iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Yes. The grilled-cheese game Toastie works on iPhone models that can run iOS 18 or later and iPads that can run iPadOS 18 or later. You do not need the foldable iPhone Duo: on other supported iPhones and iPads, you close the toaster lid with an on-screen control. The oldest compatible iPhones are iPhone XR, XS, XS Max, and iPhone SE (2nd generation); the oldest compatible iPads include iPad (7th generation), iPad Air (3rd generation), and iPad mini (5th generation).
This guide is about Toastie: grilled cheese game (App Store ID 6813841355), not the unrelated Toastie health tracker or Toastie Kitchen Treharris ordering app.
What does Toastie require to install?
The game requires iOS 18.0 or later on iPhone and iPadOS 18.0 or later on iPad. Independent App Store information blocks and the developer’s published compatibility wording give the same floor. The requirement is the operating-system version, not a particular screen size, processor label, or foldable-phone feature. Any device that meets the relevant OS minimum can play, subject to Apple’s current App Store availability.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
On an iPhone, open Settings, tap General, and choose About or Software Update to check the installed iOS version. On an iPad, use the same General and Software Update screens for iPadOS. If the device cannot update to version 18, reinstalling the game or freeing storage will not make it compatible.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Toastie is listed for iPhone and iPad, and the official site says it works on both. Its compatibility-relevant version 1.1 update, released October 11, 2026, added iPhone Duo folding controls, a larger layout for iPad and Duo, and iCloud recipe-book syncing. Version 1.2.1 added Halloween recipes, ingredients, music, and a Game Center award; its published notes do not indicate a change to the OS requirement.
Which iPhones support Toastie?
For older iPhone models, the practical cutoff is whether the phone can run iOS 18. Apple’s iOS 18 compatibility list is therefore the reliable floor. Later iPhones that ship with a newer iOS also meet Toastie’s “iOS 18.0 or later” requirement.
iPhones on Apple’s iOS 18 compatibility list
- iPhone 16e, iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max
- iPhone 15, iPhone 15 Plus, iPhone 15 Pro, and iPhone 15 Pro Max
- iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Plus, iPhone 14 Pro, and iPhone 14 Pro Max
- iPhone 13, iPhone 13 mini, iPhone 13 Pro, and iPhone 13 Pro Max
- iPhone 12, iPhone 12 mini, iPhone 12 Pro, and iPhone 12 Pro Max
- iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max
- iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, and iPhone XR
- iPhone SE (2nd generation or later)
Every model in those groups can install the game when it is updated to iOS 18 or a later supported release. The model does not need a Dynamic Island, a Pro screen, MagSafe, or any other newer hardware feature. Toastie’s normal lid interaction is touch-based.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Later iPhone models
Models released after Apple published the original iOS 18 list also qualify when they run a newer iOS: iPhone 17, iPhone 17 Pro, iPhone 17 Pro Max, iPhone 17e, iPhone Air, iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and iPhone Duo. Apple’s marketing page referenced on October 29, 2026, is titled iOS 27 and shows iPhone 18 Pro creative, but that does not raise Toastie’s stated minimum above iOS 18.0.
iPhone Duo is the special design target because the two halves act like a toaster lid. It is still simply an iPhone running a qualifying version of iOS for installation purposes. Buying the Duo is not an upgrade requirement for owners of an iPhone 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, or any other supported model.
Which older iPhones are too old?
iPhone X and earlier models cannot run iOS 18, so they do not meet Toastie’s app requirement. That includes iPhone 8 and 8 Plus, iPhone 7, iPhone 6s, iPhone 6, iPhone 5s, and the first-generation iPhone SE. In practical terms, iPhone XR, XS, and XS Max are the oldest compatible iPhone family, alongside iPhone SE (2nd generation).
The hardware reason is the operating-system cutoff: iOS 18 requires at least the A12 Bionic generation, while A11 and older devices cannot install it. A model name alone is not enough if the phone is running an older version. For example, a compatible iPhone 11 that has not been updated may still show an old iOS and fail the download until Software Update is completed.
Quick iPhone answers
- iPhone XR: Yes, with iOS 18 or later.
- iPhone XS or XS Max: Yes, with iOS 18 or later.
- iPhone 11: Yes, after updating to a qualifying iOS version.
- iPhone SE (2nd generation): Yes. It is the oldest SE generation supported by iOS 18.
- iPhone X: No. It cannot install iOS 18.
- iPhone 8: No. It cannot install iOS 18.
Which iPads support Toastie?
An iPad must be able to run iPadOS 18 or later. Apple’s compatibility information lists these supported families and minimum generations:
- iPad Pro (M4)
- iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd generation and later)
- iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation and later)
- iPad Air (M2) and iPad Air (3rd generation and later)
- iPad (7th generation and later)
- iPad mini (A17 Pro) and iPad mini (5th generation and later)
The oldest compatible iPad generations are therefore iPad (7th generation), iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad mini (5th generation), 11-inch iPad Pro (1st generation), and 12.9-inch iPad Pro (3rd generation). “Later” means subsequent generations in that family that also support iPadOS 18; it is not a promise that every older-looking model in a store catalog is installable.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The 6th-generation iPad, 10.5-inch iPad Pro, and 12.9-inch iPad Pro (2nd generation) were dropped from iPadOS 18 compatibility and cannot meet the game’s requirement. A store metadata page may still display those names, or even older iPad Air 2 and iPad mini 4 hardware, but that is a catalog-device dump rather than a current install gate.
A new iPad mini expected to arrive November 6, 2026, should meet the OS floor if it ships with a current iPadOS version. The developers have pitched Toastie for that device, but a mini-specific layout build has not been independently confirmed. The safe test after release is the same one used for every iPad: check that it runs iPadOS 18 or later and that the App Store listing offers the download.
Recommended Free Tools
Do I need iPhone Duo to play Toastie?
No. iPhone Duo is the device-specific version of the toaster interaction, not a requirement to play. The developer says the game also plays on other iPhones and iPads; the official listing says, “Toastie plays on any iPhone and iPad.” The Duo is the version people notice because the hardware itself becomes the toaster, but the core cooking game is available without it.
How the toaster control changes by device
| Device | How you close and check the toaster | Layout notes | Why choose it |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone Duo | Fold the phone shut to close the lid; open it to check the sandwich. | Uses the larger plate, recipe keys beneath the recipe, and easier-to-read menus. | The most physical, novelty-driven interaction; Duo is the design target. |
| Other supported iPhones | Slide the toaster lid shut on screen, then use the on-screen interaction to check it. | Standard phone layout. | Full game access without buying a foldable phone. |
| Supported iPads | Slide the toaster lid shut on screen. | Larger plate, ingredient keys beneath the recipe, and easier-to-read menus. | More workspace for arranging ingredients and reading the recipe. |
On a regular iPhone or iPad, the game does not remove the timing challenge; only the closing gesture changes. IGN described the non-Duo version as playing without the “cute close mechanic,” while the developer says it plays just as well on other iPhones and iPad. You can therefore choose a device for screen area and comfort rather than compatibility anxiety.
Toastie is a real-time cooking game: you butter bread with a finger, drag cheese and fillings into place during a 15-second build window, close a toaster lid, and open it before the sandwich burns. Scoring covers the recipe, plating, toasting, and preparation time. Four stars unlock the next recipe; five stars turn the recipe card gold. The Duo makes closing the toaster feel physical, but the screen-based lid preserves the central cooking interaction on other devices.
Apple’s Editors’ Notes offer a device-agnostic timing tip: count the number of times the iPhone vibrates, because each pulse marks one second. No published source reports frame-rate, battery-drain, or hinge-cycle testing, so those should not be treated as quantified differences between devices.
Does Toastie sync between iPhone and iPad?
Yes. Version 1.1 release notes say the recipe book syncs through iCloud across iPhone, iPad, and iPhone Duo. The App Store description also says progress syncs across your devices. That makes it possible to continue with the same recipe-book progress on another supported Apple device signed into the relevant iCloud account.
The release note specifically calls out the recipe book, while the listing uses the broader word “progress.” It does not promise that every setting, local preference, or temporary session state is mirrored. It also does not establish support for Android, a web version, or transfer to devices outside Apple’s listed platforms.
