iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
For most people, start with the JBL Xtreme 4. Its two woofers, two drivers and dual pumping bass radiators are designed for deeper bass and high-volume playback, while IP67 protection, a built-in powerbank and a replaceable battery make it practical outdoors. Choose the JBL Xtreme 5 if maximum output and bass outweigh portability, the Bose SoundLink Max if you want a premium all-rounder, or the Marshall Middleton II if its wide-sounding design appeals to you and you accept less certain loudness comparisons.
Which Sony alternative should you buy?
Sony’s portable Bluetooth speakers cover several sizes and sound profiles, so there is no single replacement that is automatically better. The right choice depends on whether you value maximum volume, bass weight, battery endurance, carrying weight, weather protection, charging flexibility or a particular sound character.
| Speaker | Best for | Evidence-backed strengths | Important trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| JBL Xtreme 4 | Most buyers seeking louder, deeper sound with outdoor practicality | JBL claims deeper bass and high-volume tuning; IP67; built-in powerbank; replaceable battery; Bluetooth 5.3; up to 60W RMS in AC mode | Power figures change between AC and battery operation; independent loudness measurements are not established here |
| JBL Xtreme 5 | Maximum output and bass | 130W output and 6.4lb/2.9kg weight reported by TechRadar in 2026; powerful bass; more durable and chunkier than Xtreme 4 according to What Hi-Fi | Heavier and less convenient to carry |
| Bose SoundLink Max | Premium all-round use | 20-hour battery claim, Bluetooth 5.3 and claimed 30ft/9m range reported by What Hi-Fi in 2026; TechRadar names it a top all-rounder | Published evidence here does not establish a comparable wattage or bass figure |
| Marshall Middleton II | Premium portable design and a broad presentation | Included in current comparison and buying-guide coverage as a competitive option | No standardized manufacturer loudness or bass figure was established in the available coverage |
These are different compromises rather than a universal ranking. Sound judgments vary with room size, listening distance, music, equalizer settings and personal preference. Manufacturer descriptions such as “deeper bass” are product positioning, not independent laboratory measurements.
What makes a speaker sound louder or deeper than a Sony?
Loudness is more than a watt number
Power ratings describe an amplifier or driver’s electrical output, but they do not directly tell you how loud a speaker will sound at a given distance. Driver sensitivity, enclosure design, digital signal processing, bass limits and distortion control all affect perceived volume. A speaker that maintains clean output as you increase the level can seem louder than one that becomes harsh or compresses early, even if their headline wattages look similar.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The JBL Xtreme 4’s official positioning is relevant because JBL says its tuning reduces distortion at high volume to maximize bass output and loudness. That is a manufacturer claim, not an independent measurement, but it addresses the practical problem many Sony owners experience when a compact speaker loses bass or sounds strained near its limit.
Deep bass needs air movement and control
Low frequencies require a driver and enclosure capable of moving sufficient air. The Xtreme 4 combines two woofers with two powerful drivers and dual pumping bass radiators. Those radiators are intended to reinforce low frequencies without requiring a much larger traditional port. The result should be a fuller presentation than a smaller portable speaker, although the exact amount of bass you hear depends on placement, material and volume.
Do not treat “bassier” as automatically better. Extra low-end energy can make dance, hip-hop and electronic music feel more physical, while acoustic, vocal or classical recordings may sound less balanced if the tuning is too warm for your preference. Listening position and nearby walls also change bass substantially.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteJBL Xtreme 4: the strongest all-round Sony alternative
Why it is the default recommendation
The Xtreme 4 has the clearest combination of evidence for the specific request of louder playback and deeper bass without giving up outdoor features. JBL specifies two woofers, two drivers and dual pumping bass radiators, and says the speaker is tuned for deeper bass, louder and crisper sound, and reduced distortion at high volume.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Its IP67 rating means the product is designed to be dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion under the rating’s test conditions. That is useful for beaches, pool areas and rainy commutes, but it does not make every connector or charging situation risk-free. Keep ports closed as directed by the manufacturer and let the speaker dry before charging if it becomes wet.
