Fate/EXTRA Record is still coming out, with a newly announced global launch date of January 28, 2027. Its first trailer and official feature descriptions suggest a sweeping remake of the 2010 PSP RPG, including refreshed visuals, an expanded story, and a new card-based combat system. That is promising on paper, but it is an impression from the announced material—not a verdict from playing the game.
What happened to Fate/EXTRA Record’s delay?
The project’s public timeline explains why “development hell” gets used as shorthand, but the official statements describe a delay and organizational changes rather than cancellation.
- March 16, 2026: TYPE-MOON postponed the game, which had been planned for spring 2026, while Notes and Bandai Namco Entertainment reviewed the project. TYPE-MOON said the review included changes to the development structure and publisher, and that development would continue. Read TYPE-MOON’s delay notice.
- August 31, 2026: TYPE-MOON named Aniplex as the new publisher and said parts of the development structure and studio BB’s organization had changed. It also said development and release preparations were continuing. Read the publisher and development-structure update.
- September 3, 2026: PlayStation and XSEED/Marvelous announced January 28, 2027 as the global release date. Steam lists the same planned date for PC.
Those updates establish that the originally planned spring window was missed and that the project underwent a publisher and development-structure transition. They do not establish the internal causes, budget, staffing history, or total development time, so those details should not be inferred.
Why the remake looks promising
Fate/EXTRA Record remakes Fate/EXTRA, the first RPG in the Fate series, originally released for PSP in 2010. Official descriptions promise changes across three major areas: story, presentation, and combat.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
A broader story in a familiar setting
The setting is SE.RA.PH, a digital world associated with the Moon Cell Automaton. You play a Master in the Moon Holy Grail War, contract with one of three Servants—Saber, Archer, or Caster—and explore dungeons, gather information about rivals, and fight through the tournament. The PlayStation Blog describes 128 Masters in the fictional competition; that is a setting detail, not a count of playable characters.
The publishers describe Record as expanding the original narrative. That makes it more than a visual refresh, although the announcements do not spell out how much new story content there is or how its length compares with the PSP game.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Renewed character designs and visuals
Official materials also promise updated character designs and visuals. The released footage gives viewers a look at the intended presentation, but it cannot establish how the game performs or how its visuals hold up during extended play.
A different kind of battle system
Record replaces the original game’s battle approach with a strategic Command Card system. PlayStation describes Attack, Guard, and Skill command types, with additional commands found in treasure and by defeating powerful enemies. XSEED/Marvelous characterizes the system as a blend of turn-based combat and deck-building, with Servant-specific approaches and abilities. These are feature descriptions from the publishers, not independently tested judgments about how well the system works.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Platforms and editions announced so far
The announced launch date is January 28, 2027. PlayStation’s announcement covers PS4 and PS5, while XSEED/Marvelous lists PS4, PS5, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2. Steam lists the Windows PC version. Platform availability and store details can change before launch.
XSEED/Marvelous announced the following US prices and editions on September 3, 2026:
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Platform | Physical edition | Physical Limited Edition | Digital Standard | Digital Deluxe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nintendo Switch | $59.99 | $89.99 | $59.99 | $79.99 |
| Nintendo Switch 2 | $69.99 | $99.99 | $59.99 | $79.99 |
| PS5 | $59.99 | $89.99 | $59.99 | $79.99 |
| PS4 | not stated in the September 3, 2026 XSEED/Marvelous announcement | not stated in the September 3, 2026 XSEED/Marvelous announcement | $59.99 | $79.99 |
What comes in the physical Limited Edition?
The announced Limited Edition includes the game, a custom outer box, a three-disc soundtrack with new and original Fate/EXTRA music, a SteelBook case, and an art book described as having over 100 pages. XSEED/Marvelous says the Switch 2 physical version is fully on cartridge. Its announcement said physical preorders would be available “soon”; that announcement does not confirm current retailer stock.
What comes in the digital Deluxe Edition?
The announced Deluxe Edition includes the game, a digital soundtrack and art book, arranged soundtrack DLC, and a cosmetic outfit bundle. Steam’s listing identifies Aniplex as publisher, TYPE-MOON and Meteorise as developers, Windows 11 as the required operating system, and 31 GB of storage. Store listings can change before release.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What remains unknown
The announcements establish a new launch date and describe the remake’s intended features, but they do not answer every question that matters to a buyer. No claim about performance, combat depth, final quality, review scores, or value can be settled from the feature descriptions alone. Those are questions for a playable version and the finished release.
The franchise’s scale is another point worth reading precisely: PlayStation Blog describes Fate as spanning more than 100 titles across games, anime, novels, manga, apps, and other media. That figure refers to the breadth of the franchise, not sales of Fate/EXTRA Record.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

