Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

If you own the Xbox One version of Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey, a December 2026 report says you will receive the Xbox Series X|S remastered version at no extra charge. The reported release date is Tuesday, December 8, 2026. The exact rules for physical discs, bundles, regions and other editions have not yet been published, so treat the launch-day Store listing and official support instructions as the final authority.

This guide explains what is confirmed, how to check your entitlement, what remains uncertain and what to do if the upgrade does not appear.

What is confirmed about the upgrade

The reported entitlement

A current TrueAchievements report says owners of the Xbox One edition will receive a free upgrade to a remastered Xbox Series X|S build. The report identifies Tuesday, December 8, 2026 as the release date. It does not publish a detailed redemption workflow or a complete eligibility matrix.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That means the practical expectation is an account-based entitlement rather than a separate paid purchase. It does not prove that every copy associated with the Ancestors name qualifies. The publisher and Xbox have not yet publicly specified how physical discs, PC purchases, bundles, special editions, regional storefronts or transferred accounts will be handled.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What the new build reportedly adds

The same report lists documentary-style narration, a feature-rich photo mode and quality-of-life improvements. These details come from gaming-news coverage rather than a detailed publisher support article, so the feature list should be checked again near launch. No performance modes, resolution targets, save-transfer rules or achievement changes are established in the available sources.

The original Xbox One release

Xbox Wire’s December 5, 2019 launch post identifies Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey as a Panache Digital Games production published by Private Division. It is a third-person open-world survival game set in Neogene Africa, where players expand a clan, learn abilities, craft tools, avoid predators and pass knowledge to later generations.

The official game website places the evolutionary journey in Africa beginning 10 million years ago and records more than one million copies sold by May 18, 2021. Those facts describe the original game and do not establish additional upgrade eligibility.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who should check for the free version?

The reported claim is tied to ownership of the Xbox One version. Use the table below to separate what the report supports from cases that still need an official answer.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Ownership case What is established What remains unresolved
Digital Xbox One purchase The reported free upgrade is for people who own the Xbox One version. Sign in with the Microsoft account that made or received that purchase. The sources do not state whether every digital bundle or delisted listing maps automatically to the Series X|S product.
Physical Xbox One disc The original game was released for Xbox One, and the report refers broadly to owners of that version. It is not stated whether a disc entitlement qualifies, whether the disc must remain inserted, or whether every regional disc is accepted.
PC purchase No PC entitlement is described in the upgrade report. There is no confirmation that a PC copy grants an Xbox Series X|S license.
Bundle or special edition No bundle or special-edition policy is published. Whether a particular bundle contains the qualifying Xbox One license is not stated.
Different Microsoft account Xbox ownership is normally associated with the account that holds the digital license. The available sources do not explain family sharing, console sharing, account transfers or licenses bought by someone else.
Different country or storefront No regional restriction is listed in the report. Store-region eligibility, release timing and disc-region behavior are pending official confirmation.

Do not buy the game again solely because an upgrade tile is missing before December 8. First verify the account, edition and launch timing, then look for instructions from the publisher or Xbox Support.

How to check and install the upgrade

There is no published redemption code or official step-by-step sequence yet. The following procedure is the safest way to check an announced entitlement when the remastered build goes live.

  1. Identify the owning account. Determine which Microsoft account owns the digital Xbox One license. If the game was purchased by another person or obtained through a shared-console arrangement, the sources do not confirm that your personal account will receive its own upgrade.
  2. Wait until the reported release date. Check on or after Tuesday, December 8, 2026. A Series X|S listing may not appear before the launch window, and the report does not promise early access.
  3. Sign in on the target console. On an Xbox Series X or Series S, use the Microsoft account associated with the Xbox One purchase. Avoid testing only with a secondary account, because the Store may show a purchase price when the owning account is not active.
  4. Search the Xbox Store. Search for Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey and inspect the product page carefully. Look for the Series X|S version and an indication such as owned, free or downloadable rather than assuming that the first result is the remastered build.
  5. Install the Series X|S version. Select the edition that identifies Xbox Series X|S support. If the Store offers the product without a charge, start the installation from that account.
  6. Apply any available update. After installation, check for a game update before launching. The report describes a remastered build, so installing an older Xbox One package alone may not provide the new features.
  7. Record the result. If the Series X|S entitlement appears, note the edition name and account that received it. If the Store requests payment, do not immediately repurchase; continue with the troubleshooting steps below and consult launch-day support guidance.

