Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: Both the Anker Nano Charger (20W) and Apple 20W USB-C Power Adapter meet the 20-watt USB-C baseline Apple documents for fast charging supported iPhones. Choose Anker when its cited $11.99 price and smaller body suit your budget and bag; choose Apple at its cited $19 price when you want a first-party accessory and the simplest one-port purchase. Neither official specification establishes a speed, heat, or durability winner.

What you are actually choosing

A 20W adapter is the charger brick that plugs into a wall outlet. It is not the cable, and it is not the iPhone itself. The two products in this comparison are compact, single-device USB-C adapters designed to provide up to 20 watts.

Apple’s support guidance says iPhone 12, iPhone SE (3rd generation), and later models need a power adapter rated at least 20W for fast charging. For a third-party adapter, Apple specifies USB-C, 9V/2.2A, and a 20W minimum. The Anker Nano Charger lists a 9V/2.22A mode and 20W maximum output, so its published electrical rating matches that threshold.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Apple also markets its adapter for iPhone 8 or later, claiming charging to “about 50% in around 35 minutes.” That is Apple’s product-page estimate, not a guarantee for every battery condition, cable, temperature, or iPhone model. The official material available for these products does not provide a controlled, head-to-head test showing one adapter charges faster than the other.

#1 Best Overall
Yojaro 4Pack Silicone Suction Phone Case Mount, Silicon Adhesive Smartphones Stand Sticky, Hands-Free Phone Accessories Holder for Selfies and Videos (Black & White & Translucent & Light Pink)
  • 【Strong Adsorption】The inspiration of the silicone phone suction case comes from the adhesive force of the octopus. Each suction cup phone mount is 3.15 inches long and 2.17 inches wide, with 24 independent suction cups providing a stronger and more stable suction force, so you don't have to worry about your phone falling during use.
  • 【Back of Phone Suction Grip】Remove the adhesive film on the phone suction cup and stick it on the phone case. You can then fix the phone on any smooth surface, which is very convenient. (The phone suction cup cannot be removed and reused after being attached to the phone case. It is recommended to attach it to a regular phone case, not a valuable one.)
  • 【Widely Used】Our non-slip silicone phone sticky grip mount attaches to almost any flat phone case and make it compatible with common mobile phones such as iPhone and Android.You can shoot, watch videos or video calls in the kitchen, gym, dance studio, bathroom and other places.
  • 【Capture the Wonderful Picture】Whether you are a TikTok creator or just like to share videos and photos, this phone suction cup can help you hands-free capture wonderful videos and photos for sharing with friends.
  • 【Note】You can fix the phone suction cup on a smooth surface such as a mirror or glass. If necessary, wipe the suction cup with a damp cloth to obtain stronger suction. Before releasing your hand, make sure the phone is firmly fixed. (Not applicable to rough walls, wooden surfaces, and other uneven surfaces)

Apple 20W USB-C Power Adapter: the first-party option

What you get

Apple lists the 20W USB-C Power Adapter at $19 on its product page. It has one USB-C output. Apple describes it as offering “fast, efficient charging at home, in the office, or on the go,” and says to pair it with iPhone 8 or later for fast charging.

The adapter does not include a charging cable. Apple explicitly states, “Charging cable sold separately.” You therefore need a cable with a USB-C plug at the adapter end and the connector required by your iPhone at the phone end. If you already own a suitable cable, the $19 adapter is the complete additional purchase; if not, your total cost is higher than the listed adapter price.

Why buyers choose it

  • First-party simplicity: You can select Apple’s own 20W model without comparing multiple output modes or model names.
  • Clear iPhone positioning: Apple states the intended iPhone compatibility and the approximate 50-percent-in-35-minutes claim on the product page.
  • One-port focus: A single USB-C port avoids accidentally dividing output between two connected devices.
  • Apple-branded support path: Buyers who prefer to keep the adapter and phone from the same manufacturer may find troubleshooting and accessory identification more straightforward.

What it does not solve

Apple’s adapter does not add a second charging port, and the cable is not in the box. The $19 figure is the listed adapter price, not a promise that every retailer or region will show the same amount. Availability, taxes, shipping, and cable pricing can change the final total.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Anker Nano Charger (20W): the value and size option

Published specifications

The cited Anker Nano Charger (20W) page lists a price of $11.99, one USB-C port, and 20W maximum output. Its published modes are 5V/3A or 9V/2.22A. The stated dimensions are 1.16 × 1.16 × 1.18 inches, making the product a compact choice for a travel pouch, crowded outlet, or small desk.

