Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The best open-source chatbot platform depends on what you are building: a visual LLM workflow, a conversational AI system, or an interface for talking to models. Flowise and Dify focus on visual LLM applications; Rasa is aimed at production conversational AI; Open WebUI is a model chat interface; and Langflow is a visual agent-and-workflow builder. Botpress needs a special qualification: its current repository describes Botpress Cloud, not the former self-hosted open-source product.

Here are seven candidates, organized by practical fit rather than a universal score. The available product documentation does not establish a like-for-like 2026 feature, license, or price comparison for every option, so the table distinguishes what is documented from what remains unspecified.

Best open-source chatbot platforms at a glance

Platform Best fit What the documentation establishes Self-hosting and price
Flowise Visual LLM and agent workflows with an embedded chat option Assistant, Chatflow, and Agentflow builders; API/SDK access and embedded chat are described in its official documentation. npm and Docker Compose setup are documented. Price: not stated in the official documentation.
Dify LLM apps combining workflows, RAG, model management, and observability The project describes these capabilities and a self-hosted Community Edition. Docker Compose is documented; vendor-stated minimums are two CPU cores and 4 GiB RAM. Price: not stated in the project README.
Rasa Conversational AI deployments that require on-premises or isolated environments Rasa’s vendor-authored comparison page describes self-hosted, on-premises, and air-gapped deployment. Specific current edition limits, terms, and price are not stated in the comparison page.
Open WebUI A chat interface for local Ollama models or OpenAI API-connected models The official repository description names Ollama and OpenAI API support. Deployment details, license terms, and price are not established by the repository information available here.
Langflow Visual construction of AI agents and workflows The official repository describes building and deploying AI-powered agents and workflows. License, deployment details, and price are not established by the repository information available here.
Botpress Hosted visual bot building The GitHub repository identifies the product as Botpress Cloud; Rasa says the older Botpress v12 self-hosted open-source product has been sunset. Do not infer a current self-hosted product from the repository’s MIT-licensed packages. Cloud pricing is not stated in the repository or Rasa comparison.
LangChain Teams evaluating a developer-oriented framework alongside conversational AI platforms It is named as a comparator in Rasa’s vendor-authored comparison; the available information does not establish a full chatbot-builder feature set. License, deployment options, edition limits, and price are not stated in the comparison page.

“Not stated” means the cited material does not establish that detail; it does not mean a product has no such capability or plan. For an open-source decision, evaluate the exact repository, license, and hosted offering separately.

1. Flowise: visual LLM and agent workflows

Flowise is a visual development platform for AI agents and LLM workflows, rather than only a ready-made customer-facing chatbot. Its documentation describes Assistant, Chatflow, and Agentflow builders, along with API/SDK access and the ability to embed a chatbot. That combination suits a team that wants to compose workflows visually and then expose a chat experience in another application.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What stands out

  • Visual builders cover more than one workflow style: assistants, chatflows, and agentflows.
  • API and SDK access make it possible to connect a built flow to other software; embedded chat provides a route to a web chat interface.
  • The documented deployment paths include npm and Docker Compose, so a team can operate an instance rather than relying only on a hosted interface.

Setup and operating trade-offs

The official setup guide specifies Node.js v18.15.0 or v20 and above for the npm path. It documents a global npm installation followed by npx flowise start; its Docker Compose path runs from the project’s Docker folder. The guide warns that self-hosting requires technical skill for server setup, database backups, and updates. These are operating responsibilities, not one-time installation details. The guide does not establish a production capacity benchmark or a price: Flowise getting started.

Flowise is a strong fit when the priority is a visual LLM workflow with an embeddable chat surface. Before treating it as a production customer-service system, distinguish the workflow builder from the surrounding work of authentication, security configuration, integration maintenance, backups, and operations. The current license for the exact version is not established by the cited pages.

