Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Amulet is an open-source, three-phase brushless motor controller designed for EPFL Xplore legged-robot actuators. It is compatible with moteus firmware and targets higher-current quasi-direct-drive builds, with published specifications of 12–44V input and 100A peak phase current. Its reported 1,500W peak electrical power is a project claim—not an independently verified continuous rating.
What Amulet is—and who it is for
Nguyen Vincent’s Amulet (ΛMULET) is a motor controller for custom robotic actuators, particularly quasi-direct-drive actuators in legged robots such as quadrupeds. It controls three-phase brushless motors and follows a moteus-compatible firmware approach, making it an open-hardware alternative for builders working in that ecosystem.
That compatibility does not make Amulet a drop-in replacement in every robot. The project describes its pinout as nearly one-to-one with the moteus n1 to ease firmware porting, but a finished system still depends on the specific motor, encoder arrangement, wiring, power stage, cooling, and firmware configuration.
Amulet specifications
| Specification | Published Amulet value | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Input voltage | 12–44V | Project specification; Vincent Nguyen’s 2024 announcement separately describes use with a 10S battery. |
| Peak phase current | 100A | Published project specification. This is phase current, not a stated battery-input current rating. |
| Peak electrical power | 1,500W claimed | Reported by Hackster as a project figure that could change after further testing; not an independently certified or stated continuous rating. |
| Control MCU | STM32G474 | Project specification. |
| Control rate | 15–30kHz | Project specification. |
| PWM switching frequency | 15–60kHz | Project specification. |
| Communications | CAN-FD, up to 5Mbps | Project specification. |
| Position sensing | Two onboard 14-bit encoders | Listed in project specifications and Hackster coverage. |
| Cooling | 12V fan cooling | Project specification; the design also provides a low-side-switched fan connector. |
| Board dimensions | 69.67 × 76.7mm | Project specification; mass is not stated in the cited project materials. |
In a separate 2024 announcement, Vincent Nguyen described 30A nominal and 100A peak current when using a 10S battery. Those figures should not be read as a general continuous-current guarantee across the full 12–44V input range.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
How Amulet compares with moteus
Amulet is best understood as a moteus-compatible design with its own power-stage and thermal choices, not as a controller proven to outperform every moteus model. The figures below come from project specifications and official moteus documentation; they are model-specific reference points, not results from a controlled head-to-head test.
| Comparison point | Amulet | moteus reference models |
|---|---|---|
| Input-voltage envelope | 12–44V, according to project specifications. | Model-specific values are not stated here as a shared envelope; the cited official documentation gives individual power figures at 28V, 30V, or 36V. |
| Peak phase current | 100A, according to project specifications. | n1: 100A; x1: 120A, according to official hardware documentation. |
| Peak electrical power and conditions | 1,500W claimed by Hackster’s report of the project; the report says it may change after more testing. No standardized test conditions are provided in the cited material. | r4.11: 900W peak at 30V; c1: 250W at 28V; n1: 2kW peak at 36V under the documented 30kHz condition; x1: 1.3kW peak at 36V. See official moteus documentation for model-specific conditions. |
| Encoder count and resolution | Two onboard 14-bit encoders. | Not stated in the cited moteus reference materials. |
| Cooling provision | 12V fan cooling, a fan connector, and FET packaging designed for external heatsinking on both sides, as reported by Hackster. | Not stated in the cited moteus reference materials. |
| Dimensions and mass | 69.67 × 76.7mm; mass not stated in the cited project materials. | Not stated in the cited moteus reference materials. |
| CAN-FD interface | 5Mbps listed in project specifications. | Not stated in the cited moteus reference materials. |
| Firmware compatibility | Described as compatible with moteus firmware. | moteus firmware is the reference ecosystem; compatibility with Amulet is the project’s stated design aim. |
| Assembled-board availability | Current retail availability is not established by the cited project documentation, announcement, or coverage. | Not stated in the cited reference materials. |
The published 100A phase-current figure and reported 1,500W peak place Amulet in a high-current design space shared with moteus n1 and x1. That is a comparison of published figures, not evidence of equivalent sustained output: the power claims have different levels of qualification and the available material does not provide a common test protocol. Amulet’s 69.67 × 76.7mm board and fan provision also point to a different packaging and thermal strategy.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What changed in Amulet’s design
Vincent Nguyen said the pinout is “almost one to one similar to the moteus n1 controllers” to make firmware porting easier. The larger changes are in power generation and thermal handling rather than a wholly different control concept.
- Additional rails: The power section includes a 12V rail and a low-noise 3V3 rail for the ADC reference.
- Filtered buck inputs: The buck-converter inputs use a pi filter.
- More bulk capacitance: The design increases the number of bulk capacitors to support a higher peak-power target.
- More cooling options: Hackster reports that the FET package can be cooled from both sides with an external heatsink, alongside a low-side-switched fan connector.
These are design choices intended to support the project’s power and cooling goals. They do not, on their own, establish measured thermal limits, reliability, or electromagnetic-compatibility performance.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Can you build or buy an Amulet?
The project is presented as open source, and Vincent Nguyen’s 2024 announcement says fabrication documents were released. That supports reproducing or adapting the hardware from the project files. The announcement also names PCBWay as the manufacturer and assembler of the project boards; it does not establish a current commercial retail channel for assembled Amulet controllers.
Before committing to a build, check the project’s own documentation for the current hardware files, bill of materials, assembly notes, and firmware instructions. The available cited materials do not establish a current finished-board seller or guarantee that every file or component remains available.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What to check before using it in a robot
A high-current controller is one part of a power system, not a complete safety solution. The moteus project documentation warns that its designs include moderately high-power electronics; the same practical care applies when building around Amulet.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- Confirm that the battery, connectors, wiring, and protection are suitable for the intended voltage and current. Use appropriate battery protection and fusing.
- Plan the enclosure and thermal path around the actual motor load and operating duration. The project’s peak figures are not a substitute for a continuous-current or thermal rating.
- Verify encoder wiring, motor phase connections, and firmware settings before applying full power.
- Test progressively with a safe setup and appropriate monitoring rather than assuming firmware compatibility proves the complete actuator is configured correctly.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