Power output changes with the power source
JBL’s online-store specification lists separate RMS figures:
| Operating mode | Woofer output | Tweeter output |
|---|---|---|
| AC mode | 2 × 30W RMS | 2 × 20W RMS |
| Battery mode | 2 × 20W RMS | 2 × 15W RMS |
That distinction matters when comparing the Xtreme 4 with another portable speaker. The AC figures total 100W RMS across the listed woofer and tweeter channels, while battery operation is lower at 70W RMS. These are channel ratings from JBL’s specification page, not a standardized maximum sound-pressure-level test, so they should not be used as a direct loudness ranking against a Sony model.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesUseful ownership features
- Bluetooth 5.3: the retailer specification identifies the wireless version; actual range and stability still depend on phones, walls and radio interference.
- Built-in powerbank: you can use the speaker to provide emergency power to a compatible device, although doing so reduces the energy available for playback.
- Replaceable battery: this can extend the product’s useful life compared with a sealed battery that has permanently degraded, but replacement availability, procedure and cost should be checked in your region.
- Outdoor protection: IP67 is valuable for dust and water exposure, but it is not a guarantee against impact damage, saltwater corrosion or charging while wet.
Who should choose it
Choose the Xtreme 4 when you want a substantial step up from a small Sony portable speaker, regularly listen outside, and care about a powerbank or battery replacement. It is also the sensible choice when you want strong bass without moving to the heavier Xtreme 5. If your priority is the absolute highest output, compare the Xtreme 5 instead.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
JBL Xtreme 5: maximum output when weight matters less
What the published figures tell you
TechRadar’s 2026 review reports 130W power output and a weight of 6.4lb (2.9kg), and describes the speaker as delivering powerful bass with strong battery performance. What Hi-Fi characterizes the Xtreme 5 as chunkier and more durable than the Xtreme 4.
The 130W figure is useful context, but it is not automatically equivalent to 130W RMS under the same conditions as the Xtreme 4 figures. Different manufacturers and publications can define power differently, and perceived loudness also depends on efficiency and signal processing. Use the number as an indication that the Xtreme 5 targets higher output, not as a laboratory comparison with Sony.
Where the extra size helps
A larger, heavier enclosure can accommodate drivers, radiators and amplification aimed at higher acoustic output. In practice, the Xtreme 5 makes more sense for a garden, large room or gathering where the speaker will stay in one place for long periods. Its 2.9kg weight is manageable for short carries, but it is a meaningful burden if you walk far, use public transport or pack light.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Who should choose it
Buy the Xtreme 5 if your first question is “Which option gets closest to a small party speaker while remaining portable?” and you are willing to trade carrying convenience for output and bass. For everyday travel, the Xtreme 4 is easier to justify unless you regularly use the additional headroom.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Bose SoundLink Max: the premium all-rounder
Battery and wireless details
What Hi-Fi’s 2026 coverage reports a 20-hour battery life, Bluetooth 5.3 and a claimed 30-foot/9-metre range for the SoundLink Max. Battery life is a stated claim and will vary with volume, content, temperature and feature use. The range figure is also a claim rather than a guarantee through walls or in a crowded wireless environment.
TechRadar names the SoundLink Max its top all-rounder in its current buying guide. That positioning suits listeners who want a polished, premium portable speaker rather than chasing a single bass or loudness metric. The available evidence does not establish a comparable wattage, maximum sound-pressure level or standardized bass extension, so it would be misleading to call it definitively louder or deeper than every Sony model.
When Bose is the better fit
- You want a premium speaker for mixed music, podcasts, television audio and casual outdoor use.
- You value a long stated 20-hour endurance figure more than a published high-output number.
- You prefer to make a decision based on overall refinement and usability rather than maximum bass claims.
If your primary goal is the most forceful low end at high volume, the JBL Xtreme line has clearer bass-focused evidence. If your goal is balance across many listening situations, the SoundLink Max deserves the closer audition.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Marshall Middleton II: a qualified design-led alternative
Current comparison and buying-guide coverage places the Marshall Middleton II in the same competitive set as the JBL and Bose models. It is relevant for listeners attracted to a premium, wide-sounding portable design. However, the available sources do not provide a manufacturer loudness specification or a reliable standardized comparison for bass depth.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
That evidence gap does not mean the Middleton II sounds poor. It means you should not buy it solely on an assertion that it is louder or deeper than Sony. If possible, listen to it with your own music at the distance and volume you normally use. Pay attention to vocal clarity, bass control and whether the speaker remains comfortable to carry.