2. Dify: LLM applications with RAG and observability

Dify positions itself as an LLM application platform. Its project README describes visual workflows, retrieval-augmented generation (RAG), model management, observability, APIs, and a self-hosted Community Edition. It is a sensible candidate when a chatbot is one part of a broader LLM application and the team wants workflow and knowledge features in the same platform.

Deployment requirements

Dify’s README documents a Docker Compose quick start and requires Docker Compose v2.24.0 or later. It publishes a minimum machine requirement of at least two CPU cores and 4 GiB RAM. Those are vendor-stated installation minimums, not an independent performance benchmark or a guarantee of capacity for a particular workload. The same README describes the Community Edition as self-hosted: Dify project README.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

License and fit

Dify says its Dify Open Source License is based on Apache 2.0 with additional conditions. Apache 2.0 alone therefore does not describe the full terms. Read the current license text for the exact version and edition before relying on assumptions about commercial use or redistribution. The project README does not establish a comparable 2026 price or edition-by-edition feature matrix.

Choose Dify when workflows, RAG, model management, and observability are central requirements. The additional license conditions and the ongoing work of running a Docker Compose service are important parts of that choice.

3. Rasa: conversational AI with deployment control

Rasa belongs in a different category from a visual LLM flow builder: it is a conversational AI platform to consider when deployment control is central, including on-premises or air-gapped environments. Rasa’s own comparison page describes self-hosted, on-premises, and air-gapped deployment. Because that is vendor-authored comparison material, treat it as a description to confirm against the specific current edition rather than an independent evaluation: Rasa’s comparison of LangChain, Botpress, and Rasa.

What to establish for your deployment

  • Which current edition supports the required deployment pattern.
  • What the current Developer Edition limits are and which capabilities require enterprise terms.
  • What infrastructure and operational prerequisites apply to the chosen edition.
  • Which license and commercial terms apply to the exact software being deployed.

The cited comparison does not establish current edition limits, enterprise feature boundaries, or price. Rasa is most relevant to teams that need conversational AI and deployment choices beyond a hosted-only service, but it cannot be ranked above workflow builders on visual flow flexibility or RAG from the available evidence.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

4. Open WebUI: a chat interface for models

Open WebUI is a different kind of candidate: its official repository description says it supports Ollama and the OpenAI API. That makes it worth considering when the requirement is an interface for chatting with local Ollama models or API-connected models, rather than a full conversational AI authoring platform.

The available repository description does not establish a detailed feature list, license terms, deployment instructions, supported channels beyond model chat, or a price comparison. Do not assume that a model chat interface provides the workflow design, business-system integrations, or customer-service channel management that a support chatbot may need. Review the current official project material for the exact edition before selecting it.

5. Langflow: visual agent and workflow building

Langflow’s official repository describes a platform for building and deploying AI-powered agents and workflows. That makes it a relevant visual-builder option for teams exploring agent workflows, especially when their primary need is to construct AI behavior rather than select a prebuilt support-desk product.

The available project description does not establish the current license, deployment choices, chatbot channels, supported integrations, or pricing. Those gaps matter if the requirement is a public-facing support bot: an agent/workflow builder is not automatically a complete website chat, email, WhatsApp, or social-service system. Assess Langflow on workflow fit, then confirm that the exact project version supplies the deployment and user-facing interface your use case needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

6. Botpress: hosted visual bot building, not the old self-hosted option

Botpress can appear in open-source chatbot searches, but the distinction between its current hosted product and its former self-hosted version is essential. The GitHub repository identifies the product as Botpress Cloud and says its repository packages use the MIT License. Separately, Rasa’s comparison page says Botpress v12 self-hosted open source has been sunset and describes current Botpress as cloud-delivered. A license label for repository packages does not establish that the current hosted product can be self-hosted: Botpress repository; Rasa comparison.

