Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The Smeg AFC01 stands out for its retro-inspired styling, viewing window and unusual moisture-assisted mode, but its cooking results were mixed in Ideal Home reviewer Helen McCue’s hands-on tests. It cooked several foods well; homemade chips took 47 minutes and remained disappointing, and a roast chicken browned unevenly. The “healthiest-cooking” label is not supported by a comparative health study or nutrition data in the available evidence.
What “Dual Flavour” means
Despite the name, the AFC01 does not have two baskets. “Dual Flavour” refers to two cooking approaches: Crispy and Juicy+Crispy. The latter combines hot air with a water spray from a built-in tank. SMEG says, “The water tank enables the Juicy+Crispy mode, which introduces moisture during cooking to help keep food tender and juicy.” That is the manufacturer’s description of the feature, not independent proof of a particular cooking or health benefit.
In McCue’s account, moisture-assisted cooking is built into selected presets rather than offered as a separate manual mode. Manual mode provides standard air frying. That distinction matters if you expect to choose steam or moisture independently for any food.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Design and everyday usability
The AFC01’s strongest case is visual: McCue found its styling attractive and unusual among air fryers. The body opens on a hinge, with a viewing window and light so you can check food without opening the cooking chamber. The basket and rack are removable, and McCue said the unit did not take up a large worktop footprint.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Allow space for the appliance to open and ventilate. The rear vent needs clearance, and the hinged lid requires room above and behind it. A compact footprint alone does not tell you whether it will fit comfortably beneath upper cabinets.
SMEG lists seven presets: chicken wings/legs, meat, fish, shrimps, chips, vegetables and roast chicken. The UK product page also lists customizable programs and a manual setting. McCue reports that the tested unit’s temperature could be adjusted in 5-degree increments from 40°C to 200°C, its timer in one-minute increments from 1 to 60 minutes, and delayed start from 5 minutes to 24 hours. Those detailed control ranges are her account of the tested appliance and manual.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Capacity and regional specifications
Check the regional model code before relying on a capacity figure or buying. SMEG’s UK listing is for AFC01WHMUK; its EU listing is for AFC01WHMEU. The figures and plug information are not identical across those pages.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall| Specification | UK AFC01WHMUK | EU AFC01WHMEU |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 7.3 L, according to SMEG UK | 7 L, according to SMEG EU |
| Temperature range | 40–200°C, according to SMEG UK | Not stated on the cited SMEG EU product information |
| Water tank | 60 ml, according to SMEG UK | Not stated on the cited SMEG EU product information |
| Power | 1450 W, according to SMEG UK | Not stated on the cited SMEG EU product information |
| Dimensions and net weight | 322 × 310 × 310 mm; 5.6 kg, according to SMEG UK | Not stated on the cited SMEG EU product information |
| Plug | Not stated on the cited SMEG UK product information | Schuko, according to SMEG EU |
These are regional product listings, not a guarantee that every AFC01 sold worldwide has the same specification or electrical connection. The basket and grill rack are included in the UK listing.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Although 7.3 L sounds generous, McCue judged the tested capacity more suitable for two people than a family. The roast-chicken preset is designed for a 1 kg bird, according to her review; fitting a larger bird does not mean the preset is intended for it.
How it cooked in the hands-on review
Ideal Home published Helen McCue’s review on 27 September 2026. Her results varied by food, and they should be read as one reviewer’s tests rather than controlled comparisons or a guarantee of results in every kitchen.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Food tested | McCue’s reported result |
|---|---|
| Frozen breaded fish | One piece cooked at 190°C for 22 minutes and was crisp outside. A similar piece in her usual fryer took 17 minutes; this was her individual comparison, not a controlled benchmark. |
| Halloumi kebabs | Cooked in 14 minutes. |
| Vegetables | A 600 g batch needed five minutes beyond the 20-minute preset. |
| Homemade chips | For 540 g, she shook the basket twice, ran the 27-minute preset and added 20 minutes. She found the chips pale and less successful than those from her usual air fryer. |
| Salmon | Two fillets were moist and flaky when she removed them after 12 minutes of a 15-minute Juicy+Crispy preset. |
| Roast chicken | Her 1.2 kg chicken needed five minutes beyond the 45-minute preset and browned unevenly. The preset is designed for a 1 kg bird. |
| Chicken thighs | She liked the taste but noticed more browning toward the rear. |
The strongest practical warning is inconsistency: this review found some useful results, but chips took a long time and both chicken trials showed uneven browning. If speed and even color are your priorities, these observations deserve more weight than the capacity headline or appearance.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Does “healthiest-cooking” hold up?
No comparative evidence here establishes the AFC01 as the healthiest air fryer or proves that it produces healthier meals than other appliances. The reviewed pages provide no named health study, calorie-reduction figure or comparative nutrition statistic for this model.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
SMEG promotes hot-air cooking with little to no oil and describes the basket and rack coating as PFAS-free ceramic. The UK manufacturer page says the components are dishwasher-safe. These are manufacturer claims and material specifications; they do not demonstrate superior health outcomes. How healthy a meal is also depends on the ingredients, portions and preparation, not just the appliance.
Who should consider it—and what to compare
The AFC01 may suit someone who values distinctive styling, a window for checking food, and the option of moisture-assisted presets. It is a less compelling choice if you regularly cook for a family, expect quick chips or want consistently even browning: McCue’s tests raise concerns on those points.
Ideal Home names the Ninja MAX PRO AF180UK as an alternative. Its review describes that model as 6.2 L, around £70 cheaper at the time of publication, and reports excellent results roasting a 1.5 kg chicken. Those price and performance observations belong to Ideal Home’s review and are time-sensitive; check current local specifications, price and availability rather than treating them as a live comparison.
When weighing the AFC01 against any alternative, focus on the batch size and shape you actually cook, observed speed and browning, whether moisture-assisted presets fit your habits, lid and vent clearance, cleaning requirements, and the correct regional plug and model code.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

