What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most buyers, choose the Standard Edition at $79.99. It includes the complete Grand Theft Auto VI base game at the lowest confirmed U.S. price, and Rockstar says Standard owners can purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later. Choose Ultimate at $99.99 only if its extra vehicles, weapons, customization locations, clothing and collection content match the way you plan to play.

Both editions launch on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S on November 19, 2026. The physical release is a box containing a download code rather than a disc, so the key decision is the content bundle—not disc versus download.

GTA 6 editions at a glance

Edition U.S. price What you receive Best for
Standard Edition $79.99 before tax (Take-Two Interactive Software, 2026) Grand Theft Auto VI base game Value-focused, undecided and story-first players
Ultimate Edition $99.99 before tax (Take-Two Interactive Software, 2026) Base game plus the Ultimate Edition Upgrade content Completionists, collectors and players who want more vehicles, gear and customization immediately

The confirmed difference is $20 before tax and regional conversion. Neither edition has a confirmed discount, and the prices above are U.S. figures announced by Take-Two Interactive Software for 2026.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Release date, platforms and what is confirmed

Grand Theft Auto VI launches November 19, 2026, for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Rockstar’s product page says it “Plays Best On PlayStation 5.” Rockstar’s official platform information does not list a PC edition, so do not buy either console edition expecting a PC entitlement.

Take-Two describes the release as a single-player experience set in the biggest, most immersive evolution of the series yet. That description confirms the core game’s single-player positioning, but it does not establish separate performance differences between Standard and Ultimate. Edition choice changes the included content, not the announced launch platforms.

What comes with the Standard Edition?

Standard includes Grand Theft Auto VI. This is the complete base game required to play the announced release; the edition does not omit the main story in order to sell the Ultimate bundle.

Why Standard is the safest value

  • You spend $79.99 instead of $99.99 before tax and conversion.
  • You receive the base game without paying for bonuses you may never use.
  • You retain a supported path to buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later.
  • You can decide after playing whether extra vehicles, apparel, venues or collection content matters to you.

Standard is therefore the practical choice when your priority is entering the game at the lowest confirmed price or when you cannot yet predict how deeply you will use customization and collection systems.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What comes with the Ultimate Edition?

Ultimate includes the base game and the Ultimate Edition Upgrade. Rockstar says the bonuses are threaded across Jason and Lucia’s story rather than being a single detached cosmetic pack. The announced items fall into several useful categories.

Vehicles and garages

  • ’95 Grotti Cheetah
  • Jason’s Safehouse Vehicles
  • Shitzu Squalo
  • ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy and Garage
  • Classic Car Collection

Weapons and weapon customization

  • Hawk & Little Morgan Revolvers
  • Personalized weapon variants

Customization venues and locations

  • Ganado Retro Build
  • Rideout Customs Mod Shop
  • Sara’s Unisex Salon
  • Electric Fang Tattoo Parlor
  • One-Eyed Willie’s Mod Shop
  • PTT Youngin$ Compound

Clothing and style content

  • Vice City Styles
  • Stock 305 Clothing Store
  • Goodtime Gear

The list is concentrated in vehicles, weapons, locations, apparel and collection features. It does not state that Ultimate provides a different story, a separate campaign or a higher-quality version of the base game. Its value depends on how much you enjoy acquiring, modifying and displaying extra content during Jason and Lucia’s story.

Is GTA 6 Ultimate worth $20 more?

There is no universal answer because the $20 buys optional content rather than a different base game. Use the decision points below instead of assuming the larger bundle is automatically better.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling
If this describes you Recommended edition Reason
You mainly want the story and the lowest entry price Standard It includes the base game and saves $20 up front.
You collect vehicles and want named cars, a buggy, a boat and a classic-car set Ultimate The upgrade adds multiple vehicles, garages and collection content.
You expect to spend time changing weapons, clothes, cars, tattoos or hair Ultimate The upgrade adds weapon variants, clothing, styles, salons, tattoo and mod-shop locations.
You are unsure whether bonuses matter Standard You can defer the decision and buy the supported upgrade later.
You want the announced bonuses but prefer digital purchasing Either digital edition The pre-order offer applies to digital purchases of either edition made before November 20, 2026.

Ultimate becomes easier to justify when you would otherwise seek out several of these activities. If you are primarily buying for the base story, the extra $20 has no confirmed effect on access to that story.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can Standard owners upgrade later?

Yes. Rockstar confirms that Standard owners can buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later. For a physical copy, redeem the code first; Rockstar states that the upgrade can then be purchased through PlayStation or Microsoft.

What delaying the decision means

  1. Buy Standard for $79.99 and install the base game.
  2. Play enough to determine whether the additional vehicles, venues, apparel and collection content fit your habits.
  3. Purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade through the relevant platform store if you decide the extras are worthwhile.

Rockstar does not state the later upgrade’s standalone price or whether it will remain available indefinitely. The confirmed benefit is flexibility: you do not have to commit to the $20 premium on launch day.

Pre-order bonuses and the November 20 deadline

Digital pre-orders and purchases made before November 20, 2026 include the Vintage Vice City Pack and one month of GTA+. In practical terms, the stated window covers purchases made before that date, including launch-day purchases on November 19, subject to the retailer’s terms.

Vintage Vice City Pack contents

  • ’55 Vapid Stanier Sedan and Garage
  • Outfits and hairstyles
  • An exclusive weapon pattern

Physical pre-orders include the Vintage Vice City Pack. The one-month GTA+ offer is specifically stated for digital pre-orders, so do not assume a physical pre-order includes that month. The offer is tied to the purchase timing and format described above; it is not presented as a permanent entitlement for every copy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Physical versus digital: what you actually receive

Physical release

The physical release is a box containing a download code. No disc is included. You still need an internet connection and storage sufficient to download the game, just as with a digital purchase.

