Chinese data-center suppliers may appeal to major cloud companies because U.S. equipment makers are reportedly facing long lead times. But the available evidence does not show that Google, Amazon or Microsoft specifically buys from named Chinese suppliers, or that any of the three depends on them. The “need” in the title is best understood as a reported supply-chain argument, not a documented company-by-company fact.
Why Chinese suppliers are part of the conversation
The Information’s 2026 report excerpt describes Chinese equipment makers as having an edge over U.S. counterparts criticized for long lead times. That points to a practical reason buyers might consider a wider supplier pool: equipment that arrives sooner could help meet construction schedules. The excerpt gives no comparative delivery-time figures and names no U.S. equipment makers, however, so it does not establish the size of any advantage.
Nor does the excerpt establish that faster delivery is the only relevant factor. For a data-center project, a buyer would also need to assess manufacturing capacity, equipment quality and qualification, system integration, cost, supply-chain resilience, and regulatory or security requirements. The available sources do not compare Chinese and U.S. suppliers on those measures.
What the supplier examples establish
EPG’s background and reported financing
The Information describes EPG as a modular data-center builder founded in China in 2004. The excerpt says it served Alibaba and Tencent, later rebranded as a Singapore company, and raised $100 million in 2026. This makes EPG an example of a China-founded company in the modular data-center business—not evidence that it supplies Google, Amazon or Microsoft. Its reported Singapore rebranding also makes it important to distinguish a company’s origins or corporate identity from where its products are manufactured.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Tech Week Singapore exhibitor representation
The Information reports that Chinese companies accounted for 5% of the Tech Week Singapore exhibitor pool in 2023 and 30% in 2026. These are publication-reported shares for that event, not measures of global market share or hyperscaler procurement. The excerpt provides neither the exhibitor counts nor the calculation method.
| Event year | Reported share of Tech Week Singapore exhibitors identified as Chinese companies | Source and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 5% | The Information’s report excerpt; exhibitor count and calculation method not stated. |
| 2026 | 30% | The Information’s report excerpt; exhibitor count and calculation method not stated. |
What is known about the three hyperscalers
Public evidence in the available sources points to supplier relationships in general and cloud operations inside China, but it does not document purchases from Chinese suppliers for the companies’ data centers elsewhere.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Company | What the available sources establish | What they do not establish |
|---|---|---|
| No company-specific supplier or China-market operating detail is established in the sources summarized here. | A purchase from a named Chinese data-center supplier, the equipment category, destination, scale or date. | |
| Amazon / AWS | The U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission’s 2024 report says AWS China operates through local partners Sinnet and NWCD. | That those operating arrangements involve Chinese-made equipment, or that AWS buys from Chinese suppliers for data centers outside China. |
| Microsoft | Microsoft says suppliers manufacture hardware components and equipment used in data-center servers supporting its global cloud infrastructure. The commission’s 2024 report says Microsoft offers China services under a wholly owned subsidiary of 21Vianet. | The reviewed Microsoft supplier page does not identify Chinese vendors or disclose sourcing shares. The China service arrangement does not establish purchases for facilities elsewhere. |
The distinction matters: a cloud provider’s local operating partner in China is not proof of a supplier relationship, and a company’s use of suppliers for global infrastructure does not reveal their nationalities. Likewise, a supplier serving Alibaba or Tencent is not thereby shown to serve a U.S. hyperscaler.
China’s domestic data-center market is a separate story
Gleeds’ January 2025 report projects China’s data-center sector to grow 14% to 2030. It also says national data-center providers serve most of that market and global companies have a relatively low profile there. This forecast describes China’s domestic sector; it does not measure Chinese suppliers’ sales abroad or demonstrate that Google, Amazon or Microsoft depends on them.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What would prove that a hyperscaler “needs” a supplier
To substantiate the headline claim for any one company, reporting would need to identify the supplier and equipment, where it was manufactured, which market or facility received it, when the relationship occurred, and how significant it was to procurement. A documented purchase could show that a company buys from a supplier; establishing that it needs the supplier would require evidence about alternatives, volumes, delivery constraints and the consequences of losing that source.
The Information’s excerpt offers a reported rationale—Chinese equipment makers may have an advantage amid long lead times for U.S. counterparts—but it does not supply those company-level details. On the evidence available, Chinese suppliers are a plausible part of a broader data-center supply-chain discussion, not a verified indispensable source for all three named hyperscalers.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

