Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The NIU KQi 300X is the strongest all-around choice among these five scooters: it pairs a 500W rated motor with a 1,000W peak, and RiderGuide reports 20 miles of tested range, a 24 mph tested top speed, and a 608Wh battery. For more range-oriented riding, consider the Segway Ninebot Max G2, but note that its rated motor is 450W—not 500W. The VMAX VX2 Hub is the performance-focused 500W option, while the Hiboy S2 Pro is a lighter, lower-speed alternative.

Which 500W electric scooter is best for most commuters?

The NIU KQi 300X is the best-balanced pick in this group. Its combination of 500W rated power, a 608Wh battery, dual disc brakes, a hydraulic front fork, and self-healing tubeless tires gives it a well-rounded specification set rather than an advantage in just one category. RiderGuide reports a 20-mile tested range and 24 mph tested top speed; those are reported test results, not a promise that every rider will get the same distance or speed.

The alternatives make sense for different priorities. Choose the Segway Ninebot Max G2 if comfort and a higher manufacturer range claim matter more than having an exact 500W rated motor. The Hiboy S2 Pro weighs less than the other models with a stated weight here, but its estimated range is shorter. The VMAX VX2 Hub emphasizes peak power, and the Apollo Go Stellar adds dual motors and full suspension.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At-a-glance comparison

Model Rated or nominal power Peak power Battery Range evidence Speed Weight Notable equipment
NIU KQi 300X 500W 1,000W 608Wh 20 miles tested by RiderGuide 24 mph tested by RiderGuide 48.7 lb Dual disc brakes; hydraulic front fork; self-healing tubeless tires; IP55
Segway Ninebot Max G2 450W 1,000W 551Wh 43 miles claimed; about 20–25 miles estimated by Ebike Oracle 20 mph 53.5 lb Range and comfort alternative
Hiboy S2 Pro 500W 600W 418Wh 25 miles claimed; about 15–19 miles estimated by Ebike Oracle 19 mph 39.7 lb Lower weight among models with a stated weight
VMAX VX2 Hub 500W 1,900W Not stated 48 km listed by Apollo Scooters Not stated 57 lb IPX6
Apollo Go Stellar Dual 500W Bosch motors Not stated 648Wh Up to 51 km listed by Apollo Scooters Not stated Not stated Full suspension; IP66

Range entries come from different kinds of evidence: tested, estimated, claimed, and listed figures are not directly interchangeable. Ebike Oracle’s estimated ranges for the Max G2 and S2 Pro are separate from their manufacturer-style claims. Apollo Scooters lists the VX2 Hub and Go Stellar figures in kilometres; the table keeps those units rather than implying a conversion or shared test method. Product specifications and claims can vary by model revision and market, so check the exact version offered where you plan to buy.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What does 500W mean on an electric scooter?

On a scooter, 500W generally describes the motor’s rated or nominal power: its normal operating output, as distinguished from a higher peak figure available for a limited period. Peak power can help describe short bursts of output, but it does not mean the motor continuously produces that wattage. Tom’s Guide cautions that brands may foreground peak power, which can be about twice normal power, and recommends checking both figures.

That distinction changes how to read a listing. The KQi 300X is a 500W scooter with 1,000W peak output; the Max G2 is rated at 450W despite its 1,000W peak figure. The VX2 Hub is listed at 500W nominal and 1,900W peak. A larger peak number alone does not establish that one scooter will be faster, climb better, or travel farther in everyday conditions: those outcomes also depend on the scooter’s design, rider and route, and the conditions under which performance is measured.

Tom’s Guide describes roughly 500W as a “sweet spot” for balancing price and performance, with enough power for getting around without necessarily moving into a more expensive class. That is general buying guidance, not a guarantee that every 500W model will suit steep hills, heavy loads, or a particular commute. If a retailer’s headline shows only peak watts, look for a separate rated or nominal specification before comparing models.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which 500W scooter has the longest real range?

