Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most people, the Keychron M6 8K is the best alternative to MX Master 4 because it is positioned as a direct productivity replacement and was listed at $69.99 versus $119.99 for Logitech’s mouse in TechRadar’s 2026 review. Pick the Razer Pro Click V2 if you want an ergonomic work mouse that can also use gaming-oriented wireless; choose the Logitech MX Master 3S for the closest, familiar same-family experience; and choose Apple’s Magic Mouse 2 only if full-surface macOS gestures outweigh palm support and cross-platform compatibility.

This guide compares those four mice against the MX Master 4 for office work, design and editing, programming, travel, and occasional gaming. Prices and availability are time-sensitive, so treat quoted prices as the figures reported by the named sources, not permanent retail prices.

What the MX Master 4 brings as a baseline

Logitech’s published specifications describe the MX Master 4 as a large, right-handed productivity mouse with a rechargeable battery, Bluetooth Low Energy and Logi Bolt wireless. It supports Windows 10 and 11, macOS 12 or later, Android 12 or later, iPadOS 15 or later, ChromeOS and Linux. The Darkfield sensor is adjustable from 200 to 8,000 DPI, the listed report rate is 125 Hz, and Logitech specifies a 10 m wireless range.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Logitech’s 2025 launch announcement set the price at $119.99 in the United States and €129.99 in Europe. The same announcement says a one-minute USB-C fast charge can provide up to three hours of use and that a full charge can last up to 70 days. It also described a one-month Adobe Creative Cloud membership bundled at launch; that promotion should be treated as expired or changed unless a current retailer confirms it.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The MX Master 4’s feature set is aimed at sustained pointer work rather than competitive gaming. A 125 Hz report rate is adequate for ordinary desktop work, creative applications and browsing, while people who specifically value very high polling may prefer a different design. Logitech’s specification does not, by itself, make the MX Master 4 the right fit for every hand, desk or operating system.

Quick comparison: which alternative fits your priorities?

Mouse Best for Wireless and switching Gestures, scrolling and controls Weight or price evidence Main compromise
Keychron M6 8K Value, high polling and a direct productivity replacement Specific connection options and device-switching details are not stated in the cited material TechRadar calls it a direct productivity replacement; exact wheel, gesture and button behavior is not stated $69.99 versus $119.99 for MX Master 4 in TechRadar’s 2026 review; verify today’s price Confirm hand fit, software, operating-system support and switching before buying
Razer Pro Click V2 Ergonomic office use with gaming-capable responsiveness HyperSpeed 2.4 GHz wireless, Bluetooth for up to three devices and USB-C wired operation Exact scroll-wheel, gesture and button behavior relative to Logitech is not stated Current price and tested weight are not stated in the cited material Its controls and software behavior are not identical to MX Master mice
Logitech MX Master 3S Familiar Logitech ergonomics and software habits Exact switching details are not stated here; it is the predecessor family design It predates the MX Master 4’s Actions Ring and haptics 141.2 g tested weight; current price is not stated Older feature set and less-new hardware than MX Master 4
Apple Magic Mouse 2 Mac users who rely on whole-surface gestures macOS-only; other connection details are not stated in the cited material The entire top surface acts as a gesture pad Current price and tested weight are not stated Flat shape, charging arrangement and lack of Windows/Linux support
Logitech MX Master 4 People who want Logitech’s newest feature set and broad platform support Bluetooth Low Energy and Logi Bolt; 10 m stated wireless range Actions Ring and haptics are part of the newer design; exact behavior is not detailed in the cited material 151.8 g tested weight; $119.99/€129.99 launch price Heavier and more expensive than the Keychron figure reported by TechRadar

1. Keychron M6 8K: the value and high-polling choice

Choose the Keychron M6 8K when the phrase “direct productivity replacement” describes what you want, but the MX Master 4’s launch price does not. TechRadar’s 2026 review reports using the M6 8K through extended macOS work sessions and lists it at $69.99, compared with $119.99 for the MX Master 4. That is a $50 difference at the prices in that review, although neither figure should be assumed to be today’s street price.

