Choose HBO Max if your household is built around HBO, Warner Bros., DC, or Discovery-associated shows—or needs up to four simultaneous streams and a clearly stated 100-download allowance on Premium. Choose Paramount+ if you care more about CBS, Nickelodeon, SHOWTIME on Premium, NFL on CBS, UFC, or UEFA competitions, or want the lower listed monthly entry price. The best fit depends on what your household will actually watch, not which service has the lower price alone.
This comparison covers U.S. plans and service details accessed October 7, 2026. Prices, sports rights, offers, and catalog availability can change; check the current plan and the exact title or event before subscribing.
At a glance: HBO Max vs. Paramount+
| What matters | HBO Max | Paramount+ |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed monthly plan | Basic with Ads: $10.99/month | Essential: $8.99/month |
| Higher tiers | Standard: $18.49/month; Premium: $22.99/month | Premium: $13.99/month |
| Simultaneous streams | Two on Basic with Ads and Standard; four on Premium | Three advertised |
| Downloads | Up to 30 on Standard; up to 100 on Premium | Premium includes downloads; numeric limit not stated on the retrieved U.S. plan page |
| Catalog focus | HBO, Warner Bros., DC, Cartoon Network, and Discovery-associated brands | CBS, BET, Comedy Central, MTV, Nickelodeon, VH1; SHOWTIME on Premium |
| Sports examples | Select MLB, NHL, NCAA Men’s March Madness, Roland-Garros, U.S. Soccer, and premier cycling | NFL on CBS, UFC, UEFA competitions, and Zuffa Boxing; live local CBS station on Premium |
Prices above are the U.S. monthly list prices shown on the official plan pages accessed October 7, 2026, before applicable taxes. The plans are not exact equivalents: their content, sports, stream limits, downloads, and ad terms differ. HBO Max plan details; Paramount+ plan selector.
Which service fits your household’s viewing habits?
Choose HBO Max for HBO, Warner Bros., DC, and Discovery-associated programming
HBO Max is the more natural first choice if the household’s must-watch list centers on HBO and Max Originals, Warner Bros., DC, Cartoon Network, Looney Tunes, Adult Swim, or lifestyle and reality brands such as HGTV, Food Network, TLC, ID, Magnolia, and Discovery. The service describes its U.S. catalog as including more than 4,000 titles, with 1,800+ shows and 2,300+ movies; these are provider-published counts, not an independent catalog audit. HBO Max’s official service and plan information.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Choose Paramount+ for CBS, Nickelodeon, and SHOWTIME on Premium
Paramount+ is a stronger match if your household wants CBS programming, Nickelodeon, BET, Comedy Central, MTV, or VH1. Its Premium plan includes all of SHOWTIME; Essential includes select SHOWTIME series, and Paramount+ notes that those series may not include every episode. Verify that a particular show is included with the plan you intend to buy. Paramount+ plan details.
Decide by must-watch titles, not brand lists
A service’s catalog description does not guarantee that a specific movie or episode is currently available in your location or on your chosen tier. Search each service for the exact titles your household cares about before subscribing, especially if only one or two shows will justify the cost.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Compare U.S. plans, prices, and features
HBO Max tiers
HBO Max lists three U.S. plans. The annual amounts below are the listed plan prices, not monthly prices; taxes may apply.
| Plan | Monthly price | Annual price | Key stated features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic with Ads | $10.99 | $109.99 | Full HD; two simultaneous devices |
| Standard | $18.49 | $184.99 | Full HD; two simultaneous devices; up to 30 offline downloads |
| Premium | $22.99 | $229.99 | 4K UHD; four simultaneous devices; up to 100 downloads |
HBO Max says download restrictions may apply to some content. Check the current plan page for terms and any differences in how you subscribe. HBO Max plan details.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Paramount+ tiers
| Plan | Monthly price | Key stated features |
|---|---|---|
| Essential | $8.99 | Ad-supported; three simultaneous streams advertised; NFL on CBS, UEFA Champions League, UFC live fights, and select SHOWTIME series |
| Premium | $13.99 | Essential features plus no ads except Live TV, downloads, 4K UHD/Dolby Vision/HDR10 on select titles, a live local CBS station, and all of SHOWTIME |
Paramount+ says annual billing offers savings, but the retrieved U.S. plan details do not state a fixed annual price. Premium’s download allowance is not numerically specified on that page. Paramount+ also says select SHOWTIME series on Essential may not include all episodes. Paramount+ plan selector.