The available figures do not establish a definitive winner in a like-for-like range test across all five scooters. The KQi 300X has the clearest tested figure in this comparison: RiderGuide reports 20 miles. For the Max G2, Ebike Oracle gives a 43-mile claim and estimates about 20–25 miles; for the S2 Pro, it gives a 25-mile claim and estimates about 15–19 miles. The VX2 Hub and Apollo Go Stellar have listed figures of 48 km and up to 51 km, respectively, but those listings do not provide a matching test result here.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Do not treat a manufacturer’s maximum as the distance you can count on for a daily ride. Range changes with rider mass, speed, temperature, terrain, and test method. A fast ride or hilly route can consume a battery differently from a controlled test or a manufacturer’s ideal-condition claim. Battery capacity, measured in watt-hours, is useful context, but the capacity figure alone does not predict a guaranteed number of miles.

For commuting, compare a conservative estimate with the round-trip distance you need, then allow a buffer for the conditions you actually encounter. If a scooter’s range evidence is only a maximum claim, use it as a reference point rather than planning to arrive with no reserve. These five figures come from different sources and methods, so they should guide shortlisting—not be read as a head-to-head ranking.

Is 500W enough for hills?

A 500W rated motor can be a reasonable starting point for everyday riding, but the wattage alone cannot tell you whether a scooter will handle your hills. The evidence available for these five models does not include a comparable hill-climb test, slope limit, or performance result under a specified rider load. A high peak rating should not be mistaken for proof of sustained hill performance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When hills are part of your commute, look for independent tests on slopes similar to yours and for the conditions behind those results, including rider weight and battery charge. Also consider whether the route involves repeated climbs: a short burst of peak output and the ability to maintain useful speed up a longer incline are different demands. If those details are not published, a test ride on a representative hill is more informative than choosing by peak watts alone.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How should you choose among these five scooters?

Start with the constraint that matters most to your actual trip—range, carrying weight, ride comfort, or a specific performance need—rather than sorting by one headline specification.

Pick the NIU KQi 300X for a balanced daily ride

The KQi 300X is the most straightforward recommendation for a commuter who wants an exact 500W rated motor and a broad equipment set. Its RiderGuide-tested figures provide a useful real-world reference, while the hydraulic front fork, dual disc brakes, and self-healing tubeless tires distinguish its hardware from a bare power-and-battery listing. Its 48.7 lb weight is worth considering if you will regularly carry it up stairs or lift it onto transit.

Pick the Segway Ninebot Max G2 for comfort and range interest

The Max G2 is not an exact 500W rated model: its listed rating is 450W, although peak power is 1,000W. It may suit someone prioritizing a comfort-and-range-oriented alternative, but its 43-mile figure is a claim rather than a guaranteed commute distance; Ebike Oracle estimates about 20–25 miles. At 53.5 lb, it is also the heaviest model here with a stated weight.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Pick the Hiboy S2 Pro for lower weight and moderate distances

The S2 Pro has a 500W rated motor, 600W peak output, a 418Wh battery, and a stated weight of 39.7 lb. That makes it the lightest of the scooters for which the comparison has a weight figure. Its range evidence is more modest: a 25-mile claim and an Ebike Oracle estimate of about 15–19 miles. It is a more natural shortlist choice for a shorter commute than for a route that depends on maximizing distance between charges.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Pick the VMAX VX2 Hub if peak output is a priority

The VX2 Hub is listed at 500W nominal and 1,900W peak, with a 48 km range listing, 57 lb weight, and IPX6 rating. That peak figure stands out, but the information here does not establish a tested speed, battery capacity, or comparable range result. Weigh its performance-oriented specification against its carrying weight and seek route-relevant independent tests before treating the peak rating as a practical advantage.

Pick the Apollo Go Stellar for dual motors and suspension

The Go Stellar pairs dual 500W Bosch motors with a 648Wh battery, full suspension, an IP66 rating, and an “up to 51 km” listed range. It is the most clearly specified option here for a rider looking for dual motors and suspension, but the available comparison does not give its weight, speed, peak output, or a tested range. Those missing details matter if you need to carry it or must meet a strict commute-time requirement.