Consider Botpress when hosted visual bot building is acceptable. If your requirement is self-hosting, air-gapped operation, or control of the deployed runtime, the cited sources do not establish that current Botpress Cloud meets it. Current cloud pricing and terms are not stated in those sources.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

7. LangChain: a developer-oriented option, not a verified turnkey chatbot builder

LangChain is named alongside Rasa and Botpress in Rasa’s vendor-authored comparison. The available information does not provide enough detail to treat it as a directly comparable, ready-to-deploy chatbot platform: it does not establish a product feature matrix, current license and edition terms, deployment options, or prices. Its place on this list is therefore as a developer-oriented candidate to assess, not as a validated substitute for a full customer-facing chat system.

For a team considering it, the decision hinges on whether a developer-led framework approach is acceptable in place of a packaged visual chatbot builder. The cited comparison does not establish which channels, workflow tooling, or hosting terms apply, so no claim about those specifics is warranted here: Rasa’s comparison page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

How to choose the right platform

Start with the artifact you need to build

  • Visual LLM flows and an embedded chat interface: start with Flowise.
  • An LLM application with workflows, RAG, model management, and observability: compare Dify.
  • Conversational AI with on-premises or air-gapped deployment requirements: investigate Rasa’s exact current edition and terms.
  • A chat interface for Ollama or OpenAI API models: assess Open WebUI.
  • Visual agent and workflow construction: consider Langflow.
  • Hosted visual bot authoring: Botpress may fit if cloud delivery is acceptable; do not assume its current offering is self-hostable.
  • A developer-led framework approach: investigate LangChain independently; the cited comparison does not establish that it is a turnkey chatbot platform.

Check the requirements that often get confused

  1. Define the runtime. Decide whether the bot may run in a vendor cloud, must run on infrastructure you manage, or must operate in an isolated or air-gapped environment. A GitHub repository or an open-source package license alone does not prove that a hosted product is self-hostable.
  2. Map the user-facing channels. Specify whether the bot must serve website chat, messaging apps, or other channels. The cited material explicitly establishes embedded chat for Flowise and model chat for Open WebUI, but does not provide a uniform channel comparison across all seven products.
  3. Separate model and knowledge needs. If you require RAG or knowledge ingestion, Dify’s README explicitly describes RAG. For other platforms, the available information here does not establish equivalent capabilities.
  4. Inspect the exact license and edition. Check the repository license and hosted-service terms separately. This is particularly important for Dify’s Apache 2.0-based license with additional conditions and for Botpress’s distinction between MIT-licensed repository packages and Botpress Cloud.
  5. Budget for operations. Self-hosting means maintaining servers, backups, updates, and security configuration. Flowise’s guide explicitly calls out setup, database backup, and maintenance; Dify’s stated machine minimums are only vendor-published starting requirements, not a sizing recommendation for your workload.

What “open source” and “self-hosted” mean in this comparison

These labels should not be treated as interchangeable. A project may publish source code while offering a hosted product with separate terms; a package license does not settle whether the hosted service can be run locally; and a self-hosted edition may have different capabilities or limits from a paid enterprise edition. Dify’s stated license includes additional conditions beyond Apache 2.0. Botpress’s repository describes Botpress Cloud and MIT-licensed packages, while Rasa says Botpress v12’s self-hosted open-source product has been sunset. For commercial use, redistribution, or a deployment requirement, read the current license and terms for the exact version and offering.

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I self-host Flowise or Dify?

Both publish self-hosting paths in the cited official material. Flowise documents npm and Docker Compose deployment; Dify documents a Docker Compose quick start. Self-hosting still requires someone to maintain the instance.

Which option is best for a chatbot that must work without internet access?

Rasa is the candidate in this comparison whose vendor-authored page describes air-gapped deployment. Confirm that the current edition and its terms support your exact requirements before designing around it.

Does an MIT-licensed repository mean I can self-host Botpress Cloud?

No. The repository’s MIT license statement applies to its packages; the repository identifies the product as Botpress Cloud, and Rasa says the older Botpress v12 self-hosted open-source product has been sunset.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Are any 2026 prices established for these platforms?

No comparable 2026 prices are established by the cited material. It supports some deployment and product distinctions, but not a like-for-like price table.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.