Why it stands out

  • Lower reported price: The cited $69.99 figure places it below Logitech’s $119.99 launch price.
  • High-polling positioning: The “8K” name signals the product’s high-polling focus. That is most relevant to users who notice cursor responsiveness in fast interactions or gaming; ordinary office work does not automatically benefit from a higher number.
  • Productivity intent: TechRadar explicitly frames it as a direct productivity replacement, not merely a gaming mouse pressed into office service.
  • Mac work evidence: The review reports extended macOS use, useful if your main machine is a Mac.

What to verify before ordering

The cited material does not establish the M6 8K’s exact weight, hand-size range, left-hand suitability, wheel design, horizontal-scroll method, button count, operating-system list, battery rating, charging time, software features or device-switching behavior. Check those items against the current Keychron product page and retailer listing before treating it as a one-for-one MX Master replacement. A high polling claim does not tell you whether the shape supports your thumb, whether the wheel suits timeline work, or whether your preferred creative application can use every button.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who should buy it

It is the strongest first choice for a budget-conscious right-handed productivity user who wants modern responsiveness and is willing to confirm the remaining specifications. It is less suitable as a blind purchase for a left-handed user, someone who needs a documented Linux setup, or anyone whose decision depends on Logitech-specific gestures or software profiles.

2. Razer Pro Click V2: the work mouse that can also game

Windows Central positions the Razer Pro Click V2 as a high-performance alternative to MX Master mice. Its defining advantage is connection flexibility: HyperSpeed 2.4 GHz wireless, Bluetooth for up to three devices and USB-C wired operation. That combination lets one mouse move between a work computer, another Bluetooth device and a wired setup without requiring the same connection method everywhere.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Why it stands out

  • Three connection modes: Use HyperSpeed 2.4 GHz when you want a dedicated wireless receiver, Bluetooth for up to three devices, or USB-C when you want a wired link.
  • Work-and-gaming fit: The product is positioned for high performance, so it makes sense for users who edit or work during the day and play games later.
  • Ergonomic intent: Windows Central describes it as an ergonomic alternative, making it a candidate for long sessions rather than a flat travel mouse.

Important differences from Logitech

Do not assume the Pro Click V2 duplicates the MX Master 4’s scrolling, gesture controls or application behavior. The cited coverage establishes its connectivity and ergonomic, high-performance positioning, but not identical wheel mechanics, thumb controls, button programming or software profiles. If your workflow depends on a particular horizontal-scroll gesture or a Logitech shortcut, confirm that the Razer implementation can replace it before switching.

Who should buy it

Choose the Pro Click V2 when you need one ergonomic pointer for office work and gaming, especially if Bluetooth device capacity and a wired USB-C fallback matter. It is a better fit than the Magic Mouse 2 for mixed-platform households, but the available evidence does not establish its exact operating-system support; verify compatibility with your systems.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

3. Logitech MX Master 3S: the familiar same-family option

The MX Master 3S remains the safest alternative for someone who already likes the MX Master shape, thumb placement and established Logitech workflow. RTINGS identifies the MX Master 4 as the successor to the 3S and reports tested weights of 141.2 g for the 3S and 151.8 g for the MX Master 4. In other words, the 3S is 10.6 g lighter in that test, making it the clearest “lighter MX Master alternative” in this comparison.

Why familiarity matters

A same-family mouse reduces the adaptation cost. Your hand position, broad ergonomic profile and existing habits are more likely to carry over than they would with a flat gesture mouse or a gaming-oriented design. Creative professionals may also value the continuity: Creative Bloq’s search result describes the MX Master 3S as a benchmark ergonomic mouse for creative professionals, although no formal citation details are supplied here.

