Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The iPhone 17 family was announced on September 9, 2025, and became available from September 19—exactly the dates TechRadar had forecast from a leak. The five changes it anticipated were a redesigned look, a new iPhone Air, 120Hz displays, camera upgrades, and newer chips. Apple confirmed some predictions, revised others, and left several rumored details unconfirmed.

Did the rumored iPhone 17 launch date come true?

Yes. In an August 6, 2025 article, TechRadar reported that the announcement was expected on September 9 and availability on September 19, citing a report attributed to German mobile providers and relayed through iphone-ticker.de and GSMArena. Apple announced the iPhone 17 lineup on September 9 and said it would be available starting September 19. The leak-derived forecast got both dates right, though it was not an official confirmation at the time.

What happened to the five expected changes?

1. The design changed, but not exactly as rumored

Before launch, TechRadar described reports and renders showing a camera block stretching across much of the phone’s back, along with a possible glossy-and-matte, two-tone finish. Those were pre-launch descriptions, not confirmed specifications for every model. Apple later described iPhone Air’s distinctive 5.6mm titanium body and a rear “plateau” for its cameras, speaker, and silicon. For the Pro models, Apple announced an all-new aluminum unibody. These official descriptions establish distinct design changes, but not the precise across-the-line camera-bar treatment suggested by the rumor.

2. iPhone Air joined the lineup

The rumor coverage expected an Air model in place of a Plus, estimating a thickness of about 5.5mm and a 6.7-inch screen, with one rear camera and a smaller battery. Apple introduced iPhone Air as a new member of the iPhone family. Its announced specifications differ from those estimates: it is 5.6mm thick, has a 6.5-inch display, and uses a 48MP Fusion Main camera with optical-quality 2x telephoto. Apple describes its battery life as all-day. “Replacing Plus” was the rumor coverage’s framing; Apple called Air a new family member.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Mist Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

3. 120Hz reached the iPhone 17 and Air

TechRadar predicted 120Hz displays across all four models, while raising the possibility that the base and Air models would miss variable refresh rates and Always-On display. Apple confirmed ProMotion up to 120Hz for the 6.3-inch iPhone 17 and the 6.5-inch iPhone Air. Apple also specifies adaptive refresh down to 1Hz and an Always-On display for Air. These announcements confirm those features for these models; they should not be taken as a complete specification comparison for every model.

4. The camera upgrades were real, but some predictions were not confirmed

For iPhone 17, Apple specified 48MP Fusion Main and 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide rear cameras. The Air announcement identifies a 48MP Fusion Main camera with optical-quality 2x telephoto. Apple describes the Pro models as having three 48MP Fusion cameras and up to 8x optical-quality zoom—the company’s term, not a claim that the phone has a separate optical lens at every magnification.

Rank #2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Silver- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.

The front-camera prediction did not match the announced resolution: TechRadar forecast 24MP across the family, while Apple specified an 18MP Center Stage front camera for Air and Pro. Apple also identifies a Center Stage front camera on iPhone 17, but the cited announcement does not state its resolution. Predictions of 8K video and a mechanical aperture are not established by the cited launch announcements. The forecast of an extra Camera Control button likewise should not be treated as a confirmed lineup-wide change.

5. The A19 generation arrived, with a different chip tier for Air

TechRadar expected A19 in iPhone 17 and Air, and A19 Pro in the Pro models. Apple announced A19 for iPhone 17 and A19 Pro for both Air and Pro models. The chip-generation forecast was broadly right, but Air received the Pro-tier chip rather than the standard A19. Rumored RAM amounts are not confirmed in the cited announcements, so they remain unverified here.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Lavender- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How the announced models differ on the key points

Model Display Chip Rear-camera details in Apple’s announcement Distinctive detail
iPhone 17 6.3 inches; ProMotion up to 120Hz A19 48MP Fusion Main and 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide —
iPhone Air 6.5 inches; ProMotion up to 120Hz; adaptive refresh down to 1Hz and Always-On A19 Pro 48MP Fusion Main with optical-quality 2x telephoto 5.6mm titanium body
iPhone 17 Pro models Not stated in the cited announcement A19 Pro Three 48MP Fusion cameras; up to 8x optical-quality zoom All-new aluminum unibody

The table reflects details specified in Apple’s launch announcements; it is not a complete specification sheet or an independent performance or battery comparison. Apple’s releases describe Air’s battery life as all-day, but do not provide a directly comparable battery-life figure across these models in the cited material.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Mist Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Mist Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$803.77
Bestseller No. 2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Silver- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Silver- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
$1,179.00
Bestseller No. 3
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Lavender- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Lavender- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$800.89
Bestseller No. 4
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Black- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Black- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$804.99
Bestseller No. 5
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
$1,069.00
Best Value
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
Rank #4
Apple iPhone 17, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Black- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.