Rank #2
Apple EarPods Headphones with USB-C Plug, Wired Ear Buds with Built-in Remote to Control Music, Phone Calls, and Volume
  • SUPERIOR COMFORT — Unlike traditional circular ear buds, the design of EarPods is defined by the geometry of the ear. Which makes them more comfortable for more people than any other ear bud–style headphones.
  • HIGH-QUALITY AUDIO — The speakers inside EarPods have been engineered to maximize sound output and minimize sound loss, which means you get high-quality audio.
  • BUILT-IN REMOTE — EarPods with USB-C plug also include a built-in remote that lets you adjust the volume, control the playback of music and video, and answer or end calls with a pinch of the cord.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Works with all devices that have a USB-C port.
  • INTEGRATED MICROPHONE — A built-in microphone precisely captures your voice while you’re on the phone, taking a FaceTime call, or summoning Siri — so you’re always heard loud and clear.

Anker describes the model with the heading “Small Size, Big Power.” The listing also states compatibility with many iPhone generations. That wording indicates broad model coverage, but you should still check the listing for your exact iPhone and confirm that your cable has the right connectors.

Why buyers choose it

  • Lower cited price: At the listed prices in the supplied product pages, $11.99 is $7.01 less than Apple’s $19 adapter.
  • Compact dimensions: The explicit 1.16 × 1.16 × 1.18-inch measurement is useful when space matters.
  • Same 20W ceiling: Its 20W maximum and 9V/2.22A mode align with Apple’s stated third-party minimum for fast charging.
  • One-port simplicity: The single USB-C design is easy to understand when you charge one iPhone at a time.

Details to verify before checkout

Anker sells more than one charger configuration, and listings can differ. The cited Nano listing is the single-port 20W model, but cable inclusion is not universal across Anker listings. Read the exact package contents for the seller and model number you are buying. A lower adapter price does not help if you also need a cable and did not budget for it.

Side-by-side comparison

Factor Apple 20W USB-C Power Adapter Anker Nano Charger (20W)
Listed price $19 on Apple’s product page; retail prices can change $11.99 on the cited Anker page; listings can change
Maximum output 20W class adapter; Apple positions it for fast charging 20W maximum
Published output modes Not stated in the cited product description 5V/3A or 9V/2.22A
Port count One USB-C port One USB-C port
Size Not stated in the cited product material 1.16 × 1.16 × 1.18 inches
Cable in the box No; Apple says the cable is sold separately Varies by Anker listing; verify the exact package
Stated iPhone coverage Apple says iPhone 8 or later for fast charging; support guidance sets a 20W minimum for iPhone 12, iPhone SE (3rd generation), and later Listing says compatible with many iPhone generations; check your model
Warranty and returns Not stated in the cited product description; check the purchase channel’s current terms Not stated in the cited product description; check the purchase channel’s current terms
Controlled speed, heat, or durability result Not provided Not provided

Will a 20W Anker charger charge an iPhone as fast as Apple’s?

On paper, both are 20W-class USB-C adapters, and the Anker model publishes the 9V/2.22A mode that is effectively the same 20W level as Apple’s 9V/2.2A third-party guidance. That means the Anker Nano is designed to meet the documented power threshold rather than being a lower-powered substitute.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Charging speed is not fixed at 20 watts for the entire session. The phone controls how much power it accepts, and the result depends on the iPhone model, battery state, temperature, cable, and other conditions. Apple’s “about 50% in around 35 minutes” statement is an approximate product-page claim for iPhone 8 or later, not a comparative test of Apple versus Anker. No official source supplied for this comparison measures both adapters under identical conditions, so it would be inaccurate to declare a winner for real-world speed.

