Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose Procreate for expressive raster drawing, painting, comics, hand lettering, and the fastest iPad sketchbook workflow. Choose Affinity when you need editable vector paths, typography, artboards, mixed pixel-and-vector documents, print output, or serious photo editing. Affinity’s current all-in-one app combines Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, but its product page says iPadOS is “coming soon.” A separate Affinity Photo 2 for iPad listing documents extensive RAW and photo tools. Check the exact Affinity iPad release you intend to use before committing. Procreate is available from the App Store with no subscription.

Quick decision: which app fits your work?

Need Better starting point Why
Painterly illustration, concept sketches, comics, or hand lettering Procreate Its iPad-native workflow, more than 300 handcrafted brushes, customizable Brush Studio, gesture controls, and pressure-sensitive Apple Pencil support prioritize direct drawing.
Logos, icons, diagrams, or artwork that must remain vector-editable Affinity Vector tools create editable paths that scale without pixelation and can coexist with raster layers in one document.
Typography, multiple artboards, or a poster, social campaign, or brand system Affinity Vector and Layout studios provide typography, artboards, and page-oriented composition rather than a single-canvas painting workflow.
RAW development, masks, retouching, HDR, panoramas, or professional color Affinity Photo 2 for iPad The iPad listing documents non-destructive RAW development, live filters and masks, HDR Merge, panorama stitching, broad color spaces, and 16-bit and 32-bit workflows.
A simple, low-friction sketchbook Procreate It was designed specifically for iPad touch input and keeps the interface centered on drawing rather than document production.
One document that moves between illustration, layout, and photo work Affinity Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios are designed to work in the same document, with professional import and export options.
Starting a project in a painting app and finishing it in a layout or photo editor Use both, if compatible versions support your transfer Procreate can provide the expressive raster artwork; Affinity can add vectors, typography, layout, or advanced image processing. Verify the exact file formats and feature support first.

These are feature-fit recommendations from the developers’ published documentation, not claims from an independent speed, latency, or image-quality test.

What the two products actually are

Procreate is an iPad-first raster art app

Procreate is built around painting pixels on an iPad canvas. Its official product information lists more than 300 handcrafted brushes, a Brush Studio for customizing brushes, layers and blend modes, QuickShape, StreamLine, Drawing Assist, Page Assist, and 3D painting for USDZ and OBJ models. Apple Pencil input is central to the experience, including pressure-sensitive strokes and touch gestures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That focus makes Procreate feel like a digital sketchbook: you open a canvas, draw immediately, and use a compact set of gestures and tools to keep the artwork moving. It does not try to be a page-layout application or a full vector design environment. Artwork is stored locally on the iPad, so important files should be exported or backed up rather than left only in the app.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Apple Pencil (USB-C): Device Compatibility Check Required | Pixel-Perfect Precision, Tilt Sensitivity, Perfect for Note-Taking, Drawing, & Signing Documents. Charges and Pairs w/ USB-C
  • WHY APPLE PENCIL - With pixel-perfect precision, tilt sensitivity, and low latency, Apple Pencil (USB-C) makes note-taking, signing documents, and drawing easy at an affordable price. It pairs and charges via USB-C and can magnetically attach to your iPad.
  • COMPATIBILITY - Apple Pencil (USB-C) works with iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5); iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th generation); iPad Pro 11-inch (M4 and M5); iPad Pro 11-inch (1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th generation); iPad Air 13-inch (M2, M3, M4); iPad Air 11-inch (M2 and M3); iPad Air (4th and 5th generation); iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro), iPad mini (6th generation); and iPad (10th generation).
  • EASY AND NATURAL - Write, sketch, and draw with pixel-perfect precision. Apple Pencil (USB-C) does it all with low latency and tilt sensitivity. Apple Pencil pairs and charges via USB-C and features a flat edge that attaches magnetically.
  • TRANSFORMS IPAD INTO A CANVAS - Draw, sketch, color, take notes, and mark up documents. Use built-in apps like Notes and Freeform, or choose from over a million more apps available on the App Store. And for pros, use Apple Pencil hover on iPad Pro and iPad Air to preview your mark before you make it.
  • WHAT'S IN THE BOX - Apple Pencil (USB-C)

Affinity’s current all-in-one app combines three studios

Affinity describes its newer product as an all-in-one creative app for crafting designs, editing images, and laying out documents. Its Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios are intended to work without leaving the document. The published feature set includes non-destructive editing, RAW editing, retouching, batch processing, HDR merge, panorama stitching, and import of PSD, AI, PDF, SVG, and IDML files, with print-ready CMYK output.

