that some banks may not support all card types. Check with Axis Bank whether your specific card is eligible before trying to add it to Apple Pay. See Apple’s list of participating banks in India and Axis Bank’s 30 September 2026 announcement.
Which devices work with Apple Pay in India?
| Device | Minimum stated by Apple | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone | iPhone XR or later with iOS 18 or later | Apple Pay is available for in-store, app and web purchases. |
| Apple Watch | Apple Watch Series 6 or later with watchOS 11 or later | Must be paired with iPhone XR or later. |
| iPad | Apple announced iPad support, but the cited India launch announcement does not state a minimum iPad model or software version. | Apple says iPad can be used for purchases in apps and on the web. |
| Mac | Not available at launch | Apple described Mac support as coming soon; its announcement did not give a date. |
The iPhone and Apple Watch minimums above are from Apple’s India launch announcement. Do not assume a particular iPad generation is supported based on that announcement alone.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, 800 nits (HBM), 1200 nits (peak), 2532x1170px at 460ppi, 4005mAh Battery
- 8GB RAM, Apple A18 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency cores), Apple GPU 4-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18.3.1, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- Connectivity: Global 4G LTE, Sub-6 GHz 5G, LTE, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, USB-C, Wireless Charging (7.5W). (does not have mmWave 5G or MagSafe or physical SIM card) - Dual eSIM Only
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Straight Talk., Etc.
Where can you pay with Apple Pay?
In stores
Apple Pay works at contactless points of sale that accept it. To pay with an iPhone, double-click the side button or Home button, authenticate with Face ID, Touch ID or your passcode if prompted, then hold the top of the phone near the contactless reader. On Apple Watch, double-click the side button and hold the display near the reader.
Apple says in-store iPhone and Apple Watch payments use NFC and can work without Wi-Fi or cellular service. Transaction history may appear after the device reconnects.
Rank #2
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
- Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
In apps and on websites
You can use Apple Pay at participating app and web checkouts. Acceptance depends on the merchant’s payment service provider supporting Apple Pay and the merchant enabling it; a compatible device and card do not guarantee that every checkout will offer the option. Apple’s launch announcement cited Apple Store locations, Blinkit, Chaayos, Croma, Ixigo, Tata 1mg and Zomato as examples, not as a complete merchant list. Apple’s developer guidance explains the payment-provider dependency.
What does “no transaction limit” mean?
Apple’s India FAQ answers “Is there a limit on transactions?” with: “No. Apple Pay does not limit the number of transactions you can make.” That is a statement about transaction count, not the rupee value of one payment.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #3
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
- Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
The official India sources cited here do not establish a single Apple Pay transaction-value ceiling in rupees. Check your individual Axis card’s terms with the issuer for applicable limits, and remember that the merchant or terminal must support the payment. Do not treat a contactless threshold as an Apple Pay-specific amount limit.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Does Apple Pay charge a fee, and how is the card protected?
Apple says it charges no fee to use Apple Pay, but your card issuer may apply its usual fees or charges. Whether a particular payment incurs an issuer charge depends on the card terms and transaction.
Rank #4
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
- Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
Apple describes a tokenization design: the actual card number is not stored on the device or Apple servers and is not shared with the merchant. Instead, a unique Device Account Number is encrypted and stored in the device’s Secure Element. Face ID, Touch ID or a passcode protects transactions. This describes Apple’s stated security approach; it is not a guarantee against fraud. Read Apple’s India Apple Pay information for its explanation.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- The large 6.9-inch display combines ProMotion 120Hz technology with advanced color calibration, giving movies, games, and productivity apps a spacious, crisp, and fluid visual experience that’s ideal for multitasking or immersive media consumption.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors

