Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Yes. Resident Evil 5 supports solo play and co-op, but local co-op setup depends on the edition. The PS3 and Xbox 360 manuals explain how a second player joins offline split-screen play, and Capcom added local split-screen co-op to the Steam edition in a February 2023 update. Current Xbox and Nintendo Switch listings also identify local multiplayer, though they do not provide the same setup details. Check the instructions for your specific platform before following steps intended for another version.

Which Resident Evil 5 editions support co-op?

Official listings and manuals confirm solo and cooperative play, but they do not document every edition’s join procedure in equal detail.

Edition or platform Local co-op Online co-op What the source establishes
PlayStation 3 Yes; offline split-screen with a second controller Manual describes hosting or joining through PlayStation Network Capcom’s PS3 manual gives local joining steps and online-play instructions: Capcom manuals index.
Xbox 360 Yes; offline split-screen with a second controller Manual describes Xbox Live and system link Capcom’s Xbox 360 manual gives local joining steps and online-play instructions: Capcom manuals index.
Windows / Steam Yes; local split-screen was added in Capcom’s February 27, 2023 update Not stated in the cited Steam update or store page The update changed earlier Steam guidance; details below. The Steam listing identifies the Windows edition and controller support.
Xbox One / Xbox Series X|S Yes; two-player local co-op Yes; two-player online co-op The Xbox listing identifies both modes for two players.
Nintendo Switch Local multiplayer is listed; exact configuration not stated Co-op is listed; the reviewed listing does not specify the online setup The Nintendo UK listing confirms co-op play and local multiplayer.
PlayStation 4 Not stated on the cited listing Co-op is listed; local configuration not stated The PlayStation US listing describes single-player and co-op modes.

These sources establish features, not identical menus across platforms. For a different release or region, check the edition’s own listing or manual.

How to start local co-op on PS3 or Xbox 360

Capcom’s manuals describe the same basic offline join flow for these legacy editions. Connect the second controller and have player two join during offline play:

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  1. Start an offline game and begin playing.
  2. Connect or turn on the second controller.
  3. Have player two press Start.
  4. The game pauses and returns to the Item Management screen. Resume gameplay; the game then uses split-screen, with player two controlling the partner character.

The PS3 manual says, “A second player can join in at any time during offline play.” The Xbox 360 manual gives a parallel instruction. These steps are specific to those manuals; they are not confirmed setup instructions for later ports.

How local co-op works on Steam

Capcom’s February 27, 2023 Steam update removed Games for Windows Live support and added local split-screen co-op. That update supersedes an older Capcom Steam FAQ that said offline split-screen was unsupported.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The current Steam store page confirms the Windows edition and controller support, but the sources cited here do not provide a complete two-player setup sequence. If you are using Steam, follow the controls and prompts in your installed version rather than relying on the older FAQ or applying console instructions verbatim.

How to play Resident Evil 5 solo

Solo play is available. The official PlayStation 4 listing describes both single-player and co-op modes. The sources cited here do not explain partner-AI settings or behavior in enough detail to give reliable instructions for changing them.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Online co-op and platform-specific checks

Online play is documented in the PS3 and Xbox 360 manuals, and the current Xbox listing specifies online co-op for two players. The older manuals describe their respective services—PlayStation Network for PS3, and Xbox Live plus system link for Xbox 360—but their menu and service instructions should not be treated as a guarantee of present-day availability or current labels.

On Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, the current Xbox product listing says online multiplayer on console requires a qualifying Xbox Game Pass subscription. Subscription names and requirements can change, so verify the listing for your region and account before playing.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

The Nintendo Switch listing confirms co-op and local multiplayer, but does not specify whether local play means split-screen, local wireless, or a particular controller arrangement. It also does not give a join sequence. Consult the instructions shown for your Switch edition rather than assuming it matches PS3 or Xbox 360.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What to check before inviting a friend

  • Confirm the exact edition. Local-play features and documented steps differ among ports.
  • For couch co-op, check the controller setup and mode. The PS3 and Xbox 360 manuals specifically describe offline split-screen; Steam’s 2023 update confirms local split-screen, but not a complete setup sequence.
  • For online co-op, check your platform’s current service requirements. Older manual instructions may use outdated menu labels or service details.
  • Do not infer the joining method from a store’s co-op label alone. The Switch and PlayStation 4 listings confirm modes without spelling out every local configuration.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.