This is a broader design-and-production environment than a painting-only app. You can draw pixel artwork, construct vector paths, set type, arrange artboards, and prepare a print or digital deliverable in one project. Affinity says this combination is aimed at professional digital illustration where vector precision and raster flexibility are both required.

Do not confuse the new Affinity app with Affinity Photo 2 for iPad

The current Affinity product page says the new all-in-one app is available on Windows and macOS, with “iPadOS coming soon,” and says a Canva account is required. Separately, an App Store listing for Affinity Photo 2 for iPad documents an established iPad photo application with RAW development and advanced retouching features.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Those statements describe different product listings. If you are choosing an iPad app today, check whether you are considering Affinity Photo 2 for iPad or waiting for the newer all-in-one Affinity release. Do not assume that every desktop feature or every studio in the new product is already present on iPadOS.

Illustration: raster brushwork versus editable construction

Where Procreate has the advantage

Procreate is the stronger default for an illustration that depends on the feel of a brush. Its published library contains more than 300 handcrafted brushes, and Brush Studio lets you alter brush behavior instead of accepting a fixed preset. Pressure-sensitive Apple Pencil input, tilt and touch gestures, QuickShape, StreamLine, and Drawing Assist cover the common steps between rough sketching and finished line work.

Page Assist can organize pages in a document, while layers and blend modes support separated line art, color, shading, and effects. For comics, concept sketches, painted portraits, textured lettering, and other work where the mark itself is the design, this concentrated toolset reduces the number of panels and document settings you must manage.

Rank #2
Sale
Apple Pencil Pro: Latest Model - Device Compatibility Check Required | Pixel-Perfect Precision, Tilt & Pressure Sensitivity, Perfect for Note-Taking, Drawing, and Art. Charges & Pairs Magnetically
  • WHY APPLE PENCIL PRO — Apple Pencil Pro is loaded with intuitive features for ultimate creative control. Gestures and haptics allow you to seamlessly create without missing a beat. And Apple Pencil Pro features pixel-perfect precision, tilt and pressure sensitivity, and low latency. Attaches magnetically for wireless pairing and charging.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Apple Pencil Pro works with iPad Pro 13-inch (M5 and M4), iPad Pro 11-inch (M5 and M4), iPad Air 11-inch (M2, M3, and M4), iPad Air 13-inch (M2, M3, and M4), and iPad mini (A17 Pro).
  • ADVANCED TOOLS — Apple Pencil Pro gives you ultimate creative control. Use gestures like squeeze and barrel roll to access tools, change brushes, and create strokes without missing a beat. Haptics allow you to feel shapes snap into place, and more. Use Apple Pencil hover on iPad Pro (M5 and M4) and iPad Air (M3 and M2) to preview your mark before you make it. And now you can use Find My to locate your Apple Pencil Pro.
  • EASY AND NATURAL — Apple Pencil Pro does it all with pixel-perfect precision, tilt and pressure sensitivity, and low latency. Featuring a flat edge, Apple Pencil Pro allows you to change tools with just the tap of a finger. Apple Pencil Pro attaches, charges, and pairs magnetically.
  • TRANSFORMS IPAD INTO A CANVAS — Draw, sketch, color, take notes, and mark up documents. Use built-in apps like Notes and Freeform, or choose from over a million more apps available on the App Store. And for pros, use Apple Pencil hover on iPad Pro and iPad Air (M2) to preview your mark before you make it.

Procreate also includes 3D painting for USDZ and OBJ models. That is useful when an illustration requires painting directly on a model, but it does not turn Procreate into a general 3D modeling or page-layout application.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Where Affinity has the advantage

Affinity is the better fit when an illustration must remain structurally editable. Vector paths can be reshaped, combined, aligned, and scaled to any output size without becoming blocky. That matters for logos, icons, diagrams, packaging, signage, and illustrations that will be reused at several dimensions.