A physical Standard buyer can redeem the code, pre-load the game and later buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade through PlayStation or Microsoft. This makes the physical route compatible with the same delayed-upgrade strategy as digital Standard, but it does not provide a disc for offline installation or resale.

Digital release

Digital purchasing is the straightforward option if you want the game attached to your platform account, the stated digital pre-order benefits and the earliest possible pre-load. Digital pre-orders can pre-load beginning November 12, 2026.

Digital purchasing does not remove the need to meet platform storage and download requirements. It does, however, avoid redeeming a code from a box and makes the purchase immediately available in the platform’s library.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Pre-load timing and launch preparation

  1. Place a digital pre-order, or obtain a physical code-in-box copy.
  2. On November 12, 2026, redeem the physical code if necessary and begin the platform’s pre-load.
  3. Keep the console connected to power and the internet while the download and installation complete.
  4. On November 19, 2026, launch the installed game using the account that owns or redeemed the purchase.

Rockstar confirms the November 12 pre-load start for digital pre-orders and says physical codes can also be redeemed for pre-load from that date. It does not state the download size, installation duration or a required internet speed, so those details should not be treated as confirmed.

PlayStation and Xbox region rules

PlayStation codes must match the region of the account that will redeem them. Rockstar recommends buying from a retailer in the country associated with your platform account. A code bought for one PlayStation account region may not redeem on another.

Xbox codes are not region-locked according to Rockstar. That makes cross-region Xbox purchasing more flexible, although currency conversion, taxes, retailer policies and account billing rules can still affect the final transaction.

Platform Region rule Practical advice
PlayStation 5 Code must match the account region Buy from a retailer in the country tied to your PlayStation account.
Xbox Series X|S Codes are not region-locked Cross-region code use is permitted by the stated rule, but check taxes, currency and retailer conditions.

Edition recommendations by play style

Value-focused or undecided players: Standard

Standard is the default recommendation when the $20 difference matters, when you usually finish the main story without collecting every item, or when you want to see how the game’s systems work before buying extras. The later upgrade option means choosing Standard is not an irreversible decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Completionists and collectors: Ultimate

Ultimate is aimed at players who want the largest announced set of vehicles and collection content from the start. The ’95 Grotti Cheetah, ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy and Garage, Shitzu Squalo, Classic Car Collection and additional safehouse vehicles give collectors more named items to acquire and use.

Customization-focused players: Ultimate

If your enjoyment comes from changing appearance and equipment as much as completing missions, the upgrade has the clearest fit. Its announced content includes personalized weapon variants, Vice City Styles, Goodtime Gear, Stock 305 Clothing Store, Sara’s Unisex Salon, Electric Fang Tattoo Parlor, Rideout Customs Mod Shop and One-Eyed Willie’s Mod Shop.

Digital-first pre-order buyers: either edition

Choose based on the content decision, not the pre-order bonus. Both digital editions purchased before November 20, 2026 receive the Vintage Vice City Pack and one month of GTA+ under the stated offer. Digital buying also supports the November 12 pre-load.

Physical buyers: Standard unless the upgrade is essential

For a physical purchase, remember that the box contains a download code, not a disc. Standard is the lower-risk choice if you are undecided, because the Ultimate Edition Upgrade can be bought after redemption. Choose a physical Ultimate code only when you already know you want the extra content and have confirmed the code matches your PlayStation account region if applicable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A simple decision process

  1. Set your ceiling. Compare $79.99 Standard with $99.99 Ultimate before tax and any regional conversion.
  2. Separate base-game access from bonuses. Both choices include Grand Theft Auto VI; Ultimate adds the listed upgrade content.
  3. Count the activities you will actually use. Vehicles, weapon variants, mod shops, salons, tattoo locations, clothing and collections are the relevant benefits.
  4. Choose your format. Digital offers the stated one-month GTA+ pre-order benefit and account-based pre-load; physical is a code-in-box with no disc.
  5. Check your region. Match PlayStation codes to the account region; Xbox codes are not region-locked under Rockstar’s rule.
  6. Use the upgrade option if uncertain. Standard can be upgraded later through the platform store after code redemption for physical copies.

Common purchasing mistakes

Assuming a physical copy contains a disc

It does not. The physical package contains a download code, so plan for a download and installation.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Expecting the one-month GTA+ offer with every format

The offer is specified for digital pre-orders. Physical pre-orders include the Vintage Vice City Pack, but the GTA+ month is not stated for them.

Buying a PlayStation code for the wrong country

PlayStation redemption is region-matched. Verify the account country before paying, especially when purchasing from an overseas retailer.

Paying for Ultimate without wanting its content

Ultimate’s confirmed additions are concentrated in vehicles, weapons, customization venues, clothing and collections. If those systems are not important to you, Standard provides the same base-game access for $20 less.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming a PC version is included

The confirmed launch platforms are PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. No official PC edition is listed in Rockstar’s platform information.

Bottom-line recommendation

Buy Standard at $79.99 if you want the complete game, are budget-conscious or remain undecided. Buy Ultimate at $99.99 if you already know that extra vehicles, weapon variants, customization venues, apparel and collection content will be central to your play. Because Rockstar supports a later Ultimate Edition Upgrade, Standard is the rational choice when the value of those bonuses is uncertain.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.