The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
For most 4K TV owners, choose the Roku Streaming Stick Plus (2025, model 3830). It is a compact HDMI stick with 4K at up to 60 frames per second (4K60), HDR10+, HDR10 and HLG support, and a lower published MSRP than Roku’s premium player. Choose the Roku Ultra (2024, model 4850) if you want the highest listed memory, Dolby Vision and a box-style player. Choose the Roku Express 4K+ when the lowest-cost 4K upgrade matters more than a stick that hangs behind the TV.
Every current model in this guide works with a television that has HDMI. A 4K/HDR result also depends on the TV, HDMI path and internet connection. Roku defines 4K UHD as 3,840 × 2,160 pixels and says streaming 4K may require up to 25 Mbps.
Quick recommendations
| Best for | Model | Why it fits |
|---|---|---|
| Best overall 4K value | Roku Streaming Stick Plus (2025, 3830/3830X) | 4K60 HDR in a small stick, TV-powered option, HDR10+, HDR10 and HLG, and a $59.99 published MSRP. |
| Fastest-performance tier | Roku Ultra (2024, 4850/4850X) | 2 GB RAM, ARM Cortex A55 CPU, 4K60 HDR, Dolby Vision, HDR10+ and HLG in a premium box. |
| Budget 4K box | Roku Express 4K+ (3941/3941X2 and 3960RS variants) | Roku’s low-cost 4K/HDR player with a voice remote, power adapter and Premium High-Speed HDMI cable. |
| Dolby Vision in a stick | Roku Streaming Stick 4K (3820/3820X2) | Direct-HDMI stick with 4K60 HDR, Dolby Vision, HDR10+ and HLG. |
Roku 4K models compared
The table uses Roku’s current hardware information and the model notes available for 2024–2026. Retail suffixes such as 3830X and 3820X2 identify regional or package variants; verify the suffix on the retailer listing before ordering.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| Model | Year and form | Maximum playback | HDR formats listed | Processor and memory | Power and included hardware | Published price information |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Streaming Stick Plus 3830 | 2025 HDMI stick | 4K at 60 fps | HDR10+, HDR10, HLG | ARM Cortex A55; 1 GB RAM | Can draw power from the TV; plugs directly into HDMI | $59.99 MSRP; a Best Buy listing showed $39.99 when crawled, so sale price and stock can change |
| Streaming Stick 4K 3820 | HDMI stick | 4K at 60 fps | Dolby Vision, HDR10+, HLG | Not stated in Roku’s cited hardware entry | Plugs directly into HDMI | $79.99 MSRP in the 2026 DOW Technologies catalog |
| Express 4K+ 3941/3960RS | Box player | 4K/HDR | Roku documents 4K/HDR support; individual HDR formats are not stated in the cited support material | Not stated in Roku’s cited hardware entry | Power adapter, voice remote and Premium High-Speed HDMI cable included | Current price varies by retailer; no comparable MSRP was supplied |
| Ultra 4850 | 2024 premium box | 4K at 60 fps | Dolby Vision, HDR10+, HLG | ARM Cortex A55; 2 GB RAM | Box-style player with separate power connection | $149.99 MSRP in the 2026 DOW Technologies catalog |
Why the Streaming Stick Plus is the best choice for most 4K TVs
The 2025 Streaming Stick Plus combines the features most people need without the size or price of a premium box. It connects directly to an HDMI port, so there is no separate player to place on a shelf. Roku says it can draw power from the TV, which is useful when the television is wall-mounted or its media console is crowded.
#1 Best Overall
Its 4K60 capability matches the refresh target used by ordinary 4K streaming services and modern televisions. The listed HDR formats are HDR10+, HDR10 and HLG. That is a different HDR set from the Streaming Stick 4K and Ultra, which explicitly list Dolby Vision. If Dolby Vision is a requirement rather than a preference, select one of those two models instead.
The Stick Plus has an ARM Cortex A55 CPU and 1 GB of RAM in Roku’s hardware table. Roku does not publish an independent loading-time benchmark for it, but the specification is appropriate for a current midrange player. Its $59.99 MSRP is substantially below the Ultra’s $149.99 MSRP, while a $39.99 Best Buy listing was observed during the cited crawl. Treat that lower figure as a temporary listing, not a guaranteed price.