Affinity’s documented workflow lets you switch between vector and raster tools in the same document. A typical composition might use vector paths for a logo and lettering, pixel layers for painted texture, and Layout studio features for an artboard or finished page. This avoids exporting a painted image to another program merely to add type or arrange a final page.

Procreate can produce clean line art and lettering, but its native artwork remains raster. If you need to edit individual curves or guarantee resolution-independent output, Affinity’s vector model is the important distinction.

Illustration feature comparison

Illustration task Procreate Affinity
Expressive brush painting More than 300 handcrafted brushes, Brush Studio customization, pressure-sensitive Apple Pencil input Pixel studio and raster tools, with vector and layout tools available in the same document
Scalable logos and icons Raster artwork; scaling eventually depends on the canvas resolution Editable vector paths designed for resolution-independent output
Typography and multi-page composition Primarily a canvas-based drawing workflow Typography, artboards, and Layout studio are part of the documented feature set
Sketching controls QuickShape, StreamLine, Drawing Assist, gestures, and Page Assist Vector precision plus pixel tools; the broader document model has more production controls
3D painting Painting on USDZ and OBJ models is documented Not stated in the supplied product information

Photo editing: why Affinity is the more capable choice

RAW development and non-destructive adjustments

Affinity Photo 2 for iPad documents a dedicated 16-bit RAW workspace and non-destructive RAW development. It also supports live filters and masks, so adjustments can remain editable rather than permanently changing the original pixels. That is a materially different priority from a painting app whose main job is creating strokes on a blank canvas.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a camera workflow, the ability to revisit a RAW interpretation, isolate an adjustment with a mask, and preserve layers is more important than the size of a brush library. Affinity’s published photo feature set is therefore the stronger match for photographers and illustrators who routinely process camera originals.

Rank #3
Sale
JAMJAKE Stylus Pen for iPad 6-11th Gen 2X Fast Charge, Palm Rejection-White | Tilt Sensitivity, USB-C Charge, Compatible with 2018-2026 Apple Pencil iPad Pro 11/12.9/13, Air 3/4/5/M2/M3/M4, mini 5/6/7
  • 【Compatible with 2018-2026 iPad & iPad Pro】The stylus supports for iPad series 2018-2026 model: iPad Pro 13" (M4), iPad Pro 12.9"(3rd/4th/5th/6th), iPad Pro 11"(All Generations), iPad Air M4/M3/M2/5th/4th/3rd Gen, iPad 11th/10th/9th/8th/7th/6th, iPad Mini 7th/6th/5th Gen. Please confirm your devices before you place an order, another model is invalid
  • 【Not compatible with models before 2018】The stylus doesn't support iPad pro 1st&2nd, iPad pro 10.5", iPad pro 9.7", iPad 1 to 5 Gen, iPad mini 1 to 4 Gen, iPad Air 1st/2nd Gen versions of iPad. Not Compatible With iPhone, Android, Microsoft devices.iPad 10gen cannt use magnetic attraction.
  • 【Precise and Smooth】1.5mm pen tip can replace your finger to execute finer instructions, it easy to install and tear off the tips on your stylus pen without any tool. No lag/offset/breaking point!Compared with the ordinary stylus pen, it has higher sensitivity, more accurate signal, more comfortable hand. Not easy to break!【 Note 】The stylus pen no pressure-sensitive design.
  • 【Palm Rejection Design】Stylus pen with palm rejection technology, rest your hand naturally on the screen while writing or drawing, effortless interaction with your screen, gives you more accuracy and control against the screen. We commend you to use this pen on the iPad with a glass screen protector.
  • 【Touch Switch & Fast Charging】Activate this stylus pen with a simple touch of the cap button. A quick 5-15 minute charge provides 15 hours of work time. Please note: Ensure Bluetooth is enabled on your iPad for normal use, no pairing required.

Retouching, HDR, and panoramas

The Affinity Photo 2 listing includes retouching and object removal, HDR Merge, and panorama stitching. These tools cover common multi-image and cleanup tasks that Procreate’s documented feature list does not present as its focus. Affinity’s newer product page also lists batch processing, which is useful when the same operation must be applied to a group of files.

Large files and professional color

Affinity Photo 2 for iPad lists support for images over 100 megapixels. It also documents RGB, CMYK, Greyscale, and LAB color, plus 16-bit and 32-bit workflows. Those options matter when a job is headed to a print process, requires wide tonal precision, or starts with a very large camera file.

