iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
What Hi-Fi?’s 27 March 2026 roundup ranks the JBL Charge 6 first among portable outdoor speakers, followed by the JBL Flip 7, JBL Go 4, Bose SoundLink Max and JBL Xtreme 4. That is one publication’s ranking, not a universal verdict: RTINGS’ 22 October 2026 guide instead names the JBL Boombox 4 its best outdoor speaker. For a patio, start by deciding whether you want a battery-powered speaker you can carry inside or a product intended for permanent outdoor installation, then match size, coverage, protection and battery life to your space.
What are the five picks in What Hi-Fi?’s outdoor speaker ranking?
What Hi-Fi? lists five portable speakers in this order in its roundup, last updated 27 March 2026. Its category labels and reviewer assessments are useful starting points, but the ordering reflects that publication’s priorities; another reviewer may choose a different winner.
| Rank | Model | What Hi-Fi? category | Specifications reported in the roundup | Reviewer notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | JBL Charge 6 | Best overall | 20-hour battery life; up to 28 hours with Playtime Boost; 40 W; IP68; USB-C charging; USB output; Bluetooth | Clear, detailed sound, wide soundstage and rugged build; drawbacks are its chunky size and inability to link with older JBL models. |
| 2 | JBL Flip 7 | Best portable | Not stated in the cited roundup details. | Named as the roundup’s best portable pick. |
| 3 | JBL Go 4 | Best budget | Not stated in the cited roundup details. | Named as the roundup’s best budget pick. |
| 4 | Bose SoundLink Max | Best premium | 50 W; Bluetooth 5.3; up to 20 hours; IP67; USB-C; 3.5 mm aux | Rugged build and strong bass; it lacks a built-in call microphone. |
| 5 | JBL Xtreme 4 | Best large | Not stated in the cited roundup details. | Named as the roundup’s best large pick. |
The table reports the details available from What Hi-Fi?’s roundup; it is not a complete specification sheet. Check the manufacturer’s current documentation for a model’s exact features, compatibility and outdoor-use guidance before buying. Prices and stock change, so compare current listings for the precise model and variant rather than relying on an old offer.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What the categories actually mean
“Best overall” is a useful first filter, not a promise that the Charge 6 is the right choice for every patio. “Best portable” emphasizes the Flip 7’s role in the roundup, while “best budget” identifies the Go 4 as the value-oriented choice in that particular list. “Best premium” and “best large” describe the SoundLink Max and Xtreme 4 categories respectively. None of those labels supplies a complete price, size, weight, battery or coverage comparison.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The distinction is important when shopping across generations. A retailer may use a familiar family name for more than one version, and an older listing may omit a feature found on a newer model. Read the model number, not just the product family, and compare the listing with the current maker documentation.
Why do outdoor speaker rankings disagree?
There is no single best speaker for every patio, and reviewers do not necessarily use the same criteria or priorities. What Hi-Fi?’s portable-speaker list puts the Charge 6 first; RTINGS’ 22 October 2026 outdoor-speaker guide names the JBL Boombox 4 its best outdoor speaker and also discusses the Ultimate Ears EPICBOOM and LG xboom Bounce as alternatives.
That difference matters because “outdoor speaker” can describe more than one kind of product. The What Hi-Fi? list is specifically about portable speakers. RTINGS also discusses outdoor-speaker options beyond that list, while Tom’s Guide distinguishes wired, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth approaches. Treat a reviewer’s winner as a recommendation for its defined category—not proof that it will suit a different space, use pattern or installation.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What reviewers may be measuring differently
One guide may emphasize tonal balance, detail and portability. Another may put more weight on maximum output, coverage, connectivity or whether a product works as part of a permanent system. A large yard and a small balcony create different requirements, even before price enters the decision. Comparing the reasons behind each pick is more useful than trying to force every guide into one universal ranking.
The five products here should therefore be read as a shortlist. The Charge 6’s clear, detailed presentation and wide soundstage may appeal to a listener who wants one versatile unit. Someone who carries a speaker frequently may value the Flip 7 category more. A buyer seeking lower entry cost may begin with the Go 4, while a listener who prioritizes bass may investigate the SoundLink Max. The Xtreme 4’s large-speaker designation can make sense when physical size and output are acceptable trade-offs.
Should you buy a portable Bluetooth speaker or a permanent outdoor speaker?
Choose portable Bluetooth if you want a battery-powered speaker you can move around and bring indoors. Consider a permanent outdoor product if you want equipment designed to stay installed in a set location and are prepared for its power and connection requirements.
