Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Salesforce changed how it charges for API access in February 2025 and increased the base fee for its Connector program later that year. The exact impact on a customer’s bill is not public as a single price: Connector rates are negotiated and depend on factors including users or environments, usage, and volume. But if integration vendors pass their higher costs on, CIOs could pay more for Salesforce-connected data flows, apps, and AI.

What changed in Salesforce’s API and Connector pricing?

CIO reported two changes: Salesforce altered API-access charges in February 2025, then raised the Connector-program base fee later in 2025. CIO described that increase as the first since the program launched in 2016. The reporting does not give a universal price list or a single percentage increase; Connector rates are individually negotiated.

Connector fees and partner requirements

The Connector program uses a flat charge per user or environment, scaled according to usage and volume. API-based integration providers such as Fivetran must enroll in the partner program, while platform apps are subject to revenue sharing, according to CIO. Those arrangements can put Salesforce charges into the cost structure of products customers buy from other vendors.

Salesforce’s explanation is that API use consumes infrastructure that the company operates, secures, and supports. Tyler Carlson, Salesforce senior vice president and head of product for AppExchange and ecosystem, put it this way: “When you use our API, you are using Salesforce compute.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why there is no universal customer impact

The size of any increase depends on a customer’s contract, number of users or environments, data volume and usage, and the way its vendors handle their own added costs. A partner could absorb the expense, increase its prices, or pursue a different access method. The fee change therefore is not the same as a confirmed, uniform increase to every Salesforce customer’s bill.

How could this affect integration and AI budgets?

The immediate exposure is pass-through pricing. An integration product that must participate in Salesforce’s program may become more expensive if its vendor passes along the added expense. Analysts cited by CIO warned that connector-fee increases could affect integration, AI extensions, and niche applications. One analyst estimated that CIOs could see double-digit percentage increases in Salesforce-related spending if vendors pass costs through. That is an analyst estimate, not a Salesforce price list or a forecast that applies to every customer.

The broader concern is architectural: Salesforce’s policies and commercial terms can influence which tools a company uses to move, query, and apply AI to its data. Fivetran CEO George Fraser warned that customers might face pressure to use Salesforce Data Cloud instead of replicating data to Snowflake, or Agentforce instead of interacting with data through ChatGPT. These are examples of possible constraints raised by a vendor executive, not confirmation that Salesforce has prohibited those specific uses.

When integration costs become strategic risk

Greyhound Research CEO Sanchit Vir Gogia describes the risk as “behavioral lock in”: over time, integrations, data movement, and AI permissions can become tied to one commercial framework. An alternative may remain technically possible but disruptive to adopt if systems, permissions, and operating practices have grown around the existing setup. That makes portability and exit effort worth assessing alongside the next renewal price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AppExchange and compliance exposure

CIO also reports that applications outside AppExchange or applications that do not comply with Salesforce policies may encounter compliance hurdles. Organizations should therefore check not only what a connector costs, but also its enrollment and compliance status, and whether the intended use is supported under the relevant contract and policies.

How Salesforce’s Informatica acquisition fits its data strategy

Salesforce completed its acquisition of Informatica in November 2025. Salesforce says Informatica adds data catalog, integration, governance, quality, privacy, metadata-management, and master-data-management capabilities to its Data 360 and Agentforce 360 platform. CEO Marc Benioff summarized the company’s premise: “You have to get your data right to get your AI right.”

Salesforce says MuleSoft and Informatica will form an end-to-end integration offering, and that Informatica’s metadata and lineage can improve the context and explainability of AI responses. Those are Salesforce’s stated objectives; their value for a particular organization depends on product integration and execution. The acquisition alone does not establish the final packaging, licensing, or price of these capabilities.

For CIOs, the strategic question is not simply whether to choose a Salesforce-native product or an outside connector. It is whether the chosen pattern meets data-governance and AI needs without creating a cost structure or exit path the organization cannot manage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the main architecture paths compare

The three patterns below illustrate the choices raised by Salesforce’s strategy. The available reporting does not establish comparable prices, API limits, implementation effort, or three-year costs for them; those details must be confirmed for the organization’s products and contracts.

Architecture path What it may offer Questions to resolve Cost and commercial evidence
Salesforce-native Data 360 and Agentforce A native route for Salesforce data and AI use. Salesforce presents Data 360 and Agentforce as part of its expanding platform. Can it meet requirements for data portability, external AI-tool interoperability, governance, lineage, and quality? What are the applicable usage limits and exit steps? Customer-specific pricing and total cost: not stated in CIO or Salesforce’s cited materials.
Independent connector and warehouse, such as Fivetran to Snowflake An independent data-movement pattern that can replicate Salesforce data to a separate warehouse. What partner-program charges or policy requirements apply? Can data continue to be replicated and used by the intended tools under the contract? Customer-specific connector fees and vendor pass-through: not stated in CIO’s reporting.
Broader governed data-management architecture using Informatica capabilities Salesforce says Informatica brings catalog, integration, governance, quality, privacy, metadata, and master-data-management capabilities. How will the capabilities integrate with existing systems, and what products, licenses, and operational changes will be required? Final packaging and customer-specific pricing: not stated in Salesforce’s acquisition announcement.

Compare these paths against the same requirements rather than assuming that a native or independent option is automatically cheaper. Include three-year total cost, fee predictability, API and usage limits, data portability and exit effort, governance and lineage, AI-tool interoperability, AppExchange and compliance status, implementation work, and operational ownership.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What CIOs can do before renewal

  1. Map the estate. Inventory every third-party application, connector, API use, data flow, and AI permission that touches Salesforce. Record the business owner and the data destination for each flow.
  2. Model more than the current bill. Estimate current and renewal-period costs under multiple usage scenarios. Include connector fees, revenue sharing or commissions where applicable, licenses, and vendor pass-through charges. Keep confirmed contract amounts separate from estimates.
  3. Negotiate the renewal terms. Ask for fee caps or tiered pricing and written treatment of future Salesforce policy changes. Have vendors explain which Salesforce charges affect their product and whether they intend to pass them on.
  4. Remove avoidable overlap. Identify unused integrations and capabilities duplicated elsewhere. Consolidate only after checking dependencies, compliance, and the impact on data flows.
  5. Protect portability. Document how to export and replicate Salesforce data to the enterprise warehouse, and retain an independent replication or exit option where required by business needs. Confirm that the design and intended use are permitted by the applicable terms.
  6. Verify partner and policy status. Check AppExchange enrollment and compliance for each commercially distributed integration, and review the status of applications outside AppExchange with the relevant vendor and Salesforce contacts.

These are risk-management steps, not a substitute for reviewing the organization’s actual contracts, product terms, regulatory requirements, and renewal dates.

Why the cost question matters now

Salesforce’s 2025 State of IT survey says 93% of organizations have at least one AI instance in their technology stacks. In Salesforce’s October 2024 CIO Dilemma Research, reported in its 2025 State of Data & Analytics, 84% of CIOs said AI would be as significant to their businesses as the internet, and four times more CIO budget went to data infrastructure and management than to AI. Salesforce’s 2025 State of Data & Analytics also says data and analytics leaders estimate organizational data volumes grow 30% annually, and reports that 84% agree AI outputs are only as good as their data inputs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

These figures come from Salesforce-sponsored research, not an independent measurement of every organization. The cited material does not state the survey methodology details needed to assess sampling or representativeness. They provide context for why data infrastructure and AI are linked in Salesforce’s strategy, but they do not quantify what the pricing changes will cost an individual customer.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.