Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose Apple’s Magic Keyboard if you want the most compact, laptop-like setup, a floating cantilever design, a large glass trackpad, backlit keys, a 14-key function row and USB-C pass-through charging. On current iPad Pro versions, Apple also specifies haptic trackpad feedback and 1 mm key travel.

Choose Logitech’s Combo Touch if you want to spend less, remove the keyboard for drawing or reading, keep a protective shell on the iPad, and use a built-in kickstand with Pencil storage. The decisive first step is compatibility: each accessory fits specific iPad generations and screen sizes, not every iPad with the same diagonal measurement.

Quick verdict

Question Better choice Why
Which feels most like a small laptop? Apple Magic Keyboard Its connected cantilever keeps the keyboard and screen in one compact footprint, with a large glass trackpad and backlit scissor keys.
Which is usually cheaper? Logitech Combo Touch The cited US starting price is $159.99, compared with $269 for the 11-inch iPad Air Magic Keyboard and $299 for the iPad Pro Magic Keyboard.
Can the keyboard be removed while the case stays on? Logitech Combo Touch The keyboard detaches from the protective shell, leaving the iPad usable for sketching, reading or viewing.
Which offers pass-through charging? Apple Magic Keyboard A USB-C port on the keyboard lets you charge the iPad through the accessory while keeping the iPad’s main port available.
Which has the most flexible viewing positions? Logitech Combo Touch The rear kickstand provides multiple viewing angles, while Apple uses a fixed cantilever-style hinge range.
Which should you buy for an iPad Pro? Usually Apple for portability; Combo Touch if detachable use matters more Both priorities can be valid, but confirm the exact Pro generation and size before ordering either case.

Neither keyboard case is universally better. Apple charges more for a thinner, integrated design; Logitech allocates more of the product to protection, detachability and a stand. Your iPad model, work surface and preferred way of holding the tablet matter more than the logo.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compatibility comes before features

A keyboard case that does not match the iPad’s connector layout or camera position cannot be made compatible with an adapter. Check the generation and screen size before comparing typing feel or price.

Apple Magic Keyboard compatibility

Apple’s current selector lists the Magic Keyboard for 11-inch and 13-inch iPad Air models with M2, M3 and M4 chips. It also lists 11-inch and 13-inch iPad Pro models with M4 and M5 chips. The 11-inch and 13-inch labels describe separate accessories; a case for one size is not a fit for the other.

Older iPad Air and iPad Pro generations have their own compatibility differences. Do not infer fit from the words “Air” or “Pro” alone. Match the exact generation shown in your iPad’s settings with the generation named in the product listing.

Logitech Combo Touch compatibility

The Combo Touch listing used for this comparison covers the iPad (10th generation) and iPad (A16). Other Combo Touch products are separate, model-specific listings. A Combo Touch made for one iPad generation should not be assumed to fit another, even when both tablets have a 10.9-inch-class display.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to identify your exact iPad

  1. Open Settings on the iPad.
  2. Tap General, then About.
  3. Record the Model Name and Model Number. If the number begins with an “M” part code, tap it to reveal the “A” model number.
  4. Use that model name or A-number in the accessory maker’s compatibility selector.
  5. Check the screen size and generation in the listing title, not only in a filter menu or product photograph.

If you are buying a used or open-box case, ask for the exact model number. “Fits iPad” is not sufficient information for either product family.

What you get with Apple’s Magic Keyboard

A laptop-like connected design

The Magic Keyboard is a case and keyboard assembly that remains attached to the iPad. Its floating cantilever positions the display above the keyboard rather than placing the tablet in a deep rear cradle. That makes the package feel closer to a compact laptop when it is opened on a desk or tray.

The same construction is also the product’s main constraint: you cannot leave the keyboard section behind and use only a thin protective shell. If you want to hold the iPad as a tablet without the keys underneath, you must remove the complete accessory.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

Keys and trackpad

Apple specifies backlit scissor keys and a 14-key function row on the current Magic Keyboard models cited for this comparison. The large glass trackpad is intended for multi-touch gestures and pointer work. Current iPad Pro listings additionally specify haptic feedback and 1 mm of key travel; those specifications should not be generalized to every Magic Keyboard generation or to the iPad Air version unless the listing for your model says so.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The practical advantage is consistency: the keyboard, trackpad and iPad are one connected unit, so there is no separate Bluetooth pairing workflow in normal use. The trade-off is that Apple’s premium mechanism leaves less room for a detachable stand or a shell that stays on the tablet by itself.