Portable speakers
A portable battery-powered model avoids running patio speaker wiring and is easy to move between a deck, backyard and indoor room. The trade-offs are that you need to recharge it and that the speaker’s size, battery life and protection rating still need to suit your use. A portable model’s water-and-dust rating alone does not establish that it is suitable for year-round outdoor storage.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Portability also changes how you use the speaker. You can move it closer to a dinner table, take it indoors after an event and avoid leaving an expensive device unattended. That flexibility is valuable, but it means the speaker must be convenient to lift, store and recharge. A unit that sounds excellent yet is awkward to carry may spend more time unused than a smaller model.
Permanent installations
Fixed outdoor speakers may be wired or solar-powered, according to RTINGS; wired products can also suit a permanent setup but require cabling or nearby power. Wi-Fi may be useful if the patio has reliable network coverage, while Bluetooth is geared toward portable use. Do not assume a Wi-Fi speaker or a fixed installation belongs in the same comparison as a battery-powered Bluetooth model: the setup, connection and day-to-day use differ.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
A permanent system can make sense when the listening position is fixed and you do not want to carry equipment in and out. It also introduces questions that do not apply in the same way to the five portable picks: where power comes from, how cable runs are protected, whether the network reaches the installation and whether the product is designed for the local exposure. Those are installation decisions, not simply speaker-size decisions.
How should you match a speaker to your patio?
Think about where it will sit, how much area it needs to cover and whether you will carry it inside after use. Tom’s Guide identifies available space and required volume as buying considerations; the right balance is more useful than choosing the largest or most expensive unit by default.
Small patio or dinner gathering
If the speaker will sit close to listeners in a small space, portability and a manageable footprint may matter more than maximum output. What Hi-Fi? calls the Flip 7 its best portable pick and the Go 4 its best budget pick, but the available roundup details do not provide their dimensions or output figures. Check those specifications against your space before deciding between them.
Measure the table, shelf or ledge where the speaker will actually sit. Leave enough room to connect the charging cable and operate controls without balancing the unit at an edge. If people will walk past it, consider whether a compact body is less likely to be knocked over. These practical checks can outweigh a category label when the listening area is close and relatively small.
Wide yard or larger gathering
A wider listening area or a party may call for greater volume and sound coverage. What Hi-Fi?’s categories identify the Xtreme 4 as its best large pick and the Bose SoundLink Max as its premium pick; the Charge 6 reviewer notes include a wide soundstage. Those descriptions can help shortlist models, but they do not establish how a speaker will perform in your particular yard. If coverage matters, compare listening tests and full product specifications rather than treating a wattage figure alone as a guarantee of room-filling sound.
Outdoor sound is affected by distance, competing noise and the layout of the yard. A speaker that sounds powerful beside a chair may not provide the same experience at the far end of a garden. Think about where listeners normally gather, whether the unit can be repositioned and whether one larger speaker or more than one compatible speaker would better suit the space. Do not assume that two units from different brands can form a stereo pair; compatibility must be checked for the exact models.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Moving between indoors and outdoors
If the speaker will travel with you, consider whether its size and weight are convenient for the whole routine—not just the walk outside. The Charge 6 is described as chunky despite its strengths, while the Flip 7 is the roundup’s portable pick. Confirm the actual dimensions of both before choosing; the category labels do not give enough information to determine how either will feel to carry.
Include the charging routine in that decision. A speaker that is regularly brought inside can be charged in a known place, while one left on a patio may be forgotten. Check where the USB-C port is located, whether the supplied charging arrangement fits your setup and whether the manufacturer gives any specific storage guidance. The reported runtime figures are useful for planning, but they are not a guarantee of identical real-world duration.
What do protection ratings and battery figures tell you?
Use the exact model’s stated protection rating as one comparison point, not as a guarantee that it can remain exposed outdoors in every condition. What Hi-Fi? reports an IP68 rating for the Charge 6 and IP67 for the SoundLink Max. The ratings make those published figures comparable, but they do not replace the manufacturer’s instructions for storage or outdoor use.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Do not use the word “waterproof” as a shortcut for every kind of weather exposure. The rating is tied to the tested product and its stated conditions. A patio can involve rain, spray, dust, heat, condensation and long periods of non-use; the cited reviews do not provide storage instructions for every model. Confirm the maker’s guidance for the exact speaker, including whether it should be brought indoors after use.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesBattery figures are also claims, not a promise of the same runtime in every setting. What Hi-Fi? reports 20 hours for the Charge 6 and up to 28 hours with Playtime Boost; it reports up to 20 hours for the SoundLink Max. If you host longer gatherings, consider whether the quoted duration fits your plans and check the manufacturer’s conditions for those claims. The roundup does not give comparable runtime details for the Flip 7, Go 4 or Xtreme 4 in the available specifications.