If a second device does not show the expected progress, first confirm that both devices use the intended iCloud account and that iCloud services are available. The listing does not publish a separate manual export or restore procedure, so do not assume that a local backup is interchangeable with the game’s iCloud sync.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Can I play Toastie on Android, Mac, Apple Watch, or Apple Vision?
The US App Store listing names iPhone and iPad only. It does not list an Android, watchOS, visionOS, or Mac version, and the available product information does not establish that the iPad app can be installed on Apple silicon Macs. Treat those platforms as unsupported unless the developer or the relevant store later lists a compatible version.
This is different from saying that a Mac can never run an iPad app. Apple’s store metadata for this game simply does not confirm Mac Catalyst or “iPad app on Mac” availability. For a purchase decision, use the platform badges on the live listing for your Apple ID rather than assuming that an iPad-designed app automatically appears on macOS.
There is also no published Android build. References to Android in coverage explain how the touch-based lid replaces the Duo fold; they do not identify an Android release of Toastie. Likewise, Apple Watch and Apple Vision are not listed game platforms.
Do not confuse an aggregator’s device dump with a supported-install list. Some catalog mirrors show older devices such as iPhone 5s or iPad Air 2, but those models cannot run the required operating systems. The minimum iOS and iPadOS versions are the useful compatibility test, not every model name appearing in a store-metadata feed.
Is this the Toastie health app?
No. The subject here is Toastie: grilled cheese game, sold by Tomasz Szykulski and listed in the Games category. Its App Store ID is 6813841355, the US price is $2.99, and its official site is toastie.fun.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteThe similarly named Toastie – Health Tracker is a separate chronic-illness symptom tracker by Ardorne Pty Ltd. Its App Store ID is 6736644572, it is in Health & Fitness, it is free with in-app purchases, and its requirement is iOS 16.0 or iPadOS 16.0. Those health-app requirements do not apply to the grilled-cheese game. Searching only for “Toastie” can therefore produce the wrong compatibility number.
Toastie Kitchen Treharris is unrelated as well: it is a restaurant ordering app from Boost It Technologies LTD with an iOS 14.1-or-later requirement. Check the seller, category, icon, and App Store ID before downloading.
What does the game cost, and what do you get?
The US App Store listing prices the game at $2.99 as of October 2026. It is a one-time paid download with no in-app purchases, no ads, and no tracking. Family Sharing supports up to six family members. Regional reports dated October 22–28, 2026 listed €2.99 in Europe, £2.99 in the UK, 14.99 zł in Poland, and 99 baht in Thailand. Storefront taxes, currency changes, and local pricing can alter the amount shown to you.
There is no boxed edition, Amazon physical SKU, replacement part, or official sandwich-press accessory to buy. The in-game toaster is a joke object listed at a recommended €2,299 as Model 2299-D in grade-5 titanium with one moving part. That fictional price is not hardware needed to run the app. iPhone Duo itself starts at $1,999 according to Tech Between the Lines, but purchasing one solely for Toastie is optional.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
The base game lists 10 orders or recipes, three bread types—white sandwich bread, sourdough, and brioche—and 14 fillings. Named recipes include Classic Grilled Cheese, Cheese & Tomato, Brie & Cranberry, Kimchi, Mushroom & Taleggio, Pesto, Tomato & Gruyère, Gruyère & Red Onion, Jalapeño Three Cheese, and The Works. Four stars unlock the next recipe and five stars make a card gold.
Version 1.2.1 added the Halloween specials Vampire’s Bane, Monster Melt, and Pumpkin Spell, plus new ingredients, music, and a Game Center award. Tech Between the Lines reported that those three recipes remain on the menu after Halloween, so they are not merely a one-day event. Freestyle mode and additional languages have been teased for the future; they should not be described as shipping features in this compatibility guide.
Apple’s US listing showed 4.8 out of 5 from 83 ratings when accessed October 29, 2026. Tech Between the Lines separately wrote 4.9 stars, so the live App Store figure is the better reference and ratings can change. The game has Game Center leaderboards and achievements, but no real-time multiplayer mode is described.
