Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No: the iPhone 18 Pro did not launch without a Dynamic Island. A December 2025 leak predicted under-screen Face ID and no pill-shaped cutout, but Apple’s September 9, 2026 announcement describes a redesigned Dynamic Island that remains and continues to enable Face ID. Apple has not specified the exact placement of every Face ID component in that announcement.

What did the iPhone 18 Pro leak claim?

A December 16, 2025 MacRumors report, citing The Information reporters Wayne Ma and Qianer Liu, said the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max would move Face ID under the display. It also said the front-facing camera would move to the upper-left corner, leaving no pill-shaped Dynamic Island cutout.

Those were leak claims, not Apple specifications. The same report attributed a mechanical iris to at least one rear camera. It described variable aperture as adjusting how much light passes through the lens to the sensor, while noting uncertainty about how significant that change would be with the smaller sensors used in phones.

How did the under-screen Face ID rumor change?

The rumor did not remain consistent. On January 14, 2026, MacRumors reported that the Weibo account Digital Chat Station had repeated the under-screen Face ID claim, while cautioning that it was not official and might not pan out.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

By February 5, 2026, later reports described a different possibility: only some Face ID components might move below the display, leaving a narrower Dynamic Island rather than eliminating it. That, too, was pre-launch rumor coverage, not confirmation from Apple.

What did Apple confirm at launch?

Apple’s September 9, 2026 announcement describes a redesigned Dynamic Island that can show three Live Activities at once. It says the feature continues to enable Face ID for unlocking, purchases, and app sign-in. This contradicts the December leak’s prediction that the phone would have no pill-shaped Dynamic Island cutout.

Rank #2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Apple’s launch description does not say where each Face ID component sits beneath or around the display. The announcement therefore establishes that Dynamic Island remains and Face ID is supported, but it does not establish the precise placement of individual Face ID parts.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which other leaked features were confirmed?

A20 Pro

The December report also forecast an A20 Pro chip using TSMC’s 2-nanometer process and new wafer-level multi-chip packaging. Apple’s launch announcement confirms the A20 Pro and says it uses 2-nanometer process technology. The announcement excerpt does not confirm the reported packaging detail.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Mechanical iris and variable aperture

The mechanical iris and variable-aperture camera remain unconfirmed by the cited Apple launch description. They should not be treated as iPhone 18 Pro specifications on the basis of the December leak.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$998.00
Bestseller No. 2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,169.95
Bestseller No. 3
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro, US Version, 512GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,179.00
Bestseller No. 4
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,168.49
Rank #4
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Leak versus launch description

Claim or feature December 2025 leak Apple’s September 2026 announcement
Face ID and Dynamic Island Predicted under-screen Face ID and no pill-shaped Dynamic Island cutout, according to the MacRumors report citing The Information. Describes a redesigned Dynamic Island that remains and continues to enable Face ID.
Front camera Reportedly moved to the upper-left corner. Placement not stated in the cited launch description.
A20 Pro Forecast an A20 Pro made with TSMC’s 2-nanometer process and wafer-level multi-chip packaging. Confirms A20 Pro and 2-nanometer process technology; packaging detail not stated.
Mechanical iris / variable aperture Reported for at least one rear camera. Not stated in the cited launch description.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.