What you give up

The MX Master 3S predates the MX Master 4’s Actions Ring and haptics. If those newer controls are the reason you are considering Logitech’s latest model, the 3S is not a feature-equivalent substitute. Its attraction is the established shape and potentially lower sale price, not access to every new interaction.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Who should buy it

Buy the 3S when you want the closest same-family feel, already understand Logitech’s software workflow, or find it substantially discounted. It is especially sensible for office and creative users who value comfort and predictable controls more than the newest haptic features or the highest polling figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

4. Apple Magic Mouse 2: specialist Mac gesture hardware

The Magic Mouse 2 is a specialist choice rather than a universal MX Master substitute. TechRadar highlights that the entire top surface functions as a gesture pad and identifies the mouse as macOS-only. For a Mac user who constantly swipes, scrolls and invokes gestures with one continuous surface, that interaction model is its reason to exist.

When the gesture surface wins

Choose it if your work is built around macOS gestures and you prefer a low-profile surface over a thumb rest and multiple physical controls. The top shell can act more like a trackpad than a conventional mouse, which is useful when gesture access is more important than palm support.

Why it is a poor general replacement

  • Platform restriction: It is identified as macOS-only, so it is not a practical choice for Windows or Linux machines.
  • Ergonomics: Its flat shape provides a different hand posture from the MX Master family.
  • Charging: TechRadar flags the charging arrangement as a consideration; inspect the current hardware and your desk setup before buying.
  • Controls: The cited material does not establish a comparable button count, thumb control system or horizontal-scroll mechanism.

Who should buy it

Buy the Magic Mouse 2 only when whole-surface macOS gestures are central to your workflow and you accept macOS-only use. For long creative sessions that benefit from palm support, a larger ergonomic mouse is usually the safer category.

How the four alternatives compare on the decisions that matter

Hand size, handedness and posture

The MX Master 4 and MX Master 3S are designed around a substantial ergonomic form, but the cited material does not provide dimensions or a left-hand version. The 3S is lighter in RTINGS’ testing, while the MX Master 4 is heavier. The Razer is described as ergonomic, but its dimensions and handedness are not stated here. The Keychron’s hand-size range and the Magic Mouse 2’s dimensions are likewise not established in the cited material. If you have small hands, use a left hand, or alternate hands, make shape and return policy your first checks rather than relying on product names.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Weight and portability

RTINGS’ tested figures are the only directly comparable weights available in the supplied evidence: 141.2 g for MX Master 3S and 151.8 g for MX Master 4. The 3S therefore offers the clearest lighter-MX-Master route. No tested weights are stated for the Keychron, Razer or Magic Mouse 2, so do not rank them by weight without checking current specifications.

Scrolling, horizontal movement and gestures

The Magic Mouse 2 is the only model here with a documented full-surface gesture pad. The MX Master 4’s newer Actions Ring and haptics are noted, while the 3S predates them. Exact wheel types, horizontal-scroll controls and gesture mappings for the Keychron and Razer are not stated in the cited material. For video timelines, spreadsheets and wide canvases, verify horizontal navigation specifically; a high DPI or high polling number does not guarantee it.

Buttons and programmability

The available data does not establish complete button counts or programmable-button limits for any model. Treat application-specific shortcuts as a buying requirement to verify, not an assumed feature. Ask whether the software supports per-application profiles, whether those profiles work on your operating system, and whether onboard memory is available if you move between computers.

Wireless, wired use and device switching

The MX Master 4 supports Bluetooth Low Energy and Logi Bolt and lists a 10 m wireless range. The Razer Pro Click V2 offers HyperSpeed 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth for up to three devices and USB-C wired operation. The cited material does not provide equivalent switching details for the Keychron, MX Master 3S or Magic Mouse 2. If you regularly move between computers, write down the exact number and type of connections you need before choosing.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Operating-system support

Logitech lists Windows 10/11, macOS 12+, Android 12+, iPadOS 15+, ChromeOS and Linux for the MX Master 4. Apple’s Magic Mouse 2 is identified as macOS-only. The supplied evidence does not give complete operating-system lists for the Keychron, Razer or MX Master 3S, so confirm support for every device you intend to use.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Sensor and polling needs

The MX Master 4 specifies 200–8,000 DPI and a 125 Hz report rate. The Keychron M6 8K is the high-polling alternative in this group. For office work and most creative applications, comfort, stable tracking, wheel control and shortcut access generally matter more than maximum polling. If you also play fast games, compare the exact polling modes, connection method and game compatibility rather than treating “8K” as a guarantee of better results.