The App Store size was not established consistently: one listing scrape reported 66 MB and a store mirror reported 68.7 MB, while the fetched US listing did not state a file size. Check the download size shown on your own device rather than relying on a single aggregator figure. The listing identifies English as the current language; extra languages are promised, not yet confirmed as available.
For Apple’s iOS 18 compatibility information, see Apple’s iOS 18 page. For the game’s platform statement and developer information, see the official Toastie site.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Compatibility checklist before you buy
- Confirm that the listing is Toastie: grilled cheese game by Tomasz Szykulski, App Store ID 6813841355.
- Check that your iPhone runs iOS 18.0 or later, or that your iPad runs iPadOS 18.0 or later.
- If you own an iPhone X, iPhone 8, an earlier iPhone, iPad (6th generation), 10.5-inch iPad Pro, or 12.9-inch iPad Pro (2nd generation), stop there: those devices cannot install the required operating system.
- Decide whether you want the physical Duo folding interaction. It changes the lid control, not the recipes, scoring, or basic game access.
- Review the live regional price and download size in your own App Store. The published $2.99 price and 66–68.7 MB reports are snapshots, not guarantees for every storefront.
- If you plan to switch between devices, make sure the devices use the intended iCloud account for recipe-book syncing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Toastie work on a regular iPhone?
Yes. Any iPhone that can run iOS 18 or later can play. On a regular iPhone, you slide the toaster lid shut on screen instead of folding the phone.
Do I need iPhone Duo to play Toastie?
No. Duo supplies the fold-to-close interaction, but the game is fully listed for other supported iPhones and iPads.
Does Toastie work on iPad?
Yes, provided the iPad runs iPadOS 18.0 or later. iPad receives a larger plate, ingredient keys beneath the recipe, and easier-to-read menus.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What iOS version does Toastie need?
The minimum is iOS 18.0 on iPhone and iPadOS 18.0 on iPad.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Will Toastie run on iPhone XR, iPhone 11, or iPhone SE?
Yes. iPhone XR and iPhone 11 qualify when updated to iOS 18 or later, and iPhone SE (2nd generation or later) qualifies.
Does Toastie work on iPhone 8 or iPhone X?
No. Those models cannot run iOS 18, so they cannot meet the game’s installation requirement.
Which iPads are the oldest supported models?
The oldest are iPad (7th generation), iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad mini (5th generation), 11-inch iPad Pro (1st generation), and 12.9-inch iPad Pro (3rd generation).
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallIs Toastie on Android?
The US listing names iPhone and iPad only. No Android build is listed, so Android should be treated as unsupported unless the developer publishes one.
Does Toastie sync between iPhone and iPad?
Yes. Version 1.1 says the recipe book syncs through iCloud across iPhone, iPad, and iPhone Duo. Both devices need the relevant iCloud account.
Does Toastie need an internet connection to play?
The product listing does not state whether every part of the game works offline. iCloud syncing and Game Center features may require connectivity, but that does not establish the requirements for offline play.
Does Toastie collect personal data?
The App Store privacy nutrition label for the grilled-cheese game says “Data Not Collected.” This label belongs to the game and is separate from the health tracker’s data practices.
Does Toastie have multiplayer or Game Center features?
The listing advertises Game Center leaderboards and achievements, including an award added with the Halloween update. It does not describe a real-time multiplayer mode.
Is Toastie available in languages other than English?
The App Store listing identifies English as the available language. Additional languages have been teased as a future feature, so they should not be treated as currently available.
Can I play Toastie on a Mac, Apple Watch, or Apple Vision?
Those platforms are not listed for this game. The available listing does not confirm Mac Catalyst or iPad-app-on-Mac support, and it provides no watchOS or visionOS build information.
The Bottom Line
Toastie installs on iPhones that support iOS 18 or later and iPads that support iPadOS 18 or later. The oldest practical iPhone cutoff is XR/XS/XS Max or iPhone SE (2nd generation); the oldest iPad cutoff is iPad (7th generation), iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad mini (5th generation), or the listed first-generation 11-inch and third-generation 12.9-inch iPad Pro. iPhone Duo is optional: it folds to close the toaster, while every other supported iPhone and iPad uses an on-screen lid.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

