The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →You can track daily movement and workouts without a smartwatch screen using a screen-free band, a fitness ring, or a phone paired with a workout sensor. The key difference is how you record exercise: some devices detect activity in the background, while others let you start a session with a button or in an app. For live pace, route, or heart-rate feedback, the phone app—or a separate heart-rate sensor—may become essential.
Choose based on how you want to record activity
Passive daily tracking and workout recording are related, but they are not the same. A device may count movement throughout the day and suggest that it recognized a workout; an intentionally started session gives you a clearer way to mark when exercise begins and, on some systems, see live metrics in the phone app.
| Option | Daily activity and workout recording | Live feedback and phone needs | Membership or subscription |
|---|---|---|---|
| Garmin CIRQA Smart Band | Tracks daily steps and calories, automatically detects activities, and can start more than 80 activity types with its side button. Manufacturer-described features. | Outdoor route recording uses GPS from a compatible iPhone or Android phone. | Garmin says its described core tracking does not require a subscription. |
| Oura Ring | Automatic Activity Detection suggests activity type, time, duration, and intensity; users can confirm, edit, or dismiss suggestions. Its app also starts a dedicated live activity session. | Outdoor route, pace, and distance use phone GPS. Live heart rate in the app requires a compatible BLE heart-rate monitor; otherwise, ring heart rate is shown in the post-activity summary. | Automatic Activity Detection is listed for Gen2 and Gen3 or later with active membership; Live Activity Tracking is listed for Gen3 or later with active membership. |
| WHOOP | Describes automatic workout detection without an on-device screen; sustained elevated heart rate is typically needed for detection. | No built-in GPS or display. A connected phone is needed for route, pace, and elevation; live workout stats are not viewed on the wearable. | The cited workout-detection guidance does not state current plan pricing or subscription terms. |
| Phone plus a BLE heart-rate sensor | Use the phone app to start and view a workout; a compatible sensor adds heart-rate readings. A sensor by itself is not a daily activity tracker. | Phone GPS can provide outdoor route and distance in apps that support it. Live heart-rate features depend on the app and sensor compatibility. | Depends on the app or service; not stated in the cited product guidance. |
Screen-free bands: start workouts without reaching for an app
Garmin CIRQA: a button-start option
Garmin announced CIRQA on July 21, 2026, and described it as available in the U.S. with a suggested retail price of $199.99. Garmin says it tracks steps and calories, automatically detects activities, and lets the wearer start more than 80 activity types using a side button. It also claims up to 10 days of battery life; that is a manufacturer specification, not an independent battery test. Garmin’s announcement describes connected-phone GPS for outdoor route recording, so plan to carry a compatible iPhone or Android phone if you want a route.
The button is useful if you prefer to mark a workout deliberately rather than rely only on automatic recognition. Garmin says core tracking does not require a subscription, which may matter if you want to avoid a recurring membership for the functions described.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
WHOOP: background detection, with phone-based workout context
WHOOP describes a screenless wearable that detects and labels workouts automatically. Its guidance says auto-detection typically requires about 15 minutes of sustained elevated heart rate. It says steady activity with repetitive movement is easier for the system to classify, while lower-intensity or stationary activities—including some yoga and strength workouts—can be harder to recognize. These are WHOOP’s descriptions of its system, not independent accuracy results. See WHOOP’s workout-detection guidance.
WHOOP says the wearable has neither a display nor built-in GPS. A connected phone is required for distance, pace, and elevation, and live workout stats cannot be checked on the device itself. If seeing numbers during exercise is important, a screenless wearable shifts that interaction to the phone rather than eliminating the need for a screen.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Rings: passive tracking plus app-led sessions
Oura’s Automatic Activity Detection uses a 3D accelerometer and algorithms to suggest activity type, time, duration, and intensity. The wearer can confirm, edit, or dismiss a suggestion. Oura says an activity must last at least 10 minutes to be detected by AAD, so brief movement or a workout that falls below that threshold may not appear as a detected activity. AAD is listed for Gen2 and Gen3 or later rings with an active membership. Oura’s Automatic Activity Detection guidance also says route and distance details require location services and carrying a phone.
For a workout you want to record intentionally, Oura Live Activity Tracking starts a session in the app. For supported outdoor activities, the app uses phone GPS to show a live map, pace, and distance. Oura lists this feature for Gen3 or later with active membership. Compatible devices exposing the BLE Heart Rate Service can supply live heart rate and zones; Oura names Garmin HRM Dual, Polar H10, and Polar Verity Sense among the devices it has tested. Without an external heart-rate monitor, the ring’s heart-rate data appears in the activity summary after the session rather than live on the phone screen. Details are in Oura’s Live Activity Tracking guidance.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Use a phone and sensor when live workout numbers matter most
If you do not need a wearable for all-day tracking, a phone-based workout app paired with a BLE heart-rate sensor is another route. The phone serves as the display and, outdoors, can provide GPS-based route information when the app supports it. A compatible sensor can add live heart rate; for example, Oura names the Garmin HRM Dual and Polar H10 as tested BLE options for its live activity feature. That pairing is an exercise-recording setup, not a replacement for a tracker that monitors daily movement.
Before relying on a sensor, check that the app supports the sensor’s Bluetooth heart-rate service and that you can keep the phone with you during the session. A phone can make live metrics visible, but it also means the display-free experience is not screen-free during exercise if you choose to look at those metrics.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How to choose for your routine
- Choose a button-start band if you want to record workouts deliberately from the wearable while keeping its face screen-free. Garmin says CIRQA supports more than 80 activities started by its side button.
- Choose passive detection if you prefer not to start a session manually and accept that short, low-intensity, or stationary exercise may be missed or classified imperfectly. Oura and WHOOP describe different thresholds and behaviors; neither description is an independent comparison.
- Choose an app-led ring session if wearing a ring suits you and you are comfortable carrying a phone for supported outdoor GPS features. For live heart rate with Oura, budget for a compatible BLE monitor as well as the required membership.
- Choose phone plus sensor if live heart-rate data is your priority and you are comfortable carrying the phone and using its screen for workout controls.
- Check continuing costs and device generation before buying. Garmin says CIRQA’s core tracking has no subscription requirement; Oura specifies active membership and ring-generation requirements for the features above. WHOOP’s cited feature article does not establish current pricing or plan terms.
What accuracy claims can—and cannot—tell you
The thresholds and limitations described here come from product makers. Oura’s 10-minute minimum and WHOOP’s typical 15-minute elevated-heart-rate requirement explain when their systems may detect a workout; they do not establish comparative accuracy. No independent accuracy statistic is established for these options here. If a session matters for training records, start it manually where possible and check the saved summary afterward rather than assuming passive detection captured it.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

