Qdrant Cloud Inference adds managed embedding generation to Qdrant Cloud’s vector storage and search. It lets applications send supported text or image data through the Qdrant API for embedding and indexing, while teams can also choose client-side inference or connect an external model provider. The right route depends on the model, data-location requirements, deployment type, and whether the selected model is free or paid.
What Qdrant Cloud Inference does
Qdrant announced Cloud Inference on July 15, 2025. The feature brings model inference into the managed Qdrant Cloud workflow: applications can generate embeddings and store and index them using the Qdrant API. In the launch announcement, Daniel Azoulai of Qdrant described it this way: “With Qdrant Cloud Inference, users can generate, store and index embeddings in a single API call, turning unstructured text and images into search-ready vectors in a single environment.” Qdrant’s launch announcement identifies RAG, multimodal search, and hybrid search as use cases.
Qdrant says integrating inference is intended to reduce the need for separate inference infrastructure, manual pipelines, and redundant transfers between services. Those are the vendor’s stated operational benefits, not independently measured guarantees of lower latency or cost.
Can Qdrant Cloud generate image embeddings?
Yes. The current managed-cloud model documentation lists a Qdrant-hosted CLIP vision model, qdrant/clip-vit-b-32-vision, for images and a separate CLIP text model, qdrant/clip-vit-b-32-text, for text. Both produce 512-dimensional vectors in a shared vector space. That lets an application embed an image with the vision model and search for it using a text query embedded with the text model. This compatibility applies to these documented CLIP models; it should not be assumed for arbitrary combinations of text and image models.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Which models and inference routes are available?
Qdrant’s current documentation lists dense text, image, and sparse-text options. The catalog can change, and “free” or “paid” describes the documentation’s current model labels rather than a permanent price promise.
| Documented model | Input and type | Dimensions | Documentation price label |
|---|---|---|---|
sentence-transformers/all-minilm-l6-v2 |
Text, dense | 384 | Free |
intfloat/multilingual-e5-small |
Text, dense | 384 | Free |
mixedbread-ai/mxbai-embed-large-v1 |
Text, dense | 1024 | Paid |
qdrant/clip-vit-b-32-text |
Text, dense | 512 | Paid |
qdrant/clip-vit-b-32-vision |
Image, dense | 512 | Paid |
qdrant/bm25 |
Text, sparse | Not stated in the model listing | Free |
prithivida/splade_pp_en_v1 |
Text, sparse | Not stated in the model listing | Paid |
These examples come from Qdrant’s managed-cloud inference documentation; check that page for the latest model availability and terms.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Choose where inference runs
- Qdrant-hosted models: Use the supported Qdrant Cloud catalog when a listed model fits your application and you want managed inference through Qdrant.
- External hosted provider: Qdrant Cloud can access externally hosted models using a provider API key. This preserves a provider/model relationship you choose, but does not mean every provider or model is supported.
- Client-side inference: Generate vectors in your application or infrastructure, for example with FastEmbed, and send them to Qdrant for storage and search. This provides more control over where inference runs, while leaving model execution and maintenance to you.
- In-cluster sparse inference: Qdrant documents BM25 for sparse text embeddings. Sparse options serve a different retrieval approach from dense text or image vectors.
The overview of these routes is in Qdrant’s inference documentation. Its product page marks Qdrant-hosted models and the external-model proxy as Managed Cloud capabilities; availability differs for Hybrid Cloud and Private Cloud/OSS, while BM25 is shown across the displayed deployment options. Confirm support for your own deployment before designing around a route.
Where does inference run, and what happens when it is enabled?
Qdrant documents inference execution in the EU for clusters in EU regions and in the US for clusters in all other regions. It separately says free models are hosted in the US and can be called from any region. Therefore, the cluster’s inference execution region and the hosting location of a free model are distinct considerations; check the documentation against your data-location requirements.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Clusters created after July 7, 2025 have inference enabled by default, according to the current documentation. For an existing cluster, an operator can enable it in the Qdrant Cloud console, but activation restarts that cluster. Plan the change around the restart and any workload disruption it could cause.
Does Qdrant Cloud Inference cost extra?
Not every embedding call is necessarily a separately billed paid-model call. Qdrant’s product page says usage charges apply when paid embedding models are called, while the documentation labels some hosted models free. Actual cost depends on the model, token usage, cluster plan, and current terms; consult the Qdrant pricing information and your Cloud console before estimating a bill.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
The July 15, 2025 launch announcement offered 5 million free tokens per text model, 1 million for its image model, and unlimited BM25 tokens for paid Qdrant Cloud users. These were launch-era terms stated by Qdrant in 2025, not verified current allowances. Do not use them as a present-day budget assumption without checking current terms.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to decide whether to use it
| Need | Likely route | Trade-off to weigh |
|---|---|---|
| Keep embedding generation and vector operations in a managed Qdrant Cloud workflow | Qdrant-hosted Cloud Inference model | Choose from the supported catalog and verify its current price and location details. |
| Use a particular external provider model | External hosted model through Qdrant Cloud with a provider API key | Confirm model support, provider terms, key handling, and where the provider processes requests. |
| Control execution environment or use a model outside the managed catalog | Client-side inference, then send vectors to Qdrant | You take responsibility for inference infrastructure, integration, and model operations. |
| Build sparse lexical retrieval | BM25 or another supported sparse option | Check deployment availability and whether the selected model’s cost and retrieval behavior fit the use case. |
| Search images with text | The documented CLIP text and vision models | Use the paired models that share a vector space; do not presume unrelated models are cross-compatible. |
For a concrete external-provider example, Qdrant’s multimodal tutorial demonstrates Cohere Embed 4.0 through Cloud Inference with text and image inputs. It requires a provider key and configured model and dimension; Cohere is an external-provider example, not a Qdrant-hosted model or a promise of inclusion in a free allowance.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