Volume level, content, connection behavior and feature use can all affect how long a battery lasts, so plan a margin rather than scheduling an event to end at the advertised limit. If a speaker will be used for repeated gatherings, note how often it needs charging and whether the charging location is practical. A longer stated runtime may be more valuable to one buyer than a smaller body, while another buyer may prefer easier carrying.
For a speaker that will be left outside, do not infer year-round weather suitability from the word “rugged” or from an IP rating alone. The cited reviews distinguish portable speakers from permanent outdoor products, but do not provide storage instructions for every model. Consult the manufacturer’s guidance for the exact speaker and your intended placement.
How should you compare sound, power and coverage?
The reported numbers provide context, not a complete listening result. The Charge 6 is listed at 40 W and the SoundLink Max at 50 W, but wattage by itself does not tell you how a speaker will sound in your yard or how evenly it will cover the listening area. What Hi-Fi?’s qualitative notes—clear, detailed sound and a wide soundstage for the Charge 6, and strong bass for the SoundLink Max—add information that a single output figure cannot.
Recommended Free Tools
Use the stated strengths to identify what to audition or read about next. If speech, acoustic music or detail matters, listen for clarity at the volume you normally use. If parties and bass-heavy tracks are the priority, investigate how the model behaves at higher levels. Keep the test conditions in mind: a reviewer’s room, track selection and placement may differ from your patio.
For the Flip 7, Go 4 and Xtreme 4, the cited roundup gives category labels but not enough technical detail here to make a full output comparison. That is not a reason to dismiss them; it is a reason to consult current product pages and independent listening tests before making a final choice.
Which connections fit a patio?
Bluetooth is the central connection type for the five portable products in this roundup. It favors a nearby playback device and avoids dependence on patio Wi-Fi for basic playback. This can be convenient when the speaker moves between locations or when network coverage is uncertain.
Wi-Fi can be useful where the patio has reliable network coverage and the household wants a network-based setup, but it brings different setup requirements. Confirm that the intended listening spot receives a stable signal and check which features remain available if the connection drops. A wired speaker can suit a fixed installation, but cabling and nearby power must be planned.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Do not assume all Bluetooth speakers support the same multi-speaker functions. The Charge 6 is specifically noted as unable to link with older JBL models. That is a compatibility warning when upgrading an existing system: check the supported generation and pairing method before buying a second unit. Cross-brand stereo or party pairing should never be assumed.
Which of the five is the best fit for different buyers?
Use What Hi-Fi?’s labels to create a shortlist, then verify full specifications and current availability for your region. These are category matches from that reviewer, not independent promises that a model is the right choice for every buyer.
- For a balanced all-round shortlist: Start with the JBL Charge 6, What Hi-Fi?’s overall pick. Its reported runtime, USB output and protection rating may be relevant if you value battery use and durability, but account for its chunky size.
- For carrying around: Consider the JBL Flip 7, which the roundup names best portable. Check its dimensions, protection details and battery information in current manufacturer documentation because those figures are not stated in the available roundup details.
- For a lower-cost category: The JBL Go 4 is What Hi-Fi?’s budget pick. The source details do not specify its price, so compare current offers rather than assuming it remains the least expensive option.
- For a premium option with bass emphasis: The Bose SoundLink Max is the roundup’s premium pick; What Hi-Fi? notes strong bass and a rugged build. It has no built-in call microphone, according to the review.
- For a larger speaker category: What Hi-Fi? names the JBL Xtreme 4 its best large pick. Verify its measurements and current features if you need a specific output, coverage area or carrying weight.
What costs should you compare?
The cited ranking does not provide stable prices for all five models, and retailer offers change. The Go 4’s budget label does not guarantee that it is the cheapest listing in your region, just as the premium label does not establish a fixed price for the SoundLink Max. Compare the exact model, color or bundle and generation at the time you order.
Look beyond the headline price when the buying decision involves a permanent installation. A portable speaker may avoid wiring costs, while a fixed wired product may require cabling, mounting and nearby power. Those are different ownership choices rather than direct price comparisons. For any product, check what is included, whether a charger or accessory is supplied and whether the listing is for the intended regional version.
What should you check before ordering?
