Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Yes, a game can use AI-generated character voices, but the key questions are whose voice or recordings the system uses, what permission covers the planned use, and what obligations apply to the performer, production, vendor, and release markets. Treat permission to use a voice replica as a separate issue from whether an AI-generated recording is copyrightable. Before production, document the source material, usage scope, consent, compensation, data handling, approvals, and exit terms.
Can I use AI-generated voices in my game?
There is no single answer for every game. A newly generated voice that does not imitate an identifiable person raises different concerns from a model built to reproduce a recognizable actor’s voice, or a tool that alters an actor’s recorded performance. The source recordings, the voice identity being represented, the planned uses, and the rights governing each should be tracked separately.
In the United States, SAG-AFTRA’s 2025 Interactive Media Agreement includes consent and disclosure provisions for AI digital replicas on covered work. Those are contract terms, not a universal rule for every game or voice engagement. Whether they apply depends on the performer, production, and work being covered by the agreement. The agreement also allows performers to suspend consent for generating new material during a strike. SAG-AFTRA’s 2025 Interactive Media Agreement page reports that members approved the agreement by a 95.04% to 4.96% vote; that figure is a ratification result, not a measure of AI-voice adoption or impact.
For a project outside a covered agreement, do not assume that the same terms apply—or that a vendor’s standard license covers every relevant right. The applicable answer can depend on the contract, source material, intended use, and market. This U.S.-centered overview is not a full survey of state or international rules, or storefront-specific policies.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Is permission to clone a voice different from copyright in the output?
Yes. Permission to use a performer’s voice or source recordings is a distinct question from whether a particular AI-generated output qualifies for copyright protection. A developer should not treat a conclusion about output copyrightability as permission to imitate a recognizable person, use their recordings, or generate new lines in their voice.
The U.S. Copyright Office has addressed these as separate subjects in its AI report series: digital replicas in Part 1, published July 31, 2024; copyrightability of AI outputs in Part 2, published January 29, 2025; and AI training in a Part 3 pre-publication version dated May 9, 2025. The Office’s index says a final Part 3 will be published in the future. See the Copyright Office AI report index.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
In its Digital Replicas Report, the Office concluded that existing laws do not provide fully adequate protection against digital replicas and recommended a federal response. That is the Office’s analysis and recommendation; the report is not itself a new law or a complete account of the law in every U.S. jurisdiction.
What should a game developer check before using an AI voice?
1. Identify the voice and every source asset
Classify the proposed audio: a non-identifying synthetic voice, a licensed replica of a performer, an alteration of an actor’s recording, or an imitation of a recognizable performer or character. Inventory the recordings, scripts, training materials, prompts, and third-party voice models involved. For each, record where it came from and what rights or restrictions attach to it.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
2. Confirm permission and define its scope
Get clear written permission for the actual replica and planned uses rather than relying on a broad label such as “AI use.” Specify the project and character, platforms, territories, languages, duration, updates and downloadable content, marketing use, and whether new lines may be generated after the recording session. Check the performer’s representation and any collective bargaining agreement before relying on a direct license or vendor terms.
3. Set compensation, notice, review, and exit terms
State how the performer will be compensated and how use will be reported. Define whether the performer can review or restrict generated lines, what notice they receive, and when consent can be suspended or end. Identify the player-facing, performer-facing, storefront, or other disclosures required by the applicable agreement, market, or platform. The sources cited here do not establish one disclosure rule for all games.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
4. Govern data access and the vendor relationship
Ask what recordings and derived voice data are retained, who can access them, whether a vendor or subcontractor may reuse them or train or improve models with them, and how the materials will be returned or deleted. Specify storage, access, reuse, and deletion obligations in the relevant terms. The historical SAG-AFTRA/Replica Studios agreement FAQ discussed safe storage and transparency about use; it should not be treated as a statement of current vendor terms.
5. Review the shipped audio and keep a rights record
Review generated lines for likeness, unauthorized imitation, performance quality, context, and unintended output. Keep a record connecting source recordings to permissions, the model and vendor, generation process, approvals, and shipped content. Escalate recognizable real-person voices, deceased performers, legacy characters, or conflicts between a contract and a proposed use for qualified legal and labor review.
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How do the main voice options compare?
The choices differ less by a universal “best” option than by what permission, control, and operational obligations the project can secure. The sources establish the importance of consent, compensation, transparency, and data storage, but do not provide comparable current prices or service benchmarks.
| Consideration | Human-recorded performance | Licensed voice replica | Non-identifying synthetic voice |
|---|---|---|---|
| Permission and rights certainty | Confirm the recording and planned uses are covered by the performer’s agreement. | Confirm written permission covers the actual replica and its planned uses. | Confirm the model and source assets do not introduce an identifiable voice or unlicensed material. |
| Union or contract coverage | Check the performer, production, and work against any applicable collective bargaining agreement. | Check coverage and any replica-specific consent and disclosure terms; do not presume a vendor agreement applies. | Coverage depends on the engagement and production; no universal rule is established by the cited sources. |
| Cost and compensation | Not stated; the cited sources provide no comparable current prices or compensation benchmarks. | Not stated; the cited sources provide no comparable current prices or compensation benchmarks. | Not stated; the cited sources provide no comparable current prices or service benchmarks. |
| New lines, updates, and reuse | Define recording, reuse, updates, and additional work in the performer agreement. | Define generation limits, duration, updates, marketing, review, and consent exit terms. | Set project limits and vendor-use terms; the cited sources provide no service-specific controls. |
| Storage, training, and vendor access | Set access and retention terms for the recorded material. | Set retention, access, model-training, subcontractor, and deletion or return terms. | Verify source-data provenance and vendor handling; no current provider terms are established here. |
| Performance quality and consistency | Assess the recorded performance in context of the game. | Assess generated lines for quality, likeness, and unintended output. | Assess the shipped voice for quality and whether it could be mistaken for an identifiable person. |
| Disclosure, approval, and exit | Follow the agreement and any applicable market or platform requirements. | Document notices, review rights, consent suspension, and end-of-relationship handling. | Determine any applicable disclosure and vendor exit terms; a universal rule is not established. |
These are diligence prompts, not a claim that every row is a legal requirement for every project. A qualified reviewer can assess the terms against the specific talent contract, vendor, release markets, and platform policies.
Does an older AI voice agreement establish a vendor’s current terms?
No. SAG-AFTRA announced a standalone agreement with Replica Studios in 2024 that covered licensed performer voices for interactive projects, including consent and compensation. The union’s FAQ, updated September 24, 2025, says that specific agreement is no longer in effect. Neither the announcement nor the expired agreement proves what any provider currently offers or what terms a new game would receive. See the 2024 SAG-AFTRA announcement and its FAQ updated September 24, 2025.
SAG-AFTRA has also described consent and notice or bargaining provisions tailored to character voices in its animation agreements. Those protections belong to the agreements discussed, not to every game or performer by default. SAG-AFTRA’s explainer on its agreements provides that context.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

