What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most people buying a console mainly for Grand Theft Auto VI, the standard 1TB PlayStation 5 is the safest all-around choice: it is officially supported, has a Blu-ray drive, and Rockstar says its extended-look footage was captured on PS5. Xbox Series X is just as valid a GTA VI platform and is the better fit if your games, accessories, or subscription habits already center on Xbox. Series S is the lower-cost, all-digital option; PS5 Pro is a premium choice, not a stated requirement.

Rockstar lists PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S for GTA VI’s scheduled November 19, 2026 launch. The official information available does not establish final resolution or frame-rate modes for any console, so there is no sound basis for claiming that one version will run better.

Which console should you buy for GTA VI?

Choose the standard 1TB PS5 if you want a disc drive, are not committed to either console ecosystem, and want a straightforward choice for this game. Choose Xbox Series X if you already own Xbox games or accessories, prefer Xbox services, or want Microsoft’s higher-tier console with a UHD Blu-ray drive. Choose Series S if keeping the upfront cost down and buying digitally matter more than having the strongest hardware tier.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

These are purchasing recommendations, not predictions about frame rates or image quality. Rockstar’s October 15, 2026 announcement names PS5 and Xbox Series X|S as launch platforms, but the official platform details cited here do not disclose console-specific GTA VI performance modes. Rockstar also says its extended-look footage was captured entirely on PlayStation 5; that identifies the footage’s platform, not a measured advantage over Xbox.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Quick decision guide

  • Best neutral pick: standard PS5 1TB, especially if you want physical game discs.
  • Best for an Xbox household: Xbox Series X, particularly if you already have an Xbox library or accessories.
  • Best lower-cost, digital-only route: Xbox Series S, with the understanding that it is Microsoft’s lower hardware tier.
  • Best premium PS5 option: PS5 Pro for buyers who want its broader high-end capabilities, not because GTA VI requires it.

Are PS5 and Xbox Series X|S both confirmed for GTA VI?

Yes. Rockstar Games’ official Newswire announcement on October 15, 2026 says GTA VI is coming to PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S on November 19, 2026. That confirms the named console families, including Series S; it does not specify the game’s final performance on each model.

Platform confirmation matters because a console’s general specifications cannot establish how a particular game will look or run. Xbox describes Series X as a native-4K console and Series S as designed for 1440p with upscaling to 4K. Those are Xbox’s product-positioning statements, not GTA VI resolution targets. Likewise, a console’s advertised capability of up to 120 FPS does not mean GTA VI will offer a 120-FPS mode.

Rockstar’s current launch-platform announcement names these consoles. It does not, in the material cited here, establish a PC launch date or confirm other platforms. Treat announcements beyond the listed launch platforms as unconfirmed unless Rockstar publishes an update.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do PS5, PS5 Pro, Xbox Series X, and Series S compare?

The useful differences for this purchase are hardware tier, disc support, storage, and fit with the ecosystem you already use. The table separates the consoles’ published specifications from the GTA VI-specific facts; neither should be mistaken for a promised game-performance result.

Console Published hardware details GTA VI status Good fit for Key limitation
PS5 1TB Sony lists 1TB storage and Blu-ray support. Listed for PS5; Rockstar’s extended-look footage was captured on PS5. Buyers seeking a disc-capable, mainstream PS5 for GTA VI and other games. GTA VI resolution and frame-rate modes have not been published in the official information cited here.
PS5 Pro 2TB Sony lists 2TB storage and enhanced visual, ray-tracing, and frame-rate capabilities for supported games. PlayStation Store identifies GTA VI as PS5 Pro Enhanced. Buyers who want a premium PS5 and have a display that can make use of its broader capabilities. The exact GTA VI-specific enhancements are not stated, and the listing does not make Pro a requirement.
Xbox Series X Microsoft describes native 4K, a UHD Blu-ray drive, and 1TB or 2TB options. Its product language also says up to 120 FPS for supported content and displays. Listed by Rockstar as a launch platform. Xbox-first households, physical-disc buyers, and people who want the higher Xbox hardware tier. No official information cited here establishes a GTA VI performance advantage over PS5.
Xbox Series S Microsoft describes it as digital-only and designed for 1440p with upscaling to 4K. Storage options are smaller than the Series X options in the cited product comparison. Included in Rockstar’s Xbox Series X|S platform listing. Budget-conscious players comfortable with digital purchases. No disc drive; it is the lower hardware tier, and the cited information does not specify GTA VI performance modes.

Sony also lists a PS5 Digital Edition with 825GB storage. That is a separate digital-only alternative to the 1TB disc-capable PS5; its smaller listed capacity and lack of a drive are worth weighing if you are comparing entry-level PlayStation options. Console storage figures are not the same as the amount of free space available to a game, and no GTA VI installation size is established here.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Does PS5 have an advantage because Rockstar captured footage on it?

It is useful evidence that Rockstar has shown GTA VI footage captured on PS5, but it is not proof that the finished game will perform better on PS5 than on Xbox. The footage statement does not specify a retail performance mode, resolution, frame rate, or a comparative test.

For a purchase decision, treat the footage detail as confirmation of a development and presentation platform, not as a ranking. There is no officially established basis in the cited information for claims such as “PS5 gets more frames,” “Xbox has better optimization,” or “one console has superior graphics.” Those conclusions would require game-specific specifications or reliable comparisons of the finished versions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do you need a PS5 Pro to play GTA VI?

