Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The UK Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) said in May 2024 that it was asking Microsoft about privacy safeguards for Recall. In May 2025, the ICO said its engagement had not been finalised and that it was actively reviewing compliance. The latest Recall-specific public status identified here is dated 30 May 2025; the available public material does not establish whether the ICO has since concluded its review.

What is the ICO looking into with Microsoft Recall?

On 22 May 2024, the ICO said it was making enquiries with Microsoft to understand the safeguards in place to protect user privacy. It also set out its expectations for organisations to be transparent about how personal data is used, limit processing to a specific purpose, and assess and mitigate risks to people’s rights and freedoms before products reach the market.

“We expect organisations to be transparent with users about how their data is being used and only process personal data to the extent that it is necessary to achieve a specific purpose.”

The quotation came from an unnamed ICO spokesperson in the agency’s 22 May 2024 statement. The ICO also said: “We are making enquiries with Microsoft to understand the safeguards in place to protect user privacy.” Read the ICO’s statement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2026), 13.8-inch Premium Performance Laptop, Snapdragon X2 Elite Processor, Touchscreen Display, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Storage, Windows 11 Copilot+ PC Built for AI, Platinum
  • Brilliant Display – Stunning 13.8" PixelSense touchscreen[1], with brilliant LCD display[2], unleashes luminous whites, deeper blacks and colors so richly saturated bringing vivid life into every frame – perfect for work, school, streaming and creative tasks.
  • Power that lasts all day – With 20 hours of battery life[3], the new Surface Laptop powers through your entire day, so you can create, work and stream from morning to night without reaching for a charger.​
  • Work at the speed of your ideas – Built with the latest Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Elite (12 Core) processors, Surface Laptop delivers fast, AI‑accelerated performance—making it the most powerful Surface laptop for everything from multitasking to demanding workloads.
  • The ports you need – Charge on-the-go, transfer data fast, or create the ultimate desktop set up with two USB-C / USB4[4] ports.
  • Built-in AI Companion – Work smarter, create freely, and communicate with confidence—Copilot[5] on Windows 11 is always there to help.​

What did the ICO say about its engagement in 2025?

In a response to a Freedom of Information (FOI) request dated 30 May 2025, the ICO confirmed that it held information about its enquiries. It said it had requested information from Microsoft and engaged with the company with the expectation that user transparency would improve and personal data would not be used beyond the purposes for which it was originally collected.

At that date, the ICO said its engagement had “not yet finalised” and it was “actively reviewing their compliance.” The agency withheld the recorded enquiry material, citing sections 31 and 44 of the Freedom of Information Act and the confidential nature of the information. As a result, the response does not disclose the substance of the ICO’s private exchanges with Microsoft. The ICO’s disclosure-log entry describes the request as concerning its enquiries with Microsoft about Recall and records the outcome as information withheld. See the disclosure-log entry.

Rank #2
Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5" Touchscreen Notebook - 2256 x 1504 - Intel Core i7 12th Gen i7-1265U - Intel Evo Platform - 16 GB Total RAM - 512 GB SSD (Platinum) (Renewed)
  • With 16 GB of memory, runs as many programs as you want without losing the execution
  • The 13.5" 2256 x 1504 screen provides a great movie watching experience
  • 512 GB SSD is enough to store your essential documents and files, favorite songs, movies and pictures
  • 8 Hours battery run time helps you stay unwired and work longer non-stop

Has the ICO finished its Recall review?

The available Recall-specific public material establishes the ICO’s position on 30 May 2025, but does not establish its current outcome as of 4 October 2026. The 2025 statement that the review was active describes the status at that time; it is not evidence that the ICO is still investigating now. No later Recall-specific outcome is established by the cited public records.

How Microsoft says Recall handles snapshots

Microsoft Learn describes Recall as a feature for Copilot+ PCs. According to Microsoft, it periodically takes screen snapshots when on-screen content differs from the previous snapshot, arranges them on a timeline, and stores and analyzes them on the device. Users can search snapshot content using natural language. Microsoft says snapshots are not sent to Microsoft and that IT administrators cannot view end-user snapshots. These are Microsoft’s descriptions of the product’s design, not findings or endorsements by the ICO.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2026), 13.8-inch Premium Performance Laptop, Snapdragon X2 Elite Processor, Touchscreen Display, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Storage, Windows 11 Copilot+ PC Built for AI, Black
  • A PREMIUM PERFORMANCE LAPTOP — Ready for work, school, and creativity. Built for busy days, big projects, and nonstop multitasking. Run video calls, school and work apps, 20+ browser tabs, and AI tools at the same time without slowing down.
  • WITH AI BUILT IN — With a dedicated AI chip (Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Elite), this Copilot+ PC[5] on Windows 11 helps you work smarter and faster. Prompt, create, and automate with ease - ready for even your most demanding tasks.
  • A 13.8" TOUCHSCREEN YOU'LL ACTUALLY USE — Sharp colors, real detail, smooth 120Hz scrolling on the PixelSense touchscreen[1] with LCD display[2]. Tap, scroll, or pinch to zoom - whichever feels right for streaming, editing photos, or daily work.
  • 20 HOURS OF BATTERY (LEAVE THE CHARGER) — Up to 20 hours of video playback[3] on a single charge. Work from a coffee shop, take it to class/work, or binge an entire season on a long flight — it'll keep up.
  • THE PORTS YOU NEED — Two USB-C / USB4[4] ports for fast charging, big file transfers, or hooking up to three 4K monitors when you want a full desktop. Wi-Fi 7 keeps you online and fast wherever you are.