When Roku Ultra is worth the extra cost
Ultra is the choice for a buyer who wants Roku’s premium player rather than the smallest device. Its hardware entry lists an ARM Cortex A55 CPU and 2 GB of RAM—twice the memory listed for the Stick Plus—along with 4K60 playback, Dolby Vision, HDR10+ and HLG.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteThat makes Ultra the strongest specification-based candidate for the fastest Roku experience. “Fastest” is an inference from the highest listed RAM and the premium tier; Roku’s cited pages do not provide independent app-launch or menu-navigation benchmarks. Do not read the recommendation as a measured claim that every app opens a particular number of seconds sooner.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
The box format suits installations where a visible player and separate power connection are acceptable. It also avoids relying on the TV’s USB port for power. Choose Ultra when you have a Dolby Vision television, want the broadest listed HDR support, prefer a box, or expect to keep the player for several years and value the higher memory specification more than the extra cost.
When Express 4K+ is the smarter budget purchase
Express 4K+ is Roku’s budget-oriented 4K box. Roku’s support documentation describes 4K/HDR setup and lists a Premium High-Speed HDMI cable, voice remote and power adapter in the package. That is useful if you do not want to buy a cable separately or if the television’s USB ports are difficult to reach.
The player is a better fit for a conventional TV stand than for a flush wall mount. It does not have the direct-behind-the-TV form of either stick. Roku confirms HDMI compatibility and 4K/HDR operation, but the cited support material does not specify which individual HDR standards Express 4K+ accepts. If your television or movie library specifically requires Dolby Vision or HDR10+, use the Stick 4K or Ultra, whose formats are explicitly listed.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsBecause Express 4K+ pricing changes frequently and the supplied current catalog did not establish a comparable MSRP, compare the live price against the Stick Plus rather than assuming the box is always cheaper. The value improves when its included cable, voice remote and power adapter would otherwise be separate purchases.
Rank #3
Streaming Stick 4K versus Streaming Stick Plus
Both are direct-HDMI sticks with 4K60 HDR playback. The decisive difference is HDR support: Streaming Stick 4K explicitly lists Dolby Vision, HDR10+ and HLG, while Streaming Stick Plus lists HDR10+, HDR10 and HLG. A Dolby Vision television can still display HDR10 content, but it will not receive Dolby Vision metadata from the Stick Plus.
The Stick Plus is the newer 2025 model and has a lower published MSRP of $59.99. Streaming Stick 4K carries a $79.99 MSRP in the 2026 DOW Technologies catalog. Select the older Stick 4K when its street price is close to or below the Stick Plus and Dolby Vision matters. Select the Stick Plus when you want the 2025 model, do not need Dolby Vision, or find it at the lower sale price.
Roku’s cited hardware information does not provide a directly comparable CPU or RAM figure for the Stick 4K, so a claim that one is faster would go beyond the available specifications. Use HDR requirements and actual current pricing as the tie-breakers.
4K and HDR compatibility: what you need
Your television
Roku states that every streaming player works with a television that has an HDMI connection. For 4K, the television must also have a 3,840 × 2,160 panel and support the relevant HDR format. A 1080p television can use these players for HD streaming, but it cannot display their 4K output.
Rank #4
Your HDMI path
4K/HDR depends on the entire HDMI path, not just the Roku player. Connect the device to an HDMI input that accepts 4K/HDR on the television. Express 4K+ includes a Premium High-Speed HDMI cable; with the sticks, use a cable and any switch, receiver or soundbar that can pass the selected 4K/HDR signal. If an intermediate device is limited to older HDMI capabilities, connect the Roku directly to the TV while troubleshooting.
Your internet connection
Roku’s 2026 4K setup guidance says up to 25 Mbps may be needed for 4K streaming. That is a service requirement, not a promise that every household will see the same result: congestion, Wi-Fi signal quality and other simultaneous traffic affect playback. If video repeatedly drops quality or buffers, test the connection near the TV, reduce competing traffic and use the network option available in your home.
How to set up a Roku 4K player
- Check the TV input. Confirm that the television has an available HDMI port and that the panel supports 4K if you want 4K output.
- Connect the player. Plug a Streaming Stick Plus or Streaming Stick 4K into HDMI. Connect Express 4K+ or Ultra with the supplied HDMI cable, then attach its power adapter. If using the Stick Plus, try the TV’s USB power connection as described by Roku.
- Select the correct source. Use the TV remote to switch to the HDMI input used by the Roku.
- Complete Roku’s on-screen setup. Join your Wi-Fi network, install available software updates and sign in to or create a Roku account when prompted.
- Allow display detection. Roku normally detects the TV’s capabilities. Open the player’s display settings if the output remains HD and select the 4K/HDR mode offered by the television.
- Confirm playback. Start a title labeled 4K or HDR in a service that includes that quality with your subscription. The title, plan and app must all provide the format; a 4K player alone cannot upgrade an HD stream into native 4K.
