Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Verdict: The Alienware 16X Aurora is a capable 16-inch gaming laptop whose best reasons to buy are its high-refresh display, strong HX-series processor performance, sturdy construction, practical ports and unusually accessible RAM, SSD and battery. Its substantial weight, merely adequate battery endurance, loud fans at full load and configuration-dependent screen make it better as a portable desktop replacement than as an everyday commuter.
Choose the exact SKU carefully. Reviews identify both a 240Hz OLED panel and a 240Hz IPS panel, while RTX 5060 and RTX 5070 versions can differ in power limits and real-world speed. The model is most convincing when a sale gives you the higher-power GPU and the configuration includes the display you actually want.
What the Alienware 16X Aurora is
The 16X Aurora is a large gaming notebook built around Intel HX processors and NVIDIA GeForce RTX graphics. It occupies the middle ground between a conventional gaming laptop and a desktop replacement: it has enough cooling, expansion and connectivity for sustained workloads, but its mass and charger make daily carrying less pleasant than its thin-and-light appearance might suggest.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The chassis uses an understated Interstellar Indigo finish, rounded edges, aluminum panels and minimal exterior lighting. A broad intake vent supplies the cooling system, while the rear power connector and rear I/O keep cables away from the mouse area. That layout is useful at a desk, where the computer can remain connected to an external display, network and peripherals.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Tom’s Hardware called the machine capable and well rounded, highlighting the display, productivity performance and build quality while noting its weight and middling battery life. Those trade-offs define the buying decision more than any single benchmark.
Configurations, prices and value
There is no single universal 16X Aurora specification. Processor, graphics, memory, storage, display and regional pricing vary. The owner’s manual lists Core Ultra 5 235HX, Core Ultra 7 255HX and Core Ultra 9 275HX options. Graphics options are GeForce RTX 5060 and RTX 5070, each with 8GB of GDDR7 memory.
| Reviewed or documented configuration | Processor | Graphics | Memory and storage | Display | Price at review |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tom’s Hardware test unit | Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus | RTX 5060, 8GB GDDR7, 115W | 16GB DDR5-5600; 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSD | 16-inch, 2560×1600, 240Hz OLED with G-Sync | $2,279.99 configured price |
| PCWorld test configuration | Core Ultra 9 275HX | RTX 5070 | Not stated in the cited price report | Not stated in the cited price report | $1,999 at review |
| Windows Central test configuration | Core Ultra 9 275HX | RTX 5070 | 32GB RAM; 1TB SSD | Not stated in the cited performance report | $1,999.99 listed price |
These figures are snapshots, not permanent prices. Regional taxes, promotions and stock can change the value substantially. The apparently faster RTX 5070 configuration costing less than the tested RTX 5060 system illustrates why you should compare the complete specification and current street price rather than relying on the model name.
Recommended Free Tools
For a fair comparison with another gaming laptop, check five items together: the GPU’s configured wattage, the screen technology and brightness, installed memory and SSD capacity, weight, and the price on the day you buy. An RTX 5060 or RTX 5070 label alone does not guarantee identical performance across laptops.
Gaming performance: what to expect from RTX 5060 and RTX 5070 versions
The RTX 5060 model can run demanding games at the panel’s native 2560×1600 resolution when settings and upscaling are chosen sensibly. The RTX 5070 version provides more headroom for higher presets, ray tracing and future games, but its advantage depends on the power limit and cooling profile of the particular SKU.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Game and test conditions | Result |
|---|---|
| 007 First Light, 2560×1600, medium, DLSS on, frame generation off; Tom’s Hardware RTX 5060 unit | 60–70 fps |
| Forza Horizon 5, 1600p Extreme, DLSS and frame generation disabled; Windows Central RTX 5070 unit | 113 fps |
| Gears 5, 1600p Ultra; Windows Central RTX 5070 unit | 105 fps |
| Call of Duty: Black Ops 6, 1600p Extreme, DLSS Performance; Windows Central RTX 5070 unit | 94 fps |
| Cyberpunk 2077, 1600p Ultra ray tracing, DLSS Auto; Windows Central RTX 5070 unit | 57 fps |
The results are not directly interchangeable: they use different GPUs, games and quality settings. In particular, DLSS Performance renders internally below native resolution, while frame generation was disabled in the listed tests. Treat the numbers as examples of the performance range, not a promise for every Aurora configuration.