Product lineups, prices and offers can change, and the same family name may have different versions or listings. Use this checklist to avoid buying based on a category label alone.
- Confirm the exact model and variant. Match the model name on the listing to current manufacturer documentation; do not assume another generation has identical specifications.
- Check the protection rating and use guidance. Confirm the rating for the exact product, then read the manufacturer’s instructions for your intended placement and storage.
- Validate runtime for your use. Treat advertised or reviewer-reported battery duration as a claim, and check the conditions attached to it.
- Check connection needs. Decide whether Bluetooth is sufficient or whether Wi-Fi or a wired setup better fits your patio and home network.
- Compare dimensions with the space. A larger speaker may not suit a small table or a routine that involves carrying it in and out.
- Check current price and stock. Offers fluctuate; compare the exact listing available to you at the time of purchase.
- Check compatibility before expanding. If you already own a speaker, verify supported pairing and ecosystem requirements. The Charge 6’s inability to link with older JBL models shows why a family name is not enough.
- Check call functionality. If hands-free calls matter, confirm that the model has a built-in call microphone. The SoundLink Max does not, according to the review.
- Plan placement. Keep the speaker where listeners can hear it without creating a trip, fall or knock-over risk, and follow the manufacturer’s placement guidance.
Common patio-speaker pitfalls
The most common mistake is treating a portable speaker as a permanent outdoor fixture. Battery operation and a protection rating make outdoor use more practical, but they do not establish that the unit should remain outside through every season. Bring it indoors when the manufacturer’s guidance or your conditions call for it.
Another mistake is shopping by wattage alone. The Charge 6 and SoundLink Max have reported power figures of 40 W and 50 W, yet those numbers do not describe tonal balance, soundstage or coverage by themselves. Listen to the qualities that matter to you and consider the actual distance between the speaker and listeners.
Finally, avoid assuming that a “best” label answers every question. The ranking is dated, the categories are reviewer-specific and several models do not have complete specifications in the cited details. Treat the list as a starting point, then verify current documentation, price, stock and compatibility.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I pair speakers from different brands for stereo sound?
Do not assume cross-brand pairing will work. Multi-speaker or stereo playback depends on the models’ supported features and ecosystems, so check both manufacturers’ compatibility information before buying a second speaker.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Can I use a patio speaker when my Wi-Fi is unreliable?
A Bluetooth model does not depend on patio Wi-Fi for its basic connection to a nearby playback device. If you are considering a Wi-Fi speaker, confirm that your network reaches the intended listening spot and check what functions remain available if the connection drops.
Does an outdoor speaker need a microphone for calls?
Only if you expect to use the speaker itself for hands-free calls. The Bose SoundLink Max review specifically notes that it lacks a built-in call microphone, so check the feature list of any other model if calling matters.
Is an IP rating enough to leave a speaker outside all year?
No. The Charge 6 is reported as IP68 and the SoundLink Max as IP67, but a rating does not replace the manufacturer’s storage and outdoor-use instructions. Portable and permanently installed products are different categories.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Which speaker is best for a small patio?
There is no universal answer. A compact, easy-to-carry model may be more practical than a large unit. What Hi-Fi? names the Flip 7 its best portable pick and the Go 4 its best budget pick, but check current dimensions, protection and battery details before deciding.
Does a higher wattage guarantee better outdoor coverage?
No. The Charge 6 is listed at 40 W and the SoundLink Max at 50 W, but wattage alone does not guarantee volume, soundstage or even coverage in your yard. Use listening tests and full specifications alongside the power figure.
Can the JBL Charge 6 link with older JBL speakers?
What Hi-Fi?’s review says it cannot link with older JBL models. Check JBL’s current compatibility information for the exact speakers and pairing feature before planning a multi-speaker setup.
Should I choose Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or wired?
Bluetooth suits a portable battery-powered speaker. Wi-Fi can work well where patio coverage is reliable, while wired products can suit permanent installations but require cabling or nearby power. Choose based on the intended setup rather than treating the connection types as interchangeable.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Are these five models a universal top five?
No. They are What Hi-Fi?’s order from its roundup updated 27 March 2026. RTINGS’ 22 October 2026 guide names the JBL Boombox 4 its best outdoor speaker, showing that rankings depend on category and evaluation priorities.
The Bottom Line
What Hi-Fi?’s five picks are a useful portable-Bluetooth shortlist, not a universal outdoor-speaker standard. Start with placement and installation type, then compare the exact model’s protection guidance, battery claim, dimensions, connection features, compatibility, price and stock before ordering.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