Protection and charging

The cited current models cover the iPad’s front when closed and protect the rear while attached. A USB-C pass-through port on the keyboard allows charging without blocking the iPad’s own USB-C port. The pass-through is for power; it does not turn the keyboard into a second data port.

What you get with Logitech’s Combo Touch

Detachable keyboard and kickstand

Combo Touch combines a protective shell with a detachable, backlit keyboard. Remove the keyboard and the shell remains on the iPad, which is useful when you switch from typing to handwriting, drawing, reading or watching video. The rear kickstand supports those non-typing positions without requiring the keyboard to stay attached.

The kickstand’s hinge and rear panel need more surface depth than Apple’s cantilever arrangement. That is a practical consequence of the documented construction, not a measured dimension: on a narrow airplane tray or shallow lap desk, check that the stand has room to open before you choose this design.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Keys, trackpad and connection

Logitech describes a backlit keyboard with a multi-touch, precision trackpad. The accessory connects through the iPad’s physical accessory interface and is marketed without a separate keyboard battery or a Bluetooth-pairing step in the cited setup guide. That simplifies daily use, because the keyboard draws power from the tablet rather than requiring a second charging routine.

Because the keyboard is removable, the trackpad disappears with it. The shell still protects the tablet, but it does not provide a pointing surface or physical keys when you are using the iPad in tablet mode.

Protection and Pencil storage

The Combo Touch shell is designed to remain on the iPad when the keyboard is detached. The cited product description also highlights storage for Apple Pencil, which helps prevent the stylus from being separated from the tablet in a bag. Confirm the Pencil holder and cutouts on the listing for your exact iPad generation.

Typing and trackpad differences

Feature Magic Keyboard Combo Touch
Key mechanism described Backlit scissor keys Backlit keyboard; the cited listing does not state a key-travel measurement.
Function row 14-key function row on the cited current models Not stated in the cited listing; verify the exact model photographs and specification list.
Trackpad Large glass trackpad; current Pro listing specifies haptic feedback Multi-touch and precision trackpad
Power arrangement USB-C pass-through charging Powered through the iPad accessory interface; no separate keyboard battery is marketed in the cited guide.
Use without keyboard Not available as a separate shell mode Yes; detach the keyboard and keep the protective case and kickstand.

For long documents, email and spreadsheet work, Apple’s compact alignment and large glass surface may feel more natural if you routinely work at a desk. Combo Touch is more adaptable when the same iPad alternates between typing and touch-first activities. Neither product’s trackpad should be judged without considering the case around it: Apple favors a restrained footprint, while Logitech gives up some compactness for a stand and removable keyboard.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Protection, portability and everyday handling

Front and back coverage

The current models cited for both families cover the front and back when closed or assembled. Combo Touch’s shell is specifically intended to stay in place after keyboard removal. Apple’s protection is tied to the connected Magic Keyboard, so removing it changes the way you carry and use the iPad.

Desk space and travel

Apple’s cantilever keeps the keyboard section directly under the display and avoids a separate rear leg. That is advantageous on small desks, café tables and airplane trays. Combo Touch’s kickstand needs a clear area behind the iPad; it can be a better viewing stand on a deep desk but awkward on a shallow surface.

Neither design should be purchased by screen size alone. Camera cutouts, connector placement and the thickness of each generation determine whether the case closes correctly. A case that appears close in a photograph can still press a button, miss the connector or leave the camera opening misaligned.

Charging and setup

Setting up Magic Keyboard

  1. Verify that the Magic Keyboard listing names your exact iPad generation and screen size.
  2. Attach the iPad to the keyboard’s connector area and open it to a comfortable viewing angle.
  3. Connect a USB-C charger to the keyboard’s pass-through port when you want to charge while leaving the iPad’s main port free.
  4. Open a text field and test every key, the function row, pointer movement and common multi-touch gestures.
  5. In Settings > General > Trackpad & Mouse, adjust tracking speed and scrolling behavior if the default pointer feels too slow or fast.

The keyboard is designed as a connected accessory rather than a separately paired Bluetooth device. If typing or pointer input fails, remove and reattach the iPad, inspect the connector area for debris and restart the iPad before assuming the keyboard is defective.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Setting up Combo Touch

  1. Confirm that the product page names your iPad generation, including whether it is the 10th-generation iPad or the A16 iPad.
  2. Install the protective shell and check that the camera, speakers, buttons and charging connector are unobstructed.
  3. Attach the keyboard through the case’s accessory interface.
  4. Open the kickstand and test several angles on the surface where you normally work.
  5. Remove the keyboard and verify that the shell remains secure for tablet-only use.
  6. Open a text field and test the backlight, key response, trackpad clicks and multi-touch gestures.