How to choose between the GPUs
- RTX 5060: Appropriate when the price is clearly lower and you are comfortable using DLSS or reducing demanding ray-tracing settings. The documented 115W implementation is capable at 1600p.
- RTX 5070: The better fit for buyers who want more native-resolution headroom, higher presets or a longer useful gaming life. Verify its wattage and the laptop’s performance mode before assuming a large uplift.
- Either GPU: Keep the 8GB VRAM limit in mind for particularly demanding future games and high-resolution texture packs.
The display is excellent, but verify the panel before buying
The strongest display specification attached to the 16X Aurora is a 16-inch 2560×1600 OLED panel running at 240Hz with G-Sync. That combination delivers a sharp 16:10 workspace, very fast motion handling and variable-refresh support for gaming.
However, WIRED’s earlier tested unit used a 2500×1600 240Hz IPS panel instead. It covered 88% of AdobeRGB and 100% of sRGB and reached a measured peak brightness of 557 nits. WIRED specifically noted that this version was neither OLED nor Mini-LED. Because both descriptions refer to the Aurora family, the panel generation cannot safely be generalized.
What to check on a retailer listing
- Confirm the native resolution exactly as listed for the SKU.
- Look for the panel technology: OLED and IPS are materially different in contrast, black levels and potential image-retention behavior.
- Confirm the 240Hz refresh rate and G-Sync support.
- Check the stated brightness and color coverage if creative work matters.
- Save a screenshot or copy of the configuration page before ordering, since similarly named regional models may use different screens.
For gaming, both panel types share the important 240Hz and high-resolution characteristics reported in the reviews. For photo or video work, the measured IPS color coverage and brightness are useful evidence, but they should not be applied to an OLED SKU without confirmation.
Build, dimensions and everyday portability
The aluminum-sided chassis feels more substantial than a thin office notebook. WIRED measured 5.76 pounds and 0.92 inches at the rear; Dell’s manual lists a minimum weight of 2.66kg, so the exact figure can vary by configuration. The difference is noticeable in a backpack, especially once the power adapter is included.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
This is manageable for moving between rooms or occasional travel, but it is not an ideal daily-carry machine for a student commuting on foot or by public transport. The practical compromise is to leave the charger at a desk when possible and use the Aurora as a semi-stationary workstation.
Ports and wireless connectivity
The port selection is suited to a desk setup:
- Thunderbolt 4
- USB-C with power delivery
- Two USB-A ports
- HDMI 2.1
- Gigabit Ethernet
- 3.5mm audio jack
- Wi-Fi 7
The rear placement of the power connector and some I/O helps keep the sides clear for a mouse. The omissions are an SD card reader and Thunderbolt 5. Creators who regularly transfer camera cards will need a separate reader; users seeking the newest Thunderbolt specification should not assume that Thunderbolt 4 is equivalent.
Thermals and noise under sustained load
The cooling system is effective rather than quiet. In Tom’s Hardware’s 15-loop Metro Exodus stress test, the area between the G and H keys reached 101°F, the touchpad measured 83°F and the underside near the exhaust reached 101°F. Average temperatures were 67°C for the CPU and 73°C for the RTX 5060.
Windows Central found that the HX processor maintained performance without obvious throttling in Overdrive mode. The trade-off is fan noise: at full throttle the fans are loud. Use headphones or a desk location when gaming at maximum performance, and expect a quieter result only when using a lower performance profile.
Battery life: adequate for work, poor for unplugged gaming
The Aurora carries a 96Wh battery, close to the practical airline limit for a laptop. Endurance is acceptable for mixed light use but not class-leading. Tom’s Hardware recorded 7 hours 58 minutes in a Wi-Fi web, OpenGL and video-streaming test with the display set to 150 nits. PCWorld measured 407 minutes, just under seven hours, in its battery test.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Windows Central observed 16% battery loss after one hour of Office work and 20% after one hour of HD video. Gaming unplugged lasted only about one to two hours and came with a performance penalty. Serious gaming therefore requires the charger, and buyers should plan around an outlet rather than treating the Aurora as a long-haul travel system.
Keyboard, touchpad, speakers and webcam
Keyboard and touchpad
The full-size layout includes a numeric keypad, but Windows Central found the ten-key area cramped and the key feel soft. That may suit occasional number entry but is less appealing to users who type extensively. The touchpad was described as smooth and responsive.