Physical-disc owners: what to verify

Physical ownership is the largest unresolved case. The report says owners of the Xbox One version receive the upgrade, but it does not say whether Microsoft will treat every Xbox One disc as an upgrade credential.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you own a disc, insert it in the Xbox Series X console when checking the Store. The Series S has no disc drive, so a disc-based entitlement may require a different process or may not be supported; the available sources do not decide this. Do not assume that a disc can be converted into a digital license for a Series S.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Keep the disc, packaging and purchase details available in case support asks for the product version or region. The sources also do not establish whether the disc must stay inserted after installation, whether a used disc qualifies, or whether an imported disc works with a different Store region.

Digital, PC and bundle purchases

Digital Xbox One purchases

A digital Xbox One purchase is the closest match to the ownership wording in the report. Check the account that owns the license, not merely the account that played the game most recently. If the game was obtained through a promotion, family arrangement or another account, wait for an official explanation rather than assuming that access to the Xbox One build equals ownership of the Series X|S version.

PC copies

The upgrade report does not mention PC licenses. An account that owns a PC copy should not be treated as an Xbox owner unless Microsoft or the publisher explicitly announces cross-platform entitlement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bundles and special editions

Some listings combine multiple products or editions. The available information does not identify which package identifiers map to the remastered build. Check the exact product name in your purchase history and compare it with the Xbox One edition named in the launch information. If the Store still shows a price, seek an official eligibility answer before paying.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

How Xbox backward compatibility relates to this upgrade

Xbox’s general backward-compatibility guidance says selected Xbox One games that a player already owns can be played on Xbox Series X|S at no additional charge. That policy explains why an existing Xbox entitlement may continue to work on newer hardware, but it is not a game-specific promise about this remastered release.

Backward compatibility and a native Series X|S upgrade are different outcomes. A backward-compatible Xbox One build may run on Series hardware without the remaster’s new narration, photo mode or quality-of-life changes. For the reported enhancements, verify that the installed product is identified as the Series X|S version rather than simply launching an older compatible package.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Launch-day troubleshooting

The Series X|S version is not listed

First confirm that the date is December 8, 2026 or later, then sign out of any secondary account and sign in with the account that owns the Xbox One edition. Search the Store again and inspect the edition details. If the listing still does not appear, check the publisher’s and Xbox Support’s launch-day notices. The available sources do not provide a manual code or alternate redemption page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Store shows a purchase price

Do not pay immediately. A price can indicate the wrong account, a different edition, a regional mismatch or an eligibility rule that has not been published. Capture the product name and account status, then seek an official answer before buying a second copy.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

The disc is not recognized

Confirm that the console can read the original Xbox One disc and that you are checking on a Series X rather than a Series S. Because disc qualification and the requirement to keep the disc inserted are unresolved, an inability to redeem cannot be diagnosed from the available information alone.

A bundle or special edition is missing

Review the exact edition associated with the purchase. The report does not list bundle identifiers, so ask support whether that package contains the qualifying Xbox One license instead of assuming that every Ancestors-branded bundle is included.

The game installs but lacks the reported features

Check that the installed product is the Series X|S edition and that the latest update has been applied. An older Xbox One installation running through backward compatibility may not contain remaster-specific additions. No detailed feature checklist or version number has been published, so compare only with the features officially described at launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to prepare before December 8, 2026

  • Know the Microsoft account that owns the Xbox One digital license.
  • Keep the physical disc and its packaging available if you own a disc copy.
  • Record whether your copy came from a bundle, special edition or another account.
  • Use an Xbox Series X or Series S signed in to the owning account for the first check.
  • Plan to verify the edition name and apply updates after installation.
  • Watch for publisher and Xbox Support instructions because the report does not settle disc, region, bundle or PC rules.

Bottom line

The reported answer is yes for owners of the Xbox One version: a free Xbox Series X|S remastered upgrade is expected on December 8, 2026. On or after that date, sign in with the owning Microsoft account, search the Xbox Store, select the Series X|S edition marked as owned or free, install it and apply its update. Physical-disc, PC, bundle, special-edition and regional eligibility details remain unconfirmed, so do not repurchase the game until official launch guidance resolves your specific case.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.