Rank #3
PopSockets Adhesive Phone Grip, Holder- Black | Anti-Drop, Kickstand, Secure Comfortable Hold, Black, Create a Mobile Phone Outfit
  • Secure Hold: Our PopSockets adhesive phone grip gives your cell phone a secure, comfortable hold in hand to help prevent drops while texting, taking photos, or scrolling on the go. Designed to stick firmly to most phone cases and devices.
  • Hands-Free Made Easy: Easily turn your PopSocket into a phone stand to prop up your phone anywhere, perfect for watching videos, video calls, or following recipes. A must-have phone holder that keeps your device secure and ready for anything.
  • Compatibility: Works with all phones, tablets, and Kindles. Sticks best to smooth, hard plastic cases and may not adhere to silicone or textured cases. Easily swap your PopTop to change up your style.
  • Black PopSockets: Simple, refined, and endlessly versatile. A timeless essential for any phone.
  • Travel Must-Have for People On the Go: A must-have travel accessory for flights, flying, airports, air travel, airplanes, planes, international trips, cruises, and long travel days. Key gadget for your airport haul, travel accessories and must-haves.

If your iPhone is not fast charging, check the adapter’s rating, the cable, the wall outlet, and the phone’s temperature before blaming the brand. A 5W adapter, a damaged cable, or a loose connection can make either 20W product appear slow.

One port or two: the important Anker alternative

Anker also lists a two-port 20W model with USB-C and USB-A. That can be convenient when you want to connect two cables, but it changes the power trade-off: Anker specifies 15W maximum combined output when both ports are active.

That 15W figure is shared between the connected devices, not 15W for each port. If your priority is the fastest single-iPhone charging, use a single-port 20W adapter or connect only one device to the two-port unit. If your priority is reducing the number of wall plugs while charging two low-demand devices, the two-port model may be more convenient, but expect shared output.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Your situation Better configuration Reason
One iPhone and maximum simplicity Apple 20W or Anker Nano single-port Both provide one USB-C port and a 20W-class ceiling.
One iPhone and the lowest cited price Anker Nano single-port The cited listing is $11.99 versus Apple’s $19 listing.
Two devices from one outlet Anker two-port model, with expectations set to 15W combined USB-C and USB-A are available, but output is shared when both are used.
Two devices, each needing the fastest possible charging Two separate appropriately rated adapters The two-port model’s published 15W combined limit will not provide 20W to both devices.

Which should you buy?

Choose Apple when first-party ownership matters most

Buy Apple’s adapter if you value an Apple-branded accessory, want the most straightforward product choice, or prefer to keep support questions within Apple’s accessory ecosystem. The one-port design is predictable, and Apple clearly states that the cable is separate. It is the easier recommendation when the $19 price is acceptable and you already have the correct cable.

Rank #4
Sale
360° Rotating Stainless Steel Phone Tether Tab (Silvery 3-Pack) - Universal for iPhone & Other Phones (Fits Wristbands/Necklaces/Crossbody Straps)
  • [360 ° Flexible Rotation Design] Comes with a rotatable lanyard ring that supports 360 ° free rotation, effectively solving the problem of twisted and tangled lanyards
  • [Wide compatibility] The ultra-thin 0.02-inch design does not block the charging port at all, and both wired and wireless charging can be used directly without removing the pad. Compatible with most smartphones such as iPhone, compatible with various wristbands, lanyards, crossbody straps, and keychains
  • [Durable and Portable Material] Premium rust-resistant stainless steel material with good flexibility, which not only avoids scratching the phone case, but also has excellent anti rust and anti fading performance
  • [Multi scenario Practical] Paired with a lanyard or wristband, hands-free use can be achieved. The phone is within reach and not easily dropped, ideal for daily commuting and outdoor activities. Suitable for full coverage phone cases, does not support half coverage phone cases
  • [Quality Service] If you find any damage or other issues with the product upon receipt, please contact us immediately. We will handle it quickly

Choose the Anker Nano when value and size matter most

Choose the single-port Anker Nano when the cited $11.99 price is materially below Apple’s current price, you want the stated compact dimensions, and you are comfortable checking the exact listing details. Its 20W maximum and 9V/2.22A mode meet the power level Apple identifies for fast charging with supported iPhones.

Choose neither as a two-device solution unless you accept shared power

If you regularly charge an iPhone and another device at the same time, do not assume that a “20W” label means 20W remains available to each port. The Anker two-port model’s published limit is 15W combined with both ports active. Buy it for outlet consolidation, not for two simultaneous 20W outputs.