Microsoft’s documentation says users must open Recall and authenticate before it begins saving snapshots. It describes Windows Hello authentication, encryption for snapshots and associated information, and encryption keys protected through the device’s TPM and a Virtualization-based Security Enclave. Read Microsoft’s Recall technical documentation.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What controls does Microsoft describe?

Microsoft Support says users can delete snapshots, set the maximum storage size, and choose how long snapshots remain on the device. The same support page says that sending feedback through Recall sends data from Recall to Microsoft, including screenshots the user attaches. That feedback process is distinct from Microsoft’s description of ordinary snapshot storage. Microsoft’s support page labels Recall as currently in preview; that label reflects the page’s status and may change. Read Microsoft Support’s Recall guidance.

Best Value
Sale
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2026), 13.8-inch Premium Performance Laptop, Snapdragon X2 Elite Processor, Touchscreen Display, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Storage, Windows 11 Copilot+ PC Built for AI, Dune
  • Brilliant Display – Stunning 13.8" PixelSense touchscreen[1], with brilliant LCD display[2], unleashes luminous whites, deeper blacks and colors so richly saturated bringing vivid life into every frame – perfect for work, school, streaming and creative tasks.
  • Power that lasts all day – With 20 hours of battery life[3], the new Surface Laptop powers through your entire day, so you can create, work and stream from morning to night without reaching for a charger.​
  • Work at the speed of your ideas – Built with the latest Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Elite (12 Core) processors, Surface Laptop delivers fast, AI‑accelerated performance—making it the most powerful Surface laptop for everything from multitasking to demanding workloads.
  • The ports you need – Charge on-the-go, transfer data fast, or create the ultimate desktop set up with two USB-C / USB4[4] ports.
  • Built-in AI Companion – Work smarter, create freely, and communicate with confidence—Copilot[5] on Windows 11 is always there to help.​
Rank #4
Sale
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2026), 15-inch Premium Performance Laptop, Snapdragon X2 Elite Processor, Touchscreen Display, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD Storage, Windows 11 Copilot+ PC Built for AI, Black
  • A PREMIUM PERFORMANCE LAPTOP — Ready for work, school, and creativity. Built for busy days, big projects, and nonstop multitasking. Run video calls, school and work apps, 20+ browser tabs, and AI tools at the same time without slowing down.
  • WITH AI BUILT IN — With a dedicated AI chip (Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Elite), this Copilot+ PC[5] on Windows 11 helps you work smarter and faster. Prompt, create, and automate with ease - ready for even your most demanding tasks.
  • A 15" TOUCHSCREEN YOU'LL ACTUALLY USE — Sharp colors, real detail, smooth 120Hz scrolling on the PixelSense touchscreen[1] with LCD display[2]. Tap, scroll, or pinch to zoom - whichever feels right for streaming, editing photos, or daily work.
  • 19 HOURS OF BATTERY (LEAVE THE CHARGER) — Up to 19 hours of video playback[3] on a single charge. Work from a coffee shop, take it to class/work, or binge an entire season on a long flight — it'll keep up.
  • Two USB-C / USB4[4] ports and a microSD card reader for fast charging, big file transfers, or hooking up to three 4K monitors when you want a full desktop. Wi-Fi 7 keeps you online and fast wherever you are.

How to read the regulator and vendor statements

Source and date What it establishes What it does not establish
ICO statement, 22 May 2024 The ICO was making enquiries about privacy safeguards and stated expectations concerning transparency, purpose limitation, and risk assessment. It does not disclose the result of the enquiries.
ICO FOI response, 30 May 2025 The ICO had requested information from Microsoft; its engagement had not yet concluded at that date, and it was actively reviewing compliance. The underlying enquiry records were withheld, and the response does not establish the review’s later or current status.
Microsoft Learn and Support Microsoft describes Recall’s local snapshot handling, authentication and encryption design, user controls, and feedback-submission behavior. These vendor descriptions are not independent verification or an ICO conclusion about compliance.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.