AI has not been confirmed as the cause of the information leaks reported at seven South Korean financial institutions. SBS reported on October 4, 2026, that authorities had confirmed the leaks and that new methods involving AI were suspected. Separately, South Korea’s Financial Security Institute (FSI) said it had detected AI-agent attack attempts targeting the financial sector. Those attempts show that AI-agent threats are a documented concern, but the FSI did not link them to the reported leaks.
What is known about the reported South Korean financial-sector leaks?
SBS’s October 4, 2026, report named seven institutions where authorities had confirmed information leaks. It said corporate customer information had leaked from Welcome Savings Bank. The report did not establish that AI was used in any of the incidents.
| Institution | Type reported by SBS | Incident detail stated in the report |
|---|---|---|
| Shinhan | Commercial bank | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| KB Kookmin | Commercial bank | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| Hana | Commercial bank | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| Busan | Commercial bank | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| Yegaram Savings Bank | Savings bank | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| Hyundai Capital | Capital company | Information leak reported; further incident details not stated. |
| Welcome Savings Bank | Savings bank | SBS said corporate customer information had leaked. |
The report did not provide a verified attack method, exposed-record totals, financial losses, or an identified perpetrator. Its reference to AI should therefore be read as a suspicion, not a forensic finding.
What does the separate report of AI-agent attacks establish?
In a September 21, 2026, release, FSI said it had recently detected attempts to use AI agents to attack financial institutions. The release did not name the institutions or connect the attempts to the leaks covered by SBS. It establishes that agent-based attempts have been detected in the sector, not that agents caused the seven reported leaks.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
FSI highlighted APIs as an important target. An API is an interface that lets an application or website use functions and data provided by a server. FSI specifically urged institutions to check whether security keys had been exposed and to strengthen API security management.
Why can an AI agent create a different kind of security risk?
FSI’s June 9, 2025, explanation distinguishes an agent from a language model that only provides information. An agent can set goals, interpret its environment, use tools, and carry out tasks with less human intervention. In financial services, that could mean executing an investment, settling a payment, or acting on a fraud alert.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
That ability to use connected tools can make a compromised or poorly controlled agent more consequential. FSI warned that exposure could potentially lead to abnormal loan approvals or transfers to accounts controlled by attackers. Those are risks described by the institute, not confirmed outcomes of the reported South Korean leaks.
FSI identifies six dimensions institutions should assess when evaluating agent risk:
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Autonomy: how much the agent decides and does without a person’s intervention.
- Memory: what information the agent retains and can use later.
- External tools and systems: which APIs, applications, or services the agent can access.
- Authentication: how the agent and its actions are verified.
- Human involvement: where review or approval is required.
- Multiple agents: whether agents coordinate and how their combined actions are controlled.
Which defenses should financial institutions prioritize?
FSI’s guidance points to controls around both the agent and the systems it can reach. API security is especially relevant when an agent can call services or handle sensitive data.
- Inventory APIs and restrict access: identify exposed interfaces, limit which systems and data each integration can reach, and apply least-privilege permissions.
- Protect credentials: check for exposed security keys, control how keys are issued and stored, and review access when credentials may have been exposed.
- Constrain agent actions: use strong authentication, trusted tools, and human review or approval for consequential decisions and transactions.
- Make actions traceable: record and review agent decisions so unusual behavior can be investigated.
- Monitor continuously: validate activity in real time and investigate unexpected access, API calls, or transactions.
These are organizational security measures, not consumer product recommendations. FSI’s September release specifically emphasizes exposed-key checks and stronger API management; its 2025 guidance adds oversight, traceability, minimum necessary privileges, monitoring, and trusted tools.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How does the South Korean national threat picture put the warning in context?
Yonhap reported on January 27, 2026, that the Ministry of Science and ICT’s figures showed more reported cybersecurity breaches in 2025 than in 2024. The figures cover national reported breaches, not AI-attributed attacks or financial-sector incidents.
| Measure | Reported figure | What it represents |
|---|---|---|
| Reported cybersecurity breaches | 2,383 in 2025; 1,887 in 2024 | Ministry of Science and ICT figures, as reported by Yonhap; a 26% year-over-year increase. |
| Server intrusions | 44.2% | Share of the reported attack mix. |
| DDoS | 24.7% | Share of the reported attack mix. |
| Malicious-code incidents, including ransomware | 14.9% | Share of the reported attack mix. |
The ministry said hacking tactics were becoming more advanced through AI-based automation and coordinated attacks. Its 2026 outlook also warned that attackers may use deepfake voices or video against trusted communications, or poison AI models and security platforms to cause malfunctions or data leaks. These were forward-looking concerns, not explanations of the reported financial-institution incidents.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsBest Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How are South Korean regulators balancing AI defense with cyber risk?
On May 25, 2026, the Financial Services Commission (FSC) announced a process through which eligible financial companies could seek a temporary, one-year easing of network-separation rules to use AI and SaaS for cybersecurity, including vulnerability testing and defensive tools. The plan includes expert screening, cybersecurity safeguards, and reporting of findings, with support also described for smaller firms. It is a controlled eligibility process, not a blanket removal of network separation.
At a June 10, 2026, meeting with the five major financial groups, the FSC discussed advanced-AI threats and phishing enabled by AI and voice manipulation. The commission called for stronger public-private information sharing and fraud-pattern analysis, with those patterns reflected in fraud-detection systems. It also urged financial companies to improve mock attacks and scenario preparation, maintain system inventories, and patch vulnerabilities quickly.
After an FSI financial AI security seminar on September 17, 2026, institute president Park Sang-won said that actual cases of AI agents being used in cyberattacks had been confirmed and that the financial sector needed systems to respond quickly. This is a translated rendering of the FSI’s Korean statement; it is a broader sector warning, not an attribution of the SBS-reported leaks to AI.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