How to set up your charger

  1. Confirm your iPhone model. iPhone 12, iPhone SE (3rd generation), and later need at least 20W for Apple-defined fast charging. Apple also markets the adapter for iPhone 8 or later.
  2. Pick the exact adapter configuration. Confirm whether the product has one USB-C port or the two-port USB-C/USB-A layout, and note the output limit that applies when both ports are occupied.
  3. Check the package contents. Apple’s cable is sold separately. For Anker, read the specific listing because cable inclusion varies by model and seller.
  4. Use a compatible cable. The adapter end must fit the USB-C port. The phone end must match your iPhone’s connector. Replace a cable that is frayed, bent at the plug, or intermittently disconnecting.
  5. Connect the adapter to a suitable wall outlet. Push the plug firmly into the outlet and the cable firmly into the adapter and iPhone.
  6. Allow the phone to manage charging. The iPhone determines its draw. Do not expect a constant 20W reading throughout the charge, and do not compare a nearly full battery with a nearly empty one.
  7. For a two-port charger, connect the highest-priority device first. Remember that adding a second device invokes the specified 15W combined limit on Anker’s two-port 20W model.

Common buying mistakes and fixes

Mistake: comparing only the brick price

The Apple listing excludes the cable, and some Anker packages do as well. Add the cost of any required cable before deciding which setup is cheaper. If you already own a compatible cable, compare adapter prices alone; otherwise compare complete, usable kits.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mistake: buying a two-port model for two fast charges

A two-port label describes connectivity, not two independent 20W supplies. Anker’s stated 15W combined output applies when both ports are active. Use one port for the fastest single-device result or use separate adapters for two high-speed charges.

Best Value
Anteel 2 Pack Silicone Suction Cup Phone Case Mount Double Sided, Hands-Free Silicon Phone Grip with Higher Suction Power for Selfies and Videos, Non Slip Phone Accessories (LightPink&White)
  • 【PKYAA Double Sided Silicone Suction Phone Case Mount】PKYAA With Double Sided 40 Strong and Reliable individual suction cups, PKYAA provides a thicken and upgraded universal silicon suction mount for your phone.
  • 【Friendly to Content Creators】If you are a content creator or an online influencer, you can create videos anywhere with this suction mount completely hands free with this silicone cell phone mount for cases.
  • 【HANDS-FREE & Adhere to Mirrors】This Double Sided silicone suction phone case mount allows you to stick your phone to the mirror easily. No longer holding your phone in one hand to watch video tutorials while making up.
  • 【Strong Grip on the Smooth Surface】You can easily hang your phone anywhere with a smooth surface. All you do is you clean off your phone and smooth surface. It is STURDY and it not only sticks to mirrors, it also sticks to windows, it sticks to refrigerators, tiles and other clean, flat surfaces.
  • 【Press Down Firmly Every 30 Minutes】Use your palm or fingers to press the phone down firmly and check it's secure before letting go. Apply even pressure for a few seconds to allow the suction cup to adhere properly. To maintain the grip and prevent accidental falls, it's a good practice to periodically reapply pressure to the suction cup.

Mistake: treating “20W” as a guaranteed time

Apple’s approximately 50-percent-in-around-35-minutes statement is an estimate. Battery level, temperature, cable condition, and the iPhone model affect the outcome. Use the claim as a baseline expectation, not a stopwatch promise.

Mistake: assuming every Anker listing is the Nano single-port model

Check the model name, port layout, output table, dimensions, and included accessories. The cited Nano specifications apply to the one-port 20W product, not automatically to every charger sold under the Anker name.

Mistake: using a damaged cable or loose connection

Before replacing a working adapter, test a known-good compatible cable, reseat both connectors, and try another wall outlet. If charging repeatedly stops, inspect the phone and cable ports for visible debris and physical damage; do not force a connector.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Price and availability

The comparison uses the prices shown in the cited product pages: $19 for Apple and $11.99 for the Anker Nano. These are listing prices, not permanent market prices. Retailers may change prices, bundle cables, charge shipping, or sell a different regional package. Recheck the current price, seller, model number, output specifications, and return terms immediately before ordering.

Warranty and return details were not stated in the product information used here, so verify them with the store or manufacturer for your market. That check is especially important when a marketplace listing uses a similar name but a different port count or package.

Bottom-line decision framework

  • Pick Apple for first-party branding, a clearly defined one-port product, and a simple purchase at the listed $19 price.
  • Pick the Anker Nano for the lower cited $11.99 price, the stated 1.16 × 1.16 × 1.18-inch size, and a 20W USB-C specification that aligns with Apple’s documented fast-charging threshold.
  • Pick the Anker two-port model only when sharing one outlet matters more than maintaining 20W for each connected device; its published two-port limit is 15W combined.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.