Procreate supports layers, blend modes, and effects for image-based artwork, but the supplied Procreate documentation does not establish equivalent RAW, HDR, panorama, color-space, or 100-megapixel capabilities. For photo editing, Affinity is the safer choice based on the published feature lists.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Photo-editing feature comparison

Photo requirement Affinity Photo 2 for iPad Procreate
RAW files Non-destructive RAW development and a dedicated 16-bit RAW workspace are documented Not stated in the supplied product information
Masks and filters Live filters and masks are documented Layers, blend modes, and effects are documented; equivalent photo workflow is not established
Retouching Retouching and object removal are documented Not presented as a dedicated photo-retouching feature set
HDR and panoramas HDR Merge and panorama stitching are documented Not stated
Very large images Support for images over 100 megapixels is listed Not stated
Color and bit depth RGB, CMYK, Greyscale, and LAB; 16-bit and 32-bit workflows Not stated in the supplied product information

Vectors, typography, artboards, and print output

Affinity’s main advantage over Procreate is not simply that it has more tools; it is that the tools represent the artwork differently. A vector object remains a path with editable geometry. Text remains typography that can be changed and aligned. Artboards let one document contain several related sizes or variations. Layout tools help you assemble the final page instead of flattening everything into a painted canvas.

Affinity’s product information also lists import for PSD, AI, PDF, SVG, and IDML files and print-ready CMYK output. The exact behavior of effects, fonts, linked assets, and unsupported features can vary by file and version, so inspect a transferred document before delivery. Still, these formats make Affinity the more natural center for a project shared with design, publishing, or print workflows.

Procreate is excellent when the deliverable is a finished raster illustration or an editable Procreate document. It is less suitable as the sole application when a client expects live vector paths, multiple artboards, editable type, or a press-oriented color setup.

Rank #4
Sale
Hastraith Stylus Pen for iPad 2018-2026,13Min Fast Charge Apple iPad Pencil | Tilt Sensitivity & Palm Rejection for iPad 11/10/9/8/7/6th Gen, Air 5/4/3/M4/M3/M2, Pro 13"/12.9"/11"/M4, Mini 7/6/5th, White
  • 🖊【Wide Compatibility】: Stylus pen supports iPad 2018-2026 series:iPad 11th 11 inch 2025/10/9/8/7/6th Gen,iPad Air 11 inch (M4) 2026/13 inch (M4) 2026/7/6/5/4/3th Gen,iPad Pro 13 inch M4,iPad Pro 12.9 inch 3/4/5/6th Gen,iPad Pro 11 inch 1/2/3/4th/M4,iPad Mini 7th (A17 Pro)/6/5th Gen.NOTE: The Pencil is NOT compatible with iPad models before 2018, iPhone, Android and Microsoft devices. Please check your product model before placing an order.
  • 🖊【Ultra-fast Charging/Ultra-long Battery Life】: Hastraith stylus pen for ipad uses a Type-C interface for charging and can be fully charged in just 13 minutes. It also has an ultra-long battery life of more than 10 hours of continuous use, which can meet the needs of long-term writing or drawing.
  • 🖊【Tilt Sensitivity and Palm Rejection】: Hastraith ipad pen uses tilt pressure sensing technology, which can dynamically adjust the line thickness according to the different tilt angles of the pen side. The full-screen palm rejection function ensures that when using a capacitive pen, the finger or palm touching the screen will not cause accidental touches, while ensuring the smoothness and stability of writing.
  • 🖊【Battery Display/No Bluetooth Required】:No need for Bluetooth connection, turn on this stylus pen by simply touching the cap button. Hastraith ipad pencil has 3 battery indicator lights: All lights on: 70%-100% power, 2 lights on: 30%-70% power, 1 light on: 5%-30% power, 1 light flashing: less than 5% power. Therefore, you can view the battery consumption progress in real time so that you can charge it before important work begins.
  • 🖊【Package Included】: 1 * smart stylus, 1 * type-c charging cable, 3 * replacement nibs, 1 * dust cover, 1 * silicone protective cover, 1 * user manual. Hastraith provides you with a 12-month manufacturer's warranty, if you have any questions about our products, please contact us. Note: If it does not work after turning on, please turn off the Bluetooth of the iPad.

Apple Pencil, touch input, and iPad requirements

Apple Pencil is the clearest accessory match

Both workflows document pressure-sensitive stylus input, making Apple Pencil the most appropriate physical accessory for drawing and retouching. The Affinity Photo 2 listing also specifies Apple Pencil pressure, tilt, and angle sensitivity. Procreate’s iPad-first design similarly centers on Apple Pencil support and touch gestures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

You can use touch for navigation and many commands, but a stylus gives you controlled line width, opacity, and mark placement. If your work is mostly typography, layout, or occasional adjustments, a Pencil may be less essential; for painting, masking, or detailed retouching, it is a practical part of the setup.

Availability and accounts

Procreate is distributed through the App Store and states that it has no subscription. The supplied information does not state a current purchase price, so check the live App Store listing for the amount in your region.

The new Affinity app page says “Affinity really is free” and requires a Canva account; Canva premium unlocks Canva AI tools. That page simultaneously says iPadOS is coming soon. Affinity Photo 2 for iPad appears in an App Store listing with its own feature documentation. Confirm the app name, operating-system availability, account requirement, and terms shown on the current store page before downloading or planning a production workflow.

File formats and moving work between apps

Starting in Procreate, finishing in Affinity

This is a sensible route when the illustration depends on Procreate’s brushwork but the final document needs vectors, typography, artboards, or print preparation. Keep a layered master in Procreate, export a format that preserves as much structure as your target workflow supports, and then inspect the result in Affinity. A flattened raster export will preserve appearance but not editable Procreate layers or brush behavior.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Starting in Affinity, painting in Procreate

Affinity is the better starting point when the project begins with a logo system, artboard set, text, or photo composite. You can export a rasterized version for painting in Procreate, but vectors, live type, masks, and adjustment behavior may not survive a round trip. Keep the original Affinity document as the authoritative design file.

Best Value
Sale
Metapen A8 Stylus Pen for iPad 2018-2026,Magnetic Attach & Palm Rejection | 4 Min Fast Charging Metal Barrel Apple Pencil,Reliable Precision & Smooth Writing Pen for iPad 6th-11th Gen Pro Air Mini
  • 【2X Faster Charge】: Metapen Pencil A8 fully charges in just 30 minutes via USB-C and lasts up to 10 hours. 1-min charge = 50-min use; 4 min fast charge = 2 hour use. The LED indicator displays different colors based on battery level, reminding you to recharge in time. It automatically shuts down after 5 minutes of inactivity for better energy efficiency. Note: A8 does not support magnetic charging or wireless charging via iPad.
  • 【More Durable Tips】: Made of high-quality polymer, the Metapen's tips pass a 20 km durability test—2X more durable than original iPencil tips(NOTE:The package comes with two nibs, one already installed and one as a spare). Their internal structure remains intact even after 3,000 impacts. Each Metapen A8 pen comes with two extra replaceable tips , saving costs for frequent users
  • 【Metal Barrel & Palm Rejection】: Metapen A8 Aluminum Metal Barrel iPad stylus pen supports Palm Rejection, so no need for a glove, with metal barrel, this stylus pen can provide you with a better writing experience. You can rest your palm or fingers on the screen during sketching, drawing, or writing. All-metal aluminum barrel: 4x harder, 10x more wear-resistant than plastic.Metal weight, metal strength. Not plastic. 200 MPa flexural strength, survives 1.2m drops 50+ times. A stronger and more durable iPad A16 penicl for Child/Kids than plastic iPad pencil.
  • 【Quick Connect and Double Magnets】: No need to connect via Bluetooth or apps. Simply double-tap the invisible touch switch on the rounded end of A8 to power ON/OFF. With two built-in magnets, the Metapen iPad Pen securely attaches to your iPad anytime, no more rolling away or getting lost. (NOTE: Wireless Charging is NOT Supported. NO magnetic attachment for iPad Air 3rd/M2/M3 Gen, iPad 6th/7th/8th/9th/10th/11th Gen, iPad mini 5th/7th, iPad Pro M4)
  • 【Make Sure Your iPad Model is Compatible】: Metapen Pencil A8 is ONLY compatible with the iPad models 2018-2026: iPad 11/10/9/8/7/6 Gen, iPad Pro 13-inch M4, iPad Pro 11-inch 1/2/3/4/M4/M5, iPad Air 3/4/5/M2/M3, iPad Pro 12.9-inch 3/4/5/6 Gen, iPad Mini 5/6/7 Gen. NOTE: The Pencil A8 is NOT compatible with iPads before 2018, iPhone, Android or Microsoft devices. Please check your iPad model before ordering

Transfer checklist

  1. Decide which application will hold the master file before you begin.
  2. Preserve a native copy in that application before exporting.
  3. Choose a format that matches the next task: layered interchange for continued editing, or a flattened image when appearance matters more than structure.
  4. Recheck fonts, masks, blend modes, color space, canvas dimensions, and transparency after import.
  5. Open the final file on the device and version that will be used for delivery; feature parity can differ between desktop, iPad, and app releases.

Learning curve and workflow trade-offs

Procreate generally asks you to learn a focused set of gestures, brush controls, and layer operations. That concentration is an advantage for a person who wants to draw immediately, although the large brush system still rewards time spent learning Brush Studio and organizing presets.

Affinity has a broader conceptual surface: vector nodes and path operations, pixel layers, masks, typography, artboards, color settings, and layout. The payoff is control over a wider range of deliverables, but a new user must understand which studio and layer type is appropriate for each task. This is an evidence-based workflow inference from the documented feature sets, not a hands-on claim about interface speed or latency.

Choose the learning curve that matches the work you actually do. A painter who rarely creates logos may gain little from mastering vector production. A designer who repeatedly rebuilds lettering, artboards, and print files will eventually spend more time fighting a raster-only workflow than learning Affinity’s structure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommendations by real project

Choose Procreate for painterly illustration

  • Concept art and visual development sketches
  • Brush-led children’s books, comics, and editorial illustrations
  • Hand lettering whose character comes from the stroke
  • Quick studies and a portable sketchbook workflow
  • 3D model painting on supported USDZ or OBJ files

Choose Affinity for design-led illustration

  • Logos, icons, diagrams, and scalable brand assets
  • Typography-heavy posters, covers, and social campaigns
  • Mixed vector and pixel compositions
  • Multiple artboards or page-oriented documents
  • Print preparation requiring CMYK and professional export

Choose Affinity Photo 2 for iPad for photography

  • RAW development and non-destructive adjustments
  • Mask-based retouching and object removal
  • HDR merges and panorama stitching
  • PSD or PSB editing
  • Large images, broad color spaces, or 16-bit and 32-bit workflows

Use both when the stages are genuinely different

A two-app workflow can be rational: make expressive raster art in Procreate, then use Affinity for vectors, type, layout, color, or photo finishing. It adds export and version-management steps, so use it only when the second app solves a real requirement. Check the exact iPad release and transfer format before building a project around that combination.

A practical selection checklist

  1. Identify the irreducible element. If the result lives or dies by brush texture and spontaneous marks, start with Procreate. If it must remain editable as paths, type, or artboards, start with Affinity.
  2. List the source files. Camera RAW, PSD/PSB, very large images, or a need for HDR and panoramas points to Affinity Photo 2 for iPad.
  3. Define the output. A finished raster illustration can stay in Procreate. A CMYK print file, multi-size identity system, or layout document points to Affinity.
  4. Check iPad availability. The new Affinity app’s product page currently says iPadOS is coming soon, so verify that the specific app and feature set are available before scheduling work.
  5. Plan backups. Procreate artwork is stored locally on the iPad; export or back up important work instead of relying on one device.
  6. Test one representative file. Before migrating a large project, import a sample containing your fonts, masks, blend modes, transparency, and color settings.

Bottom line

For illustration alone, Procreate is the better default when you want a direct, expressive raster painting experience on iPad. Affinity is better when illustration is part of a larger design or production document requiring vectors, typography, artboards, photo editing, or print-ready export. For photo editing, Affinity Photo 2 for iPad has the broader documented capability, including RAW, masks, retouching, HDR, panoramas, large files, and professional color workflows. The deciding practical caveat is availability: distinguish Affinity Photo 2 for iPad from the newer all-in-one Affinity app, whose current page still lists iPadOS as coming soon.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.