Battery and charging

Logitech’s MX Master 4 figures are unusually clear: up to 70 days on a full charge and up to three hours after a one-minute USB-C fast charge, according to the 2025 launch announcement. Battery life, charging time and charging-port details for the alternatives are not stated in the supplied evidence. Obtain those figures from the current manufacturer specification before buying for travel or an always-on desk.

Choose by real-world scenario

Best value for a general office and creative desk

Start with the Keychron M6 8K because TechRadar’s cited price is $69.99 and its review calls it a direct productivity replacement. Confirm the missing shape, software and platform details first. If you prefer a known Logitech workflow and find a sale, the MX Master 3S is the lower-risk ergonomic choice.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Best for one mouse across work and gaming

Choose the Razer Pro Click V2. Its HyperSpeed 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth support for up to three devices and USB-C wired mode cover more connection situations than the evidence establishes for the other alternatives. Verify operating-system and application support before purchase.

Best for a Mac gesture-heavy workflow

Choose Apple Magic Mouse 2 only when the full top-surface gesture pad is the feature you will use every day. Accept its macOS-only status, flat shape and charging trade-off; otherwise, an ergonomic model is more versatile.

Best for an existing Logitech user

Choose MX Master 3S when you want the familiar family shape and software habits and can live without the MX Master 4’s Actions Ring and haptics. Its 141.2 g tested weight also makes it the lighter same-family option against the MX Master 4’s 151.8 g tested weight.

A practical buying checklist

  1. Measure the problem you are solving: Decide whether your priority is comfort, a lower price, gesture input, multi-device switching, gaming responsiveness or lower weight.
  2. Confirm your hand fit: Check dimensions, handedness and the retailer’s return policy, particularly if the cited evidence does not provide measurements.
  3. List every host device: Include Windows, Mac, Linux, tablets and phones. The MX Master 4’s published support list is broad; Magic Mouse 2 is macOS-only, and the alternatives require confirmation.
  4. Map your controls: Write down the buttons, horizontal scrolling, gestures and application shortcuts you use in your editor, design app, browser and office suite. Verify each one on the candidate mouse.
  5. Choose connection modes: Decide whether you need a receiver, Bluetooth, wired USB-C, or switching among several devices. The Razer’s documented combination is HyperSpeed, Bluetooth for up to three devices and USB-C wired.
  6. Check battery evidence: For the MX Master 4, use Logitech’s stated up-to-70-day figure and one-minute-to-three-hour fast-charge claim as the baseline. Require comparable manufacturer figures for other models.
  7. Recheck the price: The $69.99 Keychron and $119.99 MX Master 4 figures come from TechRadar’s 2026 comparison, while Logitech’s $119.99/€129.99 figure is a 2025 launch price. Regional taxes, sales and stock can change the ranking.

Bottom line by buyer type

  • Value and high polling: Keychron M6 8K, provided its unlisted fit and compatibility details meet your needs.
  • Work plus gaming: Razer Pro Click V2 for its documented HyperSpeed, multi-device Bluetooth and USB-C wired options.
  • Familiar Logitech ergonomics: MX Master 3S, especially when discounted and when Actions Ring or haptics are not essential.
  • Mac gestures above all else: Apple Magic Mouse 2, with macOS-only support and a flatter posture accepted.
  • Newest Logitech baseline: MX Master 4 if its broad platform support, 70-day battery claim and current controls justify the higher launch price.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.