Recommended Free Tools
Apple’s iOS 17.4.1 version number stayed the same when the reported build changed from 21E236 to 21E237 in March 2024. Apple has not publicly explained what the revised build changed. The separate security record for the March 21 release documents a CoreMedia fix, but it does not connect that fix to build 21E237.
What changed in the revised iOS 17.4.1 build?
The build identifier changed, not the version label. Apple first released iOS 17.4.1 as build 21E236 on March 21, 2024. On March 27, 9to5Mac reported a revised build, 21E237, still labeled iOS 17.4.1. The report did not identify a specific change or fix in 21E237.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Apple iPhone 14, 128GB, Midnight - Unlocked (Renewed) | $300.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Apple iPhone 16, 128GB, Pink - Unlocked (Renewed) | $574.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Apple iPhone 15, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | $409.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Apple iPhone 13, 128GB, Midnight - Unlocked (Renewed) | $262.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Apple iPhone 16e, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | $389.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| Detail | Original release | Revised build reported |
|---|---|---|
| Version label | iOS 17.4.1 | iOS 17.4.1 |
| Build identifier | 21E236 | 21E237 |
| Date | March 21, 2024 | March 27, 2024 report |
| Distribution described | Apple’s release record dates the update to March 21; the cited release coverage does not specify a distinct distribution method. | 9to5Mac reported IPSW availability through Finder or Apple Devices at that time; it said OTA availability had not yet appeared. |
| Revision-specific explanation | No separate explanation applies to the initial build. | Not stated by Apple in the cited sources. |
The build number is a more specific identifier than the version label. Seeing iOS 17.4.1 alone does not tell you whether a device received 21E236 or 21E237.
Why did Apple issue build 21E237?
The reason is not established in the cited sources. Apple did not publish a revision-specific explanation for 21E237, so it would be speculation to say it fixed a critical bug, improved performance, or added a security patch.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Apple’s security record describes a vulnerability addressed in the iOS 17.4.1 release, but it does not say that the vulnerability prompted the later build revision. Apple’s general disclosure policy says it does not disclose or confirm security issues until an investigation has occurred and patches or releases are available; that policy does not explain this particular build change.
What security fix did iOS 17.4.1 document?
Apple’s security record for iOS 17.4.1 and iPadOS 17.4.1, dated March 21, 2024, lists CVE-2024-1580 in CoreMedia. Apple describes an out-of-bounds write addressed with improved input validation and says that processing an image may lead to arbitrary code execution. Apple credits Nick Galloway of Google Project Zero with reporting the issue. Apple’s security-content record lists affected devices and its technical description.
Rank #2
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, Dolby Vision, 1000nits (typ), 2000nits (HBM), 2556x1179px at 460ppi, 3561mAh Battery
- 128GB 8GB RAM, Apple A18 (3nm), Hexa-core (2x4.04 GHz + 4x2.20 GHz), Apple GPU 5-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/32/34/38/39/40/41/42/48/53/66/71, 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/53/66/70/71/75/76/77/78/79 - Dual eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint., Etc.
Apple lists iPhone XS and later, along with these iPad models: iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd generation and later), iPad Pro 10.5-inch, iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation and later), iPad Air (3rd generation and later), iPad (6th generation and later), and iPad mini (5th generation and later). The record’s CoreMedia entry is the authoritative description; matching headings in secondary coverage do not establish a second, separate CVE.
Apple’s generic release note, reproduced in 9to5Mac’s March 21 coverage, says: “This update provides important bug fixes and security updates and is recommended for all users.” That statement refers to the iOS 17.4.1 release and does not spell out what changed in build 21E237. 9to5Mac’s original release coverage includes the note.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- 6.1inch Super Retina XDR display. Aluminum with color-infused glass back. Ring/Silent switch
- Dynamic Island. A magical way to interact with iPhone. A16 Bionic chip with 5-core GPU
- Advanced dual-camera system. 48MP Main | Ultra Wide. Super-high-resolution photos (24MP and 48MP). Next-generation portraits with Focus and Depth Control. 4X optical zoom range
- Emergency SOS via satellite. Crash Detection. Roadside Assistance via satellite
- Up to 26 hours video playback. USB C, Supports USB 2. Face ID
How was build 21E237 installed?
In its March 27, 2024 report, 9to5Mac said the revised IPSW could be installed using Finder or Apple Devices and that an over-the-air (OTA) update had not yet appeared. This describes availability at the time of that report, not current distribution or what a particular iPhone will offer now. Read the March 27 report for that historical snapshot.
For current availability, check Software Update on your device or consult current Apple guidance. The cited report does not establish whether either build is available for installation today. It also does not make manual IPSW installation necessary for ordinary OTA updating.
Rank #4
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
- Product may come in generic Box.
What can you conclude about 21E237?
21E237 was a revised build identifier reported for the same iOS 17.4.1 version label. The report documents a temporary distribution detail, while Apple’s public security record documents the release’s CoreMedia fix. Neither source explains the revision itself, so the specific change in 21E237 remains unknown.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, 800 nits (HBM), 1200 nits (peak), 2532x1170px at 460ppi, 4005mAh Battery
- 8GB RAM, Apple A18 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency cores), Apple GPU 4-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18.3.1, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- Connectivity: Global 4G LTE, Sub-6 GHz 5G, LTE, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, USB-C, Wireless Charging (7.5W). (does not have mmWave 5G or MagSafe or physical SIM card) - Dual eSIM Only
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Straight Talk., Etc.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