Speakers and lighting
The speakers sound clean but lack bass. The single-zone RGB backlight is usable in dim surroundings yet too subdued for a bright room, so it is not a substitute for strong per-key lighting if keyboard visibility is a priority.
Webcam
The 1080p IR webcam supports Windows Hello. Tom’s Hardware observed slight grain and noted the absence of a privacy shutter. It is convenient for sign-in and ordinary calls, but a separate webcam is preferable for consistently polished video.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRAM and SSD upgradeability
Serviceability is one of the Aurora’s clearest advantages. There are two DDR5 SODIMM slots and two M.2 2280 storage slots. Dell documents support for up to 64GB of memory and up to 2TB per supported M.2 2280 slot. The 96Wh battery is replaceable.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
If you add a second SSD, Dell specifies the appropriate thermal shield and thermal pad. Do not install a bare drive without the required cooling hardware, and verify the drive’s physical format before opening the chassis.
Planning a memory upgrade
- Check the installed module layout and the memory specification shown for your exact unit.
- Choose compatible DDR5 SODIMM modules; matching capacities are preferable for a balanced configuration.
- Shut down Windows completely, disconnect the charger and follow Dell’s service instructions for removing the bottom cover.
- Install the modules in the two SODIMM slots, then confirm the total capacity in BIOS or Windows.
Adding a second M.2 SSD
- Confirm that the second M.2 2280 position is free and that you have the Dell-specified thermal shield and pad.
- Back up important data before opening the laptop.
- Fit the SSD into the second slot, secure it, and install the thermal hardware as specified by Dell.
- Boot into Windows, open Disk Management, initialize the drive if prompted, and create a volume with a drive letter.
These slots make it practical to start with a smaller, less expensive system drive and expand later, or to separate games and project files from the operating-system drive.
Who should buy the Alienware 16X Aurora?
It suits you if
- You want a high-resolution, high-refresh gaming display and are willing to verify the exact panel.
- You run CPU-heavy work that benefits from an HX processor.
- You prefer a sturdy, understated chassis over flashy lighting.
- You expect to add RAM or storage instead of replacing the laptop quickly.
- You mainly use the computer at a desk and value rear-mounted connectivity.
Look elsewhere if
- You carry a laptop all day for college or commuting and need the lightest possible setup.
- You need all-day battery life or frequent unplugged gaming.
- You require an SD card slot, Thunderbolt 5 or a strong built-in speaker system.
- You want a quiet machine while playing demanding games.
- You need a numeric keypad with generous spacing or bright per-key RGB lighting.
How it compares with other gaming laptops
Tom’s Hardware directly compared the Aurora with the Acer Nitro V 16S AI, Asus TUF Gaming F16 and Gigabyte Aero X16. The useful lesson from that comparison is methodological rather than a universal ranking: evaluate GPU wattage and measured game performance alongside screen technology and brightness, weight, battery endurance, ports, upgradeability and current street price.
A lighter competitor may be easier to carry but provide less sustained GPU power. A model with a brighter IPS screen may be preferable for daytime work, while an OLED option can offer stronger contrast. A laptop with one storage slot may be thinner but less flexible than the Aurora’s two-slot design. Compare the complete configurations, not just processor or GPU names.
Buying checklist
- Record the exact SKU: processor, GPU, GPU wattage, RAM, SSD and panel type.
- Verify the display: resolution, OLED or IPS, 240Hz refresh, G-Sync and brightness.
- Check the price in your region: the reviewed $1,999-to-$2,279.99 figures are historical snapshots and may not match current listings.
- Budget for storage hardware: a second SSD may require Dell’s thermal shield and pad.
- Plan your desk setup: include the charger, Ethernet cable, external storage or card reader if your work needs them.
- Measure your bag: account for a 16-inch chassis weighing at least 2.66kg before accessories.
Final assessment
The Alienware 16X Aurora earns its place as a well-rounded gaming laptop through a combination of strong processor performance, capable RTX graphics, a potentially excellent 240Hz display, useful connectivity and uncommon upgrade access. It is not a lightweight campus companion, and its battery and acoustic behavior are compromises you should accept before purchase.
The best deal is the configuration that combines a full-power GPU with the panel you want at a competitive current price. Verify those details at checkout, and the Aurora is a sensible desktop-replacement choice with room to grow.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors

