What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Iconiq Capital’s first reported data-center investment was an equity recapitalization involving T5 Data Centers’ facilities in Dallas and Portland. T5 kept a “meaningful stake” and continued operating and managing both properties. The investment amount was not disclosed.

What did Iconiq invest in?

Data Center Knowledge reported on September 20, 2016, that T5 Data Centers had announced an equity recapitalization of its Dallas and Portland facilities with an investment from Iconiq Capital. The report described this as the first investment under Iconiq’s new data-center focus. It did not name the individual facilities or provide technical specifications. Data Center Knowledge’s September 20, 2016 report is the source for the transaction details.

An equity recapitalization brings in equity investment as part of a company’s financing or ownership structure. In this case, the report says T5 retained a meaningful stake rather than exiting the properties. As Data Center Knowledge’s Yevgeniy Sverdlik wrote, “T5 has retained a ‘meaningful stake’ in the properties and will continue operating and managing them.” That is the article author’s description, not a direct quotation from a T5 or Iconiq executive.

How much did Iconiq invest?

The amount was not disclosed in the September 2016 report. It should not be confused with a separate T5 financing announced in January 2016: a $68.5 million credit facility for construction of a data-center campus in Kings Mountain, North Carolina. That facility was not identified as the size of Iconiq’s investment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What was Iconiq DC Management?

The report identified Iconiq DC Management as Iconiq’s data-center investment arm and said registration papers were filed in August 2016. As described in the filing, it planned to pool client money into private funds with several possible investment routes:

  • Investments in data-center properties
  • Joint ventures
  • Debt and equity
  • Securities or companies that owned or invested in data centers

The filing’s description outlines a broad investment mandate; the report does not provide terms or performance data for comparing the potential returns or risks of these approaches.

Who was involved?

  • Iconiq Capital: The wealth-management firm reported to have made the investment. The 2016 article cited Mark Zuckerberg, Reid Hoffman, and Sean Parker as examples of its clients; that is historical context from the report, not a current client list.
  • T5 Data Centers: The data-center company that retained a meaningful stake and continued to operate and manage the Dallas and Portland properties.
  • CIT Communications and Technology Finance: The article said CIT, which had arranged previous T5 financing, was involved in the Iconiq investment as an agent.

What did T5 report about the facilities?

At the time of the 2016 report, T5 said both the Dallas and Portland facilities were 100 percent leased. Data Center Knowledge characterized the investment as relatively safe in light of that reported occupancy. The figure is a historical claim attributed to T5, not evidence of current occupancy or a guarantee of investment performance.

The article also placed the deal in the context of T5’s 2016 footprint. It named six operational locations: Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Portland, and Charlotte. T5 had entered Chicago the previous month by acquiring a Forsythe facility, and the company was building in New York and Colorado. These details describe the company’s position at the time, not its current locations.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the report does—and does not—establish

The reported deal shows Iconiq entering data-center real estate through an equity recapitalization of two operating properties, with T5 remaining invested and in control of day-to-day operations. The 2016 article does not disclose the investment amount, identify the facilities by name, provide their technical specifications, or establish the fund’s later status or performance. Its occupancy claim is limited to T5’s statement at the time.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.