How the alternatives compare on the features that matter
| Decision factor | JBL Xtreme 4 | JBL Xtreme 5 | Bose SoundLink Max | Marshall Middleton II |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| High-volume or bass evidence | JBL claims deeper bass, louder/crisper tuning and reduced distortion | 130W output and powerful bass reported by TechRadar, 2026 | No comparable wattage or standardized bass figure stated | No standardized loudness or bass figure stated |
| Weight | Not stated in the supplied specifications | 6.4lb/2.9kg, TechRadar 2026 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery endurance | Not stated | Strong battery performance described by TechRadar; duration not stated | 20 hours reported by What Hi-Fi, 2026 | Not stated |
| Water and dust protection | IP67 | Described as more durable than Xtreme 4 by What Hi-Fi; rating not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Powerbank | Built in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Replaceable battery | Yes, according to JBL product information | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bluetooth version | 5.3 in JBL retailer specifications | Not stated | 5.3, What Hi-Fi 2026 | Not stated |
| Claimed wireless range | Not stated | Not stated | 30ft/9m, What Hi-Fi 2026 | Not stated |
“Not stated” means the cited material does not establish a figure; it is not a claim that the feature is absent. Check the manufacturer’s page for the exact regional edition before ordering.
Choose by listening situation
For a garden, beach or pool area
The Xtreme 4 is the most straightforward choice because its IP67 rating, bass-focused design and powerbank are all documented. The Xtreme 5 is more appropriate if the area is large and you will accept its 2.9kg carrying weight. Keep either speaker out of direct spray and close all covers before exposure.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
For a large indoor room or party
Start with the Xtreme 5 when output is the priority. Its reported 130W figure and powerful-bass description indicate the intended use, although they are not a standardized loudness test. The Xtreme 4 is the better compromise when you need to move the speaker frequently or want the replaceable-battery feature.
For travel and everyday mixed listening
The Bose SoundLink Max is the most defensible premium all-rounder based on current buying-guide coverage and its stated 20-hour battery life. Consider the Xtreme 4 if dust and water resistance, a powerbank and bass emphasis are more important than a premium all-purpose presentation.
For design and a broad presentation
Consider the Marshall Middleton II after hearing it in person or checking a generous local return policy. The available coverage supports it as a competitive design-led option, but not as a verified loudness champion.
How to get more volume and bass from any portable speaker
- Place it on a solid surface. A stable table or floor prevents rattles that waste energy and add unpleasant noise.
- Use boundaries deliberately. Positioning near a wall can increase perceived bass, while placing a speaker in an open field generally sounds less reinforced. Avoid blocking drivers or radiators.
- Keep the listening distance realistic. A speaker that sounds powerful at one metre may not fill a large garden evenly. Move closer or use a second compatible speaker if the product supports that function.
- Set the source device cleanly. Disable extreme equalizer boosts that cause clipping. Increase bass in small steps and reduce it if vocals become muddy or the speaker sounds strained.
- Use the correct power mode. On the Xtreme 4, the published RMS figures are higher in AC mode than battery mode. Connect mains power when you need the documented AC output and have safe access to an outlet.
- Protect battery charge. Very low charge can reduce available playback headroom on some portable designs. Start an outdoor session with a full battery and avoid using a speaker as a powerbank unless necessary.
Buying pitfalls and checks
- Do not equate watts with loudness. Confirm how a figure was measured and whether it refers to RMS, peak or a marketing maximum.
- Do not treat a bass claim as a frequency-response test. “Deeper bass” describes product positioning unless an independent measurement is provided.
- Separate AC and battery specifications. The Xtreme 4 demonstrates why the operating mode must stay attached to the number.
- Check the exact regional model. Prices, stock, warranty terms and replacement-battery service vary by country and retailer.
- Verify current price at checkout. No fixed price is established here; marketplace listings and promotions change, and a higher-priced model may not deliver the feature you value most.
- Confirm what “waterproof” covers. IP ratings describe test conditions, not every type of water, impact or long-term exposure.
- Plan for carrying weight. The Xtreme 5’s 6.4lb/2.9kg specification is easy to overlook when comparing only sound claims.
- Use return rights for subjective sound decisions. Room acoustics, music choice and personal taste can make two technically strong speakers feel very different.
Bottom line
The JBL Xtreme 4 is the best evidence-backed alternative for most Sony portable-speaker owners who want deeper bass, louder clean playback and dependable outdoor features. Move to the JBL Xtreme 5 when maximum output is worth carrying 2.9kg. Pick the Bose SoundLink Max for a premium all-round experience with a reported 20-hour battery claim. Treat the Marshall Middleton II as a style- and presentation-led option rather than a proven loudness upgrade, because standardized bass and output figures are not established.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

