Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Qwen Code’s Plan Mode lets you inspect a repository and agree on an implementation plan before asking the agent to edit files. Its image understanding is a separate question: it depends on the model and provider you select. QwenCloud lists qwen3.7-plus, qwen3.6-plus and qwen3.5-plus as native-vision models; popular coding models such as qwen3-coder-plus are listed as text-only unless augmented with a separate Skill or Agent.

What changed in Qwen Code

The Qwen Code v0.14.2 update, published April 8, 2026, introduced the /plan command. That release also covered Qwen 3.6 Plus availability and other coding-agent improvements. It is a release milestone, not a statement of the current Qwen Code version.

The update series included adaptive output-token handling: an 8K default with automatic retry and an increase toward 64K when output is truncated. It also added retention of thinking blocks across turns, follow-up suggestions, Channels for Telegram, WeChat and DingTalk, cron-based scheduled tasks, and built-in debugging and bug-fixing workflows. These are related updates, not components of a single vision feature.

What Plan Mode does—and does not do

Plan Mode is a read-only analysis state for exploring a codebase, tracing likely changes and proposing an implementation before edits begin. It suits multi-file refactors, migrations, architectural changes and unfamiliar repositories. You can ask questions and refine the plan, then switch to an editing mode when you are ready.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It is not equivalent to typing “make a plan first” in an ordinary prompt. As the approval-mode documentation explains, a planning request by itself does not put the session into the dedicated read-only mode.

Read-only limits file operations; it does not make analysis infallible. Qwen Code may misunderstand undocumented rules, miss generated files, external services or deployment settings, or identify likely files without finding every relevant code path. Treat the plan as a proposal: ask it to state assumptions and uncertainties, then verify the scope yourself. A plan does not replace tests, review, threat modeling or migration rehearsal.

How to enter and exit Plan Mode

Start Qwen Code in the repository with qwen, then use any of these command forms:

  • /plan enters Plan Mode.
  • /plan refactor the auth module enters Plan Mode and starts planning that task.
  • /plan exit exits Plan Mode and restores the previous mode.

You can also cycle permission modes with Shift+Tab on macOS or Linux, or Tab on Windows. The active mode appears in the terminal status bar. The documented cycle is plan → default → auto-edit → auto → yolo → plan. Starting in Normal Mode, the first shortcut press may enter auto-edit rather than Plan Mode; press again and check the status bar.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A safe plan-before-edit workflow

  1. Open a terminal at the repository root and run qwen.
  2. Enter Plan Mode with /plan.
  3. Give the task a clear scope. For example: “Map the authentication flow, identify all files involved in replacing session tokens with rotating refresh tokens, and propose a staged implementation plan. Do not edit files.”
  4. Ask for the affected files, dependencies, tests to update, migration and rollback steps, security implications, and assumptions that have not been verified.
  5. Review the proposal and check whether the repository state or your requirements contradict it.
  6. Run /plan exit, choose the editing or approval mode you want, and implement one stage at a time.
  7. Inspect each diff and run relevant tests after each meaningful stage.

Qwen Code’s quickstart describes a normal workflow in which it proposes changes, requests approval and then edits; you can approve individual changes or enable accept-all for a session. For work with a high cost of error, keep review and approval in the loop rather than treating a good plan as permission to apply every change.

What “vision intelligence” means in Qwen Code

Vision intelligence is not a Qwen Code mode that automatically gives every configured model image input. It describes a workflow in which Qwen Code works with visual material because the selected backend model supports it, or because a separate image-analysis capability passes visual findings to a text-only coding model.

With native vision, the selected model receives the image directly, allowing one conversation to consider both the visual reference and code. That can help with screenshot-based UI debugging, mockup comparisons, architecture diagrams, charts, terminal-error images, wireframe-to-component work and visual checks of mobile interfaces.

QwenCloud’s Qwen3.7 Plus model page describes capabilities such as reading screens, generating code from visual references and navigating mobile apps. Those are provider-described capabilities, not independently verified performance results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which models support images?

QwenCloud’s Token Plan documentation distinguishes models with native visual understanding from models that need a separate Skill or Agent:

Model Image support in QwenCloud’s documentation
qwen3.7-plus Native vision
qwen3.6-plus Native vision
qwen3.5-plus Native vision
qwen3-coder-plus Text-only; requires a Skill or Agent for image understanding
qwen3-coder-next Text-only; requires a Skill or Agent for image understanding
qwen3-max-2026-01-23 Text-only; requires a Skill or Agent for image understanding
glm-5, glm-4.7, MiniMax-M2.5 Text-only; require a Skill or Agent for image understanding

These distinctions come from QwenCloud’s vision guidance. A model’s name or coding focus does not establish image support, and availability can differ by provider, region and plan.

Native vision versus a Skill or Agent

QwenCloud documents a separate image-analyzer Skill or Agent as a way for a text-only model to receive image analysis from another model. That is a different setup from native vision: it adds a delegation layer, configuration and potentially a different token or credit profile. QwenCloud says its image-understanding Skills consume Token Plan Credits without an additional charge. The documented setup is aimed at tools such as Claude Code or OpenCode; do not assume its instructions or integration work unchanged in Qwen Code.