The cited setup guide describes connection through the iPad’s accessory interface and does not call for a separate keyboard battery or Bluetooth pairing. If the keyboard is not recognized, detach it, wipe the connector contacts with a dry lint-free cloth, reseat the case and restart the iPad.

Prices and what the premium buys

The following are prices shown on the cited US manufacturer listings. They are not guaranteed prices: region, retailer, generation and promotions can change the amount, so verify the exact listing immediately before purchase.

Accessory Listed US price Compatibility context Price difference versus Combo Touch
Logitech Combo Touch $159.99 starting price iPad (10th generation and A16) listing cited —
Apple Magic Keyboard for iPad Air From $269; cited 11-inch M4 listing is $269 11-inch and 13-inch Air models with M2, M3 and M4 are listed by Apple $109.01 above $159.99 at the cited starting prices
Apple Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro From $299 11-inch and 13-inch Pro models with M4 and M5 are listed by Apple $139.01 above $159.99 at the cited starting prices
Apple Magic Keyboard Folio From $249 For iPad (A16 and 10th generation) $89.01 above $159.99 at the cited starting prices

The Magic Keyboard premium pays for Apple’s compact cantilever construction, glass trackpad, function row, backlighting and pass-through charging. Combo Touch’s lower starting price pays for a different set of priorities: a detachable keyboard, kickstand and shell that remains on the iPad. The comparison is not a simple “same product, different price” calculation.

Which one should you buy?

Buy Magic Keyboard when these statements describe you

  • You type for long periods and want the iPad positioned like a small notebook computer.
  • Your desk, tray or lap space is limited and a rear kickstand would be inconvenient.
  • You value a large glass trackpad, a 14-key function row and a clean, integrated case.
  • You want to charge through the accessory while keeping the iPad’s USB-C port available.
  • You own a compatible iPad Air or iPad Pro and accept the higher starting price.

Buy Combo Touch when these statements describe you

  • You regularly remove the keyboard for drawing, handwriting, reading or video.
  • You want the protective shell and kickstand to stay on the iPad in tablet mode.
  • You want Pencil storage integrated into the case.
  • You prefer the cited $159.99 starting price for the supported 10th-generation or A16 iPad listing.
  • You have enough desk depth for a rear kickstand and do not mind a less compact footprint.

Choose neither until you resolve compatibility

  • You do not know whether your tablet is an iPad (10th generation), iPad (A16), Air M2/M3/M4, or Pro M4/M5.
  • You are comparing an 11-inch case with a 13-inch iPad.
  • You are relying on a retailer title that omits the generation or screen size.
  • You are buying used and cannot confirm the model number or inspect the connector and hinge.

Common buying mistakes and fixes

Mistake: assuming every “iPad” case fits every iPad

Fix: Use Settings > General > About to obtain the model name and A-number, then match both generation and size to the manufacturer’s selector.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mistake: treating Combo Touch as one universal product

Fix: Treat each Combo Touch listing as a separate model. The cited listing covers the 10th-generation and A16 iPads; other generations require their own listing.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Mistake: expecting Apple’s keyboard to become a thin tablet case

Fix: Choose Combo Touch if keyboard removal while retaining a protective shell is central to your use. Magic Keyboard remains a connected case design.

Mistake: forgetting the stand’s space requirement

Fix: Measure the usable depth of your tray or desk. Combo Touch’s kickstand needs room behind the iPad; Apple’s cantilever is the safer choice for very shallow surfaces.

Mistake: comparing promotional or regional prices as if they were permanent

Fix: Recheck the manufacturer listing for your country, iPad size and generation at checkout. The dollar amounts above are cited US listings and can change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mistake: buying for the trackpad while ignoring tablet-only use

Fix: Decide how often the keyboard will be detached. If the answer is often, Combo Touch’s shell-and-kickstand mode may matter more than the difference between the two trackpads.

Bottom line for each iPad owner

For a compatible iPad Air or iPad Pro, Apple’s Magic Keyboard is the premium compact choice: it prioritizes laptop-style typing, a large glass trackpad, a floating hinge, backlighting, a function row and USB-C pass-through charging. For a supported 10th-generation or A16 iPad, Logitech’s Combo Touch is the value-and-flexibility choice: it adds a detachable keyboard, protective shell, kickstand and Pencil storage at a lower cited starting price.

Check the exact model and screen size first, then choose the interaction style you will use every day. That decision is more reliable than choosing by brand, headline price or a photograph of a similar-looking iPad.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.