How to compare the prices fairly
Paramount+ has the lower listed monthly entry price, while HBO Max’s higher tiers offer different stream and download limits. Compare the plan each person would actually need, rather than treating the similarly named tiers as equivalent. At checkout, confirm billing cadence, taxes, provider-specific terms, and whether a displayed price is promotional.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Which service is better for sports?
There is no single sports winner for every household: the useful comparison is the exact league or event, plan, location, and broadcast rights.
| Service | Sports listed by the service | Plan detail to note |
|---|---|---|
| HBO Max | Select MLB, NHL, NCAA Men’s March Madness, Roland-Garros, U.S. Soccer, and premier cycling events | Select live sports are included with Standard and Premium |
| Paramount+ | NFL on CBS, UFC, UEFA competitions, and Zuffa Boxing | Premium adds a live local CBS station |
These are examples advertised by the services, not a guarantee that every game, match, or event is available to every subscriber. Before paying, check the event schedule, applicable plan, local availability, and any blackout or rights restrictions. HBO Max plan details; Paramount+ plan selector.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Ads, simultaneous streams, and downloads
Ads
Paramount+ Premium is described as ad-free except for Live TV; the service may still include trailers or sponsorships. Essential is ad-supported. HBO Max offers Basic with Ads, while its other tiers are described by features; consult HBO Max’s separate ad information rather than assuming every part of a Standard or Premium experience is completely free of advertising. HBO Max plan information; Paramount+ plan selector.
Streams
Paramount+ advertises three simultaneous streams. HBO Max allows two on Basic with Ads and Standard, and four on Premium. If several household members often watch different programs at the same time, match the plan limit to your busiest viewing periods.
Downloads
HBO Max states limits of up to 30 downloads on Standard and up to 100 on Premium, with restrictions for some content. Paramount+ Premium includes downloads, but its retrieved U.S. plan page does not specify a numeric cap. If offline viewing matters for travel or unreliable internet, confirm which titles can be downloaded and the current restrictions before relying on the feature.
Check device compatibility before subscribing
Both services cover common living-room and personal devices, but support for a platform does not guarantee compatibility with every model or operating-system version.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- HBO Max: the service says it supports phones, tablets, computers, TVs, streaming players, set-top boxes, and game consoles. Check its current compatibility information for your exact device.
- Paramount+: its device list includes Apple TV, Chromecast, Fire TV, LG TV, PlayStation, Roku, Samsung, Xbox, Xfinity, and Xumo. Confirm that your model supports the app.
HBO Max service information; Paramount+ service and plan information.
Quick Recap
A quick decision checklist
- Start with HBO Max if HBO, Warner Bros., DC, or Discovery-associated programming dominates your must-watch list.
- Start with Paramount+ if CBS, Nickelodeon, or SHOWTIME on Premium is more important to your household.
- For sports, identify the particular event first: HBO Max lists select MLB, NHL, college basketball, tennis, soccer, and cycling; Paramount+ lists NFL on CBS, UFC, UEFA competitions, and Zuffa Boxing.
- For more than two people watching at once, compare Paramount+’s advertised three streams with HBO Max’s two on Basic with Ads and Standard or four on Premium.
- For offline viewing, compare HBO Max’s stated Standard and Premium download caps with Paramount+ Premium’s download feature, whose numeric limit is not stated on the retrieved plan page.
- Search for the exact title or event and verify the plan, location, and current price before subscribing.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