For Qwen Code with QwenCloud Token Plan, the documented native-vision flow is to run /model, select a vision-capable model, and then provide an image path or paste or drag an image, depending on the terminal environment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Set up Qwen Code and choose a provider

Run qwen to start. Configure authentication on first launch or later with /auth; use /model to choose among models exposed by the provider and /doctor to check the current configuration. The current quickstart lists Alibaba ModelStudio, third-party providers and custom providers. Qwen OAuth was discontinued on April 15, 2026, so older tutorials that rely on that sign-in flow are out of date.

Alibaba Cloud Coding Plan

  1. Obtain an Alibaba Cloud Coding Plan API key.
  2. In Qwen Code, run /auth, select Alibaba ModelStudio, then Coding Plan.
  3. Select the region and enter the API key.
  4. Run /model and select a model offered for that configuration.

Qwen Code’s provider configuration documentation gives separate endpoints: China uses https://coding.dashscope.aliyuncs.com/v1; international uses https://coding-intl.dashscope.aliyuncs.com/v1. The region is stored in settings.json. The key is stored under BAILIAN_CODING_PLAN_API_KEY; Qwen recommends putting the secret in a separate .env file and adding that file to .gitignore, especially with project-level settings.

Standard API keys and custom providers

A standard API provider or custom provider can be a better fit if you need usage-based billing or a backend outside the Coding Plan’s model list. Confirm that the provider’s API protocol, endpoint, credentials and exact model ID are compatible with Qwen Code. Do not assume that a model available through one provider will appear under another provider or region.

Plans, prices and availability

Prices and quotas below are time-sensitive provider listings, not guarantees of current availability. The values were reported as seen on August 18, 2026; check the linked provider page and your account before subscribing.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Option Billing and listed limits Vision path Trade-off
Alibaba Cloud Coding Plan $50/month; 6,000 requests per 5 hours, 45,000 per week and 90,000 per month, according to the provider listing. The supported list includes qwen3.7-plus, qwen3.6-plus, and kimi-k2.5 as recommended vision models; qwen3.5-plus is among additional supported models. Predictable subscription and curated models, but limited slots and an exact model allowlist.
QwenCloud Token Plan Personal tiers displayed at Lite $6/month promotional ($8 list), Standard $18/month promotional ($25 list), and Pro $68/month promotional ($80 list); displayed quotas are 2,500, 10,000 and 40,000 credits respectively. A credit pack was displayed at $15. Native vision models are available where included by the plan and provider. One credit system across compatible tools, but credit use can be less intuitive than a request quota.
Standard API provider Pay-as-you-go or provider-specific; not stated in the Qwen Code documentation. Depends on the chosen model and provider. Flexible usage, with less predictable monthly cost.
Custom or local provider Depends on infrastructure and provider; not stated in the Qwen Code documentation. Depends on the selected model. More control over deployment and data, with additional setup and potentially different vision capability.

The Coding Plan quotas, model allowlist and availability are described on Alibaba Cloud’s plan page; slots are limited and allocated first-come, first-served. Coding Plan Lite stopped accepting new orders on March 20, 2026, and stopped accepting renewals and upgrades on April 13, 2026; existing subscribers can continue until service expiry. Token Plan’s displayed plan prices and credits are listed on QwenCloud’s overview page; its credit subscription supports Qwen Code and other compatible tools, including Cursor, Codex and Claude Code, through compatible API protocols and custom base URLs.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Limitations, troubleshooting and privacy

  • Plan Mode shortcut seems wrong: Check the status bar after each press. On Windows, the first Tab from Normal Mode may enter auto-edit; cycle again or use /plan.
  • The plan is vague: Narrow the task and request affected files, dependencies, tests, risks, exclusions and unverified assumptions.
  • The plan no longer matches the code: Recheck the repository after intervening edits; a plan can become stale as files change.
  • An image gets no useful response: Confirm the selected model supports native vision, and that the image path is accessible to the runtime. Cropped or low-resolution screenshots can hide important context.
  • The model appears to invent visual details: Ask it to identify what is directly visible versus inferred, and provide a clearer or wider image where possible.
  • Usage rises unexpectedly: Large images and repeated screenshots can consume context or credits. Use only the images needed for the task.
  • A model is missing: Check the provider’s current exact model-ID allowlist, region and account plan rather than assuming Qwen Code exposes every model.

Repository contents and screenshots sent to a hosted model leave the local terminal environment. Avoid transmitting credentials, personal data, customer information, proprietary code or internal dashboards unless your organization’s data rules allow it. Never commit secret-bearing settings.json or .env files; add them to .gitignore. Plan Mode is useful before granting edit or execution permissions in an unfamiliar repository, but it does not remove the need to control what the agent can access.

Who should use these features?

  • Maintainers of large or unfamiliar repositories: Use Plan Mode to map scope, dependencies and tests before a multi-file change.
  • Frontend and mobile developers: Choose a native-vision model when debugging screenshots, checking designs or building from a visual reference.
  • Developers working only in code: A text-only coding model may be sufficient; there is no need to pay for image capability you will not use.
  • Teams using several compatible tools: Token Plan may suit shared credit-based usage, while Coding Plan may be a better match for a fixed subscription and its listed request quotas.
  • Privacy-sensitive or offline-first teams: Check the provider’s data handling and deployment options before sending code or images; a hosted model is not a local-only workflow.
  • Occasional users: Compare the workload with the plan’s quotas and billing style before committing to a recurring subscription.

The practical choice turns on two independent questions: whether you want a read-only planning stage before edits, and whether the selected model needs to understand images. Verify the exact model IDs, regional access and current plan limits with your provider before relying on either capability.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.