What other specifications matter more than the headline wattage?

For a scooter you will ride regularly, motor power is only one part of the decision. The comparison identifies several practical checks, but not every model has a published value for each one. Avoid assuming that a blank in a product listing means the feature is equivalent across models.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Range evidence: Separate tested results from manufacturer claims, estimates, and listed maximums. Ask what conditions produced the figure before using it to plan a round trip.
  • Battery capacity: Watt-hours help describe the size of the energy store. The KQi 300X, Max G2, S2 Pro, and Go Stellar have stated capacities here; the VX2 Hub’s capacity is not provided in this comparison.
  • Brakes: The KQi 300X is specified with dual disc brakes. The available details do not establish equivalent braking hardware for every other scooter, so confirm the equipment of the exact version you are considering.
  • Suspension and tires: The KQi 300X has a hydraulic front fork and self-healing tubeless tires; the Go Stellar has full suspension. Those features can affect the ride and maintenance considerations, but they do not replace checking the tire type and suspension setup for the specific model.
  • Weight and folded size: Weight affects carrying and storage. Stated weights range from 39.7 lb for the S2 Pro to 57 lb for the VX2 Hub among the models with a figure here. Folded dimensions are not provided, so measure your storage space and verify the product dimensions before purchase.
  • Ingress protection: The KQi 300X is rated IP55, the VX2 Hub IPX6, and the Go Stellar IP66. These are product ratings, not a general invitation to ride through deep water; check the manufacturer’s specific use and care guidance.
  • Rider limit, warranty, and local availability: These details are not established for all five models here. Confirm them for the exact model revision and market rather than assuming the same terms apply across regions.
  • Price: No current price comparison is available, and marketplace prices and stock change. Compare the final local price, seller, warranty, and model revision at the time of purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What safety checks should you make before riding?

Use a properly fitted helmet and make sure the scooter’s lighting and audible warning equipment are suitable for your route. Tom’s Guide highlights headlights, tail lights, reflectors, bells or horns, and handbrakes as safety considerations. Before riding on public roads, check the rules that apply where you live: speed limits, helmet requirements, lighting rules, and permitted road or path use vary by jurisdiction.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Water-resistance ratings should not be treated as permission to ride through deep water. Wet or flooded routes can pose hazards beyond the scooter’s rating, and the available product figures do not establish a safe water depth or riding condition. Follow the model maker’s care guidance, especially after exposure to rain or moisture.

Plan for routine upkeep before the first commute. A suitable lock helps secure the scooter when parked; a pump is useful if the model’s tires require pressure checks; and any replacement tire must match the scooter’s size and construction. Confirm the right tire type and service procedure for your exact model rather than buying a generic replacement based only on appearance.

What is the final recommendation?

For most riders looking for a 500W scooter, start with the NIU KQi 300X: it combines an exact 500W rating with a tested range reference and a useful set of braking, suspension, and tire features. Choose the Max G2 if its comfort-and-range focus fits better and you accept that its rated motor is 450W. The S2 Pro is the lighter, moderate-distance alternative; the VX2 Hub stands out on peak power; and the Go Stellar is the dual-motor, full-suspension option. Before committing, match the real route to range evidence, carrying needs, local rules, and the exact version available in your market.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do electric scooter wattage ratings affect whether I can ride it legally?

They can be relevant, but legality depends on local definitions and rules, not on a wattage label alone. Check the current transport or local-government rules for your location before buying or riding.

Should I test ride an electric scooter before buying?

If you can, a test ride helps you judge fit, handling, braking feel, and comfort—things a specification sheet cannot fully show. Try a route that resembles your commute and confirm the seller’s return terms before relying on a short showroom ride.

Can I take an electric scooter on public transit?

Transit operators set their own rules for scooters, including whether they may be carried, folded, or brought aboard at all. Check the operator’s current policy and the scooter’s folded dimensions and weight before planning a multimodal commute.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.