No official listing says that PS5 Pro is required. Sony’s PlayStation Store identifies GTA VI as PS5 Pro Enhanced, while Rockstar lists the game for PlayStation 5 generally. The supported PS5 listing and Pro-enhanced label indicate that Pro is an option, not a stated prerequisite.

Sony describes PS5 Pro’s general enhancements for supported games, including visual, ray-tracing, and frame-rate capabilities, and lists 2TB of storage. But the official information cited here does not explain what those capabilities mean specifically for GTA VI. It does not provide the game’s Pro resolution, frame-rate modes, or a list of exact enhancements.

Consider Pro if you already want Sony’s premium console features for your broader gaming setup and the price fits your budget. If GTA VI is the only reason you are considering it, wait for Rockstar or Sony to publish game-specific details before paying extra on the assumption that Pro is necessary or guarantees a particular result.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Is Xbox Series S a good enough choice for GTA VI?

Series S is an officially supported choice, so it is a legitimate way to play GTA VI. Its trade-offs are that it is digital-only and is positioned by Microsoft as a 1440p console with upscaling to 4K, rather than the higher Xbox hardware tier.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That makes it a sensible fit if you want to spend less upfront, already buy games digitally, and do not prioritize the strongest console tier. It is less suitable if you have physical Xbox games, buy used or disc copies, or want a UHD Blu-ray drive: Series S cannot play physical discs. No official GTA VI-specific performance figures are available here to quantify how the game will differ from Series X.

Do not infer a specific image quality or frame-rate from the Series S marketing resolution. Microsoft’s 1440p and upscaling description is a general product specification, not a Rockstar promise for GTA VI. If display performance is central to your decision, wait for game-specific details rather than treating console marketing language as a game setting.

How should you choose based on discs, storage, and your existing games?

Decide how you buy games and what you already own before comparing premium features. A disc drive has ongoing value if you trade, lend, collect, or buy physical games; a digital-only console makes sense when your library and purchases are already digital.

Disc or digital?

  • The standard 1TB PS5 listed by Sony includes Blu-ray support. Xbox Series X has a UHD Blu-ray drive.
  • Xbox Series S is digital-only. Sony also lists an 825GB PS5 Digital Edition without a disc drive.
  • Choose a disc-capable console if you want the option of physical copies, rather than assuming every edition or purchase route will be digital.

How much storage matters

The listed capacities are 1TB for the standard PS5, 825GB for the PS5 Digital Edition, 2TB for PS5 Pro, and 1TB or 2TB for Series X options. These figures describe the consoles’ published storage capacity, not necessarily the space available after system software or the space GTA VI will need. The sources cited here do not give GTA VI’s install size, so no reliable calculation of remaining free space is possible yet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

If storage headroom matters, compare the capacity of the exact console configuration available in your region rather than relying on a family name. Do not buy a larger-storage model on the assumption that GTA VI has a particular file size; that figure has not been established in the official information cited here.

Existing ecosystem

If you already own games or accessories for one platform, that can outweigh small differences in headline specifications. Xbox is the practical choice for an Xbox-first household; PS5 is the practical choice if your gaming setup is already PlayStation-oriented. The platform confirmation does not establish cross-platform save transfers, shared purchases, or cross-play for GTA VI, so do not assume those features when deciding whether to switch ecosystems.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What will GTA VI cost, and what should you budget for?

Take-Two Interactive’s 2026 pre-order announcement lists the standard edition at $79.99. That is the announced game price for that edition, not the cost of a console or a complete setup; the cited information does not establish other edition pricing or the total purchase cost in every region.

Console prices and bundle availability can vary by retailer, region, and date, and the platform specifications above do not provide a like-for-like console price comparison. Before buying, compare the actual console price, included storage configuration, disc drive, and any bundle contents available where you live. A bundle should be valued by what it includes, not by its headline discount alone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Also budget for the display and accessories you actually need, but do not buy a new 4K or high-refresh display solely on a promised GTA VI mode: no final game resolution or frame-rate mode is established here. Xbox’s up-to-120-FPS specification applies to supported content and a compatible display; it is not a guarantee that GTA VI uses that capability.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What GTA VI performance details are still unknown?

The confirmed console list answers where Rockstar plans to launch the game; it does not answer how each version will run. The official information cited here does not establish final GTA VI resolution, frame-rate modes, console-by-console visual differences, or exact PS5 Pro enhancements.

That distinction should shape what you pay for. Buy the console that fits your existing ecosystem, disc preference, storage needs, display, and budget—not one promoted with an unsupported claim about GTA VI’s performance. If you are choosing between similarly priced options solely for frame rate or image quality, wait for official game-specific specifications or credible comparisons of the finished versions.

There is also no confirmed PC launch timing in the launch-platform information cited here. The announcement lists PS5 and Xbox Series X|S; it does not establish whether or when other platforms may follow.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will GTA VI come to PC on launch day?

Rockstar’s October 15, 2026 launch-platform announcement names PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, not a PC version. That announcement does not establish a PC release date or rule out a later announcement.

Will my GTA VI purchase or save carry over if I change consoles?

The platform information cited here does not confirm cross-platform save transfers or shared purchases. If you may switch ecosystems, treat a console purchase as platform-specific unless Rockstar later confirms otherwise.

Will GTA VI be included with a subscription or console bundle?

The official information cited here does not confirm subscription inclusion or a GTA VI console bundle. Check the actual product listing and terms in your region before paying for a bundle or subscription on that assumption.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.