Choosing by TV placement and power
Wall-mounted or minimalist installations
A stick is usually easier to hide. Streaming Stick Plus and Streaming Stick 4K plug directly into HDMI, leaving the player behind the display rather than on the furniture. The Stick Plus can draw power from the TV, reducing cable clutter when the USB port is accessible.
Media consoles and receivers
A box can be more convenient when the HDMI equipment and power sockets are already on a shelf. Express 4K+ includes a power adapter and cable. Ultra is also designed as a separate premium player. If a receiver or soundbar sits between the Roku and television, verify that it passes the 4K/HDR format you selected; direct-to-TV connection is the simplest diagnostic step.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Remote and package differences
Express 4K+ is documented with a voice remote, power adapter and Premium High-Speed HDMI cable. The supplied material does not establish identical remote bundles for every other model, so check the exact retail package and model suffix before buying. A retailer may bundle a different remote or cable even when the player name appears similar.
Do not use the presence of a voice remote as a proxy for video performance. Resolution, HDR support, network conditions and the TV’s capabilities determine picture output; remote features primarily change how you search and control the device.
Price and model-number checks
Published prices are reference points, not permanent street prices. The 2026 DOW Technologies catalog lists $149.99 MSRP for Ultra 4850, $59.99 for Streaming Stick Plus 3830, and $79.99 for Streaming Stick 4K 3820. A Best Buy crawl showed the Stick Plus at $39.99, but that listing can expire or change. Express 4K+ did not have a comparable MSRP in the supplied current figures.
Before ordering, verify four details on the retailer page:
- The model number and suffix, such as 3830/3830X, 3820/3820X2, 3941/3941X2 or 4850/4850X.
- Whether the listing is new hardware or a bundle with a different remote or cable.
- The current price, stock status and return terms.
- Whether the listed HDR formats match your TV, especially if Dolby Vision is required.
Troubleshooting 4K, HDR and buffering problems
The Roku reports HD instead of 4K
- Confirm that the television is a 4K model and that the Roku is connected to an HDMI input supporting 4K.
- Remove an HDMI switch, receiver or soundbar temporarily and connect the player directly to the TV.
- Try the included Premium High-Speed HDMI cable with Express 4K+, or a known-good high-speed cable with a stick.
- Open the Roku display settings and rerun display detection, then restart playback of a title that is actually offered in 4K.
HDR does not appear
- Match the format to the player: Dolby Vision is listed for Streaming Stick 4K and Ultra, while Stick Plus lists HDR10+, HDR10 and HLG.
- Check that the TV’s HDR mode is enabled for the HDMI input and that the title and subscription include HDR.
- If an intermediate HDMI device is involved, bypass it to determine whether it passes the required HDR signal.
Playback buffers or quality drops
- Use Roku’s 25 Mbps figure as a planning target for 4K, while remembering that household congestion can require more capacity.
- Move the router or Roku setup to improve the wireless path, pause large downloads and retest.
- Restart the Roku and network equipment, then check whether other devices are consuming the connection.
The stick will not stay powered
For the Stick Plus, verify that the TV USB connection is active when the TV is on and that the power cable is firmly seated. If the television does not provide a usable USB power source, use the power method supplied or recommended for the exact retail package. A box model such as Express 4K+ or Ultra uses its separate power connection.
Which Roku should you buy?
Choose Streaming Stick Plus 3830 if
- You want the best balance of current model, compact size and cost.
- Your TV uses HDR10+, HDR10 or HLG rather than requiring Dolby Vision.
- You prefer a player that plugs directly into HDMI and can draw power from the TV.
Choose Ultra 4850 if
- You want Dolby Vision plus HDR10+ and HLG.
- You prioritize the highest listed memory specification and a premium box.
- You accept the $149.99 published MSRP and a separate power connection.
Choose Express 4K+ if
- You want a budget-oriented 4K/HDR player for a TV stand.
- The included voice remote, HDMI cable and power adapter improve the package value.
- You do not need a stick form factor or a specifically documented Dolby Vision mode.
Choose Streaming Stick 4K if
- Dolby Vision is essential and you want a stick.
- Its live price is competitive with the newer Stick Plus.
- You are comfortable checking the exact 3820/3820X2 package before purchase.
Bottom line
The 2025 Roku Streaming Stick Plus is the right default for most 4K televisions: it delivers 4K60 HDR in the smallest, least expensive current-generation package among the highlighted choices. Roku Ultra is the premium and specification-based fastest option, with 2 GB of RAM and Dolby Vision. Express 4K+ is the practical budget box when its included accessories and separate power connection suit your setup. Streaming Stick 4K earns consideration when Dolby Vision matters more than having the